Official Playstation Vita Thread - Page 19 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 1Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #541 of 1797 Old 04-10-2012, 10:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
defdog99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,125
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Last time I checked the wii store, it was $10-$15 for all those 4-bit classics. Still. After 20 years.

Steam spoils people. But the only reason they sell games for $5, is they know people buy the game with no intention of playing. I might have 30 steam games that I havent even downloaded yet. And am I really going to play Dirt1 and Dirt2 that came with Dirt3 bundle, prolly not.

But I guess that's a different problem. Too much for too cheap devalues games.
defdog99 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #542 of 1797 Old 04-12-2012, 01:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Mikazaru's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,759
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 41
http://www.theverge.com/2012/4/12/29...ontezuma-blitz

Firmware update 1.67 is available now... not sure what it does though (downloading now). Also, don't forget to get the free game Treasures of Montezuma Blitz on PSN.

Edit: Apparently it's just a bug fix for Dream Club Zero (japan).
Mikazaru is offline  
post #543 of 1797 Old 04-12-2012, 01:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Anthony1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Posts: 6,071
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 125 Post(s)
Liked: 168
Is anybody using any program to convert videos to work on the Vita? I'd like to try putting a couple of videos on the Vita, but have no idea which converter to use.
Anthony1 is online now  
post #544 of 1797 Old 04-13-2012, 03:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
almostinsane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 4,027
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Handbrake?
almostinsane is offline  
post #545 of 1797 Old 04-13-2012, 03:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Anthony1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Posts: 6,071
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 125 Post(s)
Liked: 168
Quote:
Originally Posted by almostinsane View Post

Handbrake?

what settings do you use?
Anthony1 is online now  
post #546 of 1797 Old 04-14-2012, 01:47 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Paulo Teixeira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 2,727
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Here's what I wrote on post 273 of this thread:

"For people who wants to put their HD videos on the Vita, here are some suggestions.

Set it to Level 3.1 for the H.264 video stream. Resolution of 1280x720p is the max but 960x540 is fine. Yes the screen is 544p but 1920x1080p videos will divide easily into 960x540 and what I noticed is that videos off PSN are 540p. For the audio stream, set it to AAC with a max bit rate of around 256kbps."

Basically if your editing software allows you to set those settings than you don't need to get anything extra. Make sure the H.264 files doesn't have .MOV at the end because if it's anything like the PS3, that wont work. As for bit rate, 10Mbps is fine.
Paulo Teixeira is offline  
post #547 of 1797 Old 04-14-2012, 11:28 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Mikazaru's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,759
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 41
For people who actually use the Vita's browser -- there is a way to use it without closing down the game you're currently playing. All you have to do is open LiveTweet and click on a web link from any Twitter post and presto... you're surfing the web.

Sony, if the folks at Twitter can find a way for game/web browser multitasking on the Vita, so can you.
Mikazaru is offline  
post #548 of 1797 Old 04-14-2012, 12:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Mikazaru's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,759
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 41


Here's the first footage of DJ Max Technika Tune for Vita.
Mikazaru is offline  
post #549 of 1797 Old 04-14-2012, 05:11 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
shadowlock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 700
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 126
Quote:


Sony to Bring Skype to PS Vita This Month
04/14/2012 Written by Dan Oravasaari




According to the PlayStation blog, Sony will be “looking at” bringing VoIP application Skype to the PS Vita later this month. After a brief announcement of the app last year, little was known about when the service would come to the handheld.


The announcement was brought on when a commenter asked if there was “any sign of the Skype app for Vita” and PS Store Team Member Jawad Ashraf replied with:

Looking at the tail end of the month at the moment

This new feature should give more reason for people to purchase the 3G model, as it would would allow them to use their PS Vita to make phone calls – a feature that, if implemented correctly, could become the PS phone that has been demanded time and time again.

Source: Playstation Lifestyle.

Note: I haven't heard anything about this app yet on the Playstation Podcast & they'll often drop little "hints" about upcoming features for PS3/Vita, so take this with a grain of salt. I expect that if ANYTHING goes wrong in the process/run-up to this app, this late April date will evaporate quickly.

OtherWorlds - My Sci-Fi/Fantasy Writing Blog
shadowlock is offline  
post #550 of 1797 Old 04-14-2012, 09:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Anthony1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Posts: 6,071
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 125 Post(s)
Liked: 168
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paulo Teixeira View Post

Here's what I wrote on post 273 of this thread:

"For people who wants to put their HD videos on the Vita, here are some suggestions.

Set it to Level 3.1 for the H.264 video stream. Resolution of 1280x720p is the max but 960x540 is fine. Yes the screen is 544p but 1920x1080p videos will divide easily into 960x540 and what I noticed is that videos off PSN are 540p. For the audio stream, set it to AAC with a max bit rate of around 256kbps."

Basically if your editing software allows you to set those settings than you don't need to get anything extra. Make sure the H.264 files doesn't have .MOV at the end because if it's anything like the PS3, that wont work. As for bit rate, 10Mbps is fine.


I tried handbrake, and I got video, but the sound is all messed up. I'm not sure what I need to do in regards to the sound. One of my problems, is that I don't know what the sound is currently set to in these videos that I have, so it's hard for me to tell the program to convert it from that kind of sound to another kind of sound. I actually downloaded a specific Vita profile for handbrake, so I'm assuming it set the audio output to what it needs to be.
Anthony1 is online now  
post #551 of 1797 Old 04-17-2012, 11:05 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Mikazaru's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,759
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 41






Resistance multiplayer is looking pretty good.

http://blog.us.playstation.com/2012/...-vita-for-free

Also, some more free apps are on their way.
Mikazaru is offline  
post #552 of 1797 Old 04-17-2012, 11:13 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Anthony1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Posts: 6,071
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 125 Post(s)
Liked: 168
Vita Resistance will probably be the first game that I've bought at full price in a LONG time. I'm talking YEARS. Like, multiple years.
Anthony1 is online now  
post #553 of 1797 Old 04-18-2012, 12:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Mikazaru's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,759
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 41
http://www.siliconera.com/2012/04/18...rsome-monsters

Hmmm... here'a new one I haven't heard about yet. The description screams Monster Hunter clone, but the title (Soul Sacrifice) teases Demons Souls Vita.
Mikazaru is offline  
post #554 of 1797 Old 04-18-2012, 12:57 PM
Senior Member
 
Bigfame's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: San Bernardino, CA
Posts: 267
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 25
If you want to copy DVD's to the Vita just use a software called DVDCATALYSTS4 ($10), BEST Software out there. They have a PS Vita Profile under Playstation. I use the software to make my DVD's MP4's to put on my Xoom. Awesome support as well. Check out the Website. My PC takes about 20 minutes to Rip a DVD to MP4 format. They even tell you How to put movies on your Vita.

http://www.tools4movies.com/

Those Who Attempt To Destroy Me, Shall Be Obliterated!!

Megatron
Bigfame is offline  
post #555 of 1797 Old 04-18-2012, 01:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DaverJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 6,744
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 88 Post(s)
Liked: 558
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bigfame View Post

If you want to copy DVD's to the Vita just use a software called DVDCATALYSTS4 ($10), BEST Software out there. They have a PS Vita Profile under Playstation. I use the software to make my DVD's MP4's to put on my Xoom. Awesome support as well. Check out the Website. My PC takes about 20 minutes to Rip a DVD to MP4 format. They even tell you How to put movies on your Vita.

http://www.tools4movies.com/

Nice - I've been looking for a recommendation for software like that... thanks!

I wish it supported Mac, but I guess I have to use my PC for something.
DaverJ is online now  
post #556 of 1797 Old 04-18-2012, 01:18 PM
Senior Member
 
Bigfame's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: San Bernardino, CA
Posts: 267
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaverJ View Post

Nice - I've been looking for a recommendation for software like that... thanks!

I wish it supported Mac, but I guess I have to use my PC for something.

No problem I have been using the software for little over a year and it's fantastic. If you need help just e-mail their customer support and they get back with an answer really fast. I even emailed them on a Saturday night and had my answer when I woke up Sunday morning You can even Rip Blu-Ray's. They explain how to do it.

Those Who Attempt To Destroy Me, Shall Be Obliterated!!

Megatron
Bigfame is offline  
post #557 of 1797 Old 04-18-2012, 02:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Anthony1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Posts: 6,071
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 125 Post(s)
Liked: 168
Why rip a DVD tho ? Why not convert an even higher res source?
Anthony1 is online now  
post #558 of 1797 Old 04-18-2012, 02:12 PM
Senior Member
 
Bigfame's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: San Bernardino, CA
Posts: 267
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anthony1 View Post

Why rip a DVD tho ? Why not convert an even higher res source?

I did say you can Rip Blu Ray movies using the DVDCATALYSTS 4.

Those Who Attempt To Destroy Me, Shall Be Obliterated!!

Megatron
Bigfame is offline  
post #559 of 1797 Old 04-18-2012, 04:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
TornadoTJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 3,931
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anthony1 View Post

Why rip a DVD tho ? Why not convert an even higher res source?

What would be the point if you are putting it on the Vita?
TornadoTJ is offline  
post #560 of 1797 Old 04-18-2012, 06:27 PM
Senior Member
 
Bigfame's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: San Bernardino, CA
Posts: 267
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by TornadoTJ View Post

What would be the point if you are putting it on the Vita?

Exactly. You don't need high resolution for such a small screen. The only mobile device that would take advantage of higher resolution is the iPad 3. Even my Xoom does not need high resolution.

Those Who Attempt To Destroy Me, Shall Be Obliterated!!

Megatron
Bigfame is offline  
post #561 of 1797 Old 04-18-2012, 07:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Suntan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Twin Cities
Posts: 7,140
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bigfame View Post

Exactly. You don't need high resolution for such a small screen. The only mobile device that would take advantage of higher resolution is the iPad 3. Even my Xoom does not need high resolution.

Even your Xoom has more than two and a half times the resolution of a DVD.

No you don't *have* to use a higher res source, but if you have the space on your mem card it does result in a better rip.

-Suntan
Suntan is offline  
post #562 of 1797 Old 04-18-2012, 10:22 PM
Senior Member
 
Bigfame's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: San Bernardino, CA
Posts: 267
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by Suntan View Post

Even your Xoom has more than two and a half times the resolution of a DVD.

No you don't *have* to use a higher res source, but if you have the space on your mem card it does result in a better rip.

-Suntan

What? I have ripped DVD's & Blu-Ray's and they both look the same on my Vita and Xoom. BTW - They both produce the same File Size and I Rip them to my PC.

Those Who Attempt To Destroy Me, Shall Be Obliterated!!

Megatron
Bigfame is offline  
post #563 of 1797 Old 04-19-2012, 03:12 AM
Senior Member
 
Arcadia88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 356
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Been playing Disgaea 3 for past day. Graphically it's bad. Ps2 quality or worse.
Considering how much time is spent on playing field it could use a serious bump in resolution.
Gameplay however is perfect for a handheld. Lots to do and play with. I'm still learning how to play. I'll spend time getting my guys where I want them then only to have it get turned against me on the computers turn. It's fun and this music is stuck in my head.

Wouldn't it be nice if you could simply put your bluray movie into your ps3 and auto transfer it over to the vita. So much wasted console.
A lot of people complain about iTunes and how sluggish it is. But iTunes is leaps and bounds over anything vita has with its ps3 integration.
Arcadia88 is offline  
post #564 of 1797 Old 04-19-2012, 07:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
number1laing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 5,993
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 32
They redrew the sprites for Disgaea 4. It would've been cool if they dropped those into the Vita game.
number1laing is offline  
post #565 of 1797 Old 04-19-2012, 08:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
TornadoTJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 3,931
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arcadia88 View Post

Wouldn't it be nice if you could simply put your bluray movie into your ps3 and auto transfer it over to the vita. So much wasted console.

I think the movie industry might have a problem with that.
TornadoTJ is offline  
post #566 of 1797 Old 04-19-2012, 08:47 AM
AVS Special Member
 
TornadoTJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 3,931
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bigfame View Post

What? I have ripped DVD's & Blu-Ray's and they both look the same on my Vita and Xoom. BTW - They both produce the same File Size and I Rip them to my PC.

Exactly.
TornadoTJ is offline  
post #567 of 1797 Old 04-19-2012, 10:41 AM
Advanced Member
 
iamkoza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 827
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i just picked up a used 8gb wifi vita with uncharted and fifa for $210... I love the screen... but I'm disappointed in a lot of other areas... sorry if this sounds like a rant but:

the internet browser is rather crummy (re-size the damn page so I dont have to scroll right and left to read text!!!), there was noticeable delay for sounds when I used my bluetooth headphones for audio (it was at least 300-500ms consistently), having to remove that panel to switch games was annoying, remote play functioned, but the lag while playing PJ shooter made it difficult to play. The back touch panel for L2, R2 will take some getting used to... but I hope I can make it work. The lack of content on PSN store was also disappointing

Another thing I found odd was i tap a bubble...but to start the program, I have to tap the screen again?

Oh well, I'm going to play around with it for a few weeks and see what I think.... at the very least I think I can at least sell it for what I paid for it.
iamkoza is offline  
post #568 of 1797 Old 04-19-2012, 10:56 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Suntan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Twin Cities
Posts: 7,140
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bigfame View Post

What? I have ripped DVD's & Blu-Ray's and they both look the same on my Vita and Xoom. BTW - They both produce the same File Size and I Rip them to my PC.

I don't know what you are doing, but with my android tablet, I can get noticably better PQ when starting with a BR than with a DVD, assuming the same output filesize.

I don't know if it is noticable on a VITA, but I was only commenting about your suggestion that it doesn't make a difference on the Xoom.

Anyway, no big sweat. Do whatever works for you.

-Suntan
Suntan is offline  
post #569 of 1797 Old 04-19-2012, 11:49 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Mikazaru's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,759
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 41
http://hexus.net/gaming/news/industr...tion-suite-sdk

Sony has launched the open beta of the playstation suite sdk. It's available for download now.

http://www.playstation.com/pss/devel...a/index_e.html
Mikazaru is offline  
post #570 of 1797 Old 04-19-2012, 01:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Mikazaru's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,759
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 41


LOL... Super Monkey Ball: Banana Splitz will feature a gravure model course in japan.

http://www.gametrailers.com/side-mis...-girl-courses/
Mikazaru is offline  
Reply PlayStation Area

Tags
Playstation Vita Wifi , Playstation Vita The Walking Dead Bundle

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off