Modern Warfare 3 - Page 4 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #91 of 824 Old 11-13-2011, 09:57 AM
Advanced Member
 
crippldogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Yorktown, VA
Posts: 546
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by NJ3118 View Post

Has anyone else shot half a clip into someone at medium to close range and get killed only to watch the kill cam show you didn't get any shots off?

I wonder how many times that happens to enemies when I kill them?

Lag. Yep it happens

The Weekend Warriors
crippldogg is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #92 of 824 Old 11-13-2011, 10:31 AM
Advanced Member
 
s1njin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Jersey Strong
Posts: 782
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Does the game get hosted on a server or on someone else's PS3? Is that what it means when it says it's looking for the best host?
s1njin is offline  
post #93 of 824 Old 11-13-2011, 02:27 PM
Advanced Member
 
jayoldschool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 871
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Someone's PS3. No dedicated servers, which is incomprehensible for the amount of money that this franchise makes.
jayoldschool is offline  
post #94 of 824 Old 11-13-2011, 02:45 PM
Advanced Member
 
s1njin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Jersey Strong
Posts: 782
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by jayoldschool View Post

Someone's PS3. No dedicated servers, which is incomprehensible for the amount of money that this franchise makes.

Ah. Maybe that's often me than. FIOS 35/35 - I've got some sexy network kung fu for this game.
s1njin is offline  
post #95 of 824 Old 11-13-2011, 04:09 PM
 
TyrantII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Boston
Posts: 10,114
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 832
Quote:
Originally Posted by jayoldschool View Post

Someone's PS3. No dedicated servers, which is incomprehensible for the amount of money that this franchise makes.

Why spend money on dedicated servers when you can spend millions on a live action commercial with sports stars and celebrities?

TyrantII is offline  
post #96 of 824 Old 11-13-2011, 04:10 PM
 
TyrantII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Boston
Posts: 10,114
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 832
Quote:
Originally Posted by s1njin View Post

Does the game get hosted on a server or on someone else's PS3? Is that what it means when it says it's looking for the best host?

Typically one person becomes the host server. Historically that person would be the one experiencing the worst lag issues.

Everything but matchmaking is P2P
TyrantII is offline  
post #97 of 824 Old 11-13-2011, 09:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
blklightning's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2,157
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 60
any word on when they'll be fixing the frame rate freezes that started after patch 1.03? i also noticed the lag got much worse after the patch. people are rounding corners a half second faster than what's on my screen, resulting in what appears to be instant deaths.

500 gigs FTW.
blklightning is offline  
post #98 of 824 Old 11-14-2011, 03:25 AM
Advanced Member
 
s1njin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Jersey Strong
Posts: 782
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by TyrantII View Post


Typically one person becomes the host server. Historically that person would be the one experiencing the worst lag issues.

Everything but matchmaking is P2P

Well hell ... That's just not any good ....
s1njin is offline  
post #99 of 824 Old 11-14-2011, 03:25 AM
Advanced Member
 
s1njin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Jersey Strong
Posts: 782
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by blklightning View Post

any word on when they'll be fixing the frame rate freezes that started after patch 1.03? i also noticed the lag got much worse after the patch. people are rounding corners a half second faster than what's on my screen, resulting in what appears to be instant deaths.

This ! I hope they are working on this !
s1njin is offline  
post #100 of 824 Old 11-14-2011, 04:07 AM
Member
 
joker305th's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by TyrantII View Post

Typically one person becomes the host server. Historically that person would be the one experiencing the worst lag issues...

The best part of the game, for me at least, is shooting someone, watching the game hang, seeing the message "searching for new host", and realizing you just the old host rage-quit.

Really, there should be a trophy for that. Call it "...Against the Machine."
joker305th is offline  
post #101 of 824 Old 11-14-2011, 05:10 AM
Senior Member
 
ratherb1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 441
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by s1njin View Post

Ah. Maybe that's often me than. FIOS 35/35 - I've got some sexy network kung fu for this game.

i have 15/5 at the moment, my mom has/had 50mbs dl speed dont know if it really makes a difference when playing mp.....but thinking about upgrading to 35/35.. have you had any experience with 15/5 ..i have 2 ps3s and a laptop running usually at the same time... in black ops it worked great (15/5) but in mw3 i think its more the servers problem...but idk maybe ill wait a month see what happens...fios is the bomb when it comes to multiple ps3/computers in one house...

btw i had cox and that was bad ...very bad .. they advertise 30mbs download but you only get that at first then it slows down.....thats why they advertise UP TO 30mbs ...because you get that only when no one else is using there internet .... and during peak hours it get worse... it was lag city with cox even though i was getting there 30mbs dl speed it was still laggy
ratherb1 is offline  
post #102 of 824 Old 11-14-2011, 05:31 AM
Advanced Member
 
s1njin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Jersey Strong
Posts: 782
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by ratherb1 View Post

i have 15/5 at the moment, my mom has/had 50mbs dl speed dont know if it really makes a difference when playing mp.....but thinking about upgrading to 35/35.. have you had any experience with 15/5 ..i have 2 ps3s and a laptop running usually at the same time... in black ops it worked great (15/5) but in mw3 i think its more the servers problem...but idk maybe ill wait a month see what happens...fios is the bomb when it comes to multiple ps3/computers in one house...

btw i had cox and that was bad ...very bad .. they advertise 30mbs download but you only get that at first then it slows down.....thats why they advertise UP TO 30mbs ...because you get that only when no one else is using there internet .... and during peak hours it get worse... it was lag city with cox even though i was getting there 30mbs dl speed it was still laggy

It was a no brainer for me to go to 35/35. I was on FIOS Extreme HD and 25/25 for the internet. My bill went down 5 bucks by going to FIOS Prime HD and 35/35 internet. I don't miss the channels but I do like me some bandwidth to chew through.
s1njin is offline  
post #103 of 824 Old 11-14-2011, 05:57 AM
AVS Special Member
 
NJ3118's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Northern New Jersey
Posts: 1,223
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by blklightning View Post

any word on when they'll be fixing the frame rate freezes that started after patch 1.03? i also noticed the lag got much worse after the patch. people are rounding corners a half second faster than what's on my screen, resulting in what appears to be instant deaths.

This is the a big issue for me - it happens a few times a game. Well its either that or spawning running a few feet and getting shot in the back.

OR killing a guy then 3 seconds later he spawns behind me and kills me...

Sure its typical complaining, but things that shouldn't happen.

I have a fever and the only cure is more Blu-Ray....
NJ3118 is offline  
post #104 of 824 Old 11-14-2011, 06:33 AM
Advanced Member
 
jayoldschool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 871
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Your internet speed has nothing to do with good online game play. It is all about ping time.
jayoldschool is offline  
post #105 of 824 Old 11-14-2011, 06:42 AM
Advanced Member
 
s1njin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Jersey Strong
Posts: 782
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by jayoldschool View Post

Your internet speed has nothing to do with good online game play. It is all about ping time.

Well, I'm not sure I'm going to get any better than fiber from the house to Verizon. After that I'm at the mercy of the internet - at least I can say best effort was extended (and paid for !).
s1njin is offline  
post #106 of 824 Old 11-14-2011, 06:48 AM
Senior Member
 
Hockeypuck25's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Medford, Mass
Posts: 304
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My son and I have experienced a couple lag moments and 1 or 2 connection failures but that was through 8 hours of online play over the weekend. When you sell 6.5 million copies in a couple days, things are going to be busy for a while. Should sort itself out in a month or so. I never had a problem with Black Ops but I didnt get that first day.

Good game. Graphics are great and weapons are good. Survival mode is pretty cool and we like the missions too.
Hockeypuck25 is offline  
post #107 of 824 Old 11-14-2011, 06:59 AM
Advanced Member
 
s1njin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Jersey Strong
Posts: 782
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 25
I'm really enjoying the game, but I do feel like the maps are very tight w/ none of the open space that folks could use to position themselves and think out a strategy. Every map seems to be made up of dozens of murder lanes where spawns pop up behind your back. I hope the future map packs give us some room to move around.
s1njin is offline  
post #108 of 824 Old 11-14-2011, 10:32 AM
Member
 
Yung Impression's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Kolumbus City
Posts: 175
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I seen the IGN video where BOBBYA1984 is playing MW3 & it had wanting to play the MP. Is it worth me getting?

PSN Name: YungImpression
Yung Impression is offline  
post #109 of 824 Old 11-14-2011, 03:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
blklightning's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2,157
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 60
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yung Impression View Post

I seen the IGN video where BOBBYA1984 is playing MW3 & it had wanting to play the MP. Is it worth me getting?

i don't think it is. really, if you've played the other cod games, then you've already played this game. i'd take that money and spend it on a game that you haven't played. for me, this is the last cod game i'm ever going to buy. this series is dead to me. same 'ol, same 'ol. and despite raking in 400 million on the first day, they won't invest a dime to fix any of the issues. so f 'em.

500 gigs FTW.
blklightning is offline  
post #110 of 824 Old 11-14-2011, 07:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
NJ3118's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Northern New Jersey
Posts: 1,223
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by blklightning View Post

i don't think it is. really, if you've played the other cod games, then you've already played this game. i'd take that money and spend it on a game that you haven't played. for me, this is the last cod game i'm ever going to buy. this series is dead to me. same 'ol, same 'ol. and despite raking in 400 million on the first day, they won't invest a dime to fix any of the issues. so f 'em.

+1 - I had to quit after three rounds of domination. I went 5-16, 4-12, and finally 7-24 (always been at the bare minimum 1.50 k/d in other FPS MP games including BO). I honestly 100% am telling the truth when I say, the last round, 17 out of those 24 deaths were within 3 seconds of spawning getting killed from behind. Thats when I had it and turned the game off even though I was "cleared" but the SO to play for a few hours. Oh well, I may replay UC again...


Quote:
Originally Posted by s1njin View Post

I'm really enjoying the game, but I do feel like the maps are very tight w/ none of the open space that folks could use to position themselves and think out a strategy. Every map seems to be made up of dozens of murder lanes where spawns pop up behind your back. I hope the future map packs give us some room to move around.

Yep! Same here...

I have a fever and the only cure is more Blu-Ray....
NJ3118 is offline  
post #111 of 824 Old 11-15-2011, 05:31 AM
Senior Member
 
ratherb1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 441
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jayoldschool View Post

Your internet speed has nothing to do with good online game play. It is all about ping time.

so i can get dial up? yeah its funny i pay for 15/5 and its always around 20 mbs download speed
fios is great every other company has alot of work to do

edit my ping is 21ms is that good?.... 0 packet loss.... i got an A
ratherb1 is offline  
post #112 of 824 Old 11-15-2011, 06:06 AM
AVS Special Member
 
MaxDam77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1,839
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by ratherb1 View Post

so i can get dial up? yeah its funny i pay for 15/5 and its always around 20 mbs download speed
fios is great every other company has alot of work to do

edit my ping is 21ms is that good?.... 0 packet loss.... i got an A

I have less speed but the same ping as you. I guess it's good
MaxDam77 is offline  
post #113 of 824 Old 11-15-2011, 06:08 AM
Senior Member
 
ratherb1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 441
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by MaxDam77 View Post

I have less speed but the same ping as you. I guess it's good

what isp do you have? and what is the advertised speed you get?
ratherb1 is offline  
post #114 of 824 Old 11-15-2011, 01:45 PM
Advanced Member
 
Vince2909's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Platte City, MO
Posts: 680
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I get good connections, always 3 or four bar but still get some lag, the action skitters along, spawn killing (both ways), and then the maps seem to be all run and gun style, no where to camp if that's what you want to do.
Plus the turrents/sentry are so easily defeatable that they're a joke, it's far too easy to take down a chopper or UAV, it's far too easy to steal a care package...some of that is just gimmicky nonsense that I don't even bother.

I do enjoy the game so far though, MP has been fun.

PSN: VinnAY-DBC
Vince2909 is offline  
post #115 of 824 Old 11-15-2011, 04:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
blklightning's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2,157
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 60
everyone i know has this stuttering BS. and now infinity ward thinks it's only the fault of certain ISPs. that is garbage. this is never getting fixed.

500 gigs FTW.
blklightning is offline  
post #116 of 824 Old 11-15-2011, 04:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Crash44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Oregon
Posts: 1,167
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 85
It's a shame the lag is still so bad. I picked this up on Monday and been enjoying the SP quite a bit (finished end act 2). The story, while still fantasy land, is well told and easier to follow this time. Veteran doesn't feel as tough as Black Ops or MW2 so far and I'm 2/3 done, still challenging though.

I've been avoiding the MP waiting for the lag to die down and/or another patch. That Kill Confirmed looks like too much fun so might jump in anyway.

PSN: CrashLanding (please ID requests as AVS)
Crash44 is offline  
post #117 of 824 Old 11-15-2011, 06:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Dashboard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Montréal, Québec
Posts: 1,881
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 49
Just finished the campaign... it's.... ok.... 4h45 to complete. Happy I got the game for free and will return it for store credit this weekend.
Dashboard is offline  
post #118 of 824 Old 11-15-2011, 08:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
blklightning's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2,157
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 60
this game sucks. anyone on the fence that is reading this -- do not waste your money on this game. it is terrible and has the worst connection of any cod i've ever played, going back to cod 4.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Crash44 View Post


I've been avoiding the MP waiting for the lag to die down and/or another patch. That Kill Confirmed looks like too much fun so might jump in anyway.

it's not worth the frustration, imo.

500 gigs FTW.
blklightning is offline  
post #119 of 824 Old 11-15-2011, 10:55 PM
Advanced Member
 
mookie b's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: San Diego
Posts: 796
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Its pretty balanced. Hard to dominate like the old games. Kill confirm and domination in ground war is pure carnage.

mookie b is offline  
post #120 of 824 Old 11-16-2011, 06:29 AM
Advanced Member
 
jayoldschool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 871
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Thanks! Between this and Resistance 3, I have saved 120 bucks... lol

Quote:
Originally Posted by blklightning View Post

this game sucks. anyone on the fence that is reading this -- do not waste your money on this game. it is terrible and has the worst connection of any cod i've ever played, going back to cod 4.



it's not worth the frustration, imo.

jayoldschool is offline  
Reply PlayStation Area

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off