AC3 from files doesn't get bitstreamed? - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 3 Old 02-14-2012, 06:40 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
ps24eva's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,330
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If you are using a ripped movie file (not disc), looks like the PS3 ignores the instruction to bitstream AC3.


Instead it decodes it and sends it to the receiver as PCM


Can anyone confirm?
ps24eva is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 3 Old 02-16-2012, 02:38 PM
Senior Member
 
HDSapper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 298
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 29
I'm not sure, but I haven't heard "AC3" in years. Wasn't that what Dolby Digital was originally called? I think it was reason I bought my first laserdisc player.

Thanks for the memories!
HDSapper is offline  
post #3 of 3 Old 02-17-2012, 03:39 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
ps24eva's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,330
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
yeah AC3 is dolby digital.

LOL, this IS a home theater forum right??
ps24eva is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply PlayStation Area

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off