HDMI audio connection issue - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 02-21-2012, 11:48 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
msyost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My PS3 is connected to my Onkyo TX-SR673 via HDMI. When I initially connect the cables and turn the systems on, everything works fine. Then when I switch the source on my receiver over to my HTPC, then back to the PS3, I lose audio and am not able to get it back. Has anyone had this issue and know if its a PS3 problem or rather a receiver problem? Thanks.
msyost is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 02-21-2012, 11:49 AM
AVS Special Member
 
TornadoTJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 3,919
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Sure sounds like a receiver issue to me. Weren't the Onkyo notorious for losing the HDMI sections?
TornadoTJ is offline  
post #3 of 7 Old 02-21-2012, 11:53 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
msyost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Perhaps. I've been searching but havent found info on this particular issue.
msyost is offline  
post #4 of 7 Old 02-21-2012, 12:05 PM
Member
 
CNPalmer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 71
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Do you lose audio from both devices, your HTPC & the PS3?

Anyway to switch from your HTPC with audio running to the PS3 and see if you lose audio in that "direction"?
CNPalmer is offline  
post #5 of 7 Old 02-21-2012, 12:13 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
msyost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Audio always returns to the HTPC, the PS3 is only affected by switching.
msyost is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 02-21-2012, 12:16 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
msyost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Btw I am using brand new hdmi 1.4 cables which did not solve the problem.
msyost is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old 02-21-2012, 02:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
TornadoTJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 3,919
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Switch the inputs around, plug the HTPC into the port you have the PS3 in, and vice versa. See what happens.
TornadoTJ is offline  
Reply PlayStation Area

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off