No 5.1 using Netflix or Amazon with PS3 through HDMI - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-13-2012, 07:58 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
xcrunner529's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 536
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I hooked up my new receiver today (Onkyo NR609) and this is my first HDMI receiver. I set it to automatic for the sound settings and made sure in the BD Video settings that my phat PS3 sends LPCM through. No matter what I am getting 2.0 Stereo according to the display on the PS3. I even tried Bitstream and same thing. What's going on?
xcrunner529 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-13-2012, 08:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
msgohan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 2,856
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 16
I guess the first questions would be: what titles are you playing, and are you sure they feature 5.1 on those services? On Netflix you should be able to manually select 5.1 from the Audio menu for the content.
msgohan is offline  
Old 04-13-2012, 08:10 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
xcrunner529's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 536
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Have done both and specifically I've tried Archer and Take Me Home Tonight. Both state 5.1, I have chose DD+ from the Netflix menu and I know I've he'd 5.1 with archer before on my old receiver.
xcrunner529 is offline  
Old 04-14-2012, 04:20 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
xcrunner529's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 536
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Ok so it seems Netflix metadata is messed up for both Archer and a movie since I tried some other stuff and did get 5.1. However, I am still confused because in the Sound settings I set to HDMI automatic and BD settings I have it set to LPCM with HDMI. And yet with my Onkyo set to straight decode it is lighting up the DD light when playing the 5.1 Netflix. How is that possible?
xcrunner529 is offline  
Old 04-15-2012, 04:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
msgohan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 2,856
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Yes, the same goes for the rest of us. The BD settings are true to their name; only apply to Blu-ray Discs.

For a time the Netflix app was putting out 5.1/7.1 LPCM regardless of whether the input was 2 channels or 6, but they're reverted to outputting decompressed 2.0 and converted Dolby Digital 5.1.
msgohan is offline  
Old 04-15-2012, 04:49 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
xcrunner529's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 536
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Really? Why is Dolby Digital Plus even mentioned with Netflix and the PS3 then. That's a complete lie and Sony should be in trouble for saying it has something when it doesn't. And Vudu seems to be working correctly.
xcrunner529 is offline  
Old 04-15-2012, 06:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Jacob305's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 2,431
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by xcrunner529 View Post

Really? Why is Dolby Digital Plus even mentioned with Netflix and the PS3 then. That's a complete lie and Sony should be in trouble for saying it has something when it doesn't. And Vudu seems to be working correctly.

the panasonic 2011 & 2012 models do the DD+ in the proper way for netflix.

Jacob
Jacob305 is offline  
Old 04-16-2012, 08:27 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
xcrunner529's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 536
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 15
What about Sony's newer models? Complaints in the official Panasonic threads about the Netflix client being really slow is turning me away a bit from them.
xcrunner529 is offline  
Old 04-16-2012, 08:57 AM
AVS Special Member
 
TornadoTJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 3,934
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 36
I just got a new ST50 Panny, and it doesn't seem slow to me. You could step up to the GT or VT models, they have a dual-core processor and might make the menus faster. I haven't gotten my ARC set up between the TV and receiver yet, so other than just firing up the menu and briefly watching a movie, I don't have further Netflix info for you. Maybe I can get that done today.
TornadoTJ is offline  
Old 04-16-2012, 02:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
TornadoTJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 3,934
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 36
OK, I just tried playing Netflix from my Panasonic 60ST50 plasma, through my Pioneer VSX-1021 receiver. Videos that show 5.1 on the PS3 do not show the availability for Dolby Digital on the Panasonic's Netflix player. Selecting them anyway and playing back left the receiver in Stereo. Also, I noted the video quality was not as good through the Panasonic's player compared to the PS3. Video took on the Soap Opera Effect found when using frame interpolation settings on many newer TVs. I can't stand that look. I'll stick to using my PS3 for all Netflix playback.
TornadoTJ is offline  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off