How good is the PS3 as a 3D player? - AVS Forum

AVS Forum > Gaming & Content Streaming > Home Theater Gaming > PlayStation Area > How good is the PS3 as a 3D player?

PlayStation Area

MaxDam77's Avatar MaxDam77
11:41 AM Liked: 44
post #1 of 17
08-22-2012 | Posts: 1,880
Joined: Aug 2005
I finally upgraded my TV and bougth a new 60" HDTV, Samsung PN60E7000.
I was wondering how good is the PS3 as a 3D player. Or should I get a seperate 3D blu ray player?

Thanks for the advice,
MA5CMPB's Avatar MA5CMPB
11:51 AM Liked: 13
post #2 of 17
08-22-2012 | Posts: 158
Joined: Oct 2010
You'd probably get better answers in the 3d section. I dont have a 3d tv myself but I went to Best Buy last week, they had Yogi Bear playing on a LG 3d tv using the ps3 and it looked good.
bassmonkeee's Avatar bassmonkeee
12:04 PM Liked: 10
post #3 of 17
08-22-2012 | Posts: 4,713
Joined: Dec 2006
My PS3 works just fine playing 3D blu-rays. It also looks good with the 3D stuff available through Vudu.

I haven't really seen much played on stand alone players, though.
tfoltz's Avatar tfoltz
08:46 AM Liked: 62
post #4 of 17
08-23-2012 | Posts: 3,533
Joined: Feb 2008
The video is great; however, PS3 can't provide lossless audio for Dolby TrueHD when watching 3D, though it can provide lossless DTS-HD MA. I ended up buying a Panasonic 110 because I wanted lossless Dolby in addition to DTS.
MaxDam77's Avatar MaxDam77
01:47 PM Liked: 44
post #5 of 17
08-23-2012 | Posts: 1,880
Joined: Aug 2005
Thanks guys for the replies!
As for the sound, my wife complains about it. I just bought a sound bar which got the "wife approval". It was already hard to convice her about the 60" inch tv lol.

Thanks!
bassmonkeee's Avatar bassmonkeee
07:38 AM Liked: 10
post #6 of 17
08-24-2012 | Posts: 4,713
Joined: Dec 2006
I switched to a soundbar in the living room until my son gets older, or until I can get some speakers mounted on the ceiling.

The sound bar works great for what it is. And, we can only crank the sound so much with the kid sleeping in the other room.


So, if you are using a sound bar, I don't think you need to bother with the expense of an additional player.
joeblow's Avatar joeblow
09:21 AM Liked: 215
post #7 of 17
08-24-2012 | Posts: 12,208
Joined: May 2006
For 3D movies and 3D gaming, my OG launch PS3 does an excellent job with the visuals. No complaints at all.
steve1022's Avatar steve1022
05:51 PM Liked: 47
post #8 of 17
09-16-2012 | Posts: 652
Joined: Feb 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by MaxDam77 View Post

I finally upgraded my TV and bougth a new 60" HDTV, Samsung PN60E7000.
I was wondering how good is the PS3 as a 3D player. Or should I get a seperate 3D blu ray player?
Thanks for the advice,

If you are still monitoring this thread I would like to ask how your E7000 does with ps3 games? I am trying to decide on this or a panasonic and your imput would be great if I could get it.
madturbosnake's Avatar madturbosnake
04:59 AM Liked: 10
post #9 of 17
09-17-2012 | Posts: 383
Joined: Jun 2008
I have had a 3d tv for last two years, bought the panasonic top of the vt25 58 inch tv when it came was impressed when it came out with some of the games, not all the movies have been good; except for a few like avatar.
eweiss's Avatar eweiss
07:29 AM Liked: 15
post #10 of 17
10-01-2012 | Posts: 7,595
Joined: Jan 2002
Question:

I don't have a 3D TV. My PS3 is hooked to my TV via a HDMI-to-DVI cable. I have the latest PS3 firmware update.

I decided to see what would happen if I played the Titanic 3D Blu-ray.

I got a screen message saying it requires a 3D BD player and 3D TV to display the movie.

So... What is prompting this "cannot play" message?

- That I am using HDMI-to-DVI instead of straight HDMI?
- That my TV isn't sending some sort of handshaking signal to my PS3 that lets it know that there's a 3D TV connected?
- Or what?

Also, is it still true that when I do get a 3D TV, my PS3 won't be able to transmit lossless audio over HDMI at the same time it's sending a 3D BD signal?
TornadoTJ's Avatar TornadoTJ
08:49 AM Liked: 60
post #11 of 17
10-01-2012 | Posts: 4,166
Joined: Jan 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by eweiss View Post

Question:
I don't have a 3D TV.
I decided to see what would happen if I played the Titanic 3D Blu-ray.
I got a screen message saying it requires a 3D BD player and 3D TV to display the movie.
So... What is prompting this "cannot play" message?

Maybe the fact you don't have a 3D TV?
MaxDam77's Avatar MaxDam77
09:40 AM Liked: 44
post #12 of 17
10-01-2012 | Posts: 1,880
Joined: Aug 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by steve1022 View Post

If you are still monitoring this thread I would like to ask how your E7000 does with ps3 games? I am trying to decide on this or a panasonic and your imput would be great if I could get it.

I love it! smile.gif
I'm used to game in Plasma. So no motion blur unlike LCD.
I haven't really game on a LED though so I cannot really tell. I choose plamas because of the better blacks and I watch movies and game in a dark room.
The 3D is great too.
It's hard to decide between the panasonic and the samsung. Both are great. you can go wrong with any of them.
Why I decided to go with the samsung,...3d glasses are cheaper and I got 2 for free.
MaxDam77's Avatar MaxDam77
09:43 AM Liked: 44
post #13 of 17
10-01-2012 | Posts: 1,880
Joined: Aug 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by eweiss View Post

Question:
I don't have a 3D TV. My PS3 is hooked to my TV via a HDMI-to-DVI cable. I have the latest PS3 firmware update.
I decided to see what would happen if I played the Titanic 3D Blu-ray.
I got a screen message saying it requires a 3D BD player and 3D TV to display the movie.
So... What is prompting this "cannot play" message?
- That I am using HDMI-to-DVI instead of straight HDMI?
- That my TV isn't sending some sort of handshaking signal to my PS3 that lets it know that there's a 3D TV connected?
- Or what?
Also, is it still true that when I do get a 3D TV, my PS3 won't be able to transmit lossless audio over HDMI at the same time it's sending a 3D BD signal?

To play 3D games or movies,..you must have a 3D hdtv.
1st you have to go to settings > Display> automatic setup. Your PS3 will detect if your TV has 3D and will ask you the size of the screen.
TornadoTJ's Avatar TornadoTJ
10:19 AM Liked: 60
post #14 of 17
10-01-2012 | Posts: 4,166
Joined: Jan 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by MaxDam77 View Post

.
Why I decided to go with the samsung,...3d glasses are cheaper and I got 2 for free.

I looked at both for an extended period of time. I have friends with both. Ended up going Panasonic. The Samsung 3D glasses work on the Panasonic, that's what I use although I like the Panasonic glasses better.
MaxDam77's Avatar MaxDam77
12:45 PM Liked: 44
post #15 of 17
10-01-2012 | Posts: 1,880
Joined: Aug 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by TornadoTJ View Post

I looked at both for an extended period of time. I have friends with both. Ended up going Panasonic. The Samsung 3D glasses work on the Panasonic, that's what I use although I like the Panasonic glasses better.

The whole family has the samsung glasses and got myself panasonic ones, cause i wear prescription glasses. They are much better I agree.
Vortex3D's Avatar Vortex3D
02:19 PM Liked: 15
post #16 of 17
10-01-2012 | Posts: 2,057
Joined: Dec 2006
Does any one know the Samsung "active" 3D glasses work with Sony 3D Playstation screen? Both are using "active" 3D glasses but I can't find anyone that knows.
steve1022's Avatar steve1022
04:10 PM Liked: 47
post #17 of 17
10-01-2012 | Posts: 652
Joined: Feb 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by MaxDam77 View Post

I love it! smile.gif
I'm used to game in Plasma. So no motion blur unlike LCD.
I haven't really game on a LED though so I cannot really tell. I choose plamas because of the better blacks and I watch movies and game in a dark room.
The 3D is great too.
It's hard to decide between the panasonic and the samsung. Both are great. you can go wrong with any of them.
Why I decided to go with the samsung,...3d glasses are cheaper and I got 2 for free.

Thank you for the response it is helpful and appreciated.
Reply PlayStation Area

Subscribe to this Thread

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3