Denon AVR 1612 not working with PS3 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 Old 12-31-2012, 07:04 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
dooodstevenn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just tried to hook up my ps3 via hdmi to my denon avr 1612 and i am not getting any picture or audio. On the other hand when i go from PS3 to direct HDTV hdmi port it works perfectly and easily. Any ideas on what is wrong here?
dooodstevenn is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 Old 12-31-2012, 07:38 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
dooodstevenn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have also tried an optical cable hijacked from my other speaker bar set up. changed the settings in the PS3 to go optical but no luck...are there differences in optical cables? maybe i was using a wrong cable? Right now i have it set up so that picture goes directly to the HDTV through HDMI but audio is routed to the receiver using good ol fashion yellow and white cables so i could atleast use 2 speakers and bass.
dooodstevenn is offline  
post #3 of 8 Old 12-31-2012, 07:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Mikazaru's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,747
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Hdmi handshake problems unfortunately. My PS3 has been very problematic in this regard whenever I take it out of my system. You can try power-cycling your equipment or differerent hdmi cables, but that has never worked for me. What has worked is swapping out my PS3 for my 360 (seems to re-establish the connection) and back again. If you don't have a 360, I imagine any hdmi source component might do the trick. If that doesn't work, you might have to use component cables (the first time it happened to me, I dug out my old PS2 component cables which are compatible with the PS3), but I know this is a less than ideal solution.

You can also try getting into the PS3 Recovery Menu ( hold power button until it beeps twice) and restarting the system.
Mikazaru is offline  
post #4 of 8 Old 12-31-2012, 08:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Mikazaru's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,747
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Hmm... since you're not getting any sound via optical cable, maybe you need to adjust some settings in your receiver.
Mikazaru is offline  
post #5 of 8 Old 01-01-2013, 08:31 AM
Advanced Member
 
futurecode's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wilkes-barre, PA
Posts: 506
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by dooodstevenn View Post

I just tried to hook up my ps3 via hdmi to my denon avr 1612 and i am not getting any picture or audio. On the other hand when i go from PS3 to direct HDTV hdmi port it works perfectly and easily. Any ideas on what is wrong here?
Check to see if you have any hdmi processing enabled in the 1612, that might be the issue.

PSN: futurecode
futurecode is offline  
post #6 of 8 Old 01-01-2013, 01:09 PM
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 2,524
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by futurecode View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by dooodstevenn View Post

I just tried to hook up my ps3 via hdmi to my denon avr 1612 and i am not getting any picture or audio. On the other hand when i go from PS3 to direct HDTV hdmi port it works perfectly and easily. Any ideas on what is wrong here?
Check to see if you have any hdmi processing enabled in the 1612, that might be the issue.
The 1612 does not have any kind of hdmi processing that can be changed by the end user. It is the basic of their units. Suggest the OP check to make sure that they have the right input selected for the PS3.

For the OP, if you leave the hdmi cable connected, then connect a Blu-Ray player or catv box, turn the 1612 back on, same with the hdset, do you get a picture & audio from that device?
gregzoll is offline  
post #7 of 8 Old 01-04-2013, 06:03 AM
Senior Member
 
Netko350Z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: PA
Posts: 407
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I sometimes have the same issue with my 4308ci. Usually it has to do with the output settings on the PS3. I s usually have to cycle the input on my Denon and it is fine.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Netko350Z is offline  
post #8 of 8 Old 01-14-2013, 01:59 PM
Newbie
 
Crisis.VT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm having similar issues OP:
My PS3 is connected via HDMI (an AmazonBasics 1.4 [max1.4 hdmi 2m]) to my Denon AVR-1612.

When the AVR is connected to my monitor, a Samsung T260HD, I have no issues.

However, when I connected the receiver to two different new HDTVs (a LG 42CS560 and a Samsung UN40EH6000), both had HDCP handshake issues. In both cases, the issue disappeared when the PS3 was directly connected to the TV (via HDMI). I tried the following to fix the issue:
  • Reset the PS3's video settings (start holding down the power button for ~5-seconds, until you hear a beep)
  • Restricted the HDMI output to 1080p only (unchecking 1080i and 720p)
  • Swapped out the cable for other known good HDMI cables
  • Set audio output to Optical instead of HDMI

Like you, I am very frustrated by this, particularly since direct connecting the PS3 means I need to use optical audio out, limiting my output options, and I have to take extra steps when using different devices. If anyone has additional suggestions, I would be most appreciative.
Crisis.VT is offline  
Reply PlayStation Area

Tags
Denon Avr 1612 Receiver

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off