PlayStation 4 - Page 295 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #8821 of 17295 Old 11-15-2013, 07:21 AM
Advanced Member
 
lodolfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 949
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 67
Quote:
Originally Posted by emartins View Post

Lo, dont install the game, it will do it for you automatically once the 2 files are downloaded. If you press install you get stuck on that screen because its still downloading the other file. I left it all alone after the first game and it all installed on its own.

Thanks Lazy. Will do.

PSN:Lodolfan16
XBL: Lodolfan16
lodolfan is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #8822 of 17295 Old 11-15-2013, 07:27 AM
AVS Special Member
 
emartins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 3,502
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 129 Post(s)
Liked: 324
Rolltide is right, even though it shows 6-7gb downloaded it still needs to download the rest. Just in the background.

Hapi -"Lazy......cuz he's a boss like that"

mphfrom77 - "I'm an idiot."

benjamin-benjami - http://www.avsforum.com/t/1476721/battlefield-4/7200_100#post_24609271
emartins is offline  
post #8823 of 17295 Old 11-15-2013, 07:33 AM
 
TyrantII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Boston
Posts: 10,114
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 832
Quote:
Originally Posted by emartins View Post

Rolltide is right, even though it shows 6-7gb downloaded it still needs to download the rest. Just in the background.

A notification level progress for that would be nice. It must disappear when SP is available.

Do any of the games have "install MP" available? Wonder if it works different. Maybe thats the best bet for downloading stuff right away, since it needs the whole thing. From the sounds of it SP only needs a fraction of the total to do SP, so it goes to the hidden download/installation pretty quick to allow you into SP.
TyrantII is offline  
post #8824 of 17295 Old 11-15-2013, 07:37 AM
AVS Special Member
 
emartins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 3,502
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 129 Post(s)
Liked: 324
Quote:
Originally Posted by TyrantII View Post

A notification level progress for that would be nice. It must disappear when SP is available.

Do any of the games have "install MP" available? Wonder if it works different. Maybe thats the best bet for downloading stuff right away, since it needs the whole thing. From the sounds of it SP only needs a fraction of the total to do SP, so it goes to the hidden download/installation pretty quick to allow you into SP.

I didnt see any option like that, but I really didnt look either. I was quick to hit download and go off to the next game.

Hapi -"Lazy......cuz he's a boss like that"

mphfrom77 - "I'm an idiot."

benjamin-benjami - http://www.avsforum.com/t/1476721/battlefield-4/7200_100#post_24609271
emartins is offline  
post #8825 of 17295 Old 11-15-2013, 07:39 AM
 
TyrantII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Boston
Posts: 10,114
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 832
Quote:
Originally Posted by bd2003 View Post

Ah ok, obvious what that's for. It's not the video recording (that's on the APU and HDD), it's memory for the background/standby processor. The core system can completely power down in standby (aside from the GDDR5), the secondary subsystem prob has it's own embedded OS.

http://semiaccurate.com/forums/showthread.php?p=199893#post199893
Quote:
Connected to the Sony Second custom chip as Southbridge

- Samsung K4B2G1646E-BCK0 2Gb DDR3 SDRAM = 256 MB DDR3 memory
- Macronix MX25L25635FMI 256Mb Serial Flash Memory = 32MB SECURE Serial Flash Memory

@ boom, this exceeds what's needed for background downloading & Playready DRM, DLNA client/server and IPTV player. Speculation is that the excess can be used for the 15 minute loop @ 720P (h.264 compressed) and my view that it can also be used for a RVU video loop and cache for DVR to reduce the on time for the Hard Disk.

Then PS4 software credits include Mono, Mono VM, Lua, Cairo, Webkit, Microsoft IP which includes Playready DRM and more.......

Playstation mobile requires Mono and Java, PS Home requires Lua, Webkit and Cairo
TyrantII is offline  
post #8826 of 17295 Old 11-15-2013, 07:40 AM
AVS Special Member
 
benjamin-benjami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: edmond, ok
Posts: 4,069
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 52 Post(s)
Liked: 644
well i am off to gamestop to pick up my reserved ps4!
benjamin-benjami is offline  
post #8827 of 17295 Old 11-15-2013, 07:40 AM
AVS Special Member
 
emartins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 3,502
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 129 Post(s)
Liked: 324
I can confirm that all the games are still downloading even though they are not active. I checked up on Killzone and Knack and they are still climbing, slowly.

Also, I love how just pressing the PS button goes back and forth from the XMB to the game. Instant also, no waiting to do what you have to do.

Hapi -"Lazy......cuz he's a boss like that"

mphfrom77 - "I'm an idiot."

benjamin-benjami - http://www.avsforum.com/t/1476721/battlefield-4/7200_100#post_24609271
emartins is offline  
post #8828 of 17295 Old 11-15-2013, 07:43 AM
 
TyrantII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Boston
Posts: 10,114
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 832
Does it show the data rate? Hows the connection?

It's black Friday for ISP's is my guess. They're going to hate this spike in data usage.
TyrantII is offline  
post #8829 of 17295 Old 11-15-2013, 07:45 AM
AVS Special Member
 
tfoltz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: CA
Posts: 3,513
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 61
I find it so pathetic that half the games are "out of stock" at Amazon, most of which are EA games.
tfoltz is offline  
post #8830 of 17295 Old 11-15-2013, 07:47 AM
AVS Special Member
 
emartins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 3,502
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 129 Post(s)
Liked: 324
Quote:
Originally Posted by TyrantII View Post

Does it show the data rate? Hows the connection?

It's black Friday for ISP's is my guess. They're going to hate this spike in data usage.

It doesnt show anything on the game info screen but under the "Test Network" it says 35/28. I have Fios 75/35 at home and my laptop hits about 70 wirelessly so I know its not my connection.

Hapi -"Lazy......cuz he's a boss like that"

mphfrom77 - "I'm an idiot."

benjamin-benjami - http://www.avsforum.com/t/1476721/battlefield-4/7200_100#post_24609271
emartins is offline  
post #8831 of 17295 Old 11-15-2013, 07:57 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
bd2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 10,317
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 145 Post(s)
Liked: 1352

It's not big enough to store 15mins of 5mbit video (562MB) anyway. It's obviously connected straight to the secondary processor based on its proximity, the main APU doesn't need and prob doesn't have access to any of it.

My guess is aside from working memory for the embedded OS it's scratch space in which to download and decompress downloads.

Steam/PSN/Xbox Live: Darius510
bd2003 is offline  
post #8832 of 17295 Old 11-15-2013, 07:59 AM
CHG
Advanced Member
 
CHG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 740
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by kwaidonjin View Post

I was able to score a PS4 from Amazon. I used the APP on my phone at 12:01am and was able to get the launch edition, Says I should get it by the 23rd. But it won't be open till Xmas. Does Amazon give you extra time to return if something is wrong? or do you still have the 30 days? I know Walmart will give you till the middle of Jan.

My order from Amazon shows I have until January 31 to make a return.
kwaidonjin likes this.
CHG is offline  
post #8833 of 17295 Old 11-15-2013, 08:00 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Crash44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Oregon
Posts: 1,173
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 85
For anyone still looking to buy a PS4:

Newegg is offering bundles "Available at 1pm PT". They are high priced because they throw in the kitchen sink, but if you're starting or updating a setup it's probably worth it.

Bundle 1

PlayStation 4 + Sony PS4 DualShock Wireless Controller
Turtle Beach Call of Duty: Ghosts Ear Force
Sony PS4 Camera
Call of Duty: Ghosts
Killzone: Shadow Fall
Battlefield 4
SONY PlayStation Plus 1 Year Membership

Bundle 2

PlayStation 4+Sony PS4 DualShock Wireless Controller
Turtle Beach Ear Force
Sony PS4 Camera
PlayStation Vita with The Walking Dead
SONY PlayStation Plus 1 Year Membership

Looks like they are taking orders starting at 1pm Pacific as they say out of stock right now.

PSN: CrashLanding (please ID requests as AVS)
Crash44 is offline  
post #8834 of 17295 Old 11-15-2013, 08:02 AM
AVS Special Member
 
rolltide1017's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Montgomery, AL
Posts: 2,915
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 237
How do you do the Twitch streaming stuff, does it require the PS Camera? I can't find anything about it in the settings.

Also, could someone try out Netflix and see if you get 5.1 from it and if 5.1 is an option under the audio and subtitles settings in Netflix. Mine only has "English (Stereo)", even if the title says it has 5.1 audio. I'm just curious, not a big deal to me because we mainly use our AppleTV or our LG TV for Netflix. My wife will not even consider using the PS4 until the Harmony remote works with it, if it ever does.

PSN ID: RollTide1017
rolltide1017 is offline  
post #8835 of 17295 Old 11-15-2013, 08:08 AM
 
TyrantII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Boston
Posts: 10,114
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 832
Wattage measurements up.

There's a mistake by Ars. Was meant to say 10W at standby, not 70W.
Quote:
Electrically, the PS4 draws about 150 Watts of energy when playing a high end game like Killzone, a number that drops to 130 or 140 Watts when playing less intensive titles like Resogun. That's better than the roughly 180 Watts of the launch edition of the PlayStation 3, but worse than the 100-or-so Watt maximum in more recent redesigns. Even in its "low power" standby mode, the PS4 still draws a significant 70 10 Watts of power, so you should turn it all the way off unless you're planning on doing a lot of overnight downloads or Vita Remote Play.



http://arstechnica.com/gaming/2013/11/playstation-4-hardware-review-off-to-a-mixed-start/
TyrantII is offline  
post #8836 of 17295 Old 11-15-2013, 08:12 AM
Advanced Member
 
Soycrema's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Framingham, MA USA
Posts: 540
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Netflix works just fine for me, I have both audio options available but I selected English Dolby Plus 5.1 of course smile.gif I left Linear PCM as the default audio output in the settings
Soycrema is offline  
post #8837 of 17295 Old 11-15-2013, 08:16 AM
Advanced Member
 
Soycrema's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Framingham, MA USA
Posts: 540
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Is anybody having issues with the Amazon Instant Video App? It installed just fine but every time I try to open it it freezes and crashes the PS4, I've had to pull the plug a couple of time already.....other apps work just fine
Soycrema is offline  
post #8838 of 17295 Old 11-15-2013, 08:19 AM
Advanced Member
 
crippldogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Yorktown, VA
Posts: 553
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by Soycrema View Post

Is anybody having issues with the Amazon Instant Video App? It installed just fine but every time I try to open it it freezes and crashes the PS4, I've had to pull the plug a couple of time already.....other apps work just fine

Haven't had any issues with amazons app yet. The kids have been watching it just fine

The Weekend Warriors
crippldogg is offline  
post #8839 of 17295 Old 11-15-2013, 08:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Big Brad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Palmetto, FL
Posts: 1,723
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 168
Looks like Assassin's Creed IV will be getting a patch that ups the native resolution to 1080p and adds a better anti-aliasing method.

http://blog.ubi.com/assassins-creed-iv-black-flag-in-native-1080p-on-playstation-4/

Don't know if it's Day 1 or not. I'm hoping it is. I'll keep you guys posted. Assassin's Creed IV is my only digital download title, so it may be a bit.

PSN ID/XBOX Live! Gamertag: BiffCo
My SD/HD movie collection
Big Brad is offline  
post #8840 of 17295 Old 11-15-2013, 08:26 AM
AVS Special Member
 
rolltide1017's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Montgomery, AL
Posts: 2,915
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 237
Quote:
Originally Posted by Soycrema View Post

Netflix works just fine for me, I have both audio options available but I selected English Dolby Plus 5.1 of course smile.gifI left Linear PCM as the default audio output in the settings

I wonder if that is my problem, I only tried selecting Bitstream (Dolby and DTS). Do you mind me asking what you watched? Thanks.

PSN ID: RollTide1017
rolltide1017 is offline  
post #8841 of 17295 Old 11-15-2013, 08:33 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Reddig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Hays
Posts: 1,600
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 153
Quote:
Originally Posted by ahartig View Post

So nobody can sign into PSN? Jesus what a massive killjoy for the midnight launchers….

For people that bought discs, can you log into multiplayer servers like BF4?

What great night!!! Ps4= amazing! I guess I was super lucky but by the time i got home it was around 1:30 and I booted up, updated, and signed right in. Redeemed codes except music unlimited than started KZ SP. Graphics and controls r truly next gen wow! Amazing colors and such smooth gradients to true black. Than i downloaded Resogun, DC Universe, and bought Flower.

Once I started a Resogun I couldn't quit playing. I just stopped playing actually lol! Nice way to break in the new console with a 7 hour Ressgun session lol. Most fun and addicting game I've played in long time. Looks fantastic too.

Ps4 dashboard and PSN are a joy to maneuver thru. I'm so impressed. I actually havnt been this blown away by a new console release since the N64. I'm one happy dude that's for sure. Been playing on my Pioneer Kuro plasma but will eventually move it into my theater room on the 125" acoustic transparent screen.

Ps4 gets 3 thumbs up from me. Yes 3 lol
DaverJ and d_m1010 like this.

JBL Pro Cinema
Reddig is offline  
post #8842 of 17295 Old 11-15-2013, 08:36 AM
AVS Special Member
 
BornSlippyZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Cincy, OH
Posts: 1,512
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 195
^good to hear and I cannot wait to hook this up in my room!

October HorrorFest Participant
BornSlippyZ is offline  
post #8843 of 17295 Old 11-15-2013, 08:37 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Abaddon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: St Louis
Posts: 1,883
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 84
Quote:
Originally Posted by benjamin-benjami View Post

go thunder!
Tough loss there, AI is a stud. So excited the W's were able to pick him up. Unfortunately being in the midwest on a work night I had to quit at half-time.

I have to say watching the first half watching these two teams play is seeing the NBA at its best. Great offense, not because the defense is lackluster, but because both teams have a deep roster of very talented shooters, and good coaching on both sides with creative ways to find open looks for them.
Abaddon is offline  
post #8844 of 17295 Old 11-15-2013, 08:38 AM
Senior Member
 
HDSapper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 258
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 21
IT'S HERE! Don't know how long it's been sitting outside my door. I guess the UPS guy was too busy to even ring the door bell. I just stepped outside and there is was.

Have you looked outside lately?
HDSapper is offline  
post #8845 of 17295 Old 11-15-2013, 08:39 AM
Member
 
Gariputo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 96
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anyone by chance tried charging the controller from a power only USB port? I'm hoping the new charges in standby feature means the USB ports on my outlet can charge it.
Gariputo is offline  
post #8846 of 17295 Old 11-15-2013, 08:47 AM
AVS Special Member
 
NoThru22's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 9,207
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 86
UPS has lost my PS4...
NoThru22 is offline  
post #8847 of 17295 Old 11-15-2013, 08:54 AM
AVS Special Member
 
samendolaro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Malbar, FL
Posts: 1,377
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 303
Quote:
Originally Posted by NoThru22 View Post

UPS has lost my PS4...
Join the Club....

Lots of Stolen Ps4's off the truck to be sure..
samendolaro is offline  
post #8848 of 17295 Old 11-15-2013, 08:58 AM
Senior Member
 
boltsfan21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: California
Posts: 435
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by NoThru22 View Post

UPS has lost my PS4...

Sorry to hear that. How did that happen? Does it show lost on the tracking page?
boltsfan21 is offline  
post #8849 of 17295 Old 11-15-2013, 08:58 AM
AVS Special Member
 
freemeat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 2,597
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 526
"Amazing colors and such smooth gradients to true black."

That is really good to hear. Even the best looking games (The Last of Us being an example) seem to have weakness in this area on the current gen games.
freemeat is offline  
post #8850 of 17295 Old 11-15-2013, 09:00 AM
AVS Special Member
 
garciab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Princeton, TX - USA
Posts: 1,033
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by NoThru22 View Post

UPS has lost my PS4...

Don't know if this has anything to do with it, but UPSMAN69 just signed in to PSN. smile.gif
ambesolman likes this.

bg
garciab is offline  
Reply PlayStation Area

Tags
Playstation 4 Games , Playstation 4 Camera , Playstation 4 Dualshock 4 Wireless Controller , Playstation 3 160gb System , Sony , Playstation 4 Console
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off