PlayStation 4 - Page 394 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11791 of 18081 Old 01-04-2014, 10:35 AM
 
TyrantII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Boston
Posts: 10,114
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 832
Quote:
Originally Posted by PENDRAG0ON View Post

Is there a way for me to test my touch pad? I have yet to run into a situation where I can even use it.

I know, right? Freaking Dice just uses it as one big button! And this is already proven tech in tablets and smartphones with a lot if inspiration to draw from.

I'm wondering how perceptive it is. Can it use double tap? We know one direction swipe works, but what about using as a cursor (Swipe keyboard implementation?). Two thumbs at once?

Killzone gave some ideas on how it work well, but then they screwed up what should have been mapped to it vs the d-pad IMO.
TyrantII is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #11792 of 18081 Old 01-04-2014, 10:35 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Epyon415's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 1,151
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 96 Post(s)
Liked: 184
Quote:
Originally Posted by PENDRAG0ON View Post

Is there a way for me to test my touch pad? I have yet to run into a situation where I can even use it.

Like outside of games? AC4 and KZ are the only titles I know that use it right now sadly, and playroom I guess.

PSN & XBL: Epyon415
Twitch.tv:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Twitter: @gundumgaming

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Epyon415 is online now  
post #11793 of 18081 Old 01-04-2014, 10:44 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
joeblow's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 12,108
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 196
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post

It wouldn't be any more likely to be listening than a cell phone or a tablet. If the PS4 is really listening then so is your cell phone and tablet. So you better remove the batteries from them.
Bad analogy. My phone is only transmitting my voice when I am engaged in a phone call, which is something that can only happen when I choose to receive or make a call. It is a conscience act with specific people that I chose to communicate with.

Unfortunately, the microphone on the DS4 is on at all times when the PS4 is fired up, so if I am playing an online game my voice (and the voices of my family nearby) are transmitted to complete strangers oftentimes. The only way to shut it off is to unplug the camera. It's a terrible, unnecessary decision that I hope gets patched one day. We should be able to independently shut off camera mike transmissions at a hardware level if we choose (and stick to headphone mikes instead).
icelt, TeflonSoul and d_m1010 like this.

Los Angeles Lakers - 16 NBA Championships!

joeblow is offline  
post #11794 of 18081 Old 01-04-2014, 11:00 AM
AVS Special Member
 
PENDRAG0ON's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 9,476
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 557
Yeah, I overheard a very entertaining fight in one Battlefield match thanks to that camera.

PSN - Pendragoongp
NNID - Pendragoon
Include your AVS username in the friend request.
PENDRAG0ON is offline  
post #11795 of 18081 Old 01-04-2014, 11:01 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
bd2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 10,523
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 284 Post(s)
Liked: 1393

Trine 2 uses it, get the demo.


Steam/PSN/Xbox Live: Darius510
bd2003 is online now  
post #11796 of 18081 Old 01-04-2014, 11:28 AM
Advanced Member
 
Notsobright's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 697
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 20
when is sony going to give us the option to disable the PS camera mic? i hate unplugging the camera every time i get on COD:Ghost.
Notsobright is offline  
post #11797 of 18081 Old 01-04-2014, 11:40 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 21,457
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 649 Post(s)
Liked: 715
Quote:
Originally Posted by Notsobright View Post

when is sony going to give us the option to disable the PS camera mic? i hate unplugging the camera every time i get on COD:Ghost.

WIth BF4, if I plug in the mono ear piece, that overrides the camera mic. Then I can just mute it. It doesn't work that way with Ghosts?

39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme

aaronwt is offline  
post #11798 of 18081 Old 01-04-2014, 12:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
samendolaro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Malbar, FL
Posts: 1,378
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 303
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post

It means that the base will be split. And there will be less incentive to add features to it. Just like the PS4 camera base is split now. Because of that I don't expect the PS4 camera to get as many features as it would have if it had been included with every PS4. I would expect the same thing to happen if a bunch of XBOnes are sold without Kinect.

Voice commands do not need a camera . Only if a game is motion based would it even be required. And if people want to play that game they would buy it. I can't think of one game I played on my 360 where the Kinect added any value to the gaming experience which was not fully motion based..

My kinect turned out to be a novelty at best (like freeze functions on my TV) I used it for the adventure game which came with it and the younger kids used it for DDR and the like but beyond that it was never used. So I disagree that the Camera Base is Split, its the user base which is split. You simply have some people that will use the camera and some that never will. The only difference is that PS4 users have the choice of spending their money on it or not. There will be plenty of camera owners which will generate the demand for an assortment of new motion based games for the camera.

Motion gaming will always have a following but thinking that forcing hardware on people will increase the use or the amount of that genre of games to be sold is just not true.

Honestly, I fully expect some newer XB games to force motion based controls in some games to their detriment purely based upon pressure from MS who seems to learn things on the slow side these days.
samendolaro is offline  
post #11799 of 18081 Old 01-04-2014, 12:50 PM
AVS Special Member
 
darthrsg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Post America America
Posts: 8,589
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 170 Post(s)
Liked: 746
Quote:
Originally Posted by samendolaro View Post


Honestly, I fully expect some newer XB games to force motion based controls in some games to their detriment purely based upon pressure from MS who seems to learn things on the slow side these days.

And be defended to the death by the slow boiled froggies.
benjamin-benjami and icelt like this.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Steam: Guts
darthrsg is online now  
post #11800 of 18081 Old 01-04-2014, 01:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
d_m1010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Northern Exposure Canada
Posts: 1,872
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 146
Quote:
Originally Posted by samendolaro View Post

Voice commands do not need a camera . Only if a game is motion based would it even be required. And if people want to play that game they would buy it. I can't think of one game I played on my 360 where the Kinect added any value to the gaming experience which was not fully motion based..

My kinect turned out to be a novelty at best (like freeze functions on my TV) I used it for the adventure game which came with it and the younger kids used it for DDR and the like but beyond that it was never used. So I disagree that the Camera Base is Split, its the user base which is split. You simply have some people that will use the camera and some that never will. The only difference is that PS4 users have the choice of spending their money on it or not. There will be plenty of camera owners which will generate the demand for an assortment of new motion based games for the camera.

Motion gaming will always have a following but thinking that forcing hardware on people will increase the use or the amount of that genre of games to be sold is just not true.

Honestly, I fully expect some newer XB games to force motion based controls in some games to their detriment purely based upon pressure from MS who seems to learn things on the slow side these days.
yes my kids like that horrible Adventures game on the 360 that uses kinect. Other than that it sits in the corner unloved and unappreciated.
d_m1010 is offline  
post #11801 of 18081 Old 01-04-2014, 03:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
zBuff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,434
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by SubaruB4 View Post

I don't understand why the camera is sold out.. maybe because of the PS4 porn? LOL

I reckon it's because of the Jimmy Fallon segment with Ice-T kicking that robot into the screen. The audience loved it
zBuff is offline  
post #11802 of 18081 Old 01-04-2014, 04:03 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 21,457
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 649 Post(s)
Liked: 715
Quote:
Originally Posted by zBuff View Post

I reckon it's because of the Jimmy Fallon segment with Ice-T kicking that robot into the screen. The audience loved it

It gets old after a few minutes though.

39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme

aaronwt is offline  
post #11803 of 18081 Old 01-04-2014, 04:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
benjamin-benjami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: edmond, ok
Posts: 4,190
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 157 Post(s)
Liked: 713
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post

It gets old after a few minutes though.

What???? no way smile.gif
benjamin-benjami is offline  
post #11804 of 18081 Old 01-04-2014, 04:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
SubaruB4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Greenwich, Connecticut
Posts: 1,001
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by zBuff View Post

I reckon it's because of the Jimmy Fallon segment with Ice-T kicking that robot into the screen. The audience loved it
If so that was what like 2-3 months ago? I'm still thinking a supply issue.
SubaruB4 is offline  
post #11805 of 18081 Old 01-04-2014, 07:50 PM
AVS Special Member
 
d_m1010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Northern Exposure Canada
Posts: 1,872
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 146
Well, that's a first. AC4 locked up. I could still get back to the UI, but the game needed a reboot. I wonder if that has to do with Ubisofts servers being down?
d_m1010 is offline  
post #11806 of 18081 Old 01-04-2014, 08:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
PENDRAG0ON's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 9,476
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 557
Quote:
Originally Posted by d_m1010 View Post

Well, that's a first. AC4 locked up. I could still get back to the UI, but the game needed a reboot. I wonder if that has to do with Ubisofts servers being down?

I had that happen once, just chalked it up to a random crash.

PSN - Pendragoongp
NNID - Pendragoon
Include your AVS username in the friend request.
PENDRAG0ON is offline  
post #11807 of 18081 Old 01-04-2014, 09:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Epyon415's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 1,151
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 96 Post(s)
Liked: 184
Headset question.

What is everyone (who has one) using?

Gonna want to upgrade for future titles that will be online MP/co-op and the earbud blows. Not concerned about budget just yet, but looking for brand and impressions. If it works on PC also, extra points.

PSN & XBL: Epyon415
Twitch.tv:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Twitter: @gundumgaming

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Epyon415 is online now  
post #11808 of 18081 Old 01-04-2014, 10:11 PM
Advanced Member
 
ElectronicTonic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ventura, CA
Posts: 956
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by Epyon415 View Post

Headset question.

What is everyone (who has one) using?

Gonna want to upgrade for future titles that will be online MP/co-op and the earbud blows. Not concerned about budget just yet, but looking for brand and impressions. If it works on PC also, extra points.
I've had a pretty good experience with Astro. I like having the option of using any 3.5mm headset. (not the case with their newer wireless headset) HERE is a thread I started about my adventures in getting my current older model Astro's up and running on the PS4. I think I'm on your friend's list, send a party invite sometime and we can chat about it more.wink.gif
Epyon415 likes this.
ElectronicTonic is offline  
post #11809 of 18081 Old 01-05-2014, 03:58 AM
Senior Member
 
scoobdude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 397
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 25
I have been using my pulse elites. Happy so far. Only via 3.5 but you can turn then on to take advantage of pulse and volume control and eq. they also work wireless on PC including Linux.... Or anything with a3.5mm out (the USB dongle has a 3.5mm in put)
scoobdude is offline  
post #11810 of 18081 Old 01-05-2014, 04:55 AM
AVS Special Member
 
d_m1010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Northern Exposure Canada
Posts: 1,872
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 146
Quote:
Originally Posted by Epyon415 View Post

Headset question.

What is everyone (who has one) using?

Gonna want to upgrade for future titles that will be online MP/co-op and the earbud blows. Not concerned about budget just yet, but looking for brand and impressions. If it works on PC also, extra points.
I'm using PSB M4U2s and Monster Studio Beats. They are both solid although the PSBs are the best headphones I've ever owned. They are great for listening to lossless files through my Benchmark DAC.
d_m1010 is offline  
post #11811 of 18081 Old 01-05-2014, 06:08 AM
HPQ
Advanced Member
 
HPQ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 706
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 60
quick question.. When I press the power button, I think it goes to standby.. (I see the colors change but they still stay on .. just a lighter color).. How to make it go all the way down?

Samsung UN75F8000 LED TV, NAD T-777 (7.2 Receiver), Oppo 103, Sony PS4, Panamax MR-5100, 7 Paradigm Reference series 8" in ceiling speakers (AMS-150R) - 30 degree tilting speakers, 2 Paradigm SE Sub, universal remote MX-450, universal advanced RF base station MRF-3501.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
.
HPQ is offline  
post #11812 of 18081 Old 01-05-2014, 06:22 AM
Senior Member
 
scoobdude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 397
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by HPQ View Post

quick question.. When I press the power button, I think it goes to standby.. (I see the colors change but they still stay on .. just a lighter color).. How to make it go all the way down?

In order to power it down completely, you must go through the menu and select shutdown. And the lights are listed below

White: on
Pulsing blue: boot up
Orange: stand by
Off: off
*Rumored red: over heating, I cannot confirm this one though

Also I think you can disable stand by mode all together or at least charging and downloading abilities.
scoobdude is offline  
post #11813 of 18081 Old 01-05-2014, 07:00 AM
AVS Special Member
 
kjr39's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 2,691
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by Epyon415 View Post

Headset question.

What is everyone (who has one) using?

Gonna want to upgrade for future titles that will be online MP/co-op and the earbud blows. Not concerned about budget just yet, but looking for brand and impressions. If it works on PC also, extra points.

Check out the Sennheiser line. I'm using the PC360 set and love it.

Salminella has become legend (or something like that):
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
kjr39 is offline  
post #11814 of 18081 Old 01-05-2014, 07:28 AM
HPQ
Advanced Member
 
HPQ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 706
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 60
Quote:
Originally Posted by scoobdude View Post

In order to power it down completely, you must go through the menu and select shutdown. And the lights are listed below

White: on
Pulsing blue: boot up
Orange: stand by
Off: off
*Rumored red: over heating, I cannot confirm this one though

Also I think you can disable stand by mode all together or at least charging and downloading abilities.

Thanks. I wonder if there is any benefit to keeping it on standby? Or it just wastes electricity??

Samsung UN75F8000 LED TV, NAD T-777 (7.2 Receiver), Oppo 103, Sony PS4, Panamax MR-5100, 7 Paradigm Reference series 8" in ceiling speakers (AMS-150R) - 30 degree tilting speakers, 2 Paradigm SE Sub, universal remote MX-450, universal advanced RF base station MRF-3501.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
.
HPQ is offline  
post #11815 of 18081 Old 01-05-2014, 07:37 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 21,457
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 649 Post(s)
Liked: 715
Quote:
Originally Posted by HPQ View Post

Thanks. I wonder if there is any benefit to keeping it on standby? Or it just wastes electricity??

It only uses around 8.8 watts in standby. And you can certainly start it up much quicker from standby than a cold boot. The XBOne uses almost double the power when it is in standby(around 16 watts).

One thing Sony needs to fix is to have true standby downloading. Right now it uses over 70 watts to download when you supposedly put it in standby(which isn't really a standby). The XBOne uses around 18 watts when downloading in standby.

39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme

aaronwt is offline  
post #11816 of 18081 Old 01-05-2014, 07:40 AM
Senior Member
 
scoobdude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 397
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by HPQ View Post

Thanks. I wonder if there is any benefit to keeping it on standby? Or it just wastes electricity??

USB charging, remote turn on from vita or app, and the ability to push downloads to it. Best benefit though it's the orange beacon of light so I always know where my ps4 is when I go downstairs :P
scoobdude is offline  
post #11817 of 18081 Old 01-05-2014, 08:29 AM
AVS Special Member
 
lordxar5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 4,448
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 190 Post(s)
Liked: 419
Quote:
Originally Posted by scoobdude View Post

I have been using my pulse elites. Happy so far. Only via 3.5 but you can turn then on to take advantage of pulse and volume control and eq. they also work wireless on PC including Linux.... Or anything with a3.5mm out (the USB dongle has a 3.5mm in put)

When powered does it mute? I thought I tried mine out week one and the controls didn't work.
lordxar5 is online now  
post #11818 of 18081 Old 01-05-2014, 08:30 AM
Member
 
gixerking's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 131
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by PENDRAG0ON View Post

Is there a way for me to test my touch pad? I have yet to run into a situation where I can even use it.


Warframe uses the touchpad to use the warframes abilities
gixerking is offline  
post #11819 of 18081 Old 01-05-2014, 08:35 AM
AVS Special Member
 
lordxar5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 4,448
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 190 Post(s)
Liked: 419
Games should offer a choice between D pad or touchpad. BF and KZ could greatly benefit from this by not having to move your thumb off the left stick when moving.
icelt likes this.
lordxar5 is online now  
post #11820 of 18081 Old 01-05-2014, 08:57 AM
Senior Member
 
scoobdude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 397
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by lordxar5 View Post

When powered does it mute? I thought I tried mine out week one and the controls didn't work.

Not sure. I still have yet to jump online with chat. Will also unplug the camera when I check, since I hear there is no way to mute that
scoobdude is offline  
Reply PlayStation Area

Tags
Playstation 4 Games , Playstation 4 Camera , Playstation 4 Dualshock 4 Wireless Controller , Playstation 3 160gb System , Sony , Playstation 4 Console
Gear in this thread - 160gb by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off