PlayStation 4 - Page 394 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews

AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews > Gaming & Content Streaming > Home Theater Gaming > PlayStation Area > PlayStation 4

PlayStation Area

TyrantII's Avatar TyrantII
11:35 AM Liked: 832
post #11791 of 19447
01-04-2014 | Posts: 10,114
Joined: Apr 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by PENDRAG0ON View Post

Is there a way for me to test my touch pad? I have yet to run into a situation where I can even use it.

I know, right? Freaking Dice just uses it as one big button! And this is already proven tech in tablets and smartphones with a lot if inspiration to draw from.

I'm wondering how perceptive it is. Can it use double tap? We know one direction swipe works, but what about using as a cursor (Swipe keyboard implementation?). Two thumbs at once?

Killzone gave some ideas on how it work well, but then they screwed up what should have been mapped to it vs the d-pad IMO.
Epyon415's Avatar Epyon415
11:35 AM Liked: 226
post #11792 of 19447
01-04-2014 | Posts: 1,394
Joined: Sep 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by PENDRAG0ON View Post

Is there a way for me to test my touch pad? I have yet to run into a situation where I can even use it.

Like outside of games? AC4 and KZ are the only titles I know that use it right now sadly, and playroom I guess.
joeblow's Avatar joeblow
11:44 AM Liked: 220
post #11793 of 19447
01-04-2014 | Posts: 12,218
Joined: May 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post

It wouldn't be any more likely to be listening than a cell phone or a tablet. If the PS4 is really listening then so is your cell phone and tablet. So you better remove the batteries from them.
Bad analogy. My phone is only transmitting my voice when I am engaged in a phone call, which is something that can only happen when I choose to receive or make a call. It is a conscience act with specific people that I chose to communicate with.

Unfortunately, the microphone on the DS4 is on at all times when the PS4 is fired up, so if I am playing an online game my voice (and the voices of my family nearby) are transmitted to complete strangers oftentimes. The only way to shut it off is to unplug the camera. It's a terrible, unnecessary decision that I hope gets patched one day. We should be able to independently shut off camera mike transmissions at a hardware level if we choose (and stick to headphone mikes instead).
PENDRAG0ON's Avatar PENDRAG0ON
12:00 PM Liked: 562
post #11794 of 19447
01-04-2014 | Posts: 9,515
Joined: Mar 2007
Yeah, I overheard a very entertaining fight in one Battlefield match thanks to that camera.
bd2003's Avatar bd2003
12:01 PM Liked: 1538
post #11795 of 19447
01-04-2014 | Posts: 11,101
Joined: Jun 2004

Trine 2 uses it, get the demo.


Notsobright's Avatar Notsobright
12:28 PM Liked: 24
post #11796 of 19447
01-04-2014 | Posts: 707
Joined: Oct 2005
when is sony going to give us the option to disable the PS camera mic? i hate unplugging the camera every time i get on COD:Ghost.
aaronwt's Avatar aaronwt
12:40 PM Liked: 897
post #11797 of 19447
01-04-2014 | Posts: 22,501
Joined: Aug 2001
Quote:
Originally Posted by Notsobright View Post

when is sony going to give us the option to disable the PS camera mic? i hate unplugging the camera every time i get on COD:Ghost.

WIth BF4, if I plug in the mono ear piece, that overrides the camera mic. Then I can just mute it. It doesn't work that way with Ghosts?
samendolaro's Avatar samendolaro
01:17 PM Liked: 303
post #11798 of 19447
01-04-2014 | Posts: 1,378
Joined: Jul 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post

It means that the base will be split. And there will be less incentive to add features to it. Just like the PS4 camera base is split now. Because of that I don't expect the PS4 camera to get as many features as it would have if it had been included with every PS4. I would expect the same thing to happen if a bunch of XBOnes are sold without Kinect.

Voice commands do not need a camera . Only if a game is motion based would it even be required. And if people want to play that game they would buy it. I can't think of one game I played on my 360 where the Kinect added any value to the gaming experience which was not fully motion based..

My kinect turned out to be a novelty at best (like freeze functions on my TV) I used it for the adventure game which came with it and the younger kids used it for DDR and the like but beyond that it was never used. So I disagree that the Camera Base is Split, its the user base which is split. You simply have some people that will use the camera and some that never will. The only difference is that PS4 users have the choice of spending their money on it or not. There will be plenty of camera owners which will generate the demand for an assortment of new motion based games for the camera.

Motion gaming will always have a following but thinking that forcing hardware on people will increase the use or the amount of that genre of games to be sold is just not true.

Honestly, I fully expect some newer XB games to force motion based controls in some games to their detriment purely based upon pressure from MS who seems to learn things on the slow side these days.
darthrsg's Avatar darthrsg
01:50 PM Liked: 1051
post #11799 of 19447
01-04-2014 | Posts: 9,239
Joined: Jul 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by samendolaro View Post


Honestly, I fully expect some newer XB games to force motion based controls in some games to their detriment purely based upon pressure from MS who seems to learn things on the slow side these days.

And be defended to the death by the slow boiled froggies.
d_m1010's Avatar d_m1010
02:21 PM Liked: 181
post #11800 of 19447
01-04-2014 | Posts: 1,993
Joined: Aug 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by samendolaro View Post

Voice commands do not need a camera . Only if a game is motion based would it even be required. And if people want to play that game they would buy it. I can't think of one game I played on my 360 where the Kinect added any value to the gaming experience which was not fully motion based..

My kinect turned out to be a novelty at best (like freeze functions on my TV) I used it for the adventure game which came with it and the younger kids used it for DDR and the like but beyond that it was never used. So I disagree that the Camera Base is Split, its the user base which is split. You simply have some people that will use the camera and some that never will. The only difference is that PS4 users have the choice of spending their money on it or not. There will be plenty of camera owners which will generate the demand for an assortment of new motion based games for the camera.

Motion gaming will always have a following but thinking that forcing hardware on people will increase the use or the amount of that genre of games to be sold is just not true.

Honestly, I fully expect some newer XB games to force motion based controls in some games to their detriment purely based upon pressure from MS who seems to learn things on the slow side these days.
yes my kids like that horrible Adventures game on the 360 that uses kinect. Other than that it sits in the corner unloved and unappreciated.
zBuff's Avatar zBuff
04:21 PM Liked: 37
post #11801 of 19447
01-04-2014 | Posts: 1,434
Joined: Apr 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by SubaruB4 View Post

I don't understand why the camera is sold out.. maybe because of the PS4 porn? LOL

I reckon it's because of the Jimmy Fallon segment with Ice-T kicking that robot into the screen. The audience loved it
aaronwt's Avatar aaronwt
05:03 PM Liked: 897
post #11802 of 19447
01-04-2014 | Posts: 22,501
Joined: Aug 2001
Quote:
Originally Posted by zBuff View Post

I reckon it's because of the Jimmy Fallon segment with Ice-T kicking that robot into the screen. The audience loved it

It gets old after a few minutes though.
benjamin-benjami's Avatar benjamin-benjami
05:05 PM Liked: 745
post #11803 of 19447
01-04-2014 | Posts: 4,232
Joined: Jan 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post

It gets old after a few minutes though.

What???? no way smile.gif
SubaruB4's Avatar SubaruB4
05:33 PM Liked: 30
post #11804 of 19447
01-04-2014 | Posts: 1,002
Joined: Dec 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by zBuff View Post

I reckon it's because of the Jimmy Fallon segment with Ice-T kicking that robot into the screen. The audience loved it
If so that was what like 2-3 months ago? I'm still thinking a supply issue.
d_m1010's Avatar d_m1010
08:50 PM Liked: 181
post #11805 of 19447
01-04-2014 | Posts: 1,993
Joined: Aug 2009
Well, that's a first. AC4 locked up. I could still get back to the UI, but the game needed a reboot. I wonder if that has to do with Ubisofts servers being down?
PENDRAG0ON's Avatar PENDRAG0ON
09:11 PM Liked: 562
post #11806 of 19447
01-04-2014 | Posts: 9,515
Joined: Mar 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by d_m1010 View Post

Well, that's a first. AC4 locked up. I could still get back to the UI, but the game needed a reboot. I wonder if that has to do with Ubisofts servers being down?

I had that happen once, just chalked it up to a random crash.
Epyon415's Avatar Epyon415
10:56 PM Liked: 226
post #11807 of 19447
01-04-2014 | Posts: 1,394
Joined: Sep 2009
Headset question.

What is everyone (who has one) using?

Gonna want to upgrade for future titles that will be online MP/co-op and the earbud blows. Not concerned about budget just yet, but looking for brand and impressions. If it works on PC also, extra points.
ElectronicTonic's Avatar ElectronicTonic
11:11 PM Liked: 69
post #11808 of 19447
01-04-2014 | Posts: 983
Joined: Feb 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Epyon415 View Post

Headset question.

What is everyone (who has one) using?

Gonna want to upgrade for future titles that will be online MP/co-op and the earbud blows. Not concerned about budget just yet, but looking for brand and impressions. If it works on PC also, extra points.
I've had a pretty good experience with Astro. I like having the option of using any 3.5mm headset. (not the case with their newer wireless headset) HERE is a thread I started about my adventures in getting my current older model Astro's up and running on the PS4. I think I'm on your friend's list, send a party invite sometime and we can chat about it more.wink.gif
scoobdude's Avatar scoobdude
04:58 AM Liked: 25
post #11809 of 19447
01-05-2014 | Posts: 404
Joined: Mar 2007
I have been using my pulse elites. Happy so far. Only via 3.5 but you can turn then on to take advantage of pulse and volume control and eq. they also work wireless on PC including Linux.... Or anything with a3.5mm out (the USB dongle has a 3.5mm in put)
d_m1010's Avatar d_m1010
05:55 AM Liked: 181
post #11810 of 19447
01-05-2014 | Posts: 1,993
Joined: Aug 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Epyon415 View Post

Headset question.

What is everyone (who has one) using?

Gonna want to upgrade for future titles that will be online MP/co-op and the earbud blows. Not concerned about budget just yet, but looking for brand and impressions. If it works on PC also, extra points.
I'm using PSB M4U2s and Monster Studio Beats. They are both solid although the PSBs are the best headphones I've ever owned. They are great for listening to lossless files through my Benchmark DAC.
HPQ's Avatar HPQ
07:08 AM Liked: 64
post #11811 of 19447
01-05-2014 | Posts: 725
Joined: Oct 2011
quick question.. When I press the power button, I think it goes to standby.. (I see the colors change but they still stay on .. just a lighter color).. How to make it go all the way down?
scoobdude's Avatar scoobdude
07:22 AM Liked: 25
post #11812 of 19447
01-05-2014 | Posts: 404
Joined: Mar 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by HPQ View Post

quick question.. When I press the power button, I think it goes to standby.. (I see the colors change but they still stay on .. just a lighter color).. How to make it go all the way down?

In order to power it down completely, you must go through the menu and select shutdown. And the lights are listed below

White: on
Pulsing blue: boot up
Orange: stand by
Off: off
*Rumored red: over heating, I cannot confirm this one though

Also I think you can disable stand by mode all together or at least charging and downloading abilities.
kjr39's Avatar kjr39
08:00 AM Liked: 75
post #11813 of 19447
01-05-2014 | Posts: 2,791
Joined: Nov 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by Epyon415 View Post

Headset question.

What is everyone (who has one) using?

Gonna want to upgrade for future titles that will be online MP/co-op and the earbud blows. Not concerned about budget just yet, but looking for brand and impressions. If it works on PC also, extra points.

Check out the Sennheiser line. I'm using the PC360 set and love it.
HPQ's Avatar HPQ
08:28 AM Liked: 64
post #11814 of 19447
01-05-2014 | Posts: 725
Joined: Oct 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by scoobdude View Post

In order to power it down completely, you must go through the menu and select shutdown. And the lights are listed below

White: on
Pulsing blue: boot up
Orange: stand by
Off: off
*Rumored red: over heating, I cannot confirm this one though

Also I think you can disable stand by mode all together or at least charging and downloading abilities.

Thanks. I wonder if there is any benefit to keeping it on standby? Or it just wastes electricity??
aaronwt's Avatar aaronwt
08:37 AM Liked: 897
post #11815 of 19447
01-05-2014 | Posts: 22,501
Joined: Aug 2001
Quote:
Originally Posted by HPQ View Post

Thanks. I wonder if there is any benefit to keeping it on standby? Or it just wastes electricity??

It only uses around 8.8 watts in standby. And you can certainly start it up much quicker from standby than a cold boot. The XBOne uses almost double the power when it is in standby(around 16 watts).

One thing Sony needs to fix is to have true standby downloading. Right now it uses over 70 watts to download when you supposedly put it in standby(which isn't really a standby). The XBOne uses around 18 watts when downloading in standby.
scoobdude's Avatar scoobdude
08:40 AM Liked: 25
post #11816 of 19447
01-05-2014 | Posts: 404
Joined: Mar 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by HPQ View Post

Thanks. I wonder if there is any benefit to keeping it on standby? Or it just wastes electricity??

USB charging, remote turn on from vita or app, and the ability to push downloads to it. Best benefit though it's the orange beacon of light so I always know where my ps4 is when I go downstairs :P
lordxar5's Avatar lordxar5
09:29 AM Liked: 678
post #11817 of 19447
01-05-2014 | Posts: 5,469
Joined: Feb 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by scoobdude View Post

I have been using my pulse elites. Happy so far. Only via 3.5 but you can turn then on to take advantage of pulse and volume control and eq. they also work wireless on PC including Linux.... Or anything with a3.5mm out (the USB dongle has a 3.5mm in put)

When powered does it mute? I thought I tried mine out week one and the controls didn't work.
gixerking's Avatar gixerking
09:30 AM Liked: 13
post #11818 of 19447
01-05-2014 | Posts: 187
Joined: Jan 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by PENDRAG0ON View Post

Is there a way for me to test my touch pad? I have yet to run into a situation where I can even use it.


Warframe uses the touchpad to use the warframes abilities
lordxar5's Avatar lordxar5
09:35 AM Liked: 678
post #11819 of 19447
01-05-2014 | Posts: 5,469
Joined: Feb 2008
Games should offer a choice between D pad or touchpad. BF and KZ could greatly benefit from this by not having to move your thumb off the left stick when moving.
scoobdude's Avatar scoobdude
09:57 AM Liked: 25
post #11820 of 19447
01-05-2014 | Posts: 404
Joined: Mar 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by lordxar5 View Post

When powered does it mute? I thought I tried mine out week one and the controls didn't work.

Not sure. I still have yet to jump online with chat. Will also unplug the camera when I check, since I hear there is no way to mute that
Tags: Playstation 3 160gb System , Playstation 4 Camera , Playstation 4 Console , Playstation 4 Dualshock 4 Wireless Controller , Playstation 4 Games , Sony

Gear in this thread - 160gb by PriceGrabber.com
Reply PlayStation Area

Subscribe to this Thread

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3