PlayStation 4 - Page 598 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #17911 of 19667 Old 09-03-2014, 11:41 PM
Senior Member
 
Mud76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Brisbane Australia
Posts: 275
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 68 Post(s)
Liked: 109
PS4 remote play on Sony Z3 / Z3 compact



http://au.ign.com/articles/2014/09/0...z3-smartphones

Shut up and take my money
Spanglo, icelt, Nayan and 1 others like this.

PSN Brown-Corolla
Mud76 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #17912 of 19667 Old 09-04-2014, 07:26 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Cravit8's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Florida
Posts: 2,569
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 833 Post(s)
Liked: 454
Quote:
Originally Posted by icelt View Post

hahaha, I just got the Forza joke.
Cravit8 is offline  
post #17913 of 19667 Old 09-04-2014, 07:33 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Cravit8's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Florida
Posts: 2,569
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 833 Post(s)
Liked: 454
Does anyone actually think the PSN servers will not crash on Destiny launch day? I'm leaning towards not even bothering till the Friday afterwards.
What major game has released for PS4 that didn't have major downtime on release day?
Cravit8 is offline  
post #17914 of 19667 Old 09-04-2014, 07:43 AM
Advanced Member
 
icelt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 964
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 431 Post(s)
Liked: 322
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cravit8 View Post
Does anyone actually think the PSN servers will not crash on Destiny launch day? I'm leaning towards not even bothering till the Friday afterwards.
What major game has released for PS4 that didn't have major downtime on release day?
Totally expect the servers to crash and things to generally be all mucked up for several days post launch. Welcome to the New Millennium!

And the subtle Forza joke is what makes that p-shop especially priceless, well combined with the fact the Xbox exec retweeted it w/o even batting an eye.
icelt is offline  
post #17915 of 19667 Old 09-04-2014, 08:02 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
bd2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 11,214
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 686 Post(s)
Liked: 1575
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cravit8 View Post
Does anyone actually think the PSN servers will not crash on Destiny launch day? I'm leaning towards not even bothering till the Friday afterwards.
What major game has released for PS4 that didn't have major downtime on release day?

Call of duty always works....Activision has a pretty good track record.

Steam/PSN/Xbox Live: Darius510
bd2003 is online now  
post #17916 of 19667 Old 09-04-2014, 08:13 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 22,809
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1406 Post(s)
Liked: 937
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mud76 View Post
PS4 remote play on Sony Z3 / Z3 compact



http://au.ign.com/articles/2014/09/0...z3-smartphones

Shut up and take my money
??? That is actally a real device?

I don't even think you could pay me to use something like that.

53TB unRAID2--38TB unRAID3--33TB unRAID1a
LED DLP
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
post #17917 of 19667 Old 09-04-2014, 09:13 AM
Senior Member
 
Rgdeuce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: The desert
Posts: 218
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 64 Post(s)
Liked: 79
I fully expect issues, gotten used to it at this point.

Quote:
Originally Posted by bd2003 View Post
Call of duty always works....Activision has a pretty good track record.
Been several years since I stopped messing with the COD games, and when I did play them it was on the 360, but I always experienced launch issues with COD games for at least several days.
Rgdeuce is offline  
post #17918 of 19667 Old 09-04-2014, 09:23 AM
Senior Member
 
mcclayton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 392
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 71 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rgdeuce View Post
I fully expect issues, gotten used to it at this point.



Been several years since I stopped messing with the COD games, and when I did play them it was on the 360, but I always experienced launch issues with COD games for at least several days.
MW2 was the worst for me. Or the fact they were talking about record breaking pre-orders and stuff. And then the ps3 was unplayable for what seemed like a week. You'd think these companies would be better prepared.
mcclayton is offline  
post #17919 of 19667 Old 09-04-2014, 09:34 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mbroadus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Austin, TX & Arlington, VA
Posts: 2,105
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 357 Post(s)
Liked: 107
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
Yes, I use some auto switching HDMI switches. With my PS4 I currently have it on an auto 2x1 HDMI switch with my FireTV. I turn on the PS4 and it switches to that input. I turn it off and it switches back to the FireTV input. It's been working well with 36 bit Deep Color and 3D output from the PS4.
Great, thanks! I have a Monoprice 2X1 HDMI switcher at home but will probably reassign HDMI inputs on my Marantz receiver to: 1) Cable/Sat; 2) AppleTV; 3) PS3; & 4) PS4. Or do a complete switch to PS4 and put the PS3 on a different TV.

Last edited by mbroadus; 09-04-2014 at 09:39 AM.
mbroadus is offline  
post #17920 of 19667 Old 09-04-2014, 09:43 AM
AVS Special Member
 
HockeyoAJB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 1,104
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 409 Post(s)
Liked: 371
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
??? That is actally a real device?

I don't even think you could pay me to use something like that.
It's a not a stand alone device. What you are looking at is a picture of Sony's new flagship Xperia Z3 android smartphone, mounted on a special PS4 Dualshock4 controller. The game you see is actually running on a PS4. The video is being sent from the PS4 to the phone via. Remote Play. The idea is that you can start playing a game in your game/living room on the big screen, get up and move about the house (e.g. use the bathroom, make dinner, etc.), using the phone as a display, and then go back to your game/living room, without having to stop playing. Basically, it allows you to use your phone to play full quality PS4 games, eliminating the need for a dedicated portable gaming device (at least in your house).
Mud76 likes this.
HockeyoAJB is offline  
post #17921 of 19667 Old 09-04-2014, 10:10 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
bd2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 11,214
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 686 Post(s)
Liked: 1575
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rgdeuce View Post
I fully expect issues, gotten used to it at this point.



Been several years since I stopped messing with the COD games, and when I did play them it was on the 360, but I always experienced launch issues with COD games for at least several days.

There's usually a little bit of downtime here or there, maybe a little trouble keeping a party together on the first day. Never the kind of catastrophic failures for hours/days that you get with just about every other big launch.

I bet it'll be just fine.

Steam/PSN/Xbox Live: Darius510
bd2003 is online now  
post #17922 of 19667 Old 09-04-2014, 10:13 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Spanglo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 1,998
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 347 Post(s)
Liked: 324
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mud76 View Post
PS4 remote play on Sony Z3 / Z3 compact



http://au.ign.com/articles/2014/09/0...z3-smartphones

Shut up and take my money
Yes, and ditto for VR.

 


PSN - Hapi_Kilmore_v3
My 6.4.4 Living Room HT
Spanglo is online now  
post #17923 of 19667 Old 09-04-2014, 10:22 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 22,809
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1406 Post(s)
Liked: 937
Quote:
Originally Posted by HockeyoAJB View Post
It's a not a stand alone device. What you are looking at is a picture of Sony's new flagship Xperia Z3 android smartphone, mounted on a special PS4 Dualshock4 controller. The game you see is actually running on a PS4. The video is being sent from the PS4 to the phone via. Remote Play. The idea is that you can start playing a game in your game/living room on the big screen, get up and move about the house (e.g. use the bathroom, make dinner, etc.), using the phone as a display, and then go back to your game/living room, without having to stop playing. Basically, it allows you to use your phone to play full quality PS4 games, eliminating the need for a dedicated portable gaming device (at least in your house).
It still confuses me. But I also have no desire to play a game, that I normally play on a regular size Tv, on a small tablet screen either.

53TB unRAID2--38TB unRAID3--33TB unRAID1a
LED DLP
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
post #17924 of 19667 Old 09-04-2014, 10:52 AM
AVS Special Member
 
NoThru22's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 9,621
Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 297 Post(s)
Liked: 143
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
It still confuses me. But I also have no desire to play a game, that I normally play on a regular size Tv, on a small tablet screen either.
With my young son and clingy ass wife, I remote play on the Vita all the time. I'd love to be able to use the DS4 with Vita remote play.
NoThru22 is offline  
post #17925 of 19667 Old 09-04-2014, 10:58 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Spanglo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 1,998
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 347 Post(s)
Liked: 324
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
It still confuses me. But I also have no desire to play a game, that I normally play on a regular size Tv, on a small tablet screen either.
Mud76 likes this.

 


PSN - Hapi_Kilmore_v3
My 6.4.4 Living Room HT
Spanglo is online now  
post #17926 of 19667 Old 09-04-2014, 11:13 AM
AVS Special Member
 
HockeyoAJB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 1,104
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 409 Post(s)
Liked: 371
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
It still confuses me. But I also have no desire to play a game, that I normally play on a regular size Tv, on a small tablet screen either.
I'm with you, as evidenced by the fact that I have never owned a Gameboy, PSP, Vita, etc. However, I could definitely see the value of this capability for parents of young teenage boys. Instead of buying them a different smartphone phone and a portable gaming device (which normally requires its own set of games) to go along with the gaming console you have in the game/living room, you buy them this phone, which can serve as both. It's just one more device replaced by a smartphone, like the dedicated music player, portable DVD player, camera, and GPS device before it.
Mud76 likes this.
HockeyoAJB is offline  
post #17927 of 19667 Old 09-04-2014, 11:17 AM
AVS Special Member
 
HockeyoAJB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 1,104
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 409 Post(s)
Liked: 371
Quote:
Originally Posted by NoThru22 View Post
With my young son and clingy ass wife, I remote play on the Vita all the time. I'd love to be able to use the DS4 with Vita remote play.
I hope your wife doesn't visit these forums.
aaronwt, SubaruB4 and Nayan like this.
HockeyoAJB is offline  
post #17928 of 19667 Old 09-04-2014, 12:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Cravit8's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Florida
Posts: 2,569
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 833 Post(s)
Liked: 454
Quote:
Originally Posted by NoThru22 View Post
With my young son and clingy ass wife, I remote play on the Vita all the time. I'd love to be able to use the DS4 with Vita remote play.
lol.

Quote:
Originally Posted by bd2003 View Post
I bet it'll be just fine.
Dude no way.
Well, maybe if the game doesn't sell well to PS users. I AM talking about PSN, not the actual Destiny servers choking on the influx of players. It appears so far most here agree with me.
Since PS4 launched with 3 PSN outages and 2 PSN server traffic jams for a total of 5 to-date disallowing users to connect I have no faith Destiny will be playable.
Cravit8 is offline  
post #17929 of 19667 Old 09-04-2014, 01:46 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
bd2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 11,214
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 686 Post(s)
Liked: 1575
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cravit8 View Post
lol.







Dude no way.

Well, maybe if the game doesn't sell well to PS users. I AM talking about PSN, not the actual Destiny servers choking on the influx of players. It appears so far most here agree with me.

Since PS4 launched with 3 PSN outages and 2 PSN server traffic jams for a total of 5 to-date disallowing users to connect I have no faith Destiny will be playable.

Fair enough, I'm sure activision can handle it, but Sony might be another story.

But isn't a stable network supposed to be what we're paying for?

Steam/PSN/Xbox Live: Darius510
bd2003 is online now  
post #17930 of 19667 Old 09-04-2014, 01:50 PM
Senior Member
 
Mud76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Brisbane Australia
Posts: 275
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 68 Post(s)
Liked: 109
Sony previously had a phone that worked with remote play on the PS3, but never rolled it out to flagship handsets.

On the old one, the remote play worked on cellular network as well as internet via wifi or local wifi.
Though the video belwo expicitly says home wifi.

I really had to check that date was not April 1st

PSN Brown-Corolla
Mud76 is offline  
post #17931 of 19667 Old 09-04-2014, 06:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Epyon415's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 1,558
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 389 Post(s)
Liked: 284
Quote:
Originally Posted by bd2003 View Post
Fair enough, I'm sure activision can handle it, but Sony might be another story.

But isn't a stable network supposed to be what we're paying for?
lol, that PR talk got'cha!

With the exception of Dota 2, I cannot recall ANY recent online game launching without serious/major network issues. Whether it is Sony or Bungie/Activision there will be issues. That or they are going to queue access.

PSN & XBL: Epyon415
Twitch.tv: http://www.twitch.tv/epyon415
Twitter: @gundumgaming
YouTube Gameplay Videos
Epyon415 is offline  
post #17932 of 19667 Old 09-04-2014, 06:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Cravit8's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Florida
Posts: 2,569
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 833 Post(s)
Liked: 454
Quote:
Originally Posted by Epyon415 View Post
lol, that PR talk got'cha!

With the exception of Dota 2, I cannot recall ANY recent online game launching without serious/major network issues. Whether it is Sony or Bungie/Activision there will be issues. That or they are going to queue access.
How would queue access work? Is that a stealth thing or players know in advance?
Cravit8 is offline  
post #17933 of 19667 Old 09-04-2014, 06:28 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
bd2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 11,214
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 686 Post(s)
Liked: 1575
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cravit8 View Post
How would queue access work? Is that a stealth thing or players know in advance?
Assumedly you'd have to get in line only if the servers were full. But for them to build in some sort of queueing system is a tacit admission that theyre not willing to prepare enough server capacity to handle the load.

Steam/PSN/Xbox Live: Darius510
bd2003 is online now  
post #17934 of 19667 Old 09-04-2014, 06:31 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
bd2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 11,214
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 686 Post(s)
Liked: 1575
Quote:
Originally Posted by Epyon415 View Post
lol, that PR talk got'cha!

With the exception of Dota 2, I cannot recall ANY recent online game launching without serious/major network issues. Whether it is Sony or Bungie/Activision there will be issues. That or they are going to queue access.
Well, it had better not just be PR....I mean seriously, what are we paying for then? Cause it'd be pretty ridiculous if PSN can't stay up while free services like steam can handle anything.

Steam/PSN/Xbox Live: Darius510
bd2003 is online now  
post #17935 of 19667 Old 09-04-2014, 06:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lordxar5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 5,848
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 943 Post(s)
Liked: 772
Quote:
Originally Posted by bd2003 View Post
Well, it had better not just be PR....I mean seriously, what are we paying for then? Cause it'd be pretty ridiculous if PSN can't stay up while free services like steam can handle anything.
Steam is a bit different though. Every PSN account and to a lesser extent goes through PSN plus chat. Steam at least sheds chat and ancillary services so the load won't be as great. Not sure how much the user base differs though.
lordxar5 is online now  
post #17936 of 19667 Old 09-04-2014, 07:04 PM
Member
 
DCG35holla's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mud76 View Post
PS4 remote play on Sony Z3 / Z3 compact



http://au.ign.com/articles/2014/09/0...z3-smartphones

Shut up and take my money
That is AWESOME!!!
DCG35holla is offline  
post #17937 of 19667 Old 09-04-2014, 07:12 PM
Member
 
DCG35holla's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anybody have slow wifi issues with their PS4? I have a 105mbps down, 20mbps up connection and my wifi on my Apple Extreme works well, but for some reason when I do the built in PS4 speed test I rarely get about 10mbps, usually between 8-14mbps down. Do you think I might have a faulty ps4?
DCG35holla is offline  
post #17938 of 19667 Old 09-04-2014, 07:17 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
bd2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 11,214
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 686 Post(s)
Liked: 1575
Quote:
Originally Posted by lordxar5 View Post
Steam is a bit different though. Every PSN account and to a lesser extent goes through PSN plus chat. Steam at least sheds chat and ancillary services so the load won't be as great. Not sure how much the user base differs though.
So the reason we're paying a monthly fee for a fragile network is so our voice chat streams can pick up some additional latency by being needlessly routed through a central network?

And just for reference, steam is bigger than xbox live and PSN combined.

Steam/PSN/Xbox Live: Darius510
bd2003 is online now  
post #17939 of 19667 Old 09-04-2014, 07:23 PM
Senior Member
 
Mud76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Brisbane Australia
Posts: 275
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 68 Post(s)
Liked: 109
Quote:
Originally Posted by DCG35holla View Post
Anybody have slow wifi issues with their PS4? I have a 105mbps down, 20mbps up connection and my wifi on my Apple Extreme works well, but for some reason when I do the built in PS4 speed test I rarely get about 10mbps, usually between 8-14mbps down. Do you think I might have a faulty ps4?
even through Ethernet, I find the built in speed test to low ball my connection speed.
surely 8mbps is enough for gaming?
I think a lot of people including myself would be lucky (and happy) to get that.

PSN Brown-Corolla
Mud76 is offline  
post #17940 of 19667 Old 09-04-2014, 07:39 PM
Member
 
DCG35holla's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 10
That's good to know, my next step was to try to plug it in via ethernet but that requires me to reconfigure my wifi and change rooms. I download lots of games rather than buy disks, and I stream a lot of media on my PS4 and watch a lot of online video. Part of the reason that i pay for a 105mbps down connection is to have lightning fast downloading and streaming HD, so it's very disappointing and frustrating to have a new PS4 that can only connect at speeds that are not only significantly less than what I pay for, but that are speeds that are less than even the internet on my cell phone. It's a huge difference to download a 25GB game on 8mbps vs 105mbps. Perhaps a software update will fix it.
DCG35holla is offline  
Reply PlayStation Area

Tags
Playstation 3 160gb System , Playstation 4 Camera , Playstation 4 Console , Playstation 4 Dualshock 4 Wireless Controller , Playstation 4 Games , Sony
Gear in this thread - 160gb by PriceGrabber.com



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off