PlayStation 4 - Page 653 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
Reply
Thread Tools
post #19561 of 19589 Old 03-25-2015, 06:42 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Dashboard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Montréal, Québec
Posts: 2,044
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 65 Post(s)
Liked: 80
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cravit8 View Post
Customized button assignments for DUALSHOCK 4 wireless controller.
Wait what?
Yeah so you can map the X to the O
Nayan likes this.
Dashboard is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #19562 of 19589 Old 03-25-2015, 07:41 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Smigro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Montgomery County, PA
Posts: 2,030
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 113 Post(s)
Liked: 149
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dashboard View Post
Yeah so you can map the X to the O
Pretty pointless IMHO. I knew it would be too good to be true that the developers would actually allow us to remap our buttons.

If I could make all of my racing and FPS games buttons match I would be in heaven but I don't ever see this happening on consoles.
Smigro is offline  
post #19563 of 19589 Old 03-25-2015, 08:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Cravit8's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Florida
Posts: 2,488
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 776 Post(s)
Liked: 430
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dashboard View Post
Yeah so you can map the X to the O

I'm missing context here or this is a joke?

PSN: Cravit8
XBL: oOo_Crav_oOo
Cravit8 is online now  
post #19564 of 19589 Old 03-25-2015, 08:57 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Abaddon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: St Louis
Posts: 2,218
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 241 Post(s)
Liked: 212
Quote:
Originally Posted by Smigro View Post
Pretty pointless IMHO.
That's because it's not for you, it's for people who have physical disabilities that prevent them from being able to utilize parts of the controller. It isn't intended for people who can use the controller fine but would prefer that a game use it differently.

A generic controller remap functionality where you could apply profiles to specific games seems like it would be a good investment from a platform perspective, and is something I'd like to see. Why make devs implement that stuff in each game separately (or more commonly skip doing it at all)? But that isn't what this feature is for, as it stands.
moepoker, Zookster and Smigro like this.
Abaddon is offline  
post #19565 of 19589 Old 03-25-2015, 11:38 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Smigro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Montgomery County, PA
Posts: 2,030
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 113 Post(s)
Liked: 149
Quote:
Originally Posted by Abaddon View Post
That's because it's not for you, it's for people who have physical disabilities that prevent them from being able to utilize parts of the controller. It isn't intended for people who can use the controller fine but would prefer that a game use it differently.

A generic controller remap functionality where you could apply profiles to specific games seems like it would be a good investment from a platform perspective, and is something I'd like to see. Why make devs implement that stuff in each game separately (or more commonly skip doing it at all)? But that isn't what this feature is for, as it stands.
Never thought of it like that, makes sense now and I commend Sony for offering that. I guess I just read wrong what people were posting.

As for a generic remap, I too wish they allowed us the freedom they do PC players. My only thought is the the COD developers want their control scheme to be unique to BF and vice versa for whatever reason.

Can't really think of another reason unless it has to do with Sony and MS.
Smigro is offline  
post #19566 of 19589 Old 03-25-2015, 07:10 PM
Senior Member
 
PS3forlife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 299
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by rolltide1017 View Post
Well, umm... I guess I'm glad to know I'm not alone. Was hoping for a magical solution. Found plenty of people with same problem during my google searches but no solutions. Oh well.

I've read the "change the DNS" before but, that should have very little impact on a speed test. DNS is for name resolution only, once you are on a website to run a speed test, your DNS probably doesn't even come into play. Anyway, my DNS is manually coded on my PS4 already, I use OpenDNS.
I get around the same speeds from my ps4 as you mentioned earlier but I have never had an issue downloading anything to it. I bought interstellar on it and no sooner than I hit the buy button I was watching it in HD. Never any buffering or slow downs on anything. So I don't really worry about it.
PS3forlife is online now  
post #19567 of 19589 Old 03-25-2015, 10:56 PM
Advanced Member
 
brwsaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 765
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 172 Post(s)
Liked: 104
Another new update on War Thunder, seems to be pain free.
Noticed the audio is cleaned up again and firing is disabled while putting out fires.
The AAA fire mapping is better with instant options between map view and on the ground on screen. The green triangle is displayed (good location too)on screen to prompt the switch.
The new bomb drop audio is exeptional and the mass hits from bigger bombers is beautiful.

Last edited by brwsaw; 03-25-2015 at 11:02 PM.
brwsaw is offline  
post #19568 of 19589 Old Yesterday, 02:34 AM
AVS Special Member
 
lordxar5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 5,649
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 828 Post(s)
Liked: 736
Firmware update is live. 250 mb

Edit: nice, you can test the host connection speed in Shareplay now

Last edited by lordxar5; Yesterday at 02:38 AM.
lordxar5 is online now  
post #19569 of 19589 Old Yesterday, 04:41 AM
Member
 
Vidgamer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 144
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I was wondering about the comments on the internet speed. I'm pretty sure I got 27mbps on the ps4 internet test, after I did some rewiring. At my computer, I can usually get 30, or close to it, so I think that's as good as I'm going to get, as I go through powerline adapters (!!!) for the ps4. (I also used all cat 6 or cat 7 cables, but I'm not sure if that made a difference.)

Having said that, I have wondered if the internet provider shows a boost speed when doing a speed test, and for normal use, it's throttled down? Anyway, I don't have problems streaming HD, so I'm not complaining.
Vidgamer is offline  
post #19570 of 19589 Old Yesterday, 05:50 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Dashboard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Montréal, Québec
Posts: 2,044
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 65 Post(s)
Liked: 80
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cravit8 View Post
I'm missing context here or this is a joke?
Just a joke that it can be pointless in most of the cases... at least to me.
Dashboard is offline  
post #19571 of 19589 Old Yesterday, 11:12 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Cravit8's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Florida
Posts: 2,488
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 776 Post(s)
Liked: 430
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dashboard View Post
Just a joke that it can be pointless in most of the cases... at least to me.

Yeah we need profiles, however in glancing at the options today there is a pseudo clunky workaround to making it act like 2 profiles.

Sorry for the phone pic, uploading screenies was not quick enough.


You can then set PSbutton + square to pull up a quick toggle that applies the custom buttons.



In a way you can mimic at least one game controller scheme to a second. And quickly turn if off when desired.
Seems like this is actually a perfect solution if you just want game A and game B to have the jump button of L1 instead of X.

PSN: Cravit8
XBL: oOo_Crav_oOo
Cravit8 is online now  
post #19572 of 19589 Old Yesterday, 01:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
emartins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 4,648
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 767 Post(s)
Liked: 686
Get 10% off on the PSN store.


http://blog.us.playstation.com/2015/...day/#sf8232070


"Receive 10% off one transaction made on PlayStation Store on PS3, PS4 or the online store (store.playstation.com) between 3/26/2015 at 12:00 noon PDT and 3/30/2015 at 12:00 noon PDT. Does not apply to transactions made on PlayStation Store on PS Vita, PlayStation TV, PSP or in-game. Some exclusions apply, including PS Plus memberships, subscriptions, game pre-orders, PS Now content and rental video content. Code must be redeemed at checkout and discounted transaction completed before 3/30/2015 at 12:00 noon PDT."


The code is LQ8ERDQH3A so you can copy and paste
Crash44 and moepoker like this.

One of the greatest posts I have read

benjamin-benjami - http://www.avsforum.com/forum/142-pl...l#post24609271
emartins is online now  
post #19573 of 19589 Old Yesterday, 04:22 PM
Senior Member
 
PS3forlife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 299
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vidgamer View Post
I was wondering about the comments on the internet speed. I'm pretty sure I got 27mbps on the ps4 internet test, after I did some rewiring. At my computer, I can usually get 30, or close to it, so I think that's as good as I'm going to get, as I go through powerline adapters (!!!) for the ps4. (I also used all cat 6 or cat 7 cables, but I'm not sure if that made a difference.)

Having said that, I have wondered if the internet provider shows a boost speed when doing a speed test, and for normal use, it's throttled down? Anyway, I don't have problems streaming HD, so I'm not complaining.
I don't have any type of speed boost with TWC I get roughly half my internet speed at the ps4. This is with CAT 5 though. May try a test with CAT 6 and see what happens just for fun. I can stream HD with no issues as well. So I'm not complaining either.
PS3forlife is online now  
post #19574 of 19589 Old Today, 05:11 AM
AVS Special Member
 
lordxar5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 5,649
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 828 Post(s)
Liked: 736
What's good in the world of TV's these days? My DLP coughed blood and died last night...apparently Bloodborne is more vicious than anticipated Looks like the new lamp is ok but maybe the ballast went out. Not really wanting to do surgery on an eight year old TV when I can snag a cheap 50" or something that would fit the room better now that I've crammed my 65" into a smaller room.

First thought is gd the prices have gone down. Last time I bought a TV for gaming was in 2007 so a lot has changed and I'm pretty much out of the loop on what I need to be looking for like refresh rates and all. So does anybody have a recommendation or some tips for finding a decent TV that isn't a wallet breaker? I might look into 3D if the price to size ratio is right but there isn't much content out there in 3D so size per dollar might be prefferable.
lordxar5 is online now  
post #19575 of 19589 Old Today, 05:53 AM
Senior Member
 
scoobdude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 419
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Projector. Like 5-700 for a good one and then screen. best way to go if light is not real bad in the room or cab be controlled.
scoobdude is offline  
post #19576 of 19589 Old Today, 08:31 AM
AVS Special Member
 
lordxar5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 5,649
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 828 Post(s)
Liked: 736
Quote:
Originally Posted by scoobdude View Post
Projector. Like 5-700 for a good one and then screen. best way to go if light is not real bad in the room or cab be controlled.
Hadn't really considered a PJ. Might need more adjustments than I care to make, mounting, curtains, etc. Will look at it though.
lordxar5 is online now  
post #19577 of 19589 Old Today, 09:41 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Cravit8's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Florida
Posts: 2,488
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 776 Post(s)
Liked: 430
[ QUOTE=lordxar5;32985089]Hadn't really considered a PJ. Might need more adjustments than I care to make, mounting, curtains, etc. Will look at it though.[/QUOTE]


Lol misery likes to share company. PJ is good for a dedicated dark room, nearly every home I have been in where there is a large HDTV the room is not suitable for a PJ, which is too bad.

Mph, lazy, tyrant and I have plasma and the black levels and input lag are amazing.
Abaddon likes this.

PSN: Cravit8
XBL: oOo_Crav_oOo
Cravit8 is online now  
post #19578 of 19589 Old Today, 09:57 AM
Advanced Member
 
s1njin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Jersey
Posts: 964
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 109 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by lordxar5 View Post
What's good in the world of TV's these days? My DLP coughed blood and died last night...apparently Bloodborne is more vicious than anticipated Looks like the new lamp is ok but maybe the ballast went out. Not really wanting to do surgery on an eight year old TV when I can snag a cheap 50" or something that would fit the room better now that I've crammed my 65" into a smaller room.

First thought is gd the prices have gone down. Last time I bought a TV for gaming was in 2007 so a lot has changed and I'm pretty much out of the loop on what I need to be looking for like refresh rates and all. So does anybody have a recommendation or some tips for finding a decent TV that isn't a wallet breaker? I might look into 3D if the price to size ratio is right but there isn't much content out there in 3D so size per dollar might be prefferable.
Check this out:

http://www.displaylag.com/display-database/
s1njin is offline  
post #19579 of 19589 Old Today, 10:00 AM
Advanced Member
 
Hatcher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Posts: 635
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by lordxar5 View Post
What's good in the world of TV's these days? My DLP coughed blood and died last night...apparently Bloodborne is more vicious than anticipated Looks like the new lamp is ok but maybe the ballast went out. Not really wanting to do surgery on an eight year old TV when I can snag a cheap 50" or something that would fit the room better now that I've crammed my 65" into a smaller room.

First thought is gd the prices have gone down. Last time I bought a TV for gaming was in 2007 so a lot has changed and I'm pretty much out of the loop on what I need to be looking for like refresh rates and all. So does anybody have a recommendation or some tips for finding a decent TV that isn't a wallet breaker? I might look into 3D if the price to size ratio is right but there isn't much content out there in 3D so size per dollar might be prefferable.
If you are going to use it for a lot of gaming definitley look at some Sony TVs, they have the lowest input lag when it comes to TVs. I am probably not to the same level of videophile as some people on here, but I have been really impressed with the picture quality of my TV (and so have many friends). Also, Bloodborne has not destroyed it yet.

http://www.displaylag.com/display-database/ (sort by HDTV... my 55W802A is still on top, well tied I guess.)

Edit: s1njin beat me to it... good resource for gamers.

PSN = Hatcher14

Last edited by Hatcher; Today at 10:01 AM. Reason: s1njin
Hatcher is offline  
post #19580 of 19589 Old Today, 10:18 AM
Member
 
Vidgamer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 144
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I got a Sony x850b, which I think is fantastic, as long as you're not obsessive about black levels and such. Color is great. I like the passive 3d (minor ghosting in the upper left- apparently each TV is a bit unique).
Vidgamer is offline  
post #19581 of 19589 Old Today, 10:51 AM
AVS Special Member
 
lordxar5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 5,649
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 828 Post(s)
Liked: 736
Just bought a 50" Vizio 4k. Instantly full in love with the picture.
Nayan likes this.
lordxar5 is online now  
post #19582 of 19589 Old Today, 10:54 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Cravit8's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Florida
Posts: 2,488
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 776 Post(s)
Liked: 430
Quote:
Originally Posted by lordxar5 View Post
Just bought a 50" Vizio 4k. Instantly full in love with the picture.

Vizio has made some really good models lately but the 4K my work got had like 120ms input lag, it was unplayable it was so bad. Def check that displaylag site if you haven't already. 4K has to do tremendous processing to upscale but it does look fantastic for movies.

PSN: Cravit8
XBL: oOo_Crav_oOo
Cravit8 is online now  
post #19583 of 19589 Old Today, 11:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
lordxar5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 5,649
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 828 Post(s)
Liked: 736
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cravit8 View Post
Vizio has made some really good models lately but the 4K my work got had like 120ms input lag, it was unplayable it was so bad. Def check that displaylag site if you haven't already. 4K has to do tremendous processing to upscale but it does look fantastic for movies.
Ugh now you tell me I will look. Popped over to Walmart at lunch because its like 5 minutes away and I'm looking at the TVs trying to get an idea of cost and take look at how displays look and I roll across that Vizio and about blew a load right there. Gd...its freaking sharp. Like amazingly sharp. There was a Samsung for a couple hundred more but at $750 and two years no interest with a new TV in my car you just can't beat it.
lordxar5 is online now  
post #19584 of 19589 Old Today, 11:26 AM
AVS Special Member
 
emartins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 4,648
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 767 Post(s)
Liked: 686
Quote:
Originally Posted by lordxar5 View Post
Just bought a 50" Vizio 4k. Instantly full in love with the picture.

You work fast, I like that.

One of the greatest posts I have read

benjamin-benjami - http://www.avsforum.com/forum/142-pl...l#post24609271
emartins is online now  
post #19585 of 19589 Old Today, 11:39 AM
AVS Special Member
 
lordxar5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 5,649
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 828 Post(s)
Liked: 736
Quote:
Originally Posted by emartins View Post
You work fast, I like that.
I couldn't help it. When your standing there staring at 4k nature videos just staring....these next few hours of work will be excruciating...

Oh I did look at a Bravia with PS Now which hit my look into it list but the 4k just moved me. If that wasn't out I'd have probably spent a bit more time researching things.
lordxar5 is online now  
post #19586 of 19589 Old Today, 02:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lordxar5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 5,649
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 828 Post(s)
Liked: 736
Ohhhh myyy gawwwwd!!!!! This looks incredible! There's lag...horrible lag but it has a compensation setting that helps quite a bit. Might take some getting used to but Driveclub looks so much better. Hardline looks super sharp as does KZ. Now for some Bloodborne.
Nayan likes this.
lordxar5 is online now  
post #19587 of 19589 Unread Today, 05:17 PM
Senior Member
 
mcclayton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 390
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 71 Post(s)
Liked: 16
I think I asked this a while back. Is there a usb hub that will work well for just charging headset & controller?
mcclayton is online now  
post #19588 of 19589 Unread Today, 05:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Cravit8's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Florida
Posts: 2,488
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 776 Post(s)
Liked: 430
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcclayton View Post
I think I asked this a while back. Is there a usb hub that will work well for just charging headset & controller?

There isn't anything to dock the headsets on. Anker makes a popular USB charger.

PSN: Cravit8
XBL: oOo_Crav_oOo
Cravit8 is online now  
post #19589 of 19589 Unread Today, 05:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lodolfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 1,174
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 157 Post(s)
Liked: 119
PlayStation 4

When Lazy said this....

Quote:
Originally Posted by emartins View Post
You work fast, I like that.

I don't think he was referring to this..

Quote:
Originally Posted by lordxar5 View Post
but at $750 and two years no interest with a new TV in my car you just can't beat it.

I think he was actually referring to this....

Quote:
Originally Posted by lordxar5 View Post
I roll across that Vizio and about blew a load right there.

PSN:Lodolfan16
XBL: Lodolfan16
lodolfan is online now  
Reply PlayStation Area

Tags
Playstation 3 160gb System , Playstation 4 Camera , Playstation 4 Console , Playstation 4 Dualshock 4 Wireless Controller , Playstation 4 Games , Sony
Gear in this thread - 160gb by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off