PlayStation 4 - Page 658 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
Reply
Thread Tools
post #19711 of 19734 Old 05-19-2015, 06:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mphfrom77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: northern KY
Posts: 4,020
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 305 Post(s)
Liked: 277
Quote:
Originally Posted by lordxar5 View Post
You try your second stick yet????
Yep, same exact results.
mphfrom77 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #19712 of 19734 Old 05-19-2015, 06:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
emartins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 4,899
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 889 Post(s)
Liked: 781
Quote:
Originally Posted by mphfrom77 View Post
Yep, same exact results.

Last time I help you.

One of the greatest posts I have read

benjamin-benjami - http://www.avsforum.com/forum/142-pl...l#post24609271
emartins is online now  
post #19713 of 19734 Old 05-20-2015, 01:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mphfrom77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: northern KY
Posts: 4,020
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 305 Post(s)
Liked: 277
Bought another usb flash drive (32GB this time) on the way home from work today...exact same results.
mphfrom77 is offline  
post #19714 of 19734 Old 05-20-2015, 05:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Cravit8's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Florida
Posts: 2,641
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 881 Post(s)
Liked: 467
Quote:
Originally Posted by mphfrom77 View Post
Bought another usb flash drive (32GB this time) on the way home from work today...exact same results.

Is it corrupted on the ps4 side or the computer side? I have 35GB of video saved on the ps4 and it has never been corrupted.
Have you tried:
1) uploading to youtube one of the corrupted videos
2) using share factory to make a vid, save, then USB transfer
3) a different computer

PSN: Cravit8
XBL: oOo_Crav_oOo
Cravit8 is online now  
post #19715 of 19734 Old 05-20-2015, 07:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
freemeat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 3,222
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 254 Post(s)
Liked: 685
FYI Target is doing double the trade-in. I got 150 for five games
freemeat is online now  
post #19716 of 19734 Old 05-20-2015, 07:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mphfrom77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: northern KY
Posts: 4,020
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 305 Post(s)
Liked: 277
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cravit8 View Post
Is it corrupted on the ps4 side or the computer side? I have 35GB of video saved on the ps4 and it has never been corrupted.
Have you tried:
1) uploading to youtube one of the corrupted videos
2) using share factory to make a vid, save, then USB transfer
3) a different computer
A different computer shows the same results.

I think it is on the PS4 side. I'm going to have to research how to reset and check the PS4, probably over the next few days.

I've had this problem since day one though. Just thought it was a "capture video" issue since that was a problem for like up to a year after launch.

So many variables honestly though.

I'm thinking though that I am going to have reset the PS4 or something along those lines, once I figure out my options in that regard.
mphfrom77 is offline  
post #19717 of 19734 Old 05-20-2015, 08:10 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 22,911
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1455 Post(s)
Liked: 951
I'm really liking this PSTV for remote streaming from my PS4 to a secondary display. For under $13 out of pocket it was easily well worth it. And much, much cheaper than getting a second PS4.
lodolfan likes this.

53TB unRAID2--38TB unRAID3--33TB unRAID1a
LED DLP
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is online now  
post #19718 of 19734 Old 05-20-2015, 09:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Epyon415's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 1,604
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 423 Post(s)
Liked: 300
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
I'm really liking this PSTV for remote streaming from my PS4 to a secondary display. For under $13 out of pocket it was easily well worth it. And much, much cheaper than getting a second PS4.
Notice any lag or other issues? Have you tired the non-ps4 games?

PSN & XBL: Epyon415
Twitch.tv: http://www.twitch.tv/epyon415
Twitter: @gundumgaming
YouTube Gameplay Videos
Epyon415 is online now  
post #19719 of 19734 Old 05-20-2015, 09:28 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 22,911
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1455 Post(s)
Liked: 951
Quote:
Originally Posted by Epyon415 View Post
Notice any lag or other issues? Have you tired the non-ps4 games?
I will only use it to stream from my PS4. I didn't plan on using it for any non-PS4 games. You can easily see the difference in quality with the lower 720P resolution/compression. At least I can on my 49" TV I'm using it with from six feet away. But for the low price to get pS4 playback on a second screen, I can overlook that. As far as lag, there must be some since it is being streamed, but it didn't stop me from making split second moves in the couple of game tests I tried. I'm using the wired connection on the PSTV and PS4..

53TB unRAID2--38TB unRAID3--33TB unRAID1a
LED DLP
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme

Last edited by aaronwt; 05-20-2015 at 09:31 PM.
aaronwt is online now  
post #19720 of 19734 Old 05-21-2015, 09:14 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Mikazaru's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,863
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 64 Post(s)
Liked: 77
Mikazaru is offline  
post #19721 of 19734 Old 05-21-2015, 09:21 AM
Member
 
Vidgamer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 174
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I started looking at the ps4. Interesting option, but I'm not sure where it fits. Maybe I could use it for ps4 streaming, but most of the time, I could just use the big TV. Playing Vita games as a 2nd system has some appeal, particularly if you have some guests. Hmm. At the discounted price, it's a bit easier to justify.

If it would work offline, it might be a nice car option too? Taking with you on holiday?
Vidgamer is offline  
post #19722 of 19734 Old 05-21-2015, 09:23 AM
Member
 
Vidgamer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 174
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I mean ps TV.
Vidgamer is offline  
post #19723 of 19734 Old 05-21-2015, 12:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Crash44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Oregon
Posts: 1,393
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 107 Post(s)
Liked: 134
Quote:
Originally Posted by mphfrom77 View Post
A different computer shows the same results.

I think it is on the PS4 side. I'm going to have to research how to reset and check the PS4, probably over the next few days.

I've had this problem since day one though. Just thought it was a "capture video" issue since that was a problem for like up to a year after launch.

So many variables honestly though.

I'm thinking though that I am going to have reset the PS4 or something along those lines, once I figure out my options in that regard.
I haven't read all the fixes everyone suggested, but maybe go and restore licenses? Pretty much everything having to do with PS4 content is tied to those.

Settings > PlayStation Network/Acct Management > Restore Licenses

That's the last thing I can think of that doesn't involve re-initializing the console.
mphfrom77 likes this.

PSN: CrashLanding (please ID requests as AVS)

Last edited by Crash44; 05-21-2015 at 12:55 PM.
Crash44 is online now  
post #19724 of 19734 Old 05-21-2015, 05:20 PM
Senior Member
 
kamouflage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Plano, TX
Posts: 413
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 82 Post(s)
Liked: 65
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mikazaru View Post

Buying it day one. Bought Drive Club a long time ago but it's just not the same as when I had a wheel for the PS3.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

PSN ID: javant86

kamouflage is online now  
post #19725 of 19734 Old 05-22-2015, 07:48 AM
Member
 
Vidgamer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 174
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Is it not possible to use the old Logitech wheel I used for the PS3?!? I guess I'll try it anyway.
Vidgamer is offline  
post #19726 of 19734 Old 05-22-2015, 08:15 AM
AVS Special Member
 
emartins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 4,899
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 889 Post(s)
Liked: 781
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vidgamer View Post
Is it not possible to use the old Logitech wheel I used for the PS3?!? I guess I'll try it anyway.

No you can't

One of the greatest posts I have read

benjamin-benjami - http://www.avsforum.com/forum/142-pl...l#post24609271
emartins is online now  
post #19727 of 19734 Old 05-22-2015, 02:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bori's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2,968
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 78 Post(s)
Liked: 88
Can anyone confirm this works on PS4? This is a comment from member in the ps3 thread.




Quote:
Originally Posted by taxman48 View Post
I have a JVC X 35 and a PS 3. Since my AVR does not pass thru 3D, I use a splitter. HDMI to Receiver and HDMI to PJ.. I have no problems whatsoever.. I get all the DTS-HD and Dolby True-HD lights lit on receiver...
bori is online now  
post #19728 of 19734 Unread 05-24-2015, 02:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bori's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2,968
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 78 Post(s)
Liked: 88
I have an Onkyo 805 and a Ps4. I split the signal with this splitter. Can not get the audio to work. Just getting stereo. Anyone got it to work on there Onkyo receiver? I want to get HD audio. I have the audio during movies set up to bitstream and ps4 audio settings set to pcm.



Update: I used an older splitter and now it works great. This is the one I used.

ViewHD 2 Port 1x2 Powered HDMI Mini Splitter for 1080P & 3D | VHD-1X2MN3D https://www.amazon.com/dp/B004F9LVXC..._tjLyvb16P5WK0

This is the one that did not work.

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00..._st_dp_summary

UPDATE 2: I got the HD audio but now my projector does not switch to 3D movies.

Last edited by bori; 05-24-2015 at 06:02 PM.
bori is online now  
post #19729 of 19734 Unread Today, 10:03 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Finally. For the G29. Can't wait.
don.laury is offline  
post #19730 of 19734 Unread Today, 10:40 AM
AVS Special Member
 
HockeyoAJB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 1,158
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 442 Post(s)
Liked: 401
Quote:
Originally Posted by bori View Post
I have an Onkyo 805 and a Ps4. I split the signal with this splitter. Can not get the audio to work. Just getting stereo. Anyone got it to work on there Onkyo receiver? I want to get HD audio. I have the audio during movies set up to bitstream and ps4 audio settings set to pcm.



Update: I used an older splitter and now it works great. This is the one I used.

ViewHD 2 Port 1x2 Powered HDMI Mini Splitter for 1080P & 3D | VHD-1X2MN3D https://www.amazon.com/dp/B004F9LVXC..._tjLyvb16P5WK0

This is the one that did not work.

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00..._st_dp_summary

UPDATE 2: I got the HD audio but now my projector does not switch to 3D movies.
You need to set a custom EDID for the splitter. In one case, the splitter only appears to be reporting back the EDID of your projector (which means you'll get 3D but no HD Audio). And, in the other, it only appears to be reporting back the EDID of your receiver (in which case you will get HD audio, but no 3D). The order in which the handshakes are done can effect the results. Usually, decent splitters will auto-mix the EDID, in which case you would get only the best common capabilities of the sink devices (in your case neither 3D nor HD audio would work) in order to ensure full compatibility with all devices. To get the results you want (both 3D and 5.1/7.1 channel HD Audio working) you need to force the splitter to report back an EDID that supports both features. For this, the splitter needs to have the ability to use a custom EDID. Some splitters have dip switches with preprogrammed custom EDIDs for the more common situations (like yours). Others include a USB input which allows you to hook the splitter up to a PC and program it to report back any EDID you want.
HockeyoAJB is online now  
post #19731 of 19734 Unread Today, 11:23 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bori's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2,968
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 78 Post(s)
Liked: 88
Quote:
Originally Posted by HockeyoAJB View Post
You need to set a custom EDID for the splitter. In one case, the splitter only appears to be reporting back the EDID of your projector (which means you'll get 3D but no HD Audio). And, in the other, it only appears to be reporting back the EDID of your receiver (in which case you will get HD audio, but no 3D). The order in which the handshakes are done can effect the results. Usually, decent splitters will auto-mix the EDID, in which case you would get only the best common capabilities of the sink devices (in your case neither 3D nor HD audio would work) in order to ensure full compatibility with all devices. To get the results you want (both 3D and 5.1/7.1 channel HD Audio working) you need to force the splitter to report back an EDID that supports both features. For this, the splitter needs to have the ability to use a custom EDID. Some splitters have dip switches with preprogrammed custom EDIDs for the more common situations (like yours). Others include a USB input which allows you to hook the splitter up to a PC and program it to report back any EDID you want.
So what splitter is available? I have not seen one like this.
bori is online now  
post #19732 of 19734 Unread Today, 12:55 PM
Member
 
gman1217's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Colleyville, Texas
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by bori View Post
So what splitter is available? I have not seen one like this.
I just Googled "HDMI Splitter EDID" and there seem to be plenty on amazon that are programmable.

Good luck!

Help me, AVS Forum. You're my only Hope.....


My Current Setup
gman1217 is online now  
post #19733 of 19734 Unread Today, 01:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bori's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2,968
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 78 Post(s)
Liked: 88
Quote:
Originally Posted by gman1217 View Post
I just Googled "HDMI Splitter EDID" and there seem to be plenty on amazon that are programmable.

Good luck!
Have these been proven to work with ps3 or ps4?
bori is online now  
Reply PlayStation Area

Tags
Playstation 3 160gb System , Playstation 4 Camera , Playstation 4 Console , Playstation 4 Dualshock 4 Wireless Controller , Playstation 4 Games , Sony
Gear in this thread - 160gb by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off