PS3 5.1 problems - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-07-2013, 08:53 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
wiscompton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
First post and having problems with getting full 5.1 out of my ps3.

This is my set-up:

PS3 video (via HDMI) connected to the back of the TV.
PS3 audio (via Optical) connected to the back of my receiver.

In settings i have set up audio to be dolby 5.1 and DTS through optical
In settings i have set up video to be bitstream-mixed.

When the PS3 boots up and the chime when it turns on plays in 5.1
When i watch netflix 5.1 movies, they play in 5.1

PROBLEM:

When i play music off my hard drive there is only 2.1
When i play games (I have tried multiple) that support DTS or dolby there is only 2.1

my receiver is Sony DAV-DZ170.

If anyone has some suggestions on how to fix this is I would greatly appreciate it.
wiscompton is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-07-2013, 08:57 AM
AVS Special Member
 
TornadoTJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 3,934
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Are you sure the games are 2.1, or are you guessing this is the case because your receiver says LPCM or something similar?

You realize 99.9999% of all music is 2.1? You'd have to buy an SACD or DVD Audio to get 5.1 audio.
TornadoTJ is offline  
Old 03-07-2013, 09:01 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
wiscompton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes NBA and NHL are both 5.1
wiscompton is offline  
Old 03-07-2013, 09:03 AM
AVS Special Member
 
TornadoTJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 3,934
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 36
I'm asking this, how did you determine the games are only playing in 2.1? Is it due to the display on the receiver, or something else?
TornadoTJ is offline  
Old 03-07-2013, 09:05 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
wiscompton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
No sound comes out of the back speakers during gameplay
wiscompton is offline  
Old 03-07-2013, 09:09 AM
AVS Special Member
 
TornadoTJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 3,934
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Center channel sound?

In System Settings, Audio Multi-Output, this should be OFF.
TornadoTJ is offline  
Old 03-07-2013, 09:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
TornadoTJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 3,934
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Something just crossed my mind... if the game will only output LPCM, you will only get 2 channel audio over optical cable. LPCM 5.1 or 7.1 requires HDMI.
TornadoTJ is offline  
Old 03-07-2013, 09:47 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
wiscompton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have multi-output set to off
wiscompton is offline  
Old 03-07-2013, 09:49 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
wiscompton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by TornadoTJ View Post

Something just crossed my mind... if the game will only output LPCM, you will only get 2 channel audio over optical cable. LPCM 5.1 or 7.1 requires HDMI.

Im gonna need laymen's terms lol
wiscompton is offline  
Old 03-07-2013, 09:51 AM
AVS Special Member
 
TornadoTJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 3,934
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Maybe someone else will chime in, but my understanding is that a lot of games output their audio in LPCM, not bitstream. So, since optical will only support 2.1 channels of LPCM, you are stuck with 2.1 for those games. I know Assassin's Creed outputs over bitstream, my daughter's gaming system displays DTS on the receiver.
TornadoTJ is offline  
Old 03-07-2013, 09:58 AM
Member
 
OARevolution's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 107
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hmmm what is your receiver displaying? When you play a game it should display Dolby Digital or DTS. Why would he need to turn audio multi-output off? When that setting is turned on, If his main audio is coming from his optical cable then he should be getting a 2 channel signal through HDMI.

Also are there games that only support LPCM? Sometimes I put my Playstation in my bedroom and the receiver I have in there is optical only. I've never had a problem getting 5.1 sound from it. That being said I haven't played a huge selection of games in there.
OARevolution is offline  
Old 03-07-2013, 10:06 AM
AVS Special Member
 
TornadoTJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 3,934
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Multi output will limit the data rate (44.1, etc.) available over optical.

I don't have either of the games he has mentioned to test over optical with.
TornadoTJ is offline  
Old 03-07-2013, 10:23 AM
Member
 
OARevolution's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 107
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hmm didn't know that. So does it downsample the 48khz signal to 44.1? Maybe the OP should try turning off bitstream mix and set it to direct.
OARevolution is offline  
Old 03-07-2013, 11:04 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
wiscompton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
UPDATE:

I have replaced the optical cable with the red white yellow that comes with the ps3 and have surround sound at all times now.

However, when I plug the optical cable in my cable box and the other end into my receiver the sound on the ps3 will shut off. Even with the cable box turned off there is no sound. As soon as I unplug the opitcal from the cable box sound is restored to the ps3....wtf is going on??
wiscompton is offline  
Old 03-07-2013, 11:12 AM
AVS Special Member
 
TornadoTJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 3,934
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 36
That surround you are getting now will be Dolby Pro Logic, which is a "simulated" surround. It's not the same as the surround encoded in the game or movie. To get sound back to the PS3, you will have to go back into the settings and tell it to output via optical, not composite.

OAR - it limits optical to 44.1 and 48. Nothing above that will be available, but it won't matter in this case really... LPCM is not going to be output through optical as 5.1 anyway.
TornadoTJ is offline  
Old 03-07-2013, 11:21 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
wiscompton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by TornadoTJ View Post

That surround you are getting now will be Dolby Pro Logic, which is a "simulated" surround. It's not the same as the surround encoded in the game or movie. To get sound back to the PS3, you will have to go back into the settings and tell it to output via optical, not composite.

OAR - it limits optical to 44.1 and 48. Nothing above that will be available, but it won't matter in this case really... LPCM is not going to be output through optical as 5.1 anyway.

Thank you I will try this out later today
wiscompton is offline  
Old 03-07-2013, 11:36 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Crash44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Oregon
Posts: 1,263
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 102
I'm setup the same as you: Optical audio to receiver, HDMI video to TV. I've been running this way since I bought my PS3 in 2007 and I've never had an audio issue like this with a game, movie, or music off the hard drive. The only thing I can think of: There's a setting on the PS3 that's causing a problem, and your receiver/dvd unit isn't decoding correctly.

First thing I would do is re-check the audio settings on the PS3. I would set the AUDIO MULTI-OUT to OFF. If you aren't using the TV speakers then you don't need to use the multi-out anyway. Make sure you check the boxes for Dolby Digital 5.1 and DTS 5.1, also check the AAC box to cover music on the HDD. Leave the rest of the un-checked boxes alone; they are not being used for the connection you have and can cause problems if checked when not used. When you get to the end, the audio settings on PS3 should read:

Connector Type:
Optical Digital

Output Format:
Dolby Digital 5.1 Ch.
DTS 5.1 Ch.
AAC
Linear PCM 2Ch. 44.1 kHz
Linear PCM 2Ch. 48 kHz

UPDATE: I finished this while multitasking at work, TJ said the same thing with fewer words and beat me to the punch. Didn't want it to go to waste, so here it is. Good luck. smile.gif

PSN: CrashLanding (please ID requests as AVS)
Crash44 is offline  
Old 03-07-2013, 11:57 AM
AVS Special Member
 
TornadoTJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 3,934
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Your detail may help though!!! smile.gif
TornadoTJ is offline  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off