AVS Forum banner

Which model ps3 do you recommend as first time buyer?

880 views 10 replies 6 participants last post by  defdog99 
#1 ·
Hey folks .I plan on getting a ps3 at some point for the blu ray player as I hear its one of the best, but also for some casual gaming .I'm new to Sony so I'm not sure which model of the ps3 is the most stable or preferable by users . If anyone could provide some clarity or direction on the issue I would greatly appreciate it. Thanks in advance.

Jon

#2 ·
May as well go with the newest of the bunch. There are complaints if you go looking for every revision and some seem to prefer the original slims, but these seem to be doing fine for most so far and will be the easiest to locate new.

I believe this latest revision is also the quietest yet which is beneficial for video purposes. It also has a sliding disc door so you don't have to worry about losing a disc in the event of a console failure. That's bad enough if it's a game but very annoying if you're playing a disc from an expensive Blu-Ray or DVD box set and the console dies and won't eject your disc.

It's not as fancy though so some dislike it. And it could be problematic if you don't have much room above the console but if you leave it enough room to properly circulate air for cooling, you shouldn't have any issues also inserting and removing discs.

#3 ·

Quote:
Originally Posted by Leo_Ames  /t/1489622/which-model-ps3-do-you-recommend-as-first-time-buyer#post_23711594

May as well go with the newest of the bunch. There are complaints if you go looking for every revision and some seem to prefer the original slims, but these seem to be doing fine for most so far and will be the easiest to locate new.