PS4 Eye extender cable? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 26 Old 10-12-2013, 12:46 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
MrSniffer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I am seeking some info about an extender cable for the new PS4 Eye. The PS3 unit used standard USB, so a powered extender cable worked just fine. But the PS4 unit is some proprietary interface. Anyone know enough to speculate how to extend it by 15 feet? All my audio equipment is in a closet, and my screen/sofa is 20 feet away. I think lots of folks with serious home theater setups will share this dilemma.
MrSniffer is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 26 Old 10-13-2013, 09:49 AM
Advanced Member
 
futurecode's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wilkes-barre, PA
Posts: 506
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrSniffer View Post

I am seeking some info about an extender cable for the new PS4 Eye. The PS3 unit used standard USB, so a powered extender cable worked just fine. But the PS4 unit is some proprietary interface. Anyone know enough to speculate how to extend it by 15 feet? All my audio equipment is in a closet, and my screen/sofa is 20 feet away. I think lots of folks with serious home theater setups will share this dilemma.

I inquired about this a few moths ago and found zilch info wise.

I'm just under the assumption well either be raped by Sony for a oem extender cable or go to companies like mad catz or monoproce will have something out shortly after launch.

Till then camera use will have to be set up and broken down for every game session .... booooo.

PSN: futurecode
futurecode is offline  
post #3 of 26 Old 11-12-2013, 04:22 PM
Member
 
IQ22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 125
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I actually just cancelled my pre-order for the camera due to the lack of an extension cable. I need ~30 foot run to reach the media closet through my smurf tube. Anyone else have any new findings on this?

PSN: MiddKid
IQ22 is offline  
post #4 of 26 Old 11-22-2013, 11:41 AM
Member
 
Majerus_12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I was thinking about cutting the cable and splicing it with some cat6. Not sure if it would work but this was part of the reason I bought a ps4 instead of xbox with the kinect being required on xbox.

Majerus_12 is offline  
post #5 of 26 Old 11-22-2013, 11:46 AM
Member
 
IQ22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 125
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Good conversation over here about splicing in a powered USB 3.0 repeater...it, unfortunately, didn't work. Not feeling good about this...

http://community.eu.playstation.com/t5/PS4-General/Playstation-4-Camera-Extension/td-p/19470384/page/5

PSN: MiddKid
IQ22 is offline  
post #6 of 26 Old 11-22-2013, 04:55 PM
Member
 
Majerus_12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yea that does not look promising..

Majerus_12 is offline  
post #7 of 26 Old 11-22-2013, 05:16 PM
Advanced Member
 
futurecode's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wilkes-barre, PA
Posts: 506
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
I'm sure Monoprice or the like will step up eventually.

I used to have a wall mounted Plasma where my screen is now, so I was just lucky enough that I had run HDMI and Ethernet behind there, so I just set up a makeshift rack next to my center channel .... the PS4 kinda looks go there too wink.gif

PSN: futurecode
futurecode is offline  
post #8 of 26 Old 11-22-2013, 06:43 PM
Member
 
Majerus_12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
All my stuff is in a closet so I'll need a cable

Majerus_12 is offline  
post #9 of 26 Old 11-26-2013, 09:21 AM
Newbie
 
ImmortalServant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
There is no reason cutting the cord down the middle and splicing a bundle of appropriately gauged wires to both ends of the existing wires on the cords should not work. The only problem I can foresee is if the wires are not color coded.

I would try it, but I have not seen anything compelling enough to make me buy one yet.
ImmortalServant is offline  
post #10 of 26 Old 11-26-2013, 10:36 AM
AVS Special Member
 
defdog99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,125
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by ImmortalServant View Post

There is no reason cutting the cord down the middle and splicing a bundle of appropriately gauged wires to both ends of the existing wires on the cords should not work. The only problem I can foresee is if the wires are not color coded.

I would try it, but I have not seen anything compelling enough to make me buy one yet.

What if its sending analog ? Like a rocksmith cable.
defdog99 is offline  
post #11 of 26 Old 11-26-2013, 01:55 PM
Newbie
 
ImmortalServant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Wire is wire. If it is analog it needs a higher quality of wire than a digital signal would, but as long as you use copper wire that is a little thicker you should be fine.

You would want to use a little thicker gauged wire than what the original has if you are adding more than 15' probably. You probably could cut the ends off of a long enough usb or hdmi cable (whichever has a large enough number of internal wires to match 1/1 with the eyetoy cable) but you are going to have a thick spot on both ends where you are connected to the original wire.

I CAN NOT GUARANTEE THIS INFORMATION. USE AT YOUR OWN RISK.
ImmortalServant is offline  
post #12 of 26 Old 12-01-2013, 12:29 AM
Member
 
sawyerthecat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes, it's a problem, and no I don't want the children in my av closet - so I put the ps3 game system out of the av closet on a 35 foot hdmi cable, and used usb repeater cable for the camera.. now for the ps4..

These folks at ps4eye say it's just a usb3 cabling without the wires for usb2 compatibility- and of course the proprietary connector.
http://ps4eye.tumblr.com/


then there is this that says yes it's usb 3 but attempts failed splicing both powered repeater and unpowered usb3.0 cables to extend the camera cable
http://www.ifixit.com/Answers/View/149998/Anyone+know+aux+port+pinout
sawyerthecat is offline  
post #13 of 26 Old 12-02-2013, 07:30 AM
AVS Special Member
 
newfmp3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NFLD, Canada
Posts: 4,016
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 101 Post(s)
Liked: 139
Send an email to monoprice. Some of us have already and with enough people asking maybe we can get something.
newfmp3 is online now  
post #14 of 26 Old 12-25-2013, 10:19 PM
G--
Member
 
G--'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 91
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
This will get fixed, question how to get the controllers to work from my media closet at 40'?
G-- is offline  
post #15 of 26 Old 12-29-2013, 10:22 AM
Newbie
 
Jobine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I think it's gone be like the Kinect, you need a USB 3.0 extension with a external power supply


They use a special connecter because the camera need 12 volts and the USB port have only 5 volts


That the Pin Out of the Kinect
Jobine is offline  
post #16 of 26 Old 02-01-2014, 07:27 PM
Member
 
cityinruin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 82
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 14
any update on an extension for ps4 camera?
cityinruin is offline  
post #17 of 26 Old 02-21-2014, 01:16 PM
Member
 
cityinruin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 82
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jobine View Post

I think it's gone be like the Kinect, you need a USB 3.0 extension with a external power supply


They use a special connecter because the camera need 12 volts and the USB port have only 5 volts


That the Pin Out of the Kinect


Tried modifying a powered usb 3.0 extender. Doesnt work at all. PS4 seems to know that the device is connected but there is no image.


Fortunatelly i was able to reconnect the cable as original and it works fine.... but is unusable for me as the cord is 6 feet too short.
cityinruin is offline  
post #18 of 26 Old 03-17-2014, 04:55 PM
Newbie
 
ursula1000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
ursula1000 is offline  
post #19 of 26 Old 03-20-2014, 04:00 AM
Newbie
 
SuperDre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: helmond.nl
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Nope, that's for the PS3 version of the camera...
SuperDre is offline  
post #20 of 26 Old 04-03-2014, 04:09 PM
Member
 
cityinruin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 82
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 14
anyone else have any success ?
cityinruin is offline  
post #21 of 26 Old 05-03-2014, 09:05 AM
Newbie
 
Abodnar3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Alpharetta, GA
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Our. Home theater guy is experimenting on a solution, otherwise we're stuck waiting on Sony to sell a 25+ foot cable.
Abodnar3 is offline  
post #22 of 26 Old 09-11-2014, 09:34 AM
Senior Member
 
Manamb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 212
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Still no offerings? Need a 15 ft extension.
WTF Sony!!!!
Manamb is online now  
post #23 of 26 Old 09-11-2014, 09:47 AM
Newbie
 
Abodnar3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Alpharetta, GA
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I haven't seen anyone find a solution yet.
Abodnar3 is offline  
post #24 of 26 Old 09-18-2014, 07:06 AM
Senior Member
 
scoobdude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 397
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Found this. Hope it works.



http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/aw/d/B00JFX1IHM?pc_redir=1410713480&robot_redir=1

Whelp , can't order it here in the states to my home or work address. Oh well.

Last edited by scoobdude; 09-18-2014 at 07:13 AM.
scoobdude is offline  
post #25 of 26 Old 09-19-2014, 06:50 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Smigro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Montgomery County, PA
Posts: 1,891
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 110
Quote:
Originally Posted by scoobdude View Post
Found this. Hope it works.



http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/aw/d/B00J...&robot_redir=1

Whelp , can't order it here in the states to my home or work address. Oh well.
It seems it must have been a bogus listing because I got a notification that the item is NLA from the original seller which was Amazon.

This wouldn't surprise me since Amazon has a tendency to put items up before conformation that they will be made available.
Smigro is offline  
post #26 of 26 Old 09-19-2014, 06:55 AM
Senior Member
 
scoobdude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 397
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by Smigro View Post
It seems it must have been a bogus listing because I got a notification that the item is NLA from the original seller which was Amazon.

This wouldn't surprise me since Amazon has a tendency to put items up before conformation that they will be made available.
Still got my fingers crossed. When I found it yesterday it also mentioned it was for the kinect. And it's still up.

In addition I found a request page on monoprice. Will try and post the link when I find it again.

Last edited by scoobdude; 09-19-2014 at 07:01 AM.
scoobdude is offline  
Reply PlayStation Area

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off