PS4 and Harmony remote? - Page 3 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #61 of 89 Old 01-08-2014, 10:02 PM
Senior Member
 
schmiggyjk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: MI
Posts: 277
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Kind of annoyed that there has been nothing announced at CES. =/
schmiggyjk is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #62 of 89 Old 01-09-2014, 07:12 AM
Member
 
stangdriverdoug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Agreed. I want something. Either a adapter like logitech makes or someone to figure out ip control. I have a URC MRX1 base station and would love not to have to control it ir

Sent from my Galaxy Note 3
stangdriverdoug is offline  
post #63 of 89 Old 01-09-2014, 02:47 PM
Senior Member
 
DustinLH00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Aurora, IL
Posts: 287
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by schmiggyjk View Post

Kind of annoyed that there has been nothing announced at CES. =/
Agreed. I really thought they would announce more.

Energy RC-70s (2) | Energy RC-LCR | Energy CB-5s (4) | SVS PB-2000 | Pioneer VSX-1020K | Samsung UN65F8000 | PS3 | PS4 | Apple TV (2nd gen) | DirecTV HR34 HMC | Harmony Ultimate
DustinLH00 is offline  
post #64 of 89 Old 01-15-2014, 06:33 AM
Advanced Member
 
moshock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 819
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 27
moshock is offline  
post #65 of 89 Old 01-15-2014, 06:43 AM
Senior Member
 
DustinLH00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Aurora, IL
Posts: 287
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by moshock View Post

DreamGEAR Bluray Remote for PlayStation 4

http://www.amazon.com/DreamGEAR-Bluray-Remote-PlayStation-4/dp/B00EV0CTK4/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1389796354&sr=8-1&keywords=ps4+bluray+remote

Releases... today?...

When I look it says February 15, not January 15. This release date has been pushed back like 3 times already. As I stated in a previous post, I believe that they are waiting for Sony to allow bluetooth accessories and were thinking it would have happened already. This remote will not work until Sony enables bluetooth accessories at which point the current PS3 bluetooth remote should also work.

Energy RC-70s (2) | Energy RC-LCR | Energy CB-5s (4) | SVS PB-2000 | Pioneer VSX-1020K | Samsung UN65F8000 | PS3 | PS4 | Apple TV (2nd gen) | DirecTV HR34 HMC | Harmony Ultimate
DustinLH00 is offline  
post #66 of 89 Old 01-15-2014, 07:10 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Smigro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Pennsyltucky
Posts: 1,820
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 94
Quote:
Originally Posted by DustinLH00 View Post

When I look it says February 15, not January 15. This release date has been pushed back like 3 times already. As I stated in a previous post, I believe that they are waiting for Sony to allow bluetooth accessories and were thinking it would have happened already. This remote will not work until Sony enables bluetooth accessories at which point the current PS3 bluetooth remote should also work.

Here is my question though. If they do allow the PS3 BT remote and I have my PS3 above my PS4 in the same rack, how is the remote going to know which device to turn on. I am no BT techie but I would think the new remote would have to work on a different bandwidth or something.
Smigro is online now  
post #67 of 89 Old 01-15-2014, 07:23 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
anthonymoody's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: ny, ny usa
Posts: 5,639
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by Smigro View Post

Here is my question though. If they do allow the PS3 BT remote and I have my PS3 above my PS4 in the same rack, how is the remote going to know which device to turn on. I am no BT techie but I would think the new remote would have to work on a different bandwidth or something.

The remote can only be paired to one device at a time. If you had two PS3's for instance it'd only pair with - and control - one. To control the other you'd have to re-pair the controller with the other console. Same as with a PS3 and PS4.

Stuck up, half witted, scruffy looking, nerf herder.
Double True!
anthonymoody is offline  
post #68 of 89 Old 01-15-2014, 07:46 AM
Senior Member
 
DustinLH00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Aurora, IL
Posts: 287
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Smigro View Post

Here is my question though. If they do allow the PS3 BT remote and I have my PS3 above my PS4 in the same rack, how is the remote going to know which device to turn on. I am no BT techie but I would think the new remote would have to work on a different bandwidth or something.

Quote:
Originally Posted by anthonymoody View Post

The remote can only be paired to one device at a time. If you had two PS3's for instance it'd only pair with - and control - one. To control the other you'd have to re-pair the controller with the other console. Same as with a PS3 and PS4.

Yea, I was going to say you wouldn't want to pair the same remote to both units if that was the case. But, I was not aware that you could only pair it with one unit anyways, so that is good to know.

Energy RC-70s (2) | Energy RC-LCR | Energy CB-5s (4) | SVS PB-2000 | Pioneer VSX-1020K | Samsung UN65F8000 | PS3 | PS4 | Apple TV (2nd gen) | DirecTV HR34 HMC | Harmony Ultimate
DustinLH00 is offline  
post #69 of 89 Old 01-15-2014, 08:06 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Smigro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Pennsyltucky
Posts: 1,820
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 94
Quote:
Originally Posted by DustinLH00 View Post


Yea, I was going to say you wouldn't want to pair the same remote to both units if that was the case. But, I was not aware that you could only pair it with one unit anyways, so that is good to know.

Quote:
Originally Posted by anthonymoody View Post

The remote can only be paired to one device at a time. If you had two PS3's for instance it'd only pair with - and control - one. To control the other you'd have to re-pair the controller with the other console. Same as with a PS3 and PS4.

Thanks guys. I knew I was missing something...pairing it. lol
Smigro is online now  
post #70 of 89 Old 01-16-2014, 04:32 PM
Advanced Member
 
moshock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 819
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Ah crap, it does say February 15, 2014. My bad. I could have sworn it was January 15th for a long time there... maybe it was... maybe it got changed... who knows. Hmm... rolleyes.gif
moshock is offline  
post #71 of 89 Old 01-16-2014, 10:19 PM
Advanced Member
 
dae3dae3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Chesterton, Indiana
Posts: 777
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by moshock View Post

DreamGEAR Bluray Remote for PlayStation 4

http://www.amazon.com/DreamGEAR-Bluray-Remote-PlayStation-4/dp/B00EV0CTK4/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1389796354&sr=8-1&keywords=ps4+bluray+remote

Releases... today?...

Watch out guys. That thing says it uses a USB dongle so it's not Bluetooth. It's going to eat up one of your usb ports if that is important to you. You might end up not being able to plug in the camera in the back if you get this thing or end up with a dongle hanging off the front.


My subs play all the way down to 0 Hz!!! It's so low you can't hear or feel anything.

dae3dae3 is offline  
post #72 of 89 Old 01-17-2014, 05:59 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 20,708
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 204 Post(s)
Liked: 578
I still don't understand why they didn't put a couple of USB ports on the back. The last place I want any USB ports is on the front.
curtlots and emartins like this.

39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
LED DLP
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme

aaronwt is offline  
post #73 of 89 Old 01-17-2014, 07:50 AM
Advanced Member
 
dae3dae3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Chesterton, Indiana
Posts: 777
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post

I still don't understand why they didn't put a couple of USB ports on the back. The last place I want any USB ports is on the front.

They had to put some on the front for easy access but I agree about the back. Obviously cost cutting. I thought there was one on the back but I just double checked and you're right.


My subs play all the way down to 0 Hz!!! It's so low you can't hear or feel anything.

dae3dae3 is offline  
post #74 of 89 Old 01-17-2014, 07:56 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Smigro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Pennsyltucky
Posts: 1,820
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 94
Quote:
Originally Posted by dae3dae3 View Post

They had to put some on the front for easy access but I agree about the back. Obviously cost cutting. I thought there was one on the back but I just double checked and you're right.

I am guessing you could always add a powered hub back there for cheap to add a few USB slots.
Smigro is online now  
post #75 of 89 Old 01-29-2014, 07:34 AM
Member
 
dcheuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by moshock View Post

Ah crap, it does say February 15, 2014. My bad. I could have sworn it was January 15th for a long time there... maybe it was... maybe it got changed... who knows. Hmm... rolleyes.gif

It says the release date is now April 18th, 2014
dcheuk is offline  
post #76 of 89 Old 01-29-2014, 07:38 AM
Senior Member
 
DustinLH00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Aurora, IL
Posts: 287
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by dcheuk View Post

It says the release date is now April 18th, 2014

LOL it is never coming out.

Energy RC-70s (2) | Energy RC-LCR | Energy CB-5s (4) | SVS PB-2000 | Pioneer VSX-1020K | Samsung UN65F8000 | PS3 | PS4 | Apple TV (2nd gen) | DirecTV HR34 HMC | Harmony Ultimate
DustinLH00 is offline  
post #77 of 89 Old 01-29-2014, 10:36 AM
Member
 
mmmccall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 197
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I think the most interesting part of the Dreamgear remote is that it appears to have a power on/off button. For those of us still using the PS3 as their main blu ray player, you know that the Harmony "Off" command is actually a macro that presses the PS button, cycle downs, and hits power off. Works about 80% of the time for me. A discrete power off would be awesome...
mmmccall is offline  
post #78 of 89 Old 03-21-2014, 05:37 PM
Advanced Member
 
moshock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 819
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 27
This item will be released on May 16, 2014. rolleyes.gif
moshock is offline  
post #79 of 89 Old 03-22-2014, 10:43 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Rakesh.S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 4,066
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
There's a thread about this on the logitech forums. Based on what they're saying, Dreamgear is trying to hype this product up and get pre-orders before putting it into production. It seems like vaporware to me.

Sony needs to get with the program and provide the bluetooth commands to logitech or release their own remote. It has been 6 months now, and we haven't heard a peep. I guess they're still working on firmware updates to address things that should've been in the console at launch.
Poolshark69 likes this.
Rakesh.S is offline  
post #80 of 89 Old 03-23-2014, 07:02 AM
Newbie
 
woodsmit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So, interestingly, I have a harmony 900 and set up to work with my AV receiver and my panasonic plasma. Since there are no PS4 controls for obvious reasons, I set the up / down arrow buttoms plus the OK button to work with the TV. I have been using the PS4 controller to work the PS$ in the meantime. Rolled on the harmony remote the other day and low and behold, the arrows control the the ps4 (at least in the stratup screen and on netflix app). OK button works as well. Play, stop, rewind etc don't seem to do anything. Not really sure how this is working as I thought the PS4 had no IR receiver, but it does, if in a limited way. Anyone else have a similar experience? Have the VT25 Panaonic Plasma.
woodsmit is offline  
post #81 of 89 Old 03-23-2014, 08:02 AM
AVS Special Member
 
DaverJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 6,554
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 329
Could this be HDMI-CEC from the TV?


Sub-1080p/60fps is not next-gen.


Console gamers curious/interested in PC gaming? Click here.
DaverJ is offline  
post #82 of 89 Old 03-23-2014, 09:08 AM
Newbie
 
woodsmit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thats interesting. Could be. I am directly connecting the HDMI from PS4 to TV and have enabled the ability to control over HDMI. Intersting way around the issue if true. Would need to play with it to see if there are ways to control other functions like play etc.
woodsmit is offline  
post #83 of 89 Old 04-17-2014, 12:18 PM
Senior Member
 
ZenithPete's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 384
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
HMDI CEC works ok except not while in some apps like Netflix, which poses a big problem.

But this nyko remote is out now, and if it uses IR commands, buying the remote or the dongle may be the best solution so far for harmony remote users:

http://www.gamestop.com/ps4/accessories/ps4-media-remote-control/113590
ZenithPete is offline  
post #84 of 89 Old 04-18-2014, 04:36 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Smigro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Pennsyltucky
Posts: 1,820
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 94
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rakesh.S View Post

There's a thread about this on the logitech forums. Based on what they're saying, Dreamgear is trying to hype this product up and get pre-orders before putting it into production. It seems like vaporware to me.

Isn't this the same remote that has been on Amazon since the PS4 release day and keeps getting its release date pushed back?
Smigro is online now  
post #85 of 89 Old 04-18-2014, 06:05 AM
AVS Special Member
 
NoThru22's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 9,200
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 86
Quote:
Originally Posted by Smigro View Post

Isn't this the same remote that has been on Amazon since the PS4 release day and keeps getting its release date pushed back?
No, that remote is at the bottom left of that link.
NoThru22 is offline  
post #86 of 89 Old 04-18-2014, 11:21 PM
Senior Member
 
ZenithPete's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 384
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Uggg, sounds like the nyko remote has severe limitations. I could live with not being able to power off the ps4, but major issues with netflix and other apps, so this is really no better than hdmi cec.

I thought if it just emulated the controller buttons we would be all set, but apparently doesn't work like that.
ZenithPete is offline  
post #87 of 89 Old 04-19-2014, 04:51 AM
AVS Special Member
 
scubasteve2365's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 233
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post

I still don't understand why they didn't put a couple of USB ports on the back. The last place I want any USB ports is on the front.

6 -- 1/2 dozen the other.

In my arrangement where the back off the console isn't accessible (in-wall equipment rack), the front is preferable if I'm plugging in something like a controller to charge or USB flashdrive.

The best solution is the original PS3. Plenty of ports front and back, but that thing was big in size.

"The Scuba Tank" thread here
PSN/XBL : ScubaSteve2365
scubasteve2365 is online now  
post #88 of 89 Old 06-18-2014, 06:06 PM
Senior Member
 
ZenithPete's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 384
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
the Dreamgear ps4 remote is now showing in stock at Fry's....but doesn't ship until July 1st so not sure what that means....has it always said in stock there?

http://www.frys.com/product/8038764?...4GedxKTqLw_wcB

"PS4 Blu-ray Remote brings convenience to your system. It is compatible with PlayStation 4 and allows you simple access to Blu-ray and DVD discs as well as improved navigation through system and movie menus. The PS4 remote controller comes with a compact USB dongle that requires minimal setup and has large buttons, which are easy to press. This product incorporates an eject and power key along with a series of other shortcuts for quick menu maneuvering."

Last edited by ZenithPete; 06-18-2014 at 06:10 PM.
ZenithPete is offline  
post #89 of 89 Old 06-20-2014, 08:28 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
anthonymoody's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: ny, ny usa
Posts: 5,639
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Cheap enough that I'm tempted. If it works it should be easy enough to teach the commands to my Harmony. Hmm.

Stuck up, half witted, scruffy looking, nerf herder.
Double True!
anthonymoody is offline  
Reply PlayStation Area

Tags
Playstation 4 Console

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off