PS4: How to update FW via USB / Install a new HDD - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 66 Old 11-13-2013, 10:34 PM - Thread Starter
 
TyrantII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Boston
Posts: 10,114
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 832
Quote:
11/13/13:
System Update File (FW 1.50): UPDATE.PUP
Recovery File (FW 1.50) (Required when installing a new HDD): UPDATE.PUP

Warning: NEVER power down your PS4 in the middle of a FW flash. Doing so might brick the system, or cause data loss.
REMINDER: Your USB Thumb Drive or external HDD must be formatted in Fat32 file format. Here's a quick link on how to do so through windows:


Quote:
How to Enter Safe Mode
Starting the PS4 in Safe Mode:
  1. Turn off the PlayStation 4 by pressing the power button on the front panel. The power indicator will blink for a few moments before turning off.
  2. Once the PlayStation 4 is off, press and hold the power button. Release it after you've heard two beeps: one when you initially press, and another 7 seconds later.
  3. Connect the DualShock 4 controller with the provided USB cable and press the PS button on the controller.

Safe Mode Options: Warning: Spoiler! (Click to show)
The following options are available in Safe Mode:

  1. Restart System - Ends Safe Mode and restarts the PlayStation 4 normally.
  2. Change Resolution - Changes the screen resolution to 480p when the PlayStation 4 is restarted.
  3. Update System Software - Allows the PlayStation 4 to update the system software via Internet, USB Drive, or Disc.
  4. Restore Default Settings - Restores the PlayStation 4 to the default factory settings.
  5. Rebuild Database - Scans the drive and creates a new database of all content. This operation may take a long time depending on the type and number of data items.
  6. Initialize PS4 - IMPORTANT: All data and settings will be lost by performing this step. Deletes all user data and restores the PS4 to as if it just came out of the box. This option is the same as [Initialize PS4 ] in the (Settings) menu. System software (firmware) is not deleted.
  7. Initialize PS4 (Reinstall System Software) - IMPORTANT: Deletes all information on the HDD, including the System Software. A message that states a USB storage device containing the System Software must be connected, is displayed. Then you can confirm the selection.



Quote:
How to update FW via USB:

On the USB storage device, create folders for saving the update file.

Using a computer, create a folder named "PS4". Inside that folder, create another folder named "UPDATE".


  1. Download the System Update File, and save it in the "UPDATE" folder you created in step 1.
  2. Save the System Update File with the file name "PS4UPDATE.PUP".
  3. Turn off the power of your PS4™ system completely.
  4. Check that the power indicator is not lit. If the power indicator is lit up in orange, touch the power button on the PS4™ system for at least 7 seconds (until the system beeps a second time).
  5. Connect the USB storage device that the update file is saved on to your PS4™ system, and then touch the power button for at least 7 seconds.
  6. The PS4™ system starts in safe mode
  7. Select 3 [Update System Software].
  8. Follow the screens to complete the installation.

If your PS4™ system does not recognize the update file, check that the folder names and file name are correct. Enter the folder names and file name in single-byte characters using uppercase letters.


Quote:
How to Perform a new installation of the system software (Replace HDD)

This procedure is for initializing your PS4™ system and performing a new installation of the system software, such as for when you replace the hard disk drive.

Be careful when using an B]Recovery File[/B] for reinstallation. All users and all data will be deleted.


On the USB storage device, create folders for saving the update file.

Using a computer, create a folder named "PS4". Inside that folder, create another folder named "UPDATE".


  1. Download the Recovery File, and save it in the "UPDATE" folder you created in step 1.
  2. Save the Recovery File with the file name "PS4UPDATE.PUP".
  3. Turn off the power of your PS4™ system completely.
  4. Check that the power indicator is not lit. If the power indicator is lit up in orange, touch the power button on the PS4™ system for at least 7 seconds (until the system beeps a second time).
  5. Connect the USB storage device that the update file is saved on to your PS4™ system, and then touch the power button for at least 7 seconds.
  6. The PS4™ system starts in safe mode
  7. Select 7 [Initialize PS4 (Reinstall System Software)].
  8. Follow the screens to complete the installation.

If your PS4™ system does not recognize the update file, check that the folder names and file name are correct. Enter the folder names and file name in single-byte characters using uppercase letters.
ileff, eclipz, MaxDam77 and 1 others like this.
TyrantII is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 66 Old 11-14-2013, 03:53 AM
Senior Member
 
islewarrior's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 302
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
thanks for the info
upgrading the hard drive is first thing i will do before turning on the system.
will follow your instructions step by step

-------------------------
psn: acelightning15
just call me ace
islewarrior is offline  
post #3 of 66 Old 11-14-2013, 04:05 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Daekwan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Arlington, VA
Posts: 10,262
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 335
Excellent thread!

SSD makes for a great upgrade, come on Black Friday sales!

Xbox Live & PSN gamertag- Daekwan
www.facebook.com/Daekwan
Daekwan is offline  
post #4 of 66 Old 11-14-2013, 04:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
MaxDam77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1,868
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Great thread Tyrant!
Very useful! Thanks

SSD hhd are expensive for now, a 1TB SSD goes from $500-$600.
MaxDam77 is offline  
post #5 of 66 Old 11-14-2013, 07:56 AM - Thread Starter
 
TyrantII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Boston
Posts: 10,114
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 832
Yup, a tad expensive, and a little light on size. Especially when there's going to be 20-40GB mandatory installs. I'm still waiting for that price revolution that keeps supposing to come...

I went with a 1TB Seagate SDHD (Hybrid). Hopefully it give the best of both worlds, without breaking the bank even more. This is becoming an expensive month for adult toys!
TyrantII is offline  
post #6 of 66 Old 11-14-2013, 06:33 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
joeblow's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 12,159
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 207
Nice guide.smile.gif

For anyone looking to update their firmware to 1.50 with this method despite not upgrading the HDD, Yoshida says it isn't necessary.

Quote:
New PS4 users, no need to download FW1.50 now, when you connect your PS4 to Internet, the download starts automatically in the background

It's only 300 MB, so it shouldn't be too big of a deal to get it the traditional way without going through Safe Mode if you don't have to.

Los Angeles Lakers - 16 NBA Championships!

joeblow is online now  
post #7 of 66 Old 11-14-2013, 10:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
emartins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 4,142
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 444 Post(s)
Liked: 496
Running into some issues with the USB I guess. Going to reformat and try over

Hapi -"Lazy......cuz he's a boss like that"

mphfrom77 - "I'm an idiot."

benjamin-benjami - http://www.avsforum.com/t/1476721/battlefield-4/7200_100#post_24609271
emartins is online now  
post #8 of 66 Old 11-14-2013, 10:49 PM - Thread Starter
 
TyrantII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Boston
Posts: 10,114
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 832
Needs to be Fat32, and folders/file need to be names exactly as above in uppercase.
TyrantII is offline  
post #9 of 66 Old 11-14-2013, 10:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
emartins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 4,142
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 444 Post(s)
Liked: 496
I had all that, at least I think I did. I did it through the Mac OS so now I booted into windows and will reformat through that. The folder names were correct this much I know. Just waiting for the file to copy over and I'll be at it again

Hapi -"Lazy......cuz he's a boss like that"

mphfrom77 - "I'm an idiot."

benjamin-benjami - http://www.avsforum.com/t/1476721/battlefield-4/7200_100#post_24609271
emartins is online now  
post #10 of 66 Old 11-14-2013, 10:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
emartins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 4,142
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 444 Post(s)
Liked: 496
Replacing the hard drive was a 2 min job, very easy

Hapi -"Lazy......cuz he's a boss like that"

mphfrom77 - "I'm an idiot."

benjamin-benjami - http://www.avsforum.com/t/1476721/battlefield-4/7200_100#post_24609271
emartins is online now  
post #11 of 66 Old 11-14-2013, 10:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
emartins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 4,142
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 444 Post(s)
Liked: 496
Bingo, I think I remember Mac OS not doing formats for FAT 32 or something like that. I cant remember and I didnt feel like googling on how, quicker to load up windows and get it done through there. Just waiting for it to finish now.

Thanks for the thread Tyrant.

Hapi -"Lazy......cuz he's a boss like that"

mphfrom77 - "I'm an idiot."

benjamin-benjami - http://www.avsforum.com/t/1476721/battlefield-4/7200_100#post_24609271
emartins is online now  
post #12 of 66 Old 11-15-2013, 07:50 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ultracat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,370
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 54
Anyone with a SSHD or SSD notice any big performance / load time boost yet? I have a SSHD, waiting to pickup my PS4 today and was planning on replacing it ASAP.

XBOX 360 - KrazeeEyezKeith

PS4 - KrazeeKeith

ultracat is offline  
post #13 of 66 Old 11-15-2013, 07:57 AM - Thread Starter
 
TyrantII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Boston
Posts: 10,114
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 832
SSHD might take a while, since it's essentially a very large SSD smart cache. It'll needed to learn what files / games are played most often.

SSD should rock pretty fast. The video above loaded Resogun 50% faster.
TyrantII is offline  
post #14 of 66 Old 11-15-2013, 08:01 AM
AVS Special Member
 
emartins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 4,142
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 444 Post(s)
Liked: 496
It seems snappy but I installed first thing so I dont know what to compare it to. I can time how long it takes for Resogun takes to load to compare with the video

Hapi -"Lazy......cuz he's a boss like that"

mphfrom77 - "I'm an idiot."

benjamin-benjami - http://www.avsforum.com/t/1476721/battlefield-4/7200_100#post_24609271
emartins is online now  
post #15 of 66 Old 11-15-2013, 08:52 AM
AVS Special Member
 
emartins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 4,142
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 444 Post(s)
Liked: 496
I started Resogun 3 times. The first took 14.15 seconds the next 2 were at 11.29 and 11 seconds. Guess I was slow on pressing stop the 2nd time. I have the 1TB hybrid that has been mentioned before. I can run some more if you like.


That time was from me pressing start till the Sony screen pops up.

Hapi -"Lazy......cuz he's a boss like that"

mphfrom77 - "I'm an idiot."

benjamin-benjami - http://www.avsforum.com/t/1476721/battlefield-4/7200_100#post_24609271
emartins is online now  
post #16 of 66 Old 11-15-2013, 10:36 AM
Advanced Member
 
Kadath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 856
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Has anyone confirmed that you can download the Playroom if you put in a new disk? I'm gonna stick with my stock disk and watch for a hybrid disk deal on BF, whats the one everyone is recommending again?

Buncha savages in this town....

Sam Posten
Kadath is offline  
post #17 of 66 Old 11-15-2013, 12:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
PENDRAG0ON's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 9,477
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 558
RRAM and VNAND can't come soon enough to the consumer market. I want that multiple terrabyte upgrade for cheap that these techs should bring once they start fighting it out.

PSN - Pendragoongp
NNID - Pendragoon
Include your AVS username in the friend request.
PENDRAG0ON is offline  
post #18 of 66 Old 11-15-2013, 12:48 PM - Thread Starter
 
TyrantII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Boston
Posts: 10,114
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 832
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kadath View Post

Has anyone confirmed that you can download the Playroom if you put in a new disk? I'm gonna stick with my stock disk and watch for a hybrid disk deal on BF, whats the one everyone is recommending again?

Playroom is included in the 800MB re-image used when swapping drives.

Updated the first post to remind people to use Fat32 formatted thumb drives.
TyrantII is offline  
post #19 of 66 Old 11-15-2013, 04:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ultracat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,370
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 54
Ah yes, there it is, my s4itty horrible luck. I can't get my SSHD to work. I've downloaded the 800MB update file to a fat 32 USB stick. Copied it to \PS4\UPDATE\ I swap my Seagate 1TB SSHD for the default drive, boot it into safe mode with the USB stick in the USB port. I choose system update via USB, it searches then finds a v1.5 update. I go to apply it and then the copying bar jumps from 0 to 100 and this error is displayed:

ce-30785-3
A serious error has occurred. Contact technical support for assistance.

I tried re-seating the hard drive and repeating the process about 5 times now. Same thing every time. If I put the stock hard drive back in then it does boot the PS OS.

mad.gif

Calling tech support now....

edit: wait....ha ha....6th time's the charm???? Now it's working. What I did on try 6 is just boot the PS4 with the blank SSHD in it, the USB stick was not plugged in. It boots up, I see the PS logo, then it shuts itself down and restarts on its own into Safe Mode and prompts me to insert a USB with the system software (there's no Safe Mode menu it just goes straight to asking for the USB). NOW it loads the update, reboots itself again and installs the OS. Phew!

Man the PS4 is QUIET compared to my 360. Like, whisper quiet! So glad I'm going digital download this gen. The noise from the 360 was like my number 1 problem the whole of last gen.

XBOX 360 - KrazeeEyezKeith

PS4 - KrazeeKeith

ultracat is offline  
post #20 of 66 Old 11-15-2013, 04:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
PENDRAG0ON's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 9,477
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 558
Once the disc installs it is just as whisper quiet.

PSN - Pendragoongp
NNID - Pendragoon
Include your AVS username in the friend request.
PENDRAG0ON is offline  
post #21 of 66 Old 11-15-2013, 05:45 PM - Thread Starter
 
TyrantII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Boston
Posts: 10,114
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 832
Haven't tried yet, but that 6X drive has me worried about BD playback.
TyrantII is offline  
post #22 of 66 Old 11-15-2013, 06:23 PM - Thread Starter
 
TyrantII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Boston
Posts: 10,114
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 832
Neogaf is doing their own testing and tracking: http://www.neogaf.com/forum/showthread.php?t=716288
TyrantII is offline  
post #23 of 66 Old 11-15-2013, 09:04 PM
Senior Member
 
sharp360's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: SW chicago
Posts: 204
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 17
My thumb drive is too fat to fit in the tiny gap on the front of the ps4 :-(

My Theater build
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...9#post21268949
xboxone gamertag: MASTERpTWINKIE
PS3: zaczimer
sharp360 is offline  
post #24 of 66 Old 11-15-2013, 09:07 PM
Senior Member
 
sharp360's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: SW chicago
Posts: 204
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Oh we'll, the update took all of 30seconds if that to download

My Theater build
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...9#post21268949
xboxone gamertag: MASTERpTWINKIE
PS3: zaczimer
sharp360 is offline  
post #25 of 66 Old 11-15-2013, 09:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tfoltz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: CA
Posts: 3,530
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 61
I had my flash drive ready but decided to download it...only took two minutes tops over WiFi with a mediocre connection. Sweet.
tfoltz is offline  
post #26 of 66 Old 11-15-2013, 09:43 PM - Thread Starter
 
TyrantII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Boston
Posts: 10,114
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 832
Quote:
Originally Posted by sharp360 View Post

My thumb drive is too fat to fit in the tiny gap on the front of the ps4 :-(

Mine was too, I had to... modify it.
TyrantII is offline  
post #27 of 66 Old 11-15-2013, 10:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Crash44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Oregon
Posts: 1,259
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 100
Quote:
Originally Posted by TyrantII View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by sharp360 View Post

My thumb drive is too fat to fit in the tiny gap on the front of the ps4 :-(

Mine was too, I had to... modify it.

I updated via USB. I bought a new one the other day just for the PS4 then hoped it would fit in the gap. It worked fine: ADATA UV128/16GB. If nothing else use that as a guide for a style that works. I almost got a cool looking yet very chunky one that would have had no chance. I would've been asking TyrantII for the gory details of what he had to do wink.gif

PSN: CrashLanding (please ID requests as AVS)
Crash44 is online now  
post #28 of 66 Old 11-16-2013, 01:30 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
bd2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 10,769
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 408 Post(s)
Liked: 1449
Hmm....having some issues swapping in my hybrid. I DLed the full 800mb update to a USB stick, booted in safe mode, picked option 7, then it initializes and then prepares to install the system software. Once the preparing progress bar hits 100% it reboots, and then will just perpetually show the strobing blue light and a blank screen. At that point it's completely unresponsive so I have to hold down the power button for 15sec for it to turn off. Then I can get back to safe mode and I'm back to square one.

From there I've tried downloading the update over the net in safe mode, once it hits 100% it says an error has occurred (ce-30789-7), my only option is to turn it off.

Then I tried option 6 to reinitialize, that hits 100%, then reboot and back to black screen and strobing blue.

I guess tomorrow I'll try redownloading the full file to a different USB stick. Any other ideas, or am I missing something obvious? Perhaps this old hybrid drive just isn't compatible.

Steam/PSN/Xbox Live: Darius510
bd2003 is offline  
post #29 of 66 Old 11-16-2013, 08:09 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
bd2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 10,769
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 408 Post(s)
Liked: 1449
Still no dice. It's too bad I just did a super thorough load time test on the stock 5400rpm (I timed like 20-30 things), and was hoping to replicate it on the hybrid...but hybrid no worky. frown.gif

There were some really interesting and unexpected things I noticed even with the stock drive though. Some headscratchers too. I'm hoping to somehow get this hybrid working before I release any results, but based on what I've tested, there's unexpected factors that can influence load time, so I'd take any comparison you currently see on the net with a mountain of salt.

Steam/PSN/Xbox Live: Darius510
bd2003 is offline  
post #30 of 66 Old 11-16-2013, 08:10 AM
AVS Special Member
 
blklightning's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2,171
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 62
So if I get a hybrid, do I even need to bother upping to 7200 rpm?

500 gigs FTW.
blklightning is offline  
Reply PlayStation Area



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off