ps4 to yamaha rx-v 475 hdmi problem - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 16 Old 11-25-2013, 06:42 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
mariopino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a Yamaha rx v 475, connected via hdmi to a dvd player, a ps3, a Nintendo console, and an Apple tv. Everything has been working fine until I replaced the ps3 with a ps4. After I updated the ps4, the sound was coming out of the speakers very distorted, going in and out, and then the screen just flickered. When I connected the ps4 directly to the tv, it worked. I unplugged the receiver and then plugged it in again, and the ps4 worked fine. A couple of days later, when I turned on the ps4 the sound was distorted again, but it sounded fine if connected directly to the tv. I unplugged the receiver and plugged it again, and the sound is fine. What could be causing this problem? I have the ps4 connected in the settings to HDMI, and I never had problems with the receiver before.I don't know what the problem is. Is there something wrong with the new PS4? If so, why does it work if directly connected to the TV? Is the problem in the receiver?
Thanks for any advice.
mariopino is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 16 Old 11-25-2013, 11:11 PM
Advanced Member
 
eclipz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Posts: 682
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I have a Yamaha RXV661 and I replaced my PS3 with the PS4. I don't see the issue you are describing. I would suggest replacing the HDMI cable but since it seems to be working when connected to the TV we can probably skip that. It might be a handshake issue. Make sure the AVR is on first before the PS4 turns on and see if that helps at all. If not it might be the PS4.
eclipz is offline  
post #3 of 16 Old 11-26-2013, 04:41 AM
Member
 
jcamm1966's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I have the V 371 and i have Vizio , Xbox 360, Cablebox and PS4 all going through it via HDMI and have no problems at all , I am using bitstream through PS4 settings
jcamm1966 is offline  
post #4 of 16 Old 11-26-2013, 11:33 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
mariopino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have the setting in the PS4 on hdmi. What's bitstream?
mariopino is offline  
post #5 of 16 Old 11-27-2013, 05:11 AM
Member
 
jcamm1966's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by mariopino View Post

I have the setting in the PS4 on hdmi. What's bitstream?

In PS4 audio it has different settings PCM, Bitstream ect
jcamm1966 is offline  
post #6 of 16 Old 12-04-2013, 09:34 AM
Member
 
Nakash2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Which game are you playing please cause you said the sounds works good with your receiver yamaaha?

Hdmi out bitstream?

Everybody has glitch so i am surprised.
Nakash2 is offline  
post #7 of 16 Old 12-04-2013, 09:58 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
mariopino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Originally posted by eclipz:

I have a Yamaha RXV661 and I replaced my PS3 with the PS4. I don't see the issue you are describing. I would suggest replacing the HDMI cable but since it seems to be working when connected to the TV we can probably skip that. It might be a handshake issue. Make sure the AVR is on first before the PS4 turns on and see if that helps at all. If not it might be the PS4.
Edited by eclipz - 11/26/13

Thank you for your reply, I've turned the AVR on first, and now everything works fine. I've been playing Killzone Shadowfall with no problems.

mariopino
mariopino is offline  
post #8 of 16 Old 12-04-2013, 10:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
defdog99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,120
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 30
If you want the PS4 to turn on the AVR you can turn on HDMI-CEC in one of the PS4 settings menus.
defdog99 is offline  
post #9 of 16 Old 12-05-2013, 12:21 AM
Member
 
Nakash2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Mariopino....

 

 

it depends of the game!!! i heard killzone working correctly....few game dont have center speaking for no reasons...and glitch sound (only on 2k14 for the moment i notified)

 

thats a problem ON ALL PS4, sony knows it.

Nakash2 is offline  
post #10 of 16 Old 12-05-2013, 12:25 AM
Member
 
Nakash2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

and apparently with bitstream (straight dolby digital or dts through your amp) killzone has some sound issues as well, specially with the center channel.

 

dont misunderstood dobly prologic 2 from a 2.0 source with dolby digital 5.1 or dts 5.1 (for these formats you need to use bitstream on ps4 like ps3) and clearly there are issues about glitchs and center speaker for certain games, not EVERY GAMES!

 

for exemple EA sports games seem to work perfectly.

Nakash2 is offline  
post #11 of 16 Old 03-16-2014, 01:31 PM
uh2
Member
 
uh2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 114
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I have a 475 and a PS4. Same issue. Sometimes I don't get video. Unplugging the receiver always fixes it. I've never had the problem when the PS4 turns on the Panny ST30 and the receiver.
uh2 is offline  
post #12 of 16 Old 03-16-2014, 03:01 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
mariopino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Did you try turning on the receiver first, then the PS4? That seems to work for me.
mariopino is offline  
post #13 of 16 Old 04-18-2014, 02:22 PM
Newbie
 
smcclain01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

I have a Yamaha RX-V473. When I turned on my PS4 today there was a  terrible hissing static sound coming from my speakers. I disconnected my ps4 hdmi cable and hooked it up straight to the tv and the sound was perfect no hissing or static sound. I then plugged the hdmi cable back into my receiver and the static hissing sound was back. I went into the PS4 audio settings and changed the Audio Format to Bitstream Dolby and the hissing static sound disappeared. I also changed the format to Bitstream DTS and there was no hissing sound or static sound.. Any Ideas????? It worked gray for months and then all of a sudden today I hear this terrible sound.

 

 

 

Thanks.

smcclain01 is offline  
post #14 of 16 Old 05-12-2014, 09:56 PM
Member
 
Brian Rokosz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've been watching movies w/my Sony bluray player and all of a sudden tonight my speakers just play static. Just terrible hissing sound. Is this a Sony thing?
Brian Rokosz is offline  
post #15 of 16 Old 05-31-2014, 10:27 AM
Advanced Member
 
Kascnef82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 838
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 40
while i was playing gt6 the screen would flash on my vizio 42 inch smart 3d tv after using it to watch House of Cards on bluray, the sound would go on and off quickly...is it my 80gb ps3 or the hdmi cable or the reciever? mine is a rxv 473....i have other connections for kindle fire hdx netgear push 2 tv, the chromecast, my ps3, ps4, and the fios box for hdmi picture and optical for audio.
Kascnef82 is offline  
post #16 of 16 Old 05-31-2014, 11:00 AM
AVS Special Member
 
defdog99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,120
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 30
the audio channel on your hdmi cable is way higher speed than an optical cable.

Unless you have some $10k speakers and fancy DAC / opamp.

Just set it to LPCM and to travel over your 21st century HDMI cable (versus your 1980s option)

Seriously, LPCM is UNCOMPRESSED audio.

If they put READY-TO-PLAY-UNCOMPRESSED audio in the menu option, people would pick it.
They see the word "bit stream" and think its somehow better.

Bitstream is only when you want to play some new Dolby UberNewFormat, that your new AVR can decrypt.
defdog99 is offline  
Reply PlayStation Area

Tags
Yamaha Rx V475 5 1 Channel Network Av Receiver , Yamaha Rx V661bl 7 1 Channel Digital Home Theater Receiver
Gear in this thread - V661bl by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off