ps4 to yamaha rx-v 475 hdmi problem - AVS Forum

AVS Forum > Gaming & Content Streaming > Home Theater Gaming > PlayStation Area > ps4 to yamaha rx-v 475 hdmi problem

PlayStation Area

mariopino's Avatar mariopino
07:42 PM Liked: 10
post #1 of 16
11-25-2013 | Posts: 7
Joined: Apr 2013
I have a Yamaha rx v 475, connected via hdmi to a dvd player, a ps3, a Nintendo console, and an Apple tv. Everything has been working fine until I replaced the ps3 with a ps4. After I updated the ps4, the sound was coming out of the speakers very distorted, going in and out, and then the screen just flickered. When I connected the ps4 directly to the tv, it worked. I unplugged the receiver and then plugged it in again, and the ps4 worked fine. A couple of days later, when I turned on the ps4 the sound was distorted again, but it sounded fine if connected directly to the tv. I unplugged the receiver and plugged it again, and the sound is fine. What could be causing this problem? I have the ps4 connected in the settings to HDMI, and I never had problems with the receiver before.I don't know what the problem is. Is there something wrong with the new PS4? If so, why does it work if directly connected to the TV? Is the problem in the receiver?
Thanks for any advice.
eclipz's Avatar eclipz
12:11 AM Liked: 13
post #2 of 16
11-26-2013 | Posts: 683
Joined: Jun 2004
I have a Yamaha RXV661 and I replaced my PS3 with the PS4. I don't see the issue you are describing. I would suggest replacing the HDMI cable but since it seems to be working when connected to the TV we can probably skip that. It might be a handshake issue. Make sure the AVR is on first before the PS4 turns on and see if that helps at all. If not it might be the PS4.
jcamm1966's Avatar jcamm1966
05:41 AM Liked: 11
post #3 of 16
11-26-2013 | Posts: 43
Joined: Oct 2009
I have the V 371 and i have Vizio , Xbox 360, Cablebox and PS4 all going through it via HDMI and have no problems at all , I am using bitstream through PS4 settings
mariopino's Avatar mariopino
12:33 AM Liked: 10
post #4 of 16
11-27-2013 | Posts: 7
Joined: Apr 2013
I have the setting in the PS4 on hdmi. What's bitstream?
jcamm1966's Avatar jcamm1966
06:11 AM Liked: 11
post #5 of 16
11-27-2013 | Posts: 43
Joined: Oct 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by mariopino View Post

I have the setting in the PS4 on hdmi. What's bitstream?

In PS4 audio it has different settings PCM, Bitstream ect
Nakash2's Avatar Nakash2
10:34 AM Liked: 10
post #6 of 16
12-04-2013 | Posts: 43
Joined: Dec 2013
Which game are you playing please cause you said the sounds works good with your receiver yamaaha?

Hdmi out bitstream?

Everybody has glitch so i am surprised.
mariopino's Avatar mariopino
10:58 PM Liked: 10
post #7 of 16
12-04-2013 | Posts: 7
Joined: Apr 2013
Originally posted by eclipz:

I have a Yamaha RXV661 and I replaced my PS3 with the PS4. I don't see the issue you are describing. I would suggest replacing the HDMI cable but since it seems to be working when connected to the TV we can probably skip that. It might be a handshake issue. Make sure the AVR is on first before the PS4 turns on and see if that helps at all. If not it might be the PS4.
Edited by eclipz - 11/26/13

Thank you for your reply, I've turned the AVR on first, and now everything works fine. I've been playing Killzone Shadowfall with no problems.

mariopino
defdog99's Avatar defdog99
11:15 PM Liked: 32
post #8 of 16
12-04-2013 | Posts: 1,137
Joined: Jul 2009
If you want the PS4 to turn on the AVR you can turn on HDMI-CEC in one of the PS4 settings menus.
Nakash2's Avatar Nakash2
01:21 AM Liked: 10
post #9 of 16
12-05-2013 | Posts: 43
Joined: Dec 2013

Mariopino....

 

 

it depends of the game!!! i heard killzone working correctly....few game dont have center speaking for no reasons...and glitch sound (only on 2k14 for the moment i notified)

 

thats a problem ON ALL PS4, sony knows it.


Nakash2's Avatar Nakash2
01:25 AM Liked: 10
post #10 of 16
12-05-2013 | Posts: 43
Joined: Dec 2013

and apparently with bitstream (straight dolby digital or dts through your amp) killzone has some sound issues as well, specially with the center channel.

 

dont misunderstood dobly prologic 2 from a 2.0 source with dolby digital 5.1 or dts 5.1 (for these formats you need to use bitstream on ps4 like ps3) and clearly there are issues about glitchs and center speaker for certain games, not EVERY GAMES!

 

for exemple EA sports games seem to work perfectly.


uh2's Avatar uh2
02:31 PM Liked: 13
post #11 of 16
03-16-2014 | Posts: 114
Joined: Dec 2001
I have a 475 and a PS4. Same issue. Sometimes I don't get video. Unplugging the receiver always fixes it. I've never had the problem when the PS4 turns on the Panny ST30 and the receiver.
mariopino's Avatar mariopino
04:01 PM Liked: 10
post #12 of 16
03-16-2014 | Posts: 7
Joined: Apr 2013
Did you try turning on the receiver first, then the PS4? That seems to work for me.
smcclain01's Avatar smcclain01
03:22 PM Liked: 10
post #13 of 16
04-18-2014 | Posts: 1
Joined: Apr 2014

I have a Yamaha RX-V473. When I turned on my PS4 today there was a  terrible hissing static sound coming from my speakers. I disconnected my ps4 hdmi cable and hooked it up straight to the tv and the sound was perfect no hissing or static sound. I then plugged the hdmi cable back into my receiver and the static hissing sound was back. I went into the PS4 audio settings and changed the Audio Format to Bitstream Dolby and the hissing static sound disappeared. I also changed the format to Bitstream DTS and there was no hissing sound or static sound.. Any Ideas????? It worked gray for months and then all of a sudden today I hear this terrible sound.

 

 

 

Thanks.


Brian Rokosz's Avatar Brian Rokosz
10:56 PM Liked: 10
post #14 of 16
05-12-2014 | Posts: 15
Joined: Nov 2012
I've been watching movies w/my Sony bluray player and all of a sudden tonight my speakers just play static. Just terrible hissing sound. Is this a Sony thing?
Kascnef82's Avatar Kascnef82
11:27 AM Liked: 40
post #15 of 16
05-31-2014 | Posts: 838
Joined: Aug 2012
while i was playing gt6 the screen would flash on my vizio 42 inch smart 3d tv after using it to watch House of Cards on bluray, the sound would go on and off quickly...is it my 80gb ps3 or the hdmi cable or the reciever? mine is a rxv 473....i have other connections for kindle fire hdx netgear push 2 tv, the chromecast, my ps3, ps4, and the fios box for hdmi picture and optical for audio.
defdog99's Avatar defdog99
12:00 PM Liked: 32
post #16 of 16
05-31-2014 | Posts: 1,137
Joined: Jul 2009
the audio channel on your hdmi cable is way higher speed than an optical cable.

Unless you have some $10k speakers and fancy DAC / opamp.

Just set it to LPCM and to travel over your 21st century HDMI cable (versus your 1980s option)

Seriously, LPCM is UNCOMPRESSED audio.

If they put READY-TO-PLAY-UNCOMPRESSED audio in the menu option, people would pick it.
They see the word "bit stream" and think its somehow better.

Bitstream is only when you want to play some new Dolby UberNewFormat, that your new AVR can decrypt.
Tags: Yamaha Rx V475 5 1 Channel Network Av Receiver , Yamaha Rx V661bl 7 1 Channel Digital Home Theater Receiver
Gear in this thread - V661bl by PriceGrabber.com
Reply PlayStation Area

Subscribe to this Thread

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3