Panasonic VT60/PS4 settings - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 42 Old 11-26-2013, 11:41 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
redshift1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 336
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
What settings is everyone using?

I have not tried the D-Nice settings as of yet and there's the game mode as another option.

Problem is in dimly lit scenes the blacks are overpowering, I tried the in game adjustment but cannot find a balance either it's to dark or to washed out.


I'm running the PS4 through a Marantz 8801 to the VT60.

Any thoughts?
redshift1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 42 Old 11-29-2013, 02:06 AM
Newbie
 
Eatswithhands's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
More input and discussion in regards to achieving the best detail in blacks when gaming, would be terrific.

What are everyone's settings when gaming, to make the colors pop, and blacks have as much detail as possible?

On my old TV, I achieved the best picture quality by setting contrast to 100, brightness to 50 and using Vivid mode, but am curious what owners of the VT60 use.

I am currently running Dnice's slides, going on 70 hours, so I won't be able to test it out for a while, but the set will certainly be used mostly for gaming and movies.
Eatswithhands is offline  
post #3 of 42 Old 11-30-2013, 09:34 PM
Newbie
 
wol-shiver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello. I noticed the same issue with m st60. Seems automatic rgb forces full, which causes the black crush, as it did on ps3. Set to limited and enjoy,
wol-shiver is offline  
post #4 of 42 Old 11-30-2013, 09:36 PM
Newbie
 
wol-shiver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Also....use custom mode with dnice plus limited. My st is gorgeous, your vt will bring tears to your eyes. smile.gif
wol-shiver is offline  
post #5 of 42 Old 12-01-2013, 05:01 PM
Newbie
 
wol-shiver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello, ignore my comments prior. On my st60 setting it to auto does indeed force full through my rxv1900. It is better this way. I had accidentally set my hdmidvi rgb on HDMI1 to standard 16-235 while ps4 was on full and that was causing the crush. Set range back to auto on TV and boom.
wol-shiver is offline  
post #6 of 42 Old 12-08-2013, 01:18 AM
Senior Member
 
Trojita's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 367
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I'm also interested in what people are using. Specifically settings for playing games on the PS4 and watching blu-ray on it.
Trojita is offline  
post #7 of 42 Old 12-08-2013, 06:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
defdog99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,125
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 31
The THX mode on the vt60 is nearly perfect. No need to use DNice settings.
defdog99 is offline  
post #8 of 42 Old 12-08-2013, 08:12 PM
Member
 
loader963's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: VA USA
Posts: 125
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eatswithhands View Post

More input and discussion in regards to achieving the best detail in blacks when gaming, would be terrific.


On my old TV, I achieved the best picture quality by setting contrast to 100, brightness to 50 and using Vivid mode, but am curious what owners of the VT60 use.

I am currently running Dnice's slides, going on 70 hours, so I won't be able to test it out for a while, but the set will certainly be used mostly for gaming and movies.


I always though you ran lower contrast on plasmas when gaming? any trouble with ir at full contrast?

TV: Sony KDL-70R550a
AV: Sony DH740
Center: Polk CS2 Series 2
L/R: Polk Monitor 70 Series 2
Side/Rear Surrounds: Polk Monitor 40 Series 2
Sub-woofers: Polk PSW10 (x2)
loader963 is offline  
post #9 of 42 Old 12-09-2013, 08:02 AM
AVS Special Member
 
TornadoTJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 3,934
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by defdog99 View Post

The THX mode on the vt60 is nearly perfect. No need to use DNice settings.

I found this to be true on the VT40 and VT50 as well. I took my WOW disc to friends' houses with these sets and had to make no adjustments. I will simply put my VT60 (it arrives Friday!) on THX mode and double check it with WOW. On my ST50, I run Dnice settings with a double-check with my WOW disc.

I'm not a believer in slides. Just be careful to watch full-screen videos for a while. I don't feel there is any reason to break in a plasma.
TornadoTJ is offline  
post #10 of 42 Old 12-09-2013, 09:36 AM
AVS Special Member
 
defdog99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,125
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Of course if you are playing tomb Raider and cant see for the life of you -- because the blacks are so inky...

You might have to boost the brightness out of THX spec ;-)

ps. I also agree to not do the slides.All they do is knock down the hours before your tv boosts brightness up to compensate for age. Enjoy super deep picture while you can.
defdog99 is offline  
post #11 of 42 Old 12-09-2013, 09:51 AM
AVS Special Member
 
DaverJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 6,772
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 97 Post(s)
Liked: 607
I'm on the fence about a VT60 - the current price is so right to get the last of these legendary plasmas, but the fear of IR is hard to get past. For everyone saying "IR/burn-in is not an issue", another pops up saying "I do everything to prevent IR/burn-in and it happens anyway."

I need someone to convince me one way or another - you guys love your VT60 for gaming, TV watching and movies?
DaverJ is offline  
post #12 of 42 Old 12-09-2013, 10:10 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Abaddon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: St Louis
Posts: 2,012
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 91 Post(s)
Liked: 117
Goddamn, I just saw that Panasonic is bowing out of the Plasma market which means I need to get off the pot and buy one to my replace my 42" Panny. (Already got a 50" for the bedroom, looking at maybe a 60" for the living room, wall-mounted).

Last time I was in the Displays thread it was pretty overwhelming, I am not sure I have time right now to spend researching everything like I did back in the day. Is there a consensus regarding the best model, etc?
Abaddon is offline  
post #13 of 42 Old 12-09-2013, 10:41 AM
AVS Special Member
 
DaverJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 6,772
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 97 Post(s)
Liked: 607
Quote:
Originally Posted by Abaddon View Post

Goddamn, I just saw that Panasonic is bowing out of the Plasma market which means I need to get off the pot and buy one to my replace my 42" Panny. (Already got a 50" for the bedroom, looking at maybe a 60" for the living room, wall-mounted).

Last time I was in the Displays thread it was pretty overwhelming, I am not sure I have time right now to spend researching everything like I did back in the day. Is there a consensus regarding the best model, etc?

The two models of Panny to consider: The ST60 is highly regraded as fantastic picture at a very affordable price (a 60" costs an amazing $1500 at the moment), but it's Achilles's heel is input lag, which makes the ST a poor choice for gaming. Stepping up to the VT60 improves lag to an acceptable level and gives a slightly better picture - the 60" is an additional $250 over the ST60.
ileff likes this.
DaverJ is offline  
post #14 of 42 Old 12-09-2013, 10:52 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Abaddon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: St Louis
Posts: 2,012
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 91 Post(s)
Liked: 117
Thanks for the quick feedback... I am this close --> <-- to pulling the trigger on the 60" VT60. Lack of WAF is probably the only way this doesn't happen...
Abaddon is offline  
post #15 of 42 Old 12-09-2013, 11:12 AM
AVS Special Member
 
defdog99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,125
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Yeah they got rid of the Gt series this year starting the phase out.

The VT has the ability to set the RGB levels through the pro menu... but I dont think it's needed anymore since THX is so perfect.
The VT is mostly about the better filter and such.

I'd get it if it's economical. My 50 inch V10 was $1500 in the old days and my 60 inch Gt60 was $1800.
If you can get a VT with a big discount in between those 2, you are gold.

The only thing special about plasmas is after XXXX hours, they kick up brightness... and this leads to some barely noticeable image retention ghosting. You only see that on games menus and such, and it goes away when you turn on the TV and watch anything normal.

Plasmas do put out some heat. If this is for an upstairs bedroom maybe go LED instead.
DaverJ likes this.
defdog99 is offline  
post #16 of 42 Old 12-09-2013, 04:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ileff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Yuba City, CA
Posts: 1,983
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaverJ View Post

I need someone to convince me one way or another - you guys love your VT60 for gaming, TV watching and movies?

i have 65VT60 and i love love love it. 10/10 for games and blu-ray. i have comcast + tivo xl4 and it can range from meh to very good depending on the show.

only negative is it is very reflective, so much so that my blinds are visible (even closed) during the daytime. in the evening it is just about perfect.

i haven't ever noticed any retention.
DaverJ likes this.

xbl/gamecenter: leff4
psn/twitter: ileff
my app: video poker clock
ileff is offline  
post #17 of 42 Old 12-09-2013, 06:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
emartins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 4,189
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 475 Post(s)
Liked: 508
I've only had my 65ZT60 for 5 days but I'm loving it so far. Highly recommend the VT or ZT
DaverJ likes this.

One of the greatest posts I have read

benjamin-benjami - http://www.avsforum.com/forum/142-pl...l#post24609271
emartins is online now  
post #18 of 42 Old 12-10-2013, 12:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Anthony1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Posts: 6,088
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 137 Post(s)
Liked: 170
This post is very much off topic, but since you guys are talking TV's and gaming, I thought I might be able to throw a quick question out there.

When are TV's going to have the new HDMI plug that can handle a full 4K signal ?


Reason I'm asking this, is because some guy at Respawn was talking about playing Titanfall in 4K and said it was absolutely amazing. This has me thinking about 4K again, but at the same time, until there is a legit hdmi plug that can handle 4K, I'm not jumping in.
Anthony1 is offline  
post #19 of 42 Old 12-10-2013, 12:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
defdog99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,125
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 31
My Yamaha avr upscale's to 4k. And it's a plain ole HDMI connector.

(and I'm not sure what the point is, as 4k tvs are going to have chips to upconvert 1080p to 4k already)
defdog99 is offline  
post #20 of 42 Old 12-10-2013, 01:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Anthony1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Posts: 6,088
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 137 Post(s)
Liked: 170
No, I'm talking about a new HDMI standard.


I always hear people talking about when the new HDMI standards are settled and then the new 4K tv's will have the new HDMI connectors that can handle the full 4K signal. I just haven't really read that much about it, but I do know that there are some 4K displays right now that don't have the new HDMI plugs, and because of this, there could be some serious issues with getting the full 4K signal to the display.

The current HDMI plugs don't have the bandwidth to handle full 4K from what I understand. I'm just wondering when these new hdmi plugs are going to finally come out. Because I think buying a new AVR or 4K display that doesn't have the new hdmi plug is kinda thowing money down the drain if you're really going all out on 4K in the future.

I should have mentioned that I'm talking about 4K at 60 frames, which requires a new hdmi standard... I think





.
Anthony1 is offline  
post #21 of 42 Old 12-10-2013, 02:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ileff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Yuba City, CA
Posts: 1,983
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
hdmi 1.4 (May 28, 2009) can do 4k 30fps

hdmi 2.0 (September 4, 2013) can do 4k 60fps.
DaverJ likes this.

xbl/gamecenter: leff4
psn/twitter: ileff
my app: video poker clock
ileff is offline  
post #22 of 42 Old 12-10-2013, 03:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Anthony1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Posts: 6,088
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 137 Post(s)
Liked: 170
Quote:
Originally Posted by ileff View Post

hdmi 1.4 (May 28, 2009) can do 4k 30fps

hdmi 2.0 (September 4, 2013) can do 4k 60fps.


yeah, so from a gaming standpoint, I'd say that hdmi 2.0 is an absolute must. Which is why I had zero interest in those cheapo Seiki 4K displays that people were all excited about. Without the hdmi 2.0 on it, what's the point ? PC games stuck at 24 frames or below ? (for the FULL 4K) Not a good idea imo. When the Seiki displays have legit hdmi 2.0, then I'll actually sit up and take notice. Until then, I'll just wait on the sidelines.
Anthony1 is offline  
post #23 of 42 Old 12-10-2013, 07:15 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
redshift1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 336
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Back on topic and still looking for a solution to excessive blacks on VT60 using the PS3/PS4. Anyone?
redshift1 is offline  
post #24 of 42 Old 12-11-2013, 04:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
TornadoTJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 3,934
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Have you tried setting the PS3 to limited instead of full?

My VT will be here Friday. I'll be able to look at this hands-on then.
TornadoTJ is offline  
post #25 of 42 Old 12-18-2013, 07:58 AM
Newbie
 
ziongp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

I noticed much ghosts on menus and dark scenes in Battlefield4  through the PS4  on my vt60 at all pictures modes with game mode on.
Anyone else?

ziongp is offline  
post #26 of 42 Old 12-18-2013, 11:24 AM
AVS Special Member
 
TornadoTJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 3,934
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 36
No ghosting on my VT60, although I don't own Battlefield 4 or a PS4. I have played other PS3 games with no issue.

Redshift1, Limited is the correct setting on the PS3. Also, on the TV, make sure Black Level is set to Light, not Dark.
TornadoTJ is offline  
post #27 of 42 Old 12-24-2013, 07:34 PM
Member
 
HalcyonJedi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I bought my 65 inch VT60 at the beginning of November, and ran slides on it for about 115 hours while my theater room was getting finished up. Afterwards, I picked up the Disney WOW disc - I have my settings on THX Cinema and it looked amazing as is. After using the WOW disk, I adjusted a few of the THX Cinema settings and it definitely helped. The black levels are insane, and the colors are spot on. I've also been playing PS4 on it, and the darkest game I've played so far is KillZone, and I didn't have to adjust anything - it just looked amazing. I'm running everything through an Onkyo TX-SR313 and couldn't be happier.

I brought my gaming rig down last night so I could play Tomb Raider at max settings on this display and it's just incredible. I was hesitant about plasma because of the IR issues everyone seems to talk about, but I haven't noticed a single iota of it and I've got 273 hours on the display so far.
DaverJ likes this.
HalcyonJedi is offline  
post #28 of 42 Old 12-24-2013, 07:35 PM
Member
 
HalcyonJedi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I should probably add I've got about an even mix of BluRay/TV watching vs gaming so far as well. Happy to answer any questions.
HalcyonJedi is offline  
post #29 of 42 Old 12-25-2013, 12:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
TornadoTJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 3,934
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 36
I don't know where you are hearing "everyone" talk about IR issues, but not here I bet. IR is pretty much a thing of the past as long as you don't do anything silly.
TornadoTJ is offline  
post #30 of 42 Old 12-25-2013, 01:03 PM
Member
 
HalcyonJedi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
And yes - here is where I read the vast majority of people terrified of IR issues and how they are NOT a thing of the past, as well as a great deal of people who have been experiencing IR issues. I haven't had any issues - and I would encourage anyone who is afraid of it, to take the plunge and get one of these displays before they are gone.
HalcyonJedi is offline  
Reply PlayStation Area

Tags
Marantz Av8801 , Playstation 4 Console
Gear in this thread - Av8801 by PriceGrabber.com



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off