optimizing internet connection for ps4 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 23 Old 12-05-2013, 09:16 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member

Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 118 Post(s)
Liked: 685
i am not very tech savvy. but can someone explain (or provide a link) to how to "set up your internet" for ps4. Meaning the DMZ, port forwarding, etc...??
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 23 Old 12-05-2013, 09:38 AM
AVS Special Member

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 91
I have my PS4 in my routers DMZ, which means all the ports, or channels that carry certain types of information online, are open and ready to use. I did it this way to solve a problem, which was getting NAT Type 3 on the connection test. NAT 3 (or Strict) causes problems with voice chat, the ability to join games, and other problems.

Are you having a specific problem or are you just trying to optimize?

PSN: CrashLanding (please ID requests as AVS)
post #3 of 23 Old 12-05-2013, 09:39 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by Crash44 View Post

I have my PS4 in my routers DMZ, which means all the ports, or channels that carry certain types of information online, are open and ready to use. I did it this way to solve a problem, which was getting NAT Type 3 on the connection test. NAT 3 (or Strict) causes problems with voice chat, the ability to join games, and other problems.

just trying to optimize...
post #4 of 23 Old 12-05-2013, 09:42 AM

Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
You should not require any special port forwarding for the PS4 from my experience. Also, putting anything on your local network into a DMZ at this point is crazy talk.
Spanglo likes this.
post #5 of 23 Old 12-05-2013, 10:31 AM
AVS Special Member

Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 91
Quote:
Originally Posted by benjamin-benjami View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by Crash44 View Post

just trying to optimize...