Tomb Raider: Definitive Edition for PS4 - Page 10 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #271 of 348 Old 01-27-2014, 05:04 PM
 
TyrantII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Boston
Posts: 10,114
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 832
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chairman7w View Post

Remember the first appearance of the T-Rex in the original Tomb Raider?? That was awesome!

That and diving off the waterfall bring back some memories.

I hope they do go more towards fighting the environment / wildlife, than a legion of mercs. Uncharted is going to run out of Metal Gear PMC's for hire before that series has run it's course for cannon fodder.
TyrantII is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #272 of 348 Old 01-27-2014, 05:20 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
PENDRAG0ON's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 9,444
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 547
I am getting ready for the final areas, everything else is at 100% completion.

I'll probably do a no skill point or upgrade run next, see how that goes. biggrin.gif

PSN - Pendragoongp
NNID - Pendragoon
Include your AVS username in the friend request.
PENDRAG0ON is online now  
post #273 of 348 Old 01-27-2014, 07:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
frankthetoad's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: New Orleans
Posts: 1,533
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 61
Have to ask- does this have a separate or shared trophy list from the PS3 version?

------------------------------------
PSN: frankthetoad
frankthetoad is offline  
post #274 of 348 Old 01-27-2014, 07:39 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
PENDRAG0ON's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 9,444
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 547
Quote:
Originally Posted by frankthetoad View Post

Have to ask- does this have a separate or shared trophy list from the PS3 version?

Separate.

PSN - Pendragoongp
NNID - Pendragoon
Include your AVS username in the friend request.
PENDRAG0ON is online now  
post #275 of 348 Old 01-27-2014, 07:57 PM
Advanced Member
 
helvetica bold's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 502
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 50
I played this on my 360 when it first came out and thought it was awesome. At the time I played it on a LCD that was 6 years old. I'm now replaying it on the PS4 connected to Sonys new W900a. Seriously, this has to be one of the best looking games to date.
I'm really surprised how good it looks. The texture work is pretty incredible. I'm excited for what the future holds for these new systems.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
helvetica bold is offline  
post #276 of 348 Old 01-27-2014, 08:02 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
PENDRAG0ON's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 9,444
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 547
Yeah, this game does look pretty darn good. I know one thing, it has ruined the hair effects in all other games for me. Tressfx needs to be standard in all games from now on, just fix that windsept effect that makes it go rigid...

Game completed 100% Next up the minimal completion run. (Playing a few fights without the dodge counter ability will be tricky...)

PSN - Pendragoongp
NNID - Pendragoon
Include your AVS username in the friend request.
PENDRAG0ON is online now  
post #277 of 348 Old 01-27-2014, 08:13 PM
Member
 
Dash525's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Florida
Posts: 145
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Guy at Gamestop told me they only had four extra copies over all the pre-orders. He said they should have more in on Tuesday or Wednesday. Apparently they didn't plan giving the stores many copies for the early release.

XBox Live : Dash525
PSN ID : Dash525
Dash525 is online now  
post #278 of 348 Old 01-28-2014, 10:51 AM
AVS Special Member
 
freemeat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 2,589
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 525
So the differences appear to more than just frame rate.

http://abload.de/img/tr8tsew.gif
freemeat is online now  
post #279 of 348 Old 01-28-2014, 11:39 AM
AVS Special Member
 
scubasteve2365's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,123
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 47 Post(s)
Liked: 236
Quote:
Originally Posted by freemeat View Post

So the differences appear to more than just frame rate.

http://abload.de/img/tr8tsew.gif

Likely not, I posted this in the XBO forum as well. IIRC, the XBO cannot have it's output black level range modified (0-255 versus 16-235). Most living room displays are going to in the standard range of 16-235, wherein a PC will operate in the extended range of 0-255. This, combined with the intent of not altering the captured streams can and will result in one of the two looking either too dark or washed out.

"The Scuba Tank" thread here
PSN/XBL : ScubaSteve2365
scubasteve2365 is offline  
post #280 of 348 Old 01-28-2014, 11:54 AM
AVS Special Member
 
tfoltz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: CA
Posts: 3,505
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 57
I'm not big on still comparisons, but the water definitely looks good on the PS4.
tfoltz is offline  
post #281 of 348 Old 01-29-2014, 08:20 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
PENDRAG0ON's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 9,444
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 547
Digital Foundry just posted their full breakdown of the game, from resolution to effects to framerate.

http://www.eurogamer.net/articles/digitalfoundry-2014-tomb-raider-definitive-edition-next-gen-face-off
freemeat likes this.

PSN - Pendragoongp
NNID - Pendragoon
Include your AVS username in the friend request.
PENDRAG0ON is online now  
post #282 of 348 Old 01-29-2014, 11:19 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Smigro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Pennsyltucky
Posts: 1,831
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 96
Quote:
Originally Posted by scubasteve2365 View Post

Likely not, I posted this in the XBO forum as well. IIRC, the XBO cannot have it's output black level range modified (0-255 versus 16-235). Most living room displays are going to in the standard range of 16-235, wherein a PC will operate in the extended range of 0-255. This, combined with the intent of not altering the captured streams can and will result in one of the two looking either too dark or washed out.

So are you saying there is no benefit of me running extended range on my XB1. Right now I have my Panny G25, PS3, PS4 and XB1 are set for extended range.
Smigro is online now  
post #283 of 348 Old 01-29-2014, 11:28 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
PENDRAG0ON's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 9,444
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 547
Quote:
Originally Posted by Smigro View Post

So are you saying there is no benefit of me running extended range on my XB1. Right now I have my Panny G25, PS3, PS4 and XB1 are set for extended range.

Odds are you are crushing details on every console. Try setting them all to limited and on your TV, you will most likely see a lot more details in dark areas.

PSN - Pendragoongp
NNID - Pendragoon
Include your AVS username in the friend request.
PENDRAG0ON is online now  
post #284 of 348 Old 01-29-2014, 11:30 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
bd2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 10,279
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 118 Post(s)
Liked: 1342
Quote:
Originally Posted by Smigro View Post

So are you saying there is no benefit of me running extended range on my XB1. Right now I have my Panny G25, PS3, PS4 and XB1 are set for extended range.

It's really counter intuitive, but 16-235 isn't reduced at all. It's still 256 steps, the 0-16 and 235-255 are still present in the signal. You're just supposed to crush the blacks.

When you set it to 16-235, the console will just take that valid 16-235 range, and expand it to the 0-255. So you're going to get banding and reduced dynamic range setting to expanded, not an improvement.

Steam/PSN/Xbox Live: Darius510
bd2003 is online now  
post #285 of 348 Old 01-29-2014, 11:34 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Smigro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Pennsyltucky
Posts: 1,831
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 96
Quote:
Originally Posted by PENDRAG0ON View Post

Odds are you are crushing details on every console. Try setting them all to limited and on your TV, you will most likely see a lot more details in dark areas.

I know when I switched the console to 0-255 but not the TV it made the image so dark I couldn't see but when I matched the TV to the 0-255 range it lightened the image a lot.
Quote:
Originally Posted by bd2003 View Post

It's really counter intuitive, but 16-235 isn't reduced at all. It's still 256 steps, the 0-16 and 235-255 are still present in the signal. You're just supposed to crush the blacks.

When you set it to 16-235, the console will just take that valid 16-235 range, and expand it to the 0-255. So you're going to get banding and reduced dynamic range setting to expanded, not an improvement.

I knew it was a placebo effect...I could have swore it looked better to my eyes when I went the 0-255 route. lol

Guess I will be setting everything back to the 16-235 range tonight.
Smigro is online now  
post #286 of 348 Old 01-29-2014, 11:38 AM
AVS Special Member
 
tfoltz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: CA
Posts: 3,505
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by PENDRAG0ON View Post

Digital Foundry just posted their full breakdown of the game, from resolution to effects to framerate.

http://www.eurogamer.net/articles/digitalfoundry-2014-tomb-raider-definitive-edition-next-gen-face-off

Graphics look the same but the difference in framerate is substantial.
tfoltz is offline  
post #287 of 348 Old 01-30-2014, 06:01 AM
AVS Special Member
 
NoThru22's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 9,204
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 86
And apparently some of the of the cinematics run at 900p on the Xbone, but not the gameplay. Strange.
NoThru22 is offline  
post #288 of 348 Old 01-30-2014, 07:05 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Doug Schiller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 1,183
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Ok, I'll eat some crow.
I went ahead and bought this even though I said I wouldn't at full price.
Which I really didn't, I got it with the Best Buy GCU and the PS4 10% coupon they sent.

I'm pretty impressed, I must say.
This is what Next Gen should look like. Surprising since it comes from a last gen game.

Anyway, I was about 1/2 way done with the PC version and I'm at the area now where you learn how to climb walls with the pick axe.

My question, what is the best upgrade path? I usually go combat first but is there a method to get more salvage earlier?

Thanks,
Doug Schiller is offline  
post #289 of 348 Old 01-30-2014, 07:14 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
PENDRAG0ON's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 9,444
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 547
If you explore and go after every item and tomb, you will be maxed out long before the end. I go with salvage/exp upgrades asap to speed up the leveling. Then I go for combat stuff, dodge counter abilites take priority. (Any survival instinct upgrades can be saved for last when you have everything else.)

Save your salvage and only use it on stuff you will use. (Stuff like damage buffs) and avoid upgrades like higher rate of fire, burst mods, they barely help. Focus on the bow and Machine Gun, Pisol works too early on, but it quickly loses it's punch until it is maxed out as a Deagle, then it suddenly outdoes the bow.

PSN - Pendragoongp
NNID - Pendragoon
Include your AVS username in the friend request.
PENDRAG0ON is online now  
post #290 of 348 Old 01-30-2014, 08:17 AM
AVS Special Member
 
talbain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 5,015
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by NoThru22 View Post

And apparently some of the of the cinematics run at 900p on the Xbone, but not the gameplay. Strange.

well if that's accurate it's a pretty clear indication that the issues with the xb1 version are due to sloppy programming more than anything else. no excuse at all for this, other than sheer laziness...

---Mr. Met---

J-E-T-S-JETS JETS JETS!!!!!!! --- LETS GO DE-VILS!!!!!!! --- LETS GO METS!!!!!!! --- LETS GO NETS!!!!!!!
talbain is offline  
post #291 of 348 Old 01-30-2014, 08:28 AM
 
TyrantII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Boston
Posts: 10,114
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 832
Quote:
Originally Posted by talbain View Post

well if that's accurate it's a pretty clear indication that the issues with the xb1 version are due to sloppy programming more than anything else. no excuse at all for this, other than sheer laziness...

Not necessarily. Most of the in game cinematic have ultra close ups of Lara, or extra detailed vistas in view. Close ups with TressFX slowed good PCs to a crawl as well, and the PS4 sees some of the worst dips in cinematic as well.

Lots of self shadowing, physics simulated hairs are a huge resource hog.
TyrantII is offline  
post #292 of 348 Old 01-30-2014, 08:29 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
PENDRAG0ON's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 9,444
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 547
Quote:
Originally Posted by talbain View Post

well if that's accurate it's a pretty clear indication that the issues with the xb1 version are due to sloppy programming more than anything else. no excuse at all for this, other than sheer laziness...

They did that to keep the framerate high in cutscenes that may have dipped considerably.

PSN - Pendragoongp
NNID - Pendragoon
Include your AVS username in the friend request.
PENDRAG0ON is online now  
post #293 of 348 Old 01-30-2014, 10:58 AM
Member
 
tweaker254's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Canada
Posts: 102
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Error code CE-34878-0 and stutter

Just got the definitive edition and yes it is a very good looking game, much improved over last year edition, however unlike the Xbox 360 version the games "stutters" in several places and yes the stutter is brief, but it is annoying. The bigger problem is the Error CE-34878-0. I've had the PS4 for a month and so far I've only played Killzone Shadow Fall 3 or 4 times waiting for the TRDE. I've never had a single issue with the Killzone or blue-ray movies, the minute I started to play TRDE I got few stutters and after Lara called for air support from the base tower and ran across the falling cliff buildings the game totally locked up and gave me the error message. Given I have no other issues with the PS4 I believe it is the developer code locking up in certain places and hopefully can be resolved with a patch. I would like to hear from other people in regards to the stutter as reported by digital foundry and the error code as observed by Kotaku review here:
• I should note that the PS4 version of the game has had a recurring technical issue for me, of the Error Code Ce-34878-0 variety. My save was never corrupted, but the game occasionally would crash or not load properly before giving me the error. It always has loaded fine after that, at least so far. Fingers crossed that keeps up. Since the error pops up on all manner of PS4 games, I get the sense that it's more Sony's issue than the fault of any specific game developer, but it still got me more than a few times.
tweaker254 is offline  
post #294 of 348 Old 01-30-2014, 11:21 AM
AVS Special Member
 
tgable's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,352
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 78
Quote:
Originally Posted by NoThru22 View Post

And apparently some of the of the cinematics run at 900p on the Xbone, but not the gameplay. Strange.

apparently DF got that wrong, there is evidence of 900P during gameplay. People have screen grabs with upscaled 900P HUD and textures.

Now playing: Destiny Beta, Wolfenstein
Recently Finished: Watch Dogs, Southpark: Stick of Truth, Infamous: SS
PSN & XBL: Scuzzlebutt33
tgable is offline  
post #295 of 348 Old 01-30-2014, 11:32 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
PENDRAG0ON's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 9,444
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 547
I had two error code crashes in a row on the path to the pilot after the village. None since.

The stutter happens when the autosave happens during a background load from what I have noticed. It is an odd glitch that needs to be fixed.

*I am running the stock game with no update file right now.

PSN - Pendragoongp
NNID - Pendragoon
Include your AVS username in the friend request.
PENDRAG0ON is online now  
post #296 of 348 Old 01-30-2014, 11:40 AM
AVS Special Member
 
lordxar5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 4,193
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 67 Post(s)
Liked: 372
Zero crashes and no stutter except for the saving which a lot of games do so no biggie. I can live with 2 seconds of it. In fact I've only had two CE errors in the roughly 300 hours I've used my PS4. That obviously doesnt include Battlefield and its CE issues.
lordxar5 is online now  
post #297 of 348 Old 01-30-2014, 11:42 AM
Member
 
tweaker254's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Canada
Posts: 102
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by PENDRAG0ON View Post

I had two error code crashes in a row on the path to the pilot after the village. None since.

The stutter happens when the autosave happens during a background load from what I have noticed. It is an odd glitch that needs to be fixed.

*I am running the stock game with no update file right now.

Just asking if you had the same error code with any other game?
tweaker254 is offline  
post #298 of 348 Old 01-30-2014, 11:56 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
PENDRAG0ON's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 9,444
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 547
Quote:
Originally Posted by tweaker254 View Post

Just asking if you had the same error code with any other game?

I'll have to see if the code is the same as the Battlefield Crash code. This was my second and third crash outside of Battlefield, the other was Assassin's Creed.

PSN - Pendragoongp
NNID - Pendragoon
Include your AVS username in the friend request.
PENDRAG0ON is online now  
post #299 of 348 Old 01-30-2014, 12:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Big Brad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Palmetto, FL
Posts: 1,719
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 168
I've only had the CE-34878-0 error happen once during my game (knock on wood). Warning: Spoiler! (Click to show)
It was just after you jump into the helicopter and Roth catches you. She tells the pilot to land and then the error occurs.
Other than that and the framerate drops in Shantytown, I haven't had a single issue with the actual game.

Something odd does happen with my Tomb Raider DE screenshots, though. If I go to view my captures from the XMB (or whatever it's called now) and select ANY of my Tomb Raider screenshots, I get a CE-34878-0 error every time. However, if I go to share them by using the screenshot button I can view them no problem. This leads me to believe that most of the errors are actually on Sony's end and not on the developers. Maybe something to do with the constant background recording and autosave points as that seems to be where I've gotten the error in other games (such as BF4).

PSN ID/XBOX Live! Gamertag: BiffCo
My SD/HD movie collection
Big Brad is online now  
post #300 of 348 Old 01-30-2014, 12:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
freemeat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 2,589
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 525
I just arrived to Shanty Town. So far I haven't had any errors or freezes. I guess it is time to get ready for some frame drops due to the heavy action in this area.
freemeat is online now  
Reply PlayStation Area

Tags
Tomb Raider The Definitive Edition Playstation 4 Standard Edition , Tomb Raider The Definitive Edition Art Book Packaging Playstation 4 Art Book Packaging Edition

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off