PS4 Jaggies.. are these normal, or is there something wrong with my system? - AVS Forum

AVS Forum > Gaming & Content Streaming > Home Theater Gaming > PlayStation Area > PS4 Jaggies.. are these normal, or is there something wrong with my system?

PlayStation Area

Bradguin's Avatar Bradguin
08:55 AM Liked: 10
post #1 of 20
01-01-2014 | Posts: 6
Joined: Jan 2014

Is This NORMAL?!

 

I get these annoying white jaggies on my PS4. They only games I have are FIFA14 & BF4. Both games have these white jaggies, is it normal? Is anyone else getting the same thing happen to them? Please let me know!

Here's what it looks like:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z_YEypdtReY

Can you see them? Its on the structure of the light?


TyrantII's Avatar TyrantII
11:54 AM Liked: 832
post #2 of 20
01-01-2014 | Posts: 10,114
Joined: Apr 2006
I don't have those.

What TV/Monitor/Projector are you using, and have you checked if there's any FW updates for it? I know some people using monitors had image artifacts and handshake issues before a FW update.
Bradguin's Avatar Bradguin
02:01 PM Liked: 10
post #3 of 20
01-01-2014 | Posts: 6
Joined: Jan 2014

Im using a 22.5'' LG M2232 LED HDTV. Where do I find FW updates for it and how to I get them on my TV? Sorry, complete noob here btw :/
 


teckademic's Avatar teckademic
02:06 PM Liked: 48
post #4 of 20
01-01-2014 | Posts: 1,852
Joined: Feb 2005
Mb you have your sharpness set too high? Have you tried turning it down?
Bradguin's Avatar Bradguin
02:06 PM Liked: 10
post #5 of 20
01-01-2014 | Posts: 6
Joined: Jan 2014

Tried turning my sharpness down, and nothing changed :/


zBuff's Avatar zBuff
02:12 PM Liked: 37
post #6 of 20
01-01-2014 | Posts: 1,434
Joined: Apr 2004
Definitely not normal. Try it on a different TV if you can. Just to isolate if it the PS4 or the TV
Bradguin's Avatar Bradguin
02:14 PM Liked: 10
post #7 of 20
01-01-2014 | Posts: 6
Joined: Jan 2014

I have a spare 720p TV.. Shall I use that despite my main TV being 1080p?


Bradguin's Avatar Bradguin
02:31 PM Liked: 10
post #8 of 20
01-01-2014 | Posts: 6
Joined: Jan 2014

Okay, so I tested it on my brothers TV and the same thing is happening.


Epyon415's Avatar Epyon415
04:09 PM Liked: 204
post #9 of 20
01-01-2014 | Posts: 1,271
Joined: Sep 2009
Do you have PS+ (if so download Resogun and Contrast to test, also all of the demos available). Have you tried a different HDMI cable? Is it just those two games or everything?
zBuff's Avatar zBuff
04:10 PM Liked: 37
post #10 of 20
01-01-2014 | Posts: 1,434
Joined: Apr 2004
I would reset your playstation video settings to stock, then maybe reformat the PS4 if that does not help.

I've never seen a graphics card fault quite like that, it's very strange. Does resogun, contrast and playroom have the same problem?
Big Brad's Avatar Big Brad
04:48 PM Liked: 206
post #11 of 20
01-01-2014 | Posts: 1,838
Joined: Jul 2004
Yeah, something is up. Have you also switching the output resolution to see if it goes away? That might help in troubleshooting the cause. That's certainly not normal.
blklightning's Avatar blklightning
04:57 PM Liked: 62
post #12 of 20
01-01-2014 | Posts: 2,171
Joined: Jan 2008
Have you tried a different HDMI cable?
Bradguin's Avatar Bradguin
01:05 PM Liked: 10
post #13 of 20
01-02-2014 | Posts: 6
Joined: Jan 2014

I've tried changing HDMI cable and I have played around with the Display settings a fair bit!

As far as I can tell now, it's normal. I checked out some other videos on Youtube and they're ALL getting the same thing:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QSGhmyrpY54

See? Its just the game.. or how the PS4 just is? And just to let everyone know, the 'jaggies' on FIFA14 are no way near as bad as the jaggies seen in my video that i had originally posted!

Im also a little bit OCD when it comes to jaggies, so it could just be me looking for them :/ REALLY SUCKS!


zBuff's Avatar zBuff
03:36 PM Liked: 37
post #14 of 20
01-03-2014 | Posts: 1,434
Joined: Apr 2004
Interestingly that video is of the PC version, so I guess it is just how battefield 4 is
TyrantII's Avatar TyrantII
03:58 PM Liked: 832
post #15 of 20
01-03-2014 | Posts: 10,114
Joined: Apr 2006
indeed, I'll take a look tonight, but never noticed it myself. (Gonna have to kill subby for pointing this out whats seen can;t be unseen!)

Seems to be pixel shimmering which is a byproduct of aliasing and anti-aliasing being applied to the image.
Dabois09's Avatar Dabois09
07:48 AM Liked: 24
post #16 of 20
01-05-2014 | Posts: 156
Joined: Oct 2010
Don't have those issues on my Panasonic ST60 Plasma with sharpness set to 0.

Game looks pretty poor on the PS4 though - the PC version looks leaps and bounds better due to native 1080p
Big Brad's Avatar Big Brad
03:55 PM Liked: 206
post #17 of 20
01-05-2014 | Posts: 1,838
Joined: Jul 2004
The more I watched that second linked YouTube video, I've now become fairly certain that it's simply a combination of crappy anti-aliasing, pixel shimmering and specular reflections. Notice how it doesn't really effect the foliage or walls, but only the antenna towers? Since they likely textured those towers with some type of metallic texture, it's going to have a specular map that reflects their main source light. What you are seeing is a by-product of the specular maps getting confused and reflecting strangely when your character moves.
Conspiracy*'s Avatar Conspiracy*
03:58 PM Liked: 35
post #18 of 20
01-09-2014 | Posts: 2,219
Joined: Jan 2007
Sell BF4, Get KZ:SF problem solved.

The real issue, is what is going on with your HUD? Your minimap, ammo, etc...should never move on your screen.
newfmp3's Avatar newfmp3
11:55 AM Liked: 138
post #19 of 20
01-12-2014 | Posts: 4,014
Joined: Jan 2005
are you going straight into the TV? or through a /v receiver?
steve1022's Avatar steve1022
08:03 PM Liked: 33
post #20 of 20
01-14-2014 | Posts: 590
Joined: Feb 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Conspiracy* View Post

Sell BF4, Get KZ:SF problem solved.

The real issue, is what is going on with your HUD? Your minimap, ammo, etc...should never move on your screen.

I'm with you, that is messed up.
Reply PlayStation Area

Subscribe to this Thread

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3