PS4 Jaggies.. are these normal, or is there something wrong with my system? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 20 Old 01-01-2014, 07:55 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Bradguin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Is This NORMAL?!

 

I get these annoying white jaggies on my PS4. They only games I have are FIFA14 & BF4. Both games have these white jaggies, is it normal? Is anyone else getting the same thing happen to them? Please let me know!

Here's what it looks like:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z_YEypdtReY

Can you see them? Its on the structure of the light?

Bradguin is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 20 Old 01-01-2014, 10:54 AM
 
TyrantII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Boston
Posts: 10,114
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 832
I don't have those.

What TV/Monitor/Projector are you using, and have you checked if there's any FW updates for it? I know some people using monitors had image artifacts and handshake issues before a FW update.
TyrantII is offline  
post #3 of 20 Old 01-01-2014, 01:01 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Bradguin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Im using a 22.5'' LG M2232 LED HDTV. Where do I find FW updates for it and how to I get them on my TV? Sorry, complete noob here btw :/
 

Bradguin is offline  
post #4 of 20 Old 01-01-2014, 01:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
teckademic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: san jose, ca
Posts: 1,795
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Mb you have your sharpness set too high? Have you tried turning it down?
teckademic is offline  
post #5 of 20 Old 01-01-2014, 01:06 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Bradguin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Tried turning my sharpness down, and nothing changed :/

Bradguin is offline  
post #6 of 20 Old 01-01-2014, 01:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
zBuff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,434
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Definitely not normal. Try it on a different TV if you can. Just to isolate if it the PS4 or the TV
zBuff is offline  
post #7 of 20 Old 01-01-2014, 01:14 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Bradguin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

I have a spare 720p TV.. Shall I use that despite my main TV being 1080p?

Bradguin is offline  
post #8 of 20 Old 01-01-2014, 01:31 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Bradguin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Okay, so I tested it on my brothers TV and the same thing is happening.

Bradguin is offline  
post #9 of 20 Old 01-01-2014, 03:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Epyon415's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 1,042
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 169
Do you have PS+ (if so download Resogun and Contrast to test, also all of the demos available). Have you tried a different HDMI cable? Is it just those two games or everything?

PSN & XBL: Epyon415
Twitch.tv: http://www.twitch.tv/epyon415
Twitter: @gundumgaming
YouTube Gameplay Videos
Epyon415 is offline  
post #10 of 20 Old 01-01-2014, 03:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
zBuff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,434
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 37
I would reset your playstation video settings to stock, then maybe reformat the PS4 if that does not help.

I've never seen a graphics card fault quite like that, it's very strange. Does resogun, contrast and playroom have the same problem?
zBuff is offline  
post #11 of 20 Old 01-01-2014, 03:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Big Brad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Palmetto, FL
Posts: 1,719
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 168
Yeah, something is up. Have you also switching the output resolution to see if it goes away? That might help in troubleshooting the cause. That's certainly not normal.

PSN ID/XBOX Live! Gamertag: BiffCo
My SD/HD movie collection
Big Brad is offline  
post #12 of 20 Old 01-01-2014, 03:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
blklightning's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2,157
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 60
Have you tried a different HDMI cable?

500 gigs FTW.
blklightning is offline  
post #13 of 20 Old 01-02-2014, 12:05 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Bradguin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

I've tried changing HDMI cable and I have played around with the Display settings a fair bit!

As far as I can tell now, it's normal. I checked out some other videos on Youtube and they're ALL getting the same thing:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QSGhmyrpY54

See? Its just the game.. or how the PS4 just is? And just to let everyone know, the 'jaggies' on FIFA14 are no way near as bad as the jaggies seen in my video that i had originally posted!

Im also a little bit OCD when it comes to jaggies, so it could just be me looking for them :/ REALLY SUCKS!

Bradguin is offline  
post #14 of 20 Old 01-03-2014, 02:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
zBuff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,434
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Interestingly that video is of the PC version, so I guess it is just how battefield 4 is
zBuff is offline  
post #15 of 20 Old 01-03-2014, 02:58 PM
 
TyrantII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Boston
Posts: 10,114
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 832
indeed, I'll take a look tonight, but never noticed it myself. (Gonna have to kill subby for pointing this out whats seen can;t be unseen!)

Seems to be pixel shimmering which is a byproduct of aliasing and anti-aliasing being applied to the image.
TyrantII is offline  
post #16 of 20 Old 01-05-2014, 06:48 AM
Member
 
Dabois09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 143
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Don't have those issues on my Panasonic ST60 Plasma with sharpness set to 0.

Game looks pretty poor on the PS4 though - the PC version looks leaps and bounds better due to native 1080p
Dabois09 is online now  
post #17 of 20 Old 01-05-2014, 02:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Big Brad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Palmetto, FL
Posts: 1,719
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 168
The more I watched that second linked YouTube video, I've now become fairly certain that it's simply a combination of crappy anti-aliasing, pixel shimmering and specular reflections. Notice how it doesn't really effect the foliage or walls, but only the antenna towers? Since they likely textured those towers with some type of metallic texture, it's going to have a specular map that reflects their main source light. What you are seeing is a by-product of the specular maps getting confused and reflecting strangely when your character moves.

PSN ID/XBOX Live! Gamertag: BiffCo
My SD/HD movie collection
Big Brad is offline  
post #18 of 20 Old 01-09-2014, 02:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Conspiracy*'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Omaha, Ne
Posts: 2,212
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Sell BF4, Get KZ:SF problem solved.

The real issue, is what is going on with your HUD? Your minimap, ammo, etc...should never move on your screen.

"Damn, you can't get black levels like that on your projector!"
- My brother, just before he realized his LED display had died.

Link to my Basement build
http://www.avsforum.com/t/1529034/conspiracy-basement-build
Conspiracy* is offline  
post #19 of 20 Old 01-12-2014, 10:55 AM
AVS Special Member
 
newfmp3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NFLD, Canada
Posts: 3,883
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 114
are you going straight into the TV? or through a /v receiver?
newfmp3 is offline  
post #20 of 20 Old 01-14-2014, 07:03 PM
Advanced Member
 
steve1022's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: KC Metro
Posts: 557
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by Conspiracy* View Post

Sell BF4, Get KZ:SF problem solved.

The real issue, is what is going on with your HUD? Your minimap, ammo, etc...should never move on your screen.

I'm with you, that is messed up.

Vizio M601D-A3R w/ Vizio VSB207BT soundbar and Yamaha YST-SW215 Sub | Vizio M501D-A2R | PS3 Slim | PS4 | Harmony 650 Remote | DirecTV Genie WHDVR
steve1022 is offline  
Reply PlayStation Area

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off