PS4 - 3D Playback Not Working :-( - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 35 Old 08-12-2014, 09:09 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Gurt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 13
PS4 - 3D Playback Not Working :-(

Hey guys,

I updated to version 1.75 last week and still can not watch any 3D Blur-ay movies. I tried all the movies that I had and none of them work. The system is working fine otherwise. I have no idea what I did wrong, if anything...
Do I need to change setup options for 3D to work? I was really counting on my PS4 to become my 3D player so that I can get rid of the PS3.

Thank you for your help.
Gurt is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 35 Old 08-13-2014, 12:37 AM
AVS Special Member
 
teckademic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: san jose, ca
Posts: 1,852
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Is it the ps4 running directly to the tv? I know there is a tv size setting under 3d, but not sure what else.
teckademic is online now  
post #3 of 35 Old 08-15-2014, 12:42 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Gurt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by teckademic View Post
Is it the ps4 running directly to the tv? I know there is a tv size setting under 3d, but not sure what else.
Hey there,


The PS4 is connected to my receiver which is connected to the TV. Exactly the same way the PS3 is and 3D playback is perfect.
I don't know what to do anymore, could really use some help here.


Thanks!
Gurt is offline  
post #4 of 35 Old 08-15-2014, 05:53 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 21,916
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 902 Post(s)
Liked: 808
Try different inputs and cables.

40TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
LED DLP
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is online now  
post #5 of 35 Old 08-17-2014, 02:45 PM
Senior Member
 
kamouflage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Plano, TX
Posts: 344
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 56
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gurt View Post
Hey there,


The PS4 is connected to my receiver which is connected to the TV. Exactly the same way the PS3 is and 3D playback is perfect.
I don't know what to do anymore, could really use some help here.


Thanks!
Did you make sure that your HDMI cable from PS4>Receiver and Receiver>TV are 3D compatible?
Edit: Didn't read close enough. Maybe a cable went bad during the switch?
kamouflage is offline  
post #6 of 35 Old 08-18-2014, 07:16 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Gurt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by kamouflage View Post
Did you make sure that your HDMI cable from PS4>Receiver and Receiver>TV are 3D compatible?
Edit: Didn't read close enough. Maybe a cable went bad during the switch?
Hey Kamo,

Thanks for following-up on this.
The cables are fine, I checked the same exact setup with the PS3 and I can see 3D just fine. I am really clueless at this point.

Thanks again!
Gurt is offline  
post #7 of 35 Old 08-18-2014, 07:23 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 21,916
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 902 Post(s)
Liked: 808
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gurt View Post
Hey Kamo,

Thanks for following-up on this.
The cables are fine, I checked the same exact setup with the PS3 and I can see 3D just fine. I am really clueless at this point.

Thanks again!
Try changing the cables anyway. Just because they work fine with one device does not mean there won't be issues with another device. I've used at least 150 HDMI cables during the last ten years. Usually they work great but sometimes you can run into issues. I've had cables work perfectly fine in one configuration, only to cause issues in another configuration. When that happens I typically just throw those cables away and use some different ones.

The HDMI cable that came with my PS4 is one that had some issues. It would work fine and then wouldn't. Once I had issues it would work fine with some other devices but not with the PS4. So I just cut it and threw it away and used a Monoprice HDMI cable instead. HDMI cables are very inexpensive so it's doesn't cost much to try a different one.

40TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
LED DLP
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is online now  
post #8 of 35 Old 08-18-2014, 07:25 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Gurt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
Try changing the cables anyway. Just because they work fine with one device does not mean there won't be issues with another device. I've used at least 150 HDMI cables during the last ten years. Usually they work great but sometimes you can run into issues. I've had cables work perfectly fine in one configuration, only to cause issues in another configuration. When that happens I typically just throw those cables away and use some different ones.

The HDMI cable that came with my PS4 is one that had some issues. It would work fine and then wouldn't. Once I had issues it would work fine with some other devices but not with the PS4. So I just cut it and threw it away and used a Monoprice HDMI cable instead. HDMI cables are very inexpensive so it's doesn't cost much to try a different one.
Perfect.
I'll get home from work later today and give it a try. Will let you know!

Thanks man.
Gurt is offline  
post #9 of 35 Old 08-18-2014, 07:39 AM
AVS Special Member
 
tfoltz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: CA
Posts: 3,530
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 61
Check your notifications and make sure the update was installed and not just downloaded.
tfoltz is offline  
post #10 of 35 Old 08-21-2014, 12:41 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Gurt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Alright, so I did everything you guys suggested:

1. Changed cables and still no 3D. Using the same cables with the PS3 and 3D works perfectly.
2. Checked the notifications and it states that 1.75 was installed.

Can it be that my PS4 is defective? not really sure what else is left to do. Does Sony have any technical support number for PS4 with people that can help?

Thanks!
Gurt is offline  
post #11 of 35 Old 08-21-2014, 01:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
garciab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Princeton, TX - USA
Posts: 1,067
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 31
You say you've swapped cables, but have you put the PS4 exactly in place of the PS3? In other words, swap consoles only leaving everything else exactly as it is. Then check to see if the PS3 3D still works, and if PS4 3D now works.

bg
garciab is online now  
post #12 of 35 Old 08-21-2014, 01:19 PM
Member
 
N2Sand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 12
When I first tried to use PS4 3D the PS4 displayed an error on the screen to the effect that 3D format was not supported. Everything indicated that 1.75 was installed. After inserting the 3D Nemo BluRay about the 5th time, it worked and 3D has been fine since. Is the PS4 displaying that 3D is not supported when you insert the BluRay?
N2Sand is offline  
post #13 of 35 Old 08-22-2014, 07:27 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Gurt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by N2Sand View Post
When I first tried to use PS4 3D the PS4 displayed an error on the screen to the effect that 3D format was not supported. Everything indicated that 1.75 was installed. After inserting the 3D Nemo BluRay about the 5th time, it worked and 3D has been fine since. Is the PS4 displaying that 3D is not supported when you insert the BluRay?
Yes, I am getting a message on my TV (looks different for every movie that I try) that I need to have a 3D TV and player to be able to watch 3D movies.
Gurt is offline  
post #14 of 35 Old 08-22-2014, 07:28 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Gurt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by garciab View Post
You say you've swapped cables, but have you put the PS4 exactly in place of the PS3? In other words, swap consoles only leaving everything else exactly as it is. Then check to see if the PS3 3D still works, and if PS4 3D now works.
Yup, did this as well.
Disconnected the cable from my PS3, connected it to the PS4 and tried playing a 3D movie. no go.

Thanks man.
Gurt is offline  
post #15 of 35 Old 08-22-2014, 08:29 AM
Member
 
N2Sand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gurt View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by N2Sand View Post
When I first tried to use PS4 3D the PS4 displayed an error on the screen to the effect that 3D format was not supported. Everything indicated that 1.75 was installed. After inserting the 3D Nemo BluRay about the 5th time, it worked and 3D has been fine since. Is the PS4 displaying that 3D is not supported when you insert the BluRay?
Yes, I am getting a message on my TV (looks different for every movie that I try) that I need to have a 3D TV and player to be able to watch 3D movies.
Have you completely powered off the PS4 and restarted from a cold boot? As I recall, Ieven unplugged the console for a couple of minutes.
N2Sand is offline  
post #16 of 35 Old 08-22-2014, 09:23 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Gurt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by N2Sand View Post
Have you completely powered off the PS4 and restarted from a cold boot? As I recall, Ieven unplugged the console for a couple of minutes.
I actually have not. I did not know this was required. I will do it today right after work. Keeping my fingers crossed!
Thank you!
Gurt is offline  
post #17 of 35 Old 08-22-2014, 01:16 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Gurt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by N2Sand View Post
Have you completely powered off the PS4 and restarted from a cold boot? As I recall, Ieven unplugged the console for a couple of minutes.
OK, I just got home and did it, power-cycled the PS4, still the same result.
I tried other 3D movies that I had and they all give me the message that my equipment does not support 3D. SO frustrating.
Gurt is offline  
post #18 of 35 Old 08-22-2014, 01:37 PM
Member
 
N2Sand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Hmmm... Mine did the exact same thing but then after multiple attempts it just started working and has worked with any 3D bluray ever since.I didn't change cables or anything as it is connected through my AVR.
N2Sand is offline  
post #19 of 35 Old 08-22-2014, 01:45 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Gurt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by N2Sand View Post
Hmmm... Mine did the exact same thing but then after multiple attempts it just started working and has worked with any 3D bluray ever since.I didn't change cables or anything as it is connected through my AVR.
LOL, maybe your PS4 is just smarter than mine... This is so annoying. I am on the phone with Sony's tech support and they know nothing... what a bummer.
Gurt is offline  
post #20 of 35 Old 08-23-2014, 08:11 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Gurt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Ok, so I tried inserting all my 3D movies, time after time, still does not work.
Sony tech support basically told me that they have no information on this and basically left me hanging.
I guess I am the only PS4 owner in America that can not play 3D movies.
Sigh.

Thank you all for your help.
Gurt is offline  
post #21 of 35 Old 08-23-2014, 08:49 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 21,916
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 902 Post(s)
Liked: 808
Is 3D turned on in your TV? I know mine can be turned on/off. And if it is off, it will show as not being capable of playing 3D.

40TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
LED DLP
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is online now  
post #22 of 35 Old 08-23-2014, 09:09 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Gurt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
Is 3D turned on in your TV? I know mine can be turned on/off. And if it is off, it will show as not being capable of playing 3D.
Absolutely.
My PS3 is connected to the same TV and plays the same 3D movies flawlessly.
Gurt is offline  
post #23 of 35 Old 08-24-2014, 11:15 AM
AVS Special Member
 
tfoltz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: CA
Posts: 3,530
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 61
When you check your PS4 information does it say it is currently running version 1.75? Do messages pop up in the left corner instead of the right corner?
tfoltz is offline  
post #24 of 35 Old 08-24-2014, 02:54 PM
Member
 
Lostonmountain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Sierra Nevada
Posts: 119
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 21
When you unplugged the PS4 and restarted was the TV on and in 3d mode, also try one of the other HDMI inputs on the TV is sounds like the PS4 is not recognizing the TV properly. Do you have the TV and PS4 set to vierra link or whatever it's called (I can't remember the Sony name) if this is on maybe try turning it off to reduce the talk between the TV and PS4.
Lostonmountain is offline  
post #25 of 35 Old 08-24-2014, 03:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Johnsteph10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: GA
Posts: 4,287
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Try taking the receiver out of the equation - plug it into the TV directly and then try it.

John
Johnsteph10 is offline  
post #26 of 35 Old 08-29-2014, 07:50 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Gurt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnsteph10 View Post
Try taking the receiver out of the equation - plug it into the TV directly and then try it.
OK.
So I finally conducted all the different tests and this is what happened:
When I connect my PS4 directly to my TV 3D works.
When I connect the PS4 to the TV through the receiver it does not work.

What I don't understand is how come my PS3 shows 3D through the receiver using the same exact cable and HDMI input? It means that my receiver can definitely pass the 3D signal so is there something in the PS4 that's changed?

Thank you all for all your help, at least I get to see 3D on my PS4 now even though it is now connected to a different HDMI and I need to change inputs every time I want to use it.
Gurt is offline  
post #27 of 35 Old 08-29-2014, 08:59 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 21,916
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 902 Post(s)
Liked: 808
is the PS3 sending out 1080P24 3D? Or is it sending out 720P60 3D? If it's the latter, That might explain why it's working through the receiver with the PS3.

40TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
LED DLP
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is online now  
post #28 of 35 Old 08-29-2014, 10:04 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Gurt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
is the PS3 sending out 1080P24 3D? Or is it sending out 720P60 3D? If it's the latter, That might explain why it's working through the receiver with the PS3.
Thanks for the observation! It is sending 1080P/24...
Gurt is offline  
post #29 of 35 Old 08-30-2014, 08:59 PM
Newbie
 
AdaHD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I'm having the same exact issue. I'm running an HDMI cable from my PS4 to my Sony HT-CT100 Sound Bar receiver. The signal is then routed to my 3D TV. I got it working if I connect directly, but that's a hassle - not to mention I'd be playing audio through the TV and not my sound system. Does this mean I have to get a receiver that supports 3D also?
AdaHD is offline  
post #30 of 35 Old 08-31-2014, 08:32 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 21,916
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 902 Post(s)
Liked: 808
Quote:
Originally Posted by AdaHD View Post
I'm having the same exact issue. I'm running an HDMI cable from my PS4 to my Sony HT-CT100 Sound Bar receiver. The signal is then routed to my 3D TV. I got it working if I connect directly, but that's a hassle - not to mention I'd be playing audio through the TV and not my sound system. Does this mean I have to get a receiver that supports 3D also?
I don't think the HT-CT100 is 3D capable. I think that is one of the sound bars I have. I specifically replaced it a couple of years ago because it didn't handle 3D. It does handle 7.1 pcm which is the initial reason I got it all those years ago. But I replaced it with a newer Sony Speaker bar that handles 3D and decodes the HD audio codecs.

SO yes you need to get another sound bar that is 3D capable if you want to route the PS4 through it and play 3D content.

40TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
LED DLP
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is online now  
Reply PlayStation Area



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off