How do I set PStwo two play dvds in 480p?! - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 02-03-2005, 01:16 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
ZoominRex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have the new slim PStwo so it should have progressive scan dvd playing. I went into the system configuration menu and changed the screen to 16:9 and the digital output to on but when I throw in a DVD(i've tried numerous) it always loads in 480i! Its getting frustrating. What am I missing or doing wrong? Thanks for any help you guys can offer. This is a great forum I just recently stumbled upon.
ZoominRex is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 02-03-2005, 01:19 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
ZoominRex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
everyone tells me to turn on progressive scan option but I see no option. Just the time/date, digital output, screen size. Where's the progressive scan option?
ZoominRex is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 02-03-2005, 01:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tokerblue's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 4,721
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Stupid question, but you are using component cables, right? If so, you need to put a DVD in the tray and then go into the menu.
tokerblue is offline  
post #4 of 6 Old 02-03-2005, 01:35 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
ZoominRex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
yah I have component cables.
ZoominRex is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 02-03-2005, 01:35 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
ZoominRex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
what do I do in the menu? I saw a thread that just said to start up a dvd, push stop, then go select the 16:9 screen size and then hit play again. I tried that and its still in 480i. Oh the tv is a 26 inch Sharp LC Aquos.
ZoominRex is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 02-03-2005, 05:56 PM
Senior Member
 
EHUFF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Hollywood, CA. U.S.A.
Posts: 476
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
On my playstation 2 this is how I get 480p output from memory.

1. Start PS2 with no disk in.
2. Navigate to Screen Aspect and choose 16:9
3. Put in DVD video disc
4. When the movie plays press stop
5. Use the OSD menus and navigate to "setup"
6. In those menus you can set widescreen mode and progressive output to ON.
EHUFF is offline  
Closed Thread PlayStation Area

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off