Which PS2 games support 480p and how do you access it? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 14 Old 02-18-2005, 03:19 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
ZoominRex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've been looking everyone on google for a list of games that supports 480p and how to initiate it but can't seem to find it. I can only find tidbits about a few games here and there. Does anyone know of a list that has this info? Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!
ZoominRex is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 14 Old 02-18-2005, 04:03 PM
 
Blkout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 2,033
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
http://www.hdtvarcade.com/ps2list.htm
Blkout is offline  
post #3 of 14 Old 02-18-2005, 04:50 PM
Senior Member
 
scasmflop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: CA
Posts: 229
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
And its usually activated by holding down triangle + x during the load. It will usually bring up a pop-up screen that warns you that it is switching resolutions... then a "can you see this" pop-up after it has switched. Of course, you will have to have the ps2 hooked up with component cables in order to take advantage.
scasmflop is offline  
post #4 of 14 Old 02-20-2005, 10:41 PM
Newbie
 
Robstah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
whats impressive is that the dreamcast has more games in 480p than ps2. :D
Robstah is offline  
post #5 of 14 Old 02-22-2005, 09:24 AM
Member
 
RonMc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Columbia,MO
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The above list at hdtvarcade is great. But I wanted to check out the list for Gamecube and all that comes up is a blank page. I get the same thing when I try to go to the home page. What's the deal? Can I get a list like the PS2 list for Gamecube anywhere else? I have done a lot of searchs and haven't found one yet.
RonMc is offline  
post #6 of 14 Old 02-22-2005, 12:44 PM
Member
 
sirmikael's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Posts: 57
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I see a list of games when I click on Gamecube.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
sirmikael is offline  
post #7 of 14 Old 02-22-2005, 01:12 PM
 
Blkout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 2,033
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by RonMc
The above list at hdtvarcade is great. But I wanted to check out the list for Gamecube and all that comes up is a blank page. I get the same thing when I try to go to the home page. What's the deal? Can I get a list like the PS2 list for Gamecube anywhere else? I have done a lot of searchs and haven't found one yet.

http://www.hdtvarcade.com/gamecubelist.htm



Works fine for me.
Blkout is offline  
post #8 of 14 Old 02-22-2005, 08:49 PM
Senior Member
 
caernavon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Watertown, MA
Posts: 323
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
And its usually activated by holding down triangle + x during the load.
Is that any different than selecting 480p in the options menu, as I did in Ratchet & Clank 2?

Mark
caernavon is offline  
post #9 of 14 Old 02-23-2005, 08:32 AM
Member
 
RonMc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Columbia,MO
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Blkout, Thanks for the link, I got it. Now when I use the previous link and click on Gamecube it also works. I have no idea why I had a problem before.
RonMc is offline  
post #10 of 14 Old 02-25-2005, 06:59 AM
Member
 
Horimoto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Rheinland-Pfalz, Germany
Posts: 112
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
hey im from europe and i got the PAL Version of all games and, i think so, form the PS2. How can i get the prog. mode now?
Horimoto is offline  
post #11 of 14 Old 02-25-2005, 07:18 AM
 
Blkout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 2,033
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by RonMc
Blkout, Thanks for the link, I got it. Now when I use the previous link and click on Gamecube it also works. I have no idea why I had a problem before.
Maybe the site itself was just having problems when you tried to access it before. It happens.
Blkout is offline  
post #12 of 14 Old 02-25-2005, 09:16 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Slordak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 2,996
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
With regards to the earlier question, some games require the "hold down the button during startup" trick, while other games will simply ask you at startup or allow you to configure it in the options menu if connected via component. For example, in Suikoden IV (which incidentally is terrible; avoid this like the plague), every time the game boots, it asks you if you want to run in progressive or interlaced mode and if you pick progressive, it immediately switches before booting the rest of the game.
Slordak is offline  
post #13 of 14 Old 02-25-2005, 10:30 AM
Member
 
Horimoto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Rheinland-Pfalz, Germany
Posts: 112
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
And it works with PAL?
because ive read, that you cannot use prog. mode with PAL.
What about Burnout3, have i to 'hold the button' or do BU3 ask me?
And GTA:SA ?
Horimoto is offline  
post #14 of 14 Old 02-25-2005, 03:36 PM
AFH
AVS Special Member
 
AFH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Durham, NC
Posts: 2,988
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Tekken 5 isn't on the list but it is 480p. Per the review over at Gamespot.

"I'm going to call them scallywags" - Ollie

Xbox Live: Stunt1on1
AFH is offline  
Closed Thread PlayStation Area

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off