how big of a deal is HDMI 1.3 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 31 Old 10-02-2006, 07:55 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
generalpride66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 222
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
1st off im a long time lurcher 1st time poster...
2nd i was just wondering how big of a deal this HDMI 1.3 is, i was at p.c. richards today and i am very close to purchasing a new sony 40inch bravia XBR3 but when i was searching ps3forums for info about a good surround sound and how good this t.v. and the ps3 would match up a few people told me to wait till t.v's came out with HDMI 1.3 so i figured i would come to the experts to have my question answered
also, there isnt any t.v's out currently with HDMI 1.3 is there?
generalpride66 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 31 Old 10-02-2006, 08:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
spinksjinx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 4,178
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Improved sound (Dolby true-hd/ dts-hd)
Faster bandwith speed (basically moving from 5 to 10gigs)-Which in return gives out a and is capable of a better picture....It can also handle resolutions past 1080p when the time is right.

Last but not least less clutter in having one wire over multiple ones via other outputs...

Of course HDMI 1.3 isnt going to come into importance probably for a few more years...Most tv stations are barely pumping out HD content at 720p and games are going strong and steady at 720p....It wont matter until next-gen...But its nice to be future proofed...
spinksjinx is offline  
post #3 of 31 Old 10-02-2006, 09:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
talbain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 5,015
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
you don't necessarily need hdmi to enjoy either dolby true hd or dts hd...

---Mr. Met---

J-E-T-S-JETS JETS JETS!!!!!!! --- LETS GO DE-VILS!!!!!!! --- LETS GO METS!!!!!!! --- LETS GO NETS!!!!!!!
talbain is offline  
post #4 of 31 Old 10-03-2006, 12:06 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Wesley Hester's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Selma, Alabama, USA
Posts: 1,992
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
huge
Wesley Hester is offline  
post #5 of 31 Old 10-03-2006, 04:13 AM
AVS Special Member
 
xxThe Deanxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Midwest
Posts: 1,702
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Wait, you're telling me there is yet ANOTHER input update to all of the TV's in the market already?
I give up. I may go back to an RF connection. At least that remained standard for a while.
I kid of course but all of these changes to the inputs have got to leave the mainstream scratching their heads.

My New Xbox Live Gamertag: General Hazard
xxThe Deanxx is offline  
post #6 of 31 Old 10-03-2006, 04:31 AM
AVS Special Member
 
FrankJ.Cone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 7,969
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Lets all go replace those displays we bought in 2006!

Frank J. Cone

XBox Live / Steam: FCONE

Please do not form any opinion of the content of this post, it is still in BETA.

FrankJ.Cone is offline  
post #7 of 31 Old 10-03-2006, 06:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
spinksjinx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 4,178
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by FrankJ.Cone
Lets all go replace those displays we bought in 2006!

Seems like we should do that...I bought my LCD 720p/1080i set last November and its already considered "old"...I have been pondering buying a new 1080p set for future proofing myself since I found a pretty good deal but I have been hesitant and this set should last me a good 5 years.....
spinksjinx is offline  
post #8 of 31 Old 10-03-2006, 06:35 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
generalpride66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 222
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wesley Hester
huge
when will hdmi 1.3 tv's come out? and how much more expensive will they be?
generalpride66 is offline  
post #9 of 31 Old 10-03-2006, 06:45 AM
AVS Special Member
 
spinksjinx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 4,178
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by generalpride66
when will hdmi 1.3 tv's come out? and how much more expensive will they be?

As long as your television is digital (new lcd/plasma/projection) HDMI 1.3 already is compatible...It comes down to the use of 1.3 in dvd players/ps3 and things like that....The ps3 uses 1.3
spinksjinx is offline  
post #10 of 31 Old 10-03-2006, 06:51 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ferrisg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Suburbs of Minneapolis
Posts: 2,522
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by spinksjinx
As long as your television is digital (new lcd/plasma/projection) HDMI 1.3 already is compatible...It comes down to the use of 1.3 in dvd players/ps3 and things like that....The ps3 uses 1.3
1.3 is backward compatible, but you won't get any of the new features of 1.3 without a 1.3 device attached. For processors/recievers this means advanced audio codecs over HDMI. For TVs this means deep color support.
ferrisg is offline  
post #11 of 31 Old 10-03-2006, 08:37 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
generalpride66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 222
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
just when i thought i was ready to buy a t.v. i find out i still have a ton of research to do
generalpride66 is offline  
post #12 of 31 Old 10-03-2006, 09:02 AM
AVS Special Member
 
spinksjinx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 4,178
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by generalpride66
just when i thought i was ready to buy a t.v. i find out i still have a ton of research to do
Just go w/ 1080p HDMI inputs and you will be set for another 10 years...HDMI 1.3 doesnt require a new tv that already has HDMI.
spinksjinx is offline  
post #13 of 31 Old 10-03-2006, 09:54 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
generalpride66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 222
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by spinksjinx
Just go w/ 1080p HDMI inputs and you will be set for another 10 years...HDMI 1.3 doesnt require a new tv that already has HDMI.
the only plasmas with 1080p are like 7k right?
generalpride66 is offline  
post #14 of 31 Old 10-03-2006, 10:02 AM
AVS Special Member
 
spinksjinx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 4,178
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by generalpride66
the only plasmas with 1080p are like 7k right?

Im not entirely sure I know DLP/LCD 1080p are rather cheap though and vary right around the same as 720p sets....

Your best bet is to wait (if you can) until after the Super Bowl to purchase a new set...Thats when they usually lower the prices on televisions....
spinksjinx is offline  
post #15 of 31 Old 10-03-2006, 10:09 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
generalpride66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 222
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by spinksjinx
Im not entirely sure I know DLP/LCD 1080p are rather cheap though and vary right around the same as 720p sets....

Your best bet is to wait (if you can) until after the Super Bowl to purchase a new set...Thats when they usually lower the prices on televisions....
yea im looking to spend around 3200
generalpride66 is offline  
post #16 of 31 Old 10-03-2006, 10:21 AM
AVS Special Member
 
spinksjinx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 4,178
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by generalpride66
yea im looking to spend around 3200

You can find them that cheap...But I would still recommend waiting...At least until the Day after Thanksgiving...

I bought my LCD set in November for at an incredible deal of $599 and in January I got an email offering a 100 dollar rebate making it 500 bucks!...To me 100 bucks would be worth the wait to some not so much...But they do come down between November and February...
spinksjinx is offline  
post #17 of 31 Old 10-03-2006, 10:43 AM
Senior Member
 
rantanamo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Garland, Tx
Posts: 473
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
the manus just don't get it when it comes to all of this. How many people do you know that actually get what all of this stuff means to them? Isn't a lot of this banking on everyone buying super expensive sets? This is a little crazy, and moving too fast. I gurantee you 9 out of 10 people you pass on the street have not seen a true 720p or 1080i picture to know the difference. Most just know TV(have never heard of NTSC, ATSC, PAL, etc), have a decent sized set and have cable. Ridiculous. Slow down for just a sec and catch up the general public and I bet devices will fly off the shelves.

example: I'm the only person in my household with an HDTV and gets HDTV broadcasts. Everyone else just says, wow, that tv is bright and clear. They have no clue about any of this.
rantanamo is offline  
post #18 of 31 Old 10-03-2006, 11:10 AM
Senior Member
 
brad31's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Bolingbrook, IL
Posts: 417
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by talbain
you don't necessarily need hdmi to enjoy either dolby true hd or dts hd...
Could you please explain? How do you receive Dolby True HD or DTS HD without HDMI?

I am asking beacuse I have the Onkyo TXDS-989 receiver which has received upgrades when new sound formats came out (e.g. Dolby Digital EX / Pro-Logic II and DTS-ES 96/24 Neo6). I figured that no upgrade would come since the receiver does not have HDMI inputs and HDMI (as I understood it) was a requirement for Dolby True HD and DTS HD.

Any information you can give me would be appreciated.
brad31 is offline  
post #19 of 31 Old 10-03-2006, 12:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ferrisg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Suburbs of Minneapolis
Posts: 2,522
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by brad31
Could you please explain? How do you receive Dolby True HD or DTS HD without HDMI?

I am asking beacuse I have the Onkyo TXDS-989 receiver which has received upgrades when new sound formats came out (e.g. Dolby Digital EX / Pro-Logic II and DTS-ES 96/24 Neo6). I figured that no upgrade would come since the receiver does not have HDMI inputs and HDMI (as I understood it) was a requirement for Dolby True HD and DTS HD.

Any information you can give me would be appreciated.
Let the player decode the signal and send it out over 7.1 analog outputs to your receiver's analog inputs.
ferrisg is offline  
post #20 of 31 Old 10-03-2006, 12:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
FreeBaGeL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Titletown, FL
Posts: 1,879
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 14
In all honesty, someone who is about to buy a TV and just before the purchase doesn't know what HDMI 1.3 is is not the type of person that is likely to need HDMI 1.3.

And no, to my knowledge there are no HDMI 1.3 TVs or receivers out currently.

XBL & PSN: Vcize

Hit me up on XBL if you're going to be playing CoD Ghosts or the PS Vita

FreeBaGeL is offline  
post #21 of 31 Old 10-03-2006, 12:39 PM
Senior Member
 
The Natural's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 335
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I was seriously thinking of picking up one of the new 46 sharp aquos but now reconsidering due to hdmi 1.3. I'm really curious as to how much "deep color support" makes a difference in PQ.
The Natural is offline  
post #22 of 31 Old 10-03-2006, 02:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
spinksjinx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 4,178
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Natural
I was seriously thinking of picking up one of the new 46 sharp aquos but now reconsidering due to hdmi 1.3. I'm really curious as to how much "deep color support" makes a difference in PQ.

As long as the Aquos set has HDMI you will have 1.3 there are no sets that are made for 1.1/1.3 their are only receivers/dvd players/game consoles...Any tv you buy with a HDMI input will support 1.3 just as it will support 1.1...You have nothing to worry about if the tv has an HDMI input.
spinksjinx is offline  
post #23 of 31 Old 10-03-2006, 03:04 PM
Senior Member
 
brad31's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Bolingbrook, IL
Posts: 417
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ferrisg
Let the player decode the signal and send it out over 7.1 analog outputs to your receiver's analog inputs.
My understanding was the copy protection scheme would not allow this. If this will work then my receiver not having HDMI isn't as big a deal as I thought. I just have to hope that at some point either the format war ends or someone comes out with a universal player (Blue-Ray/HD-DVD)
brad31 is offline  
post #24 of 31 Old 10-03-2006, 03:41 PM
Senior Member
 
The Natural's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 335
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by spinksjinx
As long as the Aquos set has HDMI you will have 1.3 there are no sets that are made for 1.1/1.3 their are only receivers/dvd players/game consoles...Any tv you buy with a HDMI input will support 1.3 just as it will support 1.1...You have nothing to worry about if the tv has an HDMI input.
Wow I didnt know that, I knew it was backward compatable but didnt know any TV with hdmi could recieve the deep color support as well.
The Natural is offline  
post #25 of 31 Old 10-03-2006, 06:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
orogogus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Santa Cruz, CA
Posts: 1,387
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Natural
Wow I didnt know that, I knew it was backward compatable but didnt know any TV with hdmi could recieve the deep color support as well.
It can't/won't. That being said, there aren't any 'deep color' sources, nor will any theoretical HDMI 1.3 enabled display (of which there are currently 0 on the market) necessarily display any additional 'deep color' information, it only has to take in the signal.

In short, no, a TV equipped with HDMI 1.3 doesn't bring much to the table, with the possible exception of extended color space support- but again that has the same issue as 12bits/channel RGB, namely there aren't any sources for this as of yet (next gen optical formats are still 8 bit 4:2:0).

Next gen audio support is only important if you are going to output the bitstream for an external decode in a 1.3 equipped AVR. Due to the way mixing is occuring in next gen optical formats (for interactivity) more or less the move has been to decoding and mixing being done in the player rather than the AVR (or in the case of early blu-ray players and disks- space hogging PCM on the disks directly). So in this case analog outs or HDMI 1.1+ is just fine (because the audio stream has been decoded to PCM and passed over HDMI this way). Last but not least is transcoding in the player to DD or DTS (the toshiba HD-A1 does this if you use spdif/toslink out, but at least DTS bitrate goes up to 1500kbs in HD DVD format).
orogogus is offline  
post #26 of 31 Old 10-03-2006, 09:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Scotty L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 2,346
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I went to a friend's house and we watched some HD on his newly bought 720p LCD Samsung. All I thought to myself was I am soooo glad I held out for a 1080p set.

You are making the right choice by going with 1080p right off the bat :)

"ANYONE who pc games that doesn't have a 360 controller for pc use, well frankly isn't a gamer at all."
Scotty L is offline  
post #27 of 31 Old 10-04-2006, 02:53 PM
Senior Member
 
The Natural's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 335
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
You are giving incorrect information. To achieve 1.3, both of the devices must be 1.3 compatable. If you buy a TV now with 1.1 or 1.2 and connect it to a device that has 1.3 the max you will get is whatever your HDMI does, either 1.1 or 1.2. In other words, the 62 series is HDMI 1.2.....no matter what you connect it to your max is 1.2, you do not get the features of 1.3. The TV must have HDMI 1.3. It is backwards compatable, like a 2.0 cablecard, but you cannot achieve 1.3 unless the TV has the hardware necessary in the HDMI input.
Was told this by another AVS member in another section of the forums...dont really know who to believe now lol...but what he said is what I originally thought. You need all HDMI 1.3 devices in order to reap the benefits of HDMI 1.3
The Natural is offline  
post #28 of 31 Old 10-04-2006, 06:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
HDTV-NUT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: NJ/NYC
Posts: 1,824
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Natural
You need all HDMI 1.3 devices in order to reap the benefits of HDMI 1.3
no really! LOL ;)

PSN: JAY-NUCLEAR
HDTV-NUT is offline  
post #29 of 31 Old 10-04-2006, 10:12 PM
Senior Member
 
The Natural's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 335
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by HDTV-NUT
no really! LOL ;)

Well if you read up in the thread you would see the opposite was said.
The Natural is offline  
post #30 of 31 Old 10-10-2006, 09:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
nuttyinnyc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: NY, NY
Posts: 2,353
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by spinksjinx
As long as the Aquos set has HDMI you will have 1.3 there are no sets that are made for 1.1/1.3 their are only receivers/dvd players/game consoles...Any tv you buy with a HDMI input will support 1.3 just as it will support 1.1...You have nothing to worry about if the tv has an HDMI input.
Sorry jinx, that isn't true. If that was true you wouldn't have all these people at AVS and other HD forums waiting to buy a tv that has 1.3 capability. They would buy it now. Your aquos my and my xbr would not accept a 1.3 hdmi signal. because we have a 1.2 connection. Backwards compatible means PS3 has 1.3 but my TV has 1.2 so the hdmi will connect but I only get a picture and sound as good as the 1.2 can perform not 1.3.

There aren't any stupid questions just stupid people who prefer to do it themselves and BOOM!
nuttyinnyc is offline  
Closed Thread PlayStation Area

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off