720p HDTV owners, DO NOT UPGRADE TO 1.3 until you've read this - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 128 Old 12-05-2006, 10:37 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Darknight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 1,037
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sorry for this seperate topic, but I wanted to stress that people saw this before just randomly updating their system.

In the old firmware, 720p had higher priority over 1080i. The new firmware update reverses this so 1080i has higher priority over 720p. The problem here is, if you play the following, this is what you'll get:

A game that only supports 720p, you'll get 720p

A game that supports up to 1080p, you'll get 1080i instead of 720p

Blu-Ray movie 1080i

If you try to disable the 1080i resolution to always get 720p, the problem is when you play Blu-Ray movies, you'll only get 480p.

This is a significant step backwards and before you update your system, be sure you know what kind of functionality change you'll be getting. I'm going to hold out for now till they fix this.
Darknight is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 128 Old 12-05-2006, 10:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dogdoctor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Framingham, MA
Posts: 3,704
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
too late...glad I like Monday Night Football in 1080i. but thanks for the delayed heads up though, hopefully others will benefit.

PSN ID: dogdoctor
dogdoctor is offline  
post #3 of 128 Old 12-05-2006, 10:42 PM
Senior Member
 
firefighter81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Awase, Okinawa Japan
Posts: 326
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I don't notice any difference between 720p and 1080i anyways. Maybe I'm not looking for the right thing, dunno
firefighter81 is offline  
post #4 of 128 Old 12-05-2006, 10:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
GeorgeLV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Las Vegas/Pahrump, NV
Posts: 3,139
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by firefighter81 View Post

I don't notice a huge difference between 720p and 1080i anyways. What's the big deal?

60 fps vs 30 fps. Possibly lower performance, etc.
GeorgeLV is offline  
post #5 of 128 Old 12-05-2006, 10:44 PM
Senior Member
 
firefighter81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Awase, Okinawa Japan
Posts: 326
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Oh ok, well I don't play alot of high speed games yet, maybe that's why I'm not noticing. I'll do some experimenting.
firefighter81 is offline  
post #6 of 128 Old 12-06-2006, 12:11 AM
Senior Member
 
Chris Dotur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Greater Alaska
Posts: 379
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Well, I just bought mine today, and it made me update to the latest software before I could do any online stuff at all. So I didn't have a choice--I'll live with it for now, and since I just got it, we'll have to see how much it affects me.

I've got a Panasonic PTAE700 projector at 720p.
Chris Dotur is offline  
post #7 of 128 Old 12-06-2006, 12:13 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Marc Alexander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 5,789
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darknight View Post

Blu-Ray movie 1080i

If you try to disable the 1080i resolution to always get 720p, the problem is when you play Blu-Ray movies, you'll only get 480p.

Is this the case with both HDMI and component?
Marc Alexander is offline  
post #8 of 128 Old 12-06-2006, 12:33 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Hughmc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oregon
Posts: 7,556
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 31
I have a GW3 788p native LCDRPTV.

When I first got the PS3, I set the PS3 max resolution to 1080i, instead of 720p and left the 480p and 720p unchecked. It defaulted to 480p for demos and R:FOM BD game that are 720p. I went back into the display settings and although I didn't select anything other than 1080i, 480p would be auto checked.

If I were to watch an HD channel like Fox through sat or cable in 720p, my tv would not down convert to 480p, but rather up convert to my tvs native 788p. The same was true with 1080i channels. If I fed my tv 1080i channels it would convert to my tv's native resolution of 788p. I always thought 1080i looked better on my tv though so that is why I tried with the PS3, figuring maybe it would be the same, but obviously it wasn't. As we now know it can't up convert.

I tested it again after the update tonight. I set the max res. to 1080i and left 720p and 480p unchecked. It still took the 720p demos and down converted to 480p, although it didn't auto check 480p. I then tried the 1080p demo of NBA 2007 again having the PS3 resolution set to only 1080i and I don't know what it is doing. So the PS3 is not letting my tv do the conversion like my sat box would is my guess. Or am I missing something and confusing this issue. After messing with this and typing all this I am .
Hughmc is offline  
post #9 of 128 Old 12-06-2006, 12:56 AM
AVS Special Member
 
dogdoctor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Framingham, MA
Posts: 3,704
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Sony GW4 automatically detected 1080i as max resolution. Watch Casino Royale in 1080i - stunning. Loaded resistance and it dropped to 720p as it should. As far as I'm concerned, good update.

PSN ID: dogdoctor
dogdoctor is offline  
post #10 of 128 Old 12-06-2006, 01:19 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Hughmc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oregon
Posts: 7,556
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Dog, I am thinking it is not a negative update as suggested either.
Hughmc is offline  
post #11 of 128 Old 12-06-2006, 02:19 AM
Member
 
totalz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 85
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
no matter what, $ony is still screwing up on simple thing...

if the user prefer 720p, 720p is what he should get, period.
totalz is offline  
post #12 of 128 Old 12-06-2006, 05:35 AM
Member
 
divideby0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 68
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have yet to see the difference between 1080i and 720p in a game, fast moving or not....Sure we read on the net there is a diff., but I have yet to see one myself... when I have tried to.

sounds this update is good for DVDs...
divideby0 is offline  
post #13 of 128 Old 12-06-2006, 06:14 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Kid Red's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Orlando, Fl
Posts: 3,733
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So this update basically makes the PS3 send a 1080i signal instead of a 720p signal when it's 1080i or 1080p? Why is that bad? My TV will just downconvert everything to 720p like it always does.
Kid Red is offline  
post #14 of 128 Old 12-06-2006, 07:47 AM
AVS Special Member
 
QuadESL63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Ontario
Posts: 1,069
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darknight View Post

A game that only supports 720p, you'll get 720p

A game that supports up to 1080p, you'll get 1080i instead of 720p

Blu-Ray movie 1080i

Is there any differences between the new and the old firmware versions w.r.t. to this? Blu-ray movies are always in 1080i (my 720p projector cannot accept 1080p) and 720p Resistence is always 720p.
QuadESL63 is offline  
post #15 of 128 Old 12-06-2006, 07:47 AM
AVS Special Member
 
tokerblue's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 4,718
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kid Red View Post

So this update basically makes the PS3 send a 1080i signal instead of a 720p signal when it's 1080i or 1080p? Why is that bad? My TV will just downconvert everything to 720p like it always does.

- This is AVS, why introduce another conversion step when it isn't necessary?
tokerblue is offline  
post #16 of 128 Old 12-06-2006, 07:51 AM
AVS Special Member
 
lovswr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: [H]otlanta
Posts: 1,525
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kid Red View Post

So this update basically makes the PS3 send a 1080i signal instead of a 720p signal when it's 1080i or 1080p? Why is that bad? My TV will just downconvert everything to 720p like it always does.

Becuase if your display device is native 720p then if you can get 720p with no conversions that is better. What your set is doing is converting to 540p first!

carry on with your HD-Lite Directv loving banter! <--Comedy Gold
Don't fall for the HDMI 1.3 Hype!
lovswr is offline  
post #17 of 128 Old 12-06-2006, 08:17 AM
Advanced Member
 
dark1x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 869
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by lovswr View Post

Becuase if your display device is native 720p then if you can get 720p with no conversions that is better. What your set is doing is converting to 540p first!

This doesn't apply to all TVs, however.

My Pioneer plasma properly handles 1080i, for instance (rather than throwing out half of the vertical resolution).

Take a look here...

http://www.hometheatermag.com/hookmeup/1106hook/
dark1x is offline  
post #18 of 128 Old 12-06-2006, 08:21 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JackLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 2,090
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What if you just check 720p and nothing else?


Test Your Display,
Tips for Large Monitor Use
: 720p, 1080p Test Patterns, Tips Just Click Here
JackLT is offline  
post #19 of 128 Old 12-06-2006, 08:51 AM
Senior Member
 
kaze0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 337
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I guess this explains why i didn't think Terminator looked all that hot on my HD70? Its dumping half the resolution?
kaze0 is offline  
post #20 of 128 Old 12-06-2006, 09:11 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
joeblow's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 12,063
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 188
Off-topic... hey JackLT, your sig link has some cool tests; you think they'd be fine to use for my Sony SXRD if I store the jpegs on my PS3?

Los Angeles Lakers - 16 NBA Championships!

joeblow is online now  
post #21 of 128 Old 12-06-2006, 09:24 AM
Advanced Member
 
jayselle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 662
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the warning. I will not be updating my firmware.

I have a native 720p DLP that will accept 1080i but I would rather have it take it's native resolution.

Why is this so hard for Sony? My DVR has no problems doing this. I say output 720p for HD content. For stations that broadcast in 1080i it converts to 720p. For the analog stations that broadcast 480i I allow it to pass that through for the TV to convert to 720p.
jayselle is offline  
post #22 of 128 Old 12-06-2006, 10:01 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Anthony1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Posts: 5,954
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 145
Anybody using the PS3 with a Mitsubishi HD1000u projector? My projector is supposed to arrive today via UPS, and I'm not sure whether I should use the new firmware or not. I guess I'll hold off for now, until I hear from a HD1000u owner.
Anthony1 is offline  
post #23 of 128 Old 12-06-2006, 10:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Kid Red's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Orlando, Fl
Posts: 3,733
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I don't understand the bitching here, really. Half of the HD channels broadcast in 1080i. A lot of people with 720p sets also have an upconverting DVD to whoa, 1080i.

So now rather than getting a 720p signal, I'm getting a 1080i signal from PS3? It's not like this is strange for my TV which has been sent 1080i since I bought it.
Kid Red is offline  
post #24 of 128 Old 12-06-2006, 10:26 AM
Senior Member
 
Neo57's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Suisun, Ca.
Posts: 367
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hughmc View Post

I have a GW3 788p native LCDRPTV.

When I first got the PS3, I set the PS3 max resolution to 1080i, instead of 720p and left the 480p and 720p unchecked. It defaulted to 480p for demos and R:FOM BD game that are 720p. I went back into the display settings and although I didn't select anything other than 1080i, 480p would be auto checked.

If I were to watch an HD channel like Fox through sat or cable in 720p, my tv would not down convert to 480p, but rather up convert to my tvs native 788p. The same was true with 1080i channels. If I fed my tv 1080i channels it would convert to my tv's native resolution of 788p. I always thought 1080i looked better on my tv though so that is why I tried with the PS3, figuring maybe it would be the same, but obviously it wasn't. As we now know it can't up convert.

I tested it again after the update tonight. I set the max res. to 1080i and left 720p and 480p unchecked. It still took the 720p demos and down converted to 480p, although it didn't auto check 480p. I then tried the 1080p demo of NBA 2007 again having the PS3 resolution set to only 1080i and I don't know what it is doing. So the PS3 is not letting my tv do the conversion like my sat box would is my guess. Or am I missing something and confusing this issue. After messing with this and typing all this I am .


Hey Hughmc,

I just received my ps3 last night. I plan on setting it up tonight. I know we have the same tv's. The GWIII. I was wondering what settings you ended up choosing/using. I'm more than likely going to be connecting via hdmi to dvi cable.
Neo57 is offline  
post #25 of 128 Old 12-06-2006, 10:27 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Kid Red's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Orlando, Fl
Posts: 3,733
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I noticed no difference since upgrading. So it's not all 720p owners that need to be concerned.
Kid Red is offline  
post #26 of 128 Old 12-06-2006, 11:08 AM
Advanced Member
 
Shinraven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 619
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
this is bS ! sony needs to get their act together.
Shinraven is offline  
post #27 of 128 Old 12-06-2006, 11:39 AM
Member
 
JyuOH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shinraven View Post

this is bS ! sony needs to get their act together.



Agreed, I don't see why its so complicated, if MS could get it right why can't a hardware company? Well hopefuly it gets worked out sooner or later.
JyuOH is offline  
post #28 of 128 Old 12-06-2006, 11:42 AM
Advanced Member
 
jayselle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 662
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kid Red View Post

I don't understand the bitching here, really. Half of the HD channels broadcast in 1080i. A lot of people with 720p sets also have an upconverting DVD to whoa, 1080i.

So now rather than getting a 720p signal, I'm getting a 1080i signal from PS3? It's not like this is strange for my TV which has been sent 1080i since I bought it.

And you think you're getting the full resolution you should be? How do you think your display converts 1080i to 720p?
jayselle is offline  
post #29 of 128 Old 12-06-2006, 11:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Kid Red's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Orlando, Fl
Posts: 3,733
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jayselle View Post

And you think you're getting the full resolution you should be? How do you think your display converts 1080i to 720p?

The same way it's been doing it is my point. I've had an upconverting to 1080i DVD player and half the HD channels I watch are 1080i and look the same if not better than the 720p feeds. So I don't see the difference or what the big deal is. It's what I's used to. And I don't see any difference before and after the update. RFOM is still fast, no hiccups, no jaggies, everything looks as it did at 720p.
Kid Red is offline  
post #30 of 128 Old 12-06-2006, 11:54 AM
Advanced Member
 
Shinraven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 619
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
people are bitching cuz sony was talking smack about HD gaming starts...when we start. 1080p blah blah.....they cant even get 720p / 1080i without a nice mess.

its to be expected that a company would have issues out the gates. but this is becoming lame. considering this thing cost $500 +. not cool
Shinraven is offline  
Reply PlayStation Area

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off