HELP!! External Hard Drive - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 63 Old 12-11-2006, 07:37 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
coneyparleg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,504
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My external hard drive / usb mass storage device is coming up on the PS3 as unknown USB device

works fine on any computer I check

What am I doing wrong that my PS3 won't recognize the external hard drive?

SPS '98

I LOVE BEST BUY


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
coneyparleg is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 63 Old 12-11-2006, 07:41 AM
Advanced Member
 
dallow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Dallas, Tx.
Posts: 555
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
What file format is the drive in?
dallow is offline  
post #3 of 63 Old 12-11-2006, 07:48 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
coneyparleg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,504
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dallow View Post

What file format is the drive in?

Not sure. I'm at work so I'll have to check when I get home.

What format should it be in? (some one gave it to me already set up so I'll need to check)

SPS '98

I LOVE BEST BUY


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
coneyparleg is online now  
post #4 of 63 Old 12-11-2006, 07:53 AM
Member
 
meancode's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 64
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does it need to be in FAT32?

360 - Meancode
PS3 - Meancode
Wii - 1099 5090 9118 8604
meancode is offline  
post #5 of 63 Old 12-11-2006, 08:14 AM
Advanced Member
 
dallow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Dallas, Tx.
Posts: 555
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Yeah, has to be FAT32.
dallow is offline  
post #6 of 63 Old 12-11-2006, 08:43 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
coneyparleg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,504
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dallow View Post

Yeah, has to be FAT32.

If not already in FAT32 will I need to reformatt and lose all my saved content?

SPS '98

I LOVE BEST BUY


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
coneyparleg is online now  
post #7 of 63 Old 12-11-2006, 08:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
WriteSimple's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: KL, Malaysia.
Posts: 3,206
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You have to reformat. But before you reformat, save your content on another drive, then transfer. Should work with files less than 4GB. It's FAT32 after all.


fuad

"DonÂt let them tell you who you are is not enough, that itÂs wrong and that you wonÂt find love. DonÂt let them use my life to put your future down, or tell you that happiness canÂt be found."
WriteSimple is offline  
post #8 of 63 Old 12-11-2006, 08:55 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
coneyparleg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,504
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by WriteSimple View Post

You have to reformat. But before you reformat, save your content on another drive, then transfer. Should work with files less than 4GB. It's FAT32 after all.


fuad

Thanks thats what I thought.

I hope that this is the fix (FAT32)

SPS '98

I LOVE BEST BUY


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
coneyparleg is online now  
post #9 of 63 Old 12-11-2006, 07:06 PM
Senior Member
 
danieljw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 336
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
For some reason, the PS3 won't recognize my USB-powered 2.5" external. Doesn't even come up as "unknown device" so I don't even think reformatting to FAT32 will help.

Any ideas?
danieljw is offline  
post #10 of 63 Old 12-11-2006, 08:06 PM
Advanced Member
 
TwinTurboJosh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 746
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by danieljw View Post

For some reason, the PS3 won't recognize my USB-powered 2.5" external. Doesn't even come up as "unknown device" so I don't even think reformatting to FAT32 will help.

Any ideas?

The USB ports on the PS3 probably don't provide enough power for the HDD.
TwinTurboJosh is offline  
post #11 of 63 Old 12-11-2006, 08:48 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
coneyparleg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,504
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by coneyparleg View Post

Thanks thats what I thought.

I hope that this is the fix (FAT32)

This did not work. I reformated my 200 gig Maxtor external drive to FAT32, put my media back onto it, confirmed that it works for my pcs, but stll unknown usb device, waaaaaaaa

heeellllllpppp!!!!
please

SPS '98

I LOVE BEST BUY


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
coneyparleg is online now  
post #12 of 63 Old 12-11-2006, 08:52 PM
Senior Member
 
asong26's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 382
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Default WinXP doesn't have Fat32 format option. You need to use either 3.rd party software such as Partition Magic, or fdisk. Be absolutely sure that it is Fat32. You can do this by following the steps:

1. Connect the drive to our PC
2. Using windows explorer, locate the disk.
3. Right click on the mounted drive and select 'Properties'

You should see immediately if the file system is indeed Fat32, or NTFS. I had a similar issue today with my portable USB drive. PS3 didn't even recognize it. But once reformatted to Fat32, PS3 picked it right up!
asong26 is offline  
post #13 of 63 Old 12-12-2006, 03:28 AM
Advanced Member
 
rcavictor1956's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio/Aguadilla, Puerto Rico
Posts: 867
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If I remember reading correctly, the Western Digital My Book external drives are fat32. I believe I read somewhere here it is pretty much plug in and use without any formatting necessary.

"You know Andy....I never thought our town would come to this....Mayberry....Gateway to danger.

Barney Fife
rcavictor1956 is offline  
post #14 of 63 Old 12-12-2006, 04:11 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
coneyparleg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,504
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by asong26 View Post

Default WinXP doesn't have Fat32 format option. You need to use either 3.rd party software such as Partition Magic, or fdisk. Be absolutely sure that it is Fat32. You can do this by following the steps:

1. Connect the drive to our PC
2. Using windows explorer, locate the disk.
3. Right click on the mounted drive and select 'Properties'

You should see immediately if the file system is indeed Fat32, or NTFS. I had a similar issue today with my portable USB drive. PS3 didn't even recognize it. But once reformatted to Fat32, PS3 picked it right up!

Positive that it is FAT32, I used MaxBlaster. One partition of about 180 gigs in FAT32.

Do I need to F around with the partitions?

SPS '98

I LOVE BEST BUY


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
coneyparleg is online now  
post #15 of 63 Old 12-12-2006, 04:53 AM
Senior Member
 
AmigaDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 243
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by coneyparleg View Post

Positive that it is FAT32, I used MaxBlaster. One partition of about 180 gigs in FAT32.

Do I need to F around with the partitions?

If you have time, try it with a partition smaller than 128GB and see if that works.

AmigaDude
AmigaDude is offline  
post #16 of 63 Old 12-12-2006, 05:20 AM
Advanced Member
 
dark1x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 869
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I don't think partition size would make a difference. My PS3 picks up a Maxtor 300gb without a problem (single partition).
dark1x is offline  
post #17 of 63 Old 12-12-2006, 06:19 AM
Senior Member
 
asong26's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 382
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by coneyparleg View Post

Positive that it is FAT32, I used MaxBlaster. One partition of about 180 gigs in FAT32.

Do I need to F around with the partitions?


As 'TwinTurboJosh' mentioned, it' may be a power issue. If not, may be there are drives that PS3 isn't recognizing. This is really odd.
asong26 is offline  
post #18 of 63 Old 12-12-2006, 07:04 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
coneyparleg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,504
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by asong26 View Post

As 'TwinTurboJosh' mentioned, it' may be a power issue. If not, may be there are drives that PS3 isn't recognizing. This is really odd.

indeed odd, my ps3 will recognize flash drives in the usb and other usb devices, and anything I stick into the smart card readers, the usb mass storage is recognized on everything else I've tried

is it worth it to even call Sony support and find out or will they give me some scripted bs?

SPS '98

I LOVE BEST BUY


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
coneyparleg is online now  
post #19 of 63 Old 12-12-2006, 07:45 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
coneyparleg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,504
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I formated the drive thru windows using maxblast 4

should I try formating thru dos?

SPS '98

I LOVE BEST BUY


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
coneyparleg is online now  
post #20 of 63 Old 12-12-2006, 07:54 AM
Senior Member
 
asong26's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 382
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
That's a good idea. You will definitely loose storage space capacity doing it this way (initially). I believe Fdisk on Win98 / WinMe will not format the drive up to the theoretical max of 2 Terabytes. It will significantly lower than your drive's full capacity. I've heard that it may max out at 32Gig. I am not sure. But this would be a good starting point. Once you get it working on the PS3, you can always reclaim the lost space using partition magic, or something else out there.... I am not sure about the capabilities of MaxBlaster, since I've never used it.

I have a Western Digital 80 gig drive that I bought couple of years back. Initially, I had it on NTFS, but used partition magic to reformat the drive th Fat32. Voilla! Everything worked.

Good luck! I hope you get it working soon.
asong26 is offline  
post #21 of 63 Old 12-13-2006, 07:22 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
coneyparleg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,504
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Still no luck for me
I saw on a differnt forum someone with a similar problem
200 gig external hard drive
FAT32 file format works on all pcs I try
"unknown USB device" on ps3
I'm going to try a friends ps3 when I get a chance, but I'm not sure where the problem lies

is there any good freeware that somone can suggest for formating a hard drive, I have maxblast which came witht hte hard drive

SPS '98

I LOVE BEST BUY


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
coneyparleg is online now  
post #22 of 63 Old 12-19-2006, 09:48 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
coneyparleg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,504
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am still suffering has anyone else had this problem

SPS '98

I LOVE BEST BUY


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
coneyparleg is online now  
post #23 of 63 Old 12-21-2006, 07:36 AM
Member
 
jmik26's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I was going nuts last night trying to get my external 320gb seagate hard drive converted from NTFS to FAT32. I tried partition magic 6 (errors and locked up), partition magic 7 (errors and locked up), XP Disk management (Only NTFS available), XP installation Disc and DOS with every attempt failed.

I know when I re-installed windows XP before it gave me the option to select FAT32 but now its gone. I also looked on windows XP site and they explain it, I follow it exactly, and FAT32 is not an option, only NTFS, WTF. Is this another Company war!

Did a little more digging at work today and stumbled across this program Swissknife. It worked fine on my 80gig I have at work, hopefully it will be that easy when I get home and try it on the 320gb.

When all is said and done I want to have my external 320gb Seagate hard drive as my bridge between PS3 and HTPC. I have my HTPC hooked up through external SATA connector and use the USB to connect to PS3. This way I can share music, DVD's and TV recordings between the two. Hopefully this works out as planned, I'll keep you guys posted.....
jmik26 is offline  
post #24 of 63 Old 12-21-2006, 05:22 PM
Member
 
jmik26's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Coneyparleg - the program on the link I gave worked perfect. I now have a 320gb external hard drive hooked up to my PS3, sweet!!!
jmik26 is offline  
post #25 of 63 Old 12-21-2006, 06:31 PM
Newbie
 
yellajacket20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I used Swissknife to format the 80gb hard drive I had in my PS2. Have it in an enclosure and it works perfectly.
yellajacket20 is offline  
post #26 of 63 Old 12-22-2006, 07:35 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
coneyparleg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,504
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I tried it and still no luck, it formated my hard drive fine and I can view the files on any pc I've tried and they all say the hard drive is in FAT32. I don't get it, other usb devices like flash drives and headsets work fine.
I have yet to try another hard drive on my ps3 or my hard drive on another ps3 to isolate the issue but its wierd man

SPS '98

I LOVE BEST BUY


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
coneyparleg is online now  
post #27 of 63 Old 12-22-2006, 11:07 AM
Newbie
 
gamoon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone looking for a drive that matches the black shiny finish of the PS3 should look at the Western Digital 120g Passport II unit. I just bought it to transfer photos, music, and videos from my PC to the PS3 and was surprised that unit looks like it was made for the PS3 and it has cool blue LED that matches the PS3 also. And it works fine out the box no reformat or anything just create the PS3 folders on the drive and plug it into the PS3. Cost was 99.00 dollars at BB.
gamoon is online now  
post #28 of 63 Old 12-22-2006, 12:40 PM
Member
 
DR0NE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
coneyparleg - are you using an external enclosure with its own power supply? I was able to use a 500 GB drive formatted as fat32 through swissknife. Sounds like you have a power issue and not a format issue.
DR0NE is offline  
post #29 of 63 Old 12-22-2006, 01:01 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
coneyparleg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,504
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Enclosure purchased from coumpusa - it has its own power supply (I plug it in to a power outlet) and a 200 gig 3.5" maxtor hard drive which I put into this enclosure.

SPS '98

I LOVE BEST BUY


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
coneyparleg is online now  
post #30 of 63 Old 12-24-2006, 09:26 AM
Member
 
sheempa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i have an external maxtor hd(fat32) on my ps3, but all my mp3 files that i have on the hard drive wont show up. i see the drive but no files

please help
sheempa is offline  
Reply PlayStation Area

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off