PS3 on Computer Monitor - AVS Forum

AVS Forum > Gaming & Content Streaming > Home Theater Gaming > PlayStation Area > PS3 on Computer Monitor

PlayStation Area

Kingram's Avatar Kingram
12:36 PM Liked: 10
post #1 of 22
12-25-2006 | Posts: 727
Joined: Dec 2006
Can the PS3 be hooked up to a Computer Monitor?
eddiebrock's Avatar eddiebrock
03:33 PM Liked: 10
post #2 of 22
12-25-2006 | Posts: 307
Joined: Oct 2005
I would think you could use a HDMI to DVI cable, but haven't tried it myself.
SteelRush's Avatar SteelRush
03:55 PM Liked: 10
post #3 of 22
12-25-2006 | Posts: 155
Joined: Sep 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kingram View Post

Can the PS3 be hooked up to a Computer Monitor?

If your monitor will support a standard HDTV resolution (720p, 1080p), it will work. Not all monitors do support those resolutions, so it simply depends on the monitor.
DaveFi's Avatar DaveFi
04:06 PM Liked: 26
post #4 of 22
12-25-2006 | Posts: 17,180
Joined: Nov 2002
Isn't one of the options on the newer firmware for a "DSUB" connection? Wouldn't that be for a PC monitor? My question is how do you connect a VGA cable to a PS3?
GamerGuyX's Avatar GamerGuyX
04:19 PM Liked: 10
post #5 of 22
12-25-2006 | Posts: 1,473
Joined: Feb 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveFi View Post

Isn't one of the options on the newer firmware for a "DSUB" connection?

There is no such update.
Viper98's Avatar Viper98
04:46 PM Liked: 10
post #6 of 22
12-25-2006 | Posts: 935
Joined: Nov 2006
you need an HDCP compliant DVI port on your monitor, but yes..it should work if you have that and an hdmi to dvi cable
ShinHed's Avatar ShinHed
07:35 PM Liked: 10
post #7 of 22
12-25-2006 | Posts: 47
Joined: May 2006
I set it up with a Linux type VGA adapter and it works when set to RGB progressive but, only does 480p.

I posted a thread with pics. It was my PS2 connected but, you get the point.

It's possible via VGA.
Nefarious's Avatar Nefarious
07:48 AM Liked: 11
post #8 of 22
12-26-2006 | Posts: 75
Joined: Nov 2001
I have the Linux kit for my PS2 so I tried the VGA adapter on the PS3. Didn't work.

I used my Vdigi VD-Z3 to get it working on my plasma:

http://www.vdigi.com

I'm assuming you could get it to work on a VGA monitor. I have a feeling you would have better luck with a CRT than LCD. They except a wider range of frequencies.
Vortex3D's Avatar Vortex3D
04:51 PM Liked: 15
post #9 of 22
12-27-2006 | Posts: 2,057
Joined: Dec 2006
I'm using my PS3 with Dell 2405 through Component Video at 1080i. Dell 2405 doesn't support HDCP, so I couldn't use HDMI to DVI.

1080i capable games or Blu-ray movies will run at 1080i. 720p games will run at 720p.
ShinHed's Avatar ShinHed
08:18 PM Liked: 10
post #10 of 22
12-27-2006 | Posts: 47
Joined: May 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nefarious View Post

I have the Linux kit for my PS2 so I tried the VGA adapter on the PS3. Didn't work.

I used my Vdigi VD-Z3 to get it working on my plasma:

http://www.vdigi.com

I'm assuming you could get it to work on a VGA monitor. I have a feeling you would have better luck with a CRT than LCD. They except a wider range of frequencies.

I guess that's the case, unless the Linux cable is wired differently than mines
You were using the 480p rgb setting? Right?
Silversierra's Avatar Silversierra
07:45 AM Liked: 10
post #11 of 22
12-28-2006 | Posts: 4
Joined: Oct 2006
My ps3 works fine with my samsung 940mw 19" widescreen lcd. I used a hdmi to dvi cable. My lcd is HDCP ready on dvi. So far working great. The ps3 says it's outputting 1080p, but I don't know how, considering my lcd res. is 1440x900. Maybe the lcd can downscale 1080p, I don't know.
amgsl55's Avatar amgsl55
08:52 PM Liked: 10
post #12 of 22
01-24-2007 | Posts: 20
Joined: Jul 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by Silversierra View Post

My ps3 works fine with my samsung 940mw 19" widescreen lcd. I used a hdmi to dvi cable. My lcd is HDCP ready on dvi. So far working great. The ps3 says it's outputting 1080p, but I don't know how, considering my lcd res. is 1440x900. Maybe the lcd can downscale 1080p, I don't know.

I can't hook up my PS3 with my Samsung 940mw with hdmi to dvi cable. No picture for 480i/p, 720p or 1080. Don't know why.
jrmcginl's Avatar jrmcginl
05:29 AM Liked: 10
post #13 of 22
08-05-2009 | Posts: 1
Joined: Aug 2009
I have an old detached laptop monitor and I was wondering what all kinds of connections would need to be possible to be able to display my PS3 on it, or possibly even use it as a TV. It's only the monitor because the motherboard got fried in the laptop it was attached to.
coneyparleg's Avatar coneyparleg
09:06 AM Liked: 10
post #14 of 22
08-05-2009 | Posts: 1,504
Joined: Oct 2005
I'm going to try and get my ps3 hooked up to my C64 screen
mboojigga's Avatar mboojigga
09:19 AM Liked: 464
post #15 of 22
08-05-2009 | Posts: 8,044
Joined: Mar 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by coneyparleg View Post

I'm going to try and get my ps3 hooked up to my C64 screen


sknyfs's Avatar sknyfs
09:22 AM Liked: 10
post #16 of 22
08-05-2009 | Posts: 599
Joined: Jun 2002
You could also get a component to VGA adapter. That should work. thats how I hook my PS3 to my projector.
Suntan's Avatar Suntan
09:31 AM Liked: 49
post #17 of 22
08-05-2009 | Posts: 7,142
Joined: Mar 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by sknyfs View Post

You could also get a component to VGA adapter. That should work. thats how I hook my PS3 to my projector.

But that will likely only work if the monitor a person is using will accept component signals (YPbPr) on the VGA input (which is typically RGB). Most TV displays will accommodate this, not as many PC monitors will.

If the PSIII will output RGB singals through the component out, then it would also be a lot easier.

-Suntan
Anthony1's Avatar Anthony1
10:53 PM Liked: 170
post #18 of 22
08-05-2009 | Posts: 6,088
Joined: Sep 1999
Quote:
Originally Posted by coneyparleg View Post

I'm going to try and get my ps3 hooked up to my C64 screen

If that C64 monitor supports analog RGB (15.75kHz), then you likely could get a PS1/PS2/PS3 euro scart cable, hack off the scart connector and rewire it to whichever plug your monitor uses for analog RGB input. Obviously, you need to find out the exact pinout for your RGB monitor, and also need to know the euro scart pinout.

The downside, is that you'd be limited to 480i output, but it would look slightly better than non-progressive scan component.
WJonathan's Avatar WJonathan
07:55 AM Liked: 10
post #19 of 22
08-06-2009 | Posts: 1,766
Joined: Jun 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anthony1 View Post

If that C64 monitor supports analog RGB (15.75kHz), then you likely could get a PS1/PS2/PS3 euro scart cable...The downside, is that you'd be limited to 480i output...

Uhhh...
Anthony1's Avatar Anthony1
01:34 AM Liked: 170
post #20 of 22
08-08-2009 | Posts: 6,088
Joined: Sep 1999
Quote:
Originally Posted by WJonathan View Post

Uhhh...

Well, what do you expect from a freaking C64 monitor, lol. Actually, if I'm not mistaken, the C64 monitors don't do analog RGB anyways. I think it was the Amiga monitors that did that.

Also, the PS2 and PS1 would look fantastic on a analog RGB monitor, considering 90 percent of the PS2 lineup wasn't progressive scan and 100 percent of the PS1 lineup wasn't.
steven975's Avatar steven975
09:43 AM Liked: 10
post #21 of 22
08-08-2009 | Posts: 3,574
Joined: Jun 2007
yea, from what I remember my C64 used composite video...that was modulated to RF. Then again I used a 13" TV as my C64 monitor.

I can't remember if they had a dedicated RGB signal or not, but I think even the "official" C64 monitor had a composite video/mono sound input. I can't see the point of a dedicated monitor as they only did the equivalent of about ~240i anyway.

Maybe there was a DIN connector or something, but I think there were only 2...one for the printer and one for the tape drive/disk drive (the disk drive was more expensive than the whole computer! You had to be RICH to have the disk drive!).
Anthony1's Avatar Anthony1
09:55 PM Liked: 170
post #22 of 22
08-11-2009 | Posts: 6,088
Joined: Sep 1999
Quote:
Originally Posted by steven975 View Post

yea, from what I remember my C64 used composite video...that was modulated to RF. Then again I used a 13" TV as my C64 monitor.

I can't remember if they had a dedicated RGB signal or not, but I think even the "official" C64 monitor had a composite video/mono sound input. I can't see the point of a dedicated monitor as they only did the equivalent of about ~240i anyway.

Maybe there was a DIN connector or something, but I think there were only 2...one for the printer and one for the tape drive/disk drive (the disk drive was more expensive than the whole computer! You had to be RICH to have the disk drive!).


Yeah, I use a Commodore 1084S-D1 monitor for all my older gaming systems (anything pre-Dreamcast). It does analog RGB, and I have custom RGB cables for all my old systems that are capable of outputting RGB. Although the 1084 is only a tiny 13 inch monitor, the picture quality is absolutely fantastic. I also have a XRGB2+ unit that I either have connected to my 50 inch Samsung plasma or my 126" Front Projector setup. That device will take a consoles native analog RGB signal, and upconvert to 640 x 480 vga. It's not as pure as sending the analog RGB to a display that can natively handle analog RGB, but it allows you to hook it up to any display with a VGA input, and if you get the Audio Authority 9A60 transcoder, you can use it with any display that has wideband component inputs as well....
Reply PlayStation Area

Subscribe to this Thread

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3