are there any low cost switches with HDMI and optical audio inputs/output? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 12-30-2006, 12:35 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
KathyMoore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 262
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
are there any low cost switches with HDMI and optical audio inputs/output?
like this one below, which costs nearly $300...
http://www.octavainc.com/HDMI%20swit...rt_toslink.htm

I have a PS3 with HDMI and optical audio out, as well as a high-def DVR with
HDMI and optical audio out. My TV only has one HDMI input and my A/V receiver
only has one optical input.

Thanks for any info!
KathyMoore is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 12-30-2006, 05:29 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gamelover360's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Orebro, Sweden!!!
Posts: 2,775
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I was in the same exact situation. I was worried about degrading the signal through HDMI by using a switcher, and knew the only way to guarantee a pure pass through was go with an expensive unit (I find you get what you pay for in most cases). I actually found a unit that had 3 HDMI and 3 optical inputs that allowed you to switch between them, but it was like $350 or something.

I did find a $100 HDMI switch with 2 inputs. I just worried about signal purity. Probably not justified, but I am a freak about as direct a difital connection as possible. If you are more balanced, then here is the link to this seemingly great product.

Here are two more products that meet your needs:
They are the first products on the page.

link

link

But beware, I am pretty sure that not of these switchers (and maybe not as of now) are compatible with HDMI 1.3. Your PS3 is the first consumer device that will output HDMI 1.3 quality video and audio, and TV's that accept and display this better picture will be out in 2007. If your switcher doesn't support HDMI 1.3, you have broken the chain. HDMI 1.3 switchers will be out next year.

My fix was to connect my HD Cable Box via a good set of component cables and I let the PS3 enjoy the HDMI connection on my TV. I then connected both devices to my receiver via optical using an optical switcher I bough from monoprice. Works great!
gamelover360 is offline  
post #3 of 7 Old 12-30-2006, 06:01 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Andrew67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 2,261
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The switch by Octava is by far the most full featured and most inexpensive I've seen.
Andrew67 is offline  
post #4 of 7 Old 12-30-2006, 07:10 AM
Member
 
shook2323's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 113
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yea, as gamelover said, you can get a optical switcher from monoprice, and then a seperate hdmi switch from monoprice. Probably cheaper that way.
shook2323 is offline  
post #5 of 7 Old 12-30-2006, 09:04 AM
Senior Member
 
mooshoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: SFO, California
Posts: 461
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i saw a manual hdmi switcher from monoprice, for like 30 bucks. i might get it myself. i figure it's a digital signal regardless of what it's going through, as long as it gets through.
mooshoo is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 12-30-2006, 04:26 PM
Member
 
shook2323's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 113
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just hooked up my HDMI switcher, the 2X1 from Monoprice with IR remote control. Working great...
shook2323 is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old 01-03-2007, 12:09 AM
Member
 
avman7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a 3x1 HDMI switch that works with my PS3. Definetley great for the price. Look the switch up at this link if your interested.
avman7 is offline  
Reply PlayStation Area

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off