Need Help With Connection Issue - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 01-01-2007, 06:13 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
scientificmapp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I keep getting a message on my screen that says I have been disconnected from the access point. I'm operating the ps3 through a wireless router. I have a main computer and lap top computer that operates through the wireless connection. I'm not having any trouble with the laptop connection, but for some reason the PS3 keeps disconnecting (happens every 2 mins). I ran the connection test and both came back successful; when the connection isn't down. Any ideas on how to resolve this problem? Thanks.
scientificmapp is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 01-01-2007, 07:59 AM
Member
 
Goldnchyld's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Centereach, NY
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Are you by any chance running your network through a wireless repeater? I have the same problem when i have it on..... If i turn it off i connect perfectly (though a bit slow) to my router 2 floors up (~45-60%) with no problems until someone starts using the phone... (that and i can't use my wireless PC in the basement, it can't locate the router signal from that far away. Yeah i know i need to move to Hard wires.) Back to track, try turning off the repeater, or look to see if there is any signal interference (like a 2.4 ghz cordless telephone)
Goldnchyld is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 01-01-2007, 06:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
TimHuey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: Fort Lauderdale, FL USA
Posts: 1,890
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Goldnchyld

I'm doing the rangerbooster/repeater thing too. I'm getting the multiple disconnects (5 times a minute) and the repeater is about 10 feet from the ps3. It can't recieve a signal from the access point so that's not an option. Maybe the powerline ethernet adapter is an option.

Tim Huey

HTPC. Onkyo 636, Polk audio speakers and Klipsch sub. KHO-7 Outdoor speakers. Homeseer homecontrol over Z-wave.
TimHuey is offline  
post #4 of 4 Old 01-01-2007, 11:14 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
scientificmapp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Goldnchyld View Post

Are you by any chance running your network through a wireless repeater? I have the same problem when i have it on..... If i turn it off i connect perfectly (though a bit slow) to my router 2 floors up (~45-60%) with no problems until someone starts using the phone... (that and i can't use my wireless PC in the basement, it can't locate the router signal from that far away. Yeah i know i need to move to Hard wires.) Back to track, try turning off the repeater, or look to see if there is any signal interference (like a 2.4 ghz cordless telephone)

Goldnchyld,

Thanks for the response. I'm not familiar with the wireless repeater. I have a motorola modem and LinkSys Wireless-B Broadband router. I do have 5.8 ghz cordless phones, but I'm unsure how this would interfere with the wireless internet.
scientificmapp is offline  
Reply PlayStation Area

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off