PS3 = First entry into home theater?? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 17 Old 01-10-2007, 10:13 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
qjones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 273
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have noticed that many people on the forum have become virtual experts in home theater in what appears to be in record time. Has the Next-Gen system that you own; PS3, 360, Wii etc. help accelerate your journey down the home theater path or simply complimented it?

I for one have always enjoyed home theater, gaming, computers and electronics all together. These systems have helped me step deeper into the realm of home theater... (and well over the $1,000 price range on most of my items)
qjones is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 17 Old 01-10-2007, 10:32 AM
Member
 
jvs666's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 117
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Not for me. I've had a Home Theater setup for about 8 years now. The PS3 however does enhance my HT by adding Blu-Ray and 1080p capablities.

PSN ID: JVS666
jvs666 is offline  
post #3 of 17 Old 01-10-2007, 10:34 AM
 
briankmonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 13,959
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Nope. But it is the perfect fit. Definitely a great way to pull people into HT
briankmonkey is offline  
post #4 of 17 Old 01-10-2007, 10:51 AM
Senior Member
 
phlydude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Newark/Glasgow, DE
Posts: 494
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Nope...probably the last piece in my HT set-up for a long while.
It has been a good gadget filled 2006!

~Dennis
PS3 ID: phlydude
My 60GB PS3 died from over heating - I have a strong feeling Folding didn't help
phlydude is offline  
post #5 of 17 Old 01-10-2007, 11:09 AM
Senior Member
 
_RT_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 206
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
In a way, yes.
I've always preferred using laptops. Unfortunately, storage isn't always ideal on them and I have since incorporated an external HD.
That led to an *ungodly slow* hub so that I wouldn't have to drag the HD out everytime I wanted to use it.
That led to a NAS HD that is enroute.
That will ultimately connect to the ps3 and the home rotuer.

I've been drawn in more and more by this idea of a "home media center".
Unfortunately, the more I am drawn in, the more I realize every company is trying to beat everyone else - and each of them are using their own propreitary setup.
Itunes - Microsoft marketplace - PS3 video player capability.

Frustrating.

Want a PS3 that can actually BE a media center?
Speak up! It's the best way.
http://www.us.playstation.com/Corporate/ContactUs/ConsumerServices
_RT_ is offline  
post #6 of 17 Old 01-10-2007, 11:20 AM
Advanced Member
 
timick1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Albany (area), NY
Posts: 642
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
The PS3 added to my Entertainment Center... I had one open space to fill up. So in this space I now have a gaming console & Blu-Ray player.
timick1 is offline  
post #7 of 17 Old 01-10-2007, 11:23 AM
Advanced Member
 
Durbo20vT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 576
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
For me personally, yes... for the household, not even close...

The Ride

Ps3 500gb & Ps3 250gb
Xbox 360 Elite
Durbo20vT is offline  
post #8 of 17 Old 01-10-2007, 11:28 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Villanman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Memphis Tennessee
Posts: 1,871
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Nope, Getting a Hi-Fi VHS VCR back in the mid 80's gave me the bug.
Villanman is offline  
post #9 of 17 Old 01-10-2007, 11:47 AM
Member
 
darbid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Not for me. I already have a home Theatre and will be adding the PS3. I cannot wait to see how it looks on my 2.5 metre wide screen.
darbid is offline  
post #10 of 17 Old 01-10-2007, 11:48 AM
Senior Member
 
phlydude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Newark/Glasgow, DE
Posts: 494
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Villanman View Post

Nope, Getting a Hi-Fi VHS VCR back in the mid 80's gave me the bug.

It's funny you wrote that...I was just thinking of the one I bought. It was a high end Sony one and I paid $425 for it back 11 years ago. People complain that the PS3 is too expensive...I will spend just as much if not more on a stereo receiver for my home theatre, I spent 3 times more than the PS3 on my 56" JVC HD set, I spent 1/3 of the cost on a cheap DVD player back in 1999...it's all relative to what you buy and when you buy it.

~Dennis
PS3 ID: phlydude
My 60GB PS3 died from over heating - I have a strong feeling Folding didn't help
phlydude is offline  
post #11 of 17 Old 01-10-2007, 11:50 AM
Senior Member
 
phlydude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Newark/Glasgow, DE
Posts: 494
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
darbid - what kind of widescreen do you have @ 2.5 meters (that's 98.425 inches for us imperialists)?
(makes my 56" feel tiny)

I've got to see a picture after you set it all up!

~Dennis
PS3 ID: phlydude
My 60GB PS3 died from over heating - I have a strong feeling Folding didn't help
phlydude is offline  
post #12 of 17 Old 01-10-2007, 02:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ajamils's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Richmond, Tx
Posts: 1,674
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
yes, for me it did. I always thought about purchasing a HT system but never felt the need of it...until I got my ps3.

[color=Blue]
psn id: hunter4life
Live Gamertag: huntre4life (notice "re" not "er" in hunter)
ajamils is offline  
post #13 of 17 Old 01-10-2007, 03:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
CoreyM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 2,198
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 15
No although it was probably the final push that lead me to buy a second HDTV (a Vizio 37" LCD) for convenience and bulb saving reasons.

I've been a die hard gamer since I was 5 and my parents got us an Atari 2600 for Christmas, to some extent that has driven my purchases as I've always made sure to purchase home theater equipment that is gaming safe, but other than that I have equal interests in movies and music which has also fueled my desire to have the best quality theater/media room my budget will allow.
CoreyM is online now  
post #14 of 17 Old 01-10-2007, 04:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Scotty L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 2,346
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by phlydude View Post

It's funny you wrote that...I was just thinking of the one I bought. It was a high end Sony one and I paid $425 for it back 11 years ago.

word! The Sony hifi vcr sitting at my folks' place is built like a tank. It had the rotary knob on the right to FF/RW and everything still works perfectly. And talk about control.. going slo-mo, at variable speed is cake with the rotary switch on the remote! It was so nostalgic using it when I went back home this xmas

but yea, it was our first symphonic hifi vcr in the early 90s which prompted us to get a Dolby Surround Pro-Logic Technics receiver right after. Watching & listening to the beginning of Top Gun was something I'll never forget

"ANYONE who pc games that doesn't have a 360 controller for pc use, well frankly isn't a gamer at all."
Scotty L is offline  
post #15 of 17 Old 01-10-2007, 05:08 PM
Senior Member
 
phlydude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Newark/Glasgow, DE
Posts: 494
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
oh yeah, the rotary knob...I actually lost my remote and had to buy a new one at the tune of $85...couldn't set the channels or the clock without it.

Pro Logic...having that center channel was awesome. But even before that I had a Sherwood amp that I was powering a heavy pair of AR-3 speakers (4 ohms) and a pair of MTX truck boxes I picked up from not so legit sources run in series to bring the impedence up to 8 ohms to prevent the fuses from blowing in the amp. Good times piecing together stereo equipment when I was 16.

~Dennis
PS3 ID: phlydude
My 60GB PS3 died from over heating - I have a strong feeling Folding didn't help
phlydude is offline  
post #16 of 17 Old 01-11-2007, 09:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ndskyz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Cincinnati Ohio
Posts: 2,278
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Not at all.. The first time I walked into a Audio store looking for some loud speakers and the Guy let me listen to some Klipsch RF-7's..that did it for me.
ndskyz is offline  
post #17 of 17 Old 01-11-2007, 01:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Malcolm_B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: CLASSIFIED
Posts: 2,808
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
PS3 is just another in a LONG line of upgrades to my dedicated HT. On my second projector, probably third generation speaker upgrade, second gen subwoofer upgrade, and itching to get an HDMI-enabled receiver (now to convince the wife that the receiver I got only a couple years ago isn't up to snuff).

Blu Ray... 3-D TV... 4K... I Like New STUFF!!!

Malcolm_B is offline  
Reply PlayStation Area

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off