PS3 CD album covers - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 12 Old 01-11-2007, 02:58 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Tripjammer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 872
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What is the easiest way to get the CD Album covers to show up? Why come when it syncs to get CD information that it does not get the CD album cover also?

Playstation Network Name: Aiphanes
Warhawk Clan: Knights of HalfBros
Resistance Clan: Knights of HalfBros
Folding@home Team 56396

Knights of Halfbros Team STATS
Tripjammer is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 Old 01-11-2007, 03:24 PM
Member
 
Andy_PHA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Mundelein, IL
Posts: 95
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
good question. I was very dissapointed to see that it didn't do album covers. I'll admit I really don't plan on using the ps3 for pics and music, but it sucks that if I were planning on using it this way the interface sucks.

psn id : Andy_PHA
Andy_PHA is offline  
post #3 of 12 Old 01-11-2007, 03:28 PM
Member
 
thetruth1983's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Actually it does do album covers. I only know this because when I listened to a song from my video ipod, the album cover showed up in the lower left hand corner of the screen. It didn't work for all the songs though but then again, I don't have album covers for all the songs on my ipod. I can check tonight and try to find out how the album covers showed up but I can at least confirm that they are there.
thetruth1983 is offline  
post #4 of 12 Old 01-11-2007, 10:20 PM
Advanced Member
 
eclipz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Posts: 677
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I posted this in another thread a little while ago.

"The mp3's that had album art on my computer copied over with album art. If you rip a cd using the PS3 no album art shows up, but you can add it manually. On the PS3, if you go to the information screen on the album (triangle) you can highlight the album artwork icon. From there you can load a JPG as the album artwork.

Another neat trick I read about. If you want movie clip thumbnails instead of the default icon some movies copy over with, you can start the movie (or at a desired location) and create an new movie clip thumbnail. Bring up the movie controls and there's an icon that looks like a cross. Use this icon to create a new thumbnail or replace the old one."

Hope that helps.
eclipz is offline  
post #5 of 12 Old 01-12-2007, 06:56 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Tripjammer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 872
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by eclipz View Post

I posted this in another thread a little while ago.

"The mp3's that had album art on my computer copied over with album art. If you rip a cd using the PS3 no album art shows up, but you can add it manually. On the PS3, if you go to the information screen on the album (triangle) you can highlight the album artwork icon. From there you can load a JPG as the album artwork.

Another neat trick I read about. If you want movie clip thumbnails instead of the default icon some movies copy over with, you can start the movie (or at a desired location) and create an new movie clip thumbnail. Bring up the movie controls and there's an icon that looks like a cross. Use this icon to create a new thumbnail or replace the old one."

Hope that helps.

I found out how to do the thumnails for the CDs..

I was trying to get the movie thumbnails...but you just showed me how to do it...I will try tonight!

Thanks!!!

There are many websites that can give you thumbnails.

Playstation Network Name: Aiphanes
Warhawk Clan: Knights of HalfBros
Resistance Clan: Knights of HalfBros
Folding@home Team 56396

Knights of Halfbros Team STATS
Tripjammer is offline  
post #6 of 12 Old 01-12-2007, 07:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Brian Hampton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Posts: 6,669
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 59
I wish I could make Cd's with MP3's that had these icons assigned already.

I know there is a way but ,.. I'm clueless.

I'm also compiling a bunch of Mp4's onto a CDR and would love to make the preview icons that PS3 uses right on the disc but again,.. I have no idea.

It would be very cool to learn this stuff though.

-Brian
Brian Hampton is offline  
post #7 of 12 Old 01-12-2007, 08:21 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Tripjammer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 872
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
There needs to be a a Firmware update to where when it gets CD Album information, which does work really good at this time, it should also get the CD album cover. This is when you are ripping CDs on the PS3.

Playstation Network Name: Aiphanes
Warhawk Clan: Knights of HalfBros
Resistance Clan: Knights of HalfBros
Folding@home Team 56396

Knights of Halfbros Team STATS
Tripjammer is offline  
post #8 of 12 Old 01-12-2007, 08:28 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Suzook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 5,483
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 27
if I copy a bunch of MP3 on a dvd will the ps3 still be able to convert them?
Suzook is offline  
post #9 of 12 Old 01-12-2007, 08:58 AM
Senior Member
 
Kruly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 331
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Suzook View Post

if I copy a bunch of MP3 on a dvd will the ps3 still be able to convert them?

No because it is using a kind of Hash code from the CD (when it's in the drive) to connect to the database (Sony use a kind of CDDB very like FreeDB) and get the song names, genre, year of the album etc. So if you already did the mp3, it will show thoses fields if they are properly entered in the ID3 tags, but it won't be able to connect to the database to get more information.

Right now, the only way I know to put album cover is to scan them on a PC and transfer them with an USB memory drive, then on the PS3, you import them as picture, you go in each album and you assign the pictures (as soon as you assign one song from one album, all the other follow. Then you can delete the pictures from the picture folder on the PS3 as they become embedded in the song themselves.

It's working with AAC files I ripped from CD on the PS3 anyway.
Kruly is offline  
post #10 of 12 Old 01-12-2007, 11:00 AM
Member
 
c_d_j's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I downloaded a program called "MediaMonkey". It allows you to add album covers and tag info as part of the MP3. (It will increase the size of each MP3 slightly.)

I have tested this and it works. It makes listening to music on the PS3 more enjoyable, even though its a very small item.
c_d_j is offline  
post #11 of 12 Old 01-16-2007, 05:44 PM
Member
 
SpineRep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Greer, SC
Posts: 64
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by thetruth1983 View Post

Actually it does do album covers. I only know this because when I listened to a song from my video ipod, the album cover showed up in the lower left hand corner of the screen. It didn't work for all the songs though but then again, I don't have album covers for all the songs on my ipod. I can check tonight and try to find out how the album covers showed up but I can at least confirm that they are there.


Your iPod shows the album cover art and title info and such? Are your songs stored in AAC format or something different? All of my songs are AAC format and they just show up as 4 crazy letters!
SpineRep is offline  
post #12 of 12 Old 01-16-2007, 05:51 PM
Member
 
thetruth1983's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My ipod still shows up with all those crazu f00 folders on the PS3. When I finally find a song (which is quite a chore) it shows the album and title while playing the song. All of my songs are in normal mp3 format.
thetruth1983 is offline  
Reply PlayStation Area

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off