How do I get DD 5.1 in games - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 01-16-2007, 05:58 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
ks_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 87
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I can't seem to get my games to playback in Dolby Digital. I have the sound settings set to Optical audio and DD 5.1 and DTS are checked. When I'm in the XMB the receiver says Dolby Digital but when I load up a game (only tried Tiger Woods), it switches over to an artificial 2 channel setting.

Is there some other place to set up 5.1 in games? I don't have any BR-Discs to check yet but since the XMB says DD I think it is a gaming setting. Thanks for the help.
ks_man is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 01-16-2007, 06:29 PM
Member
 
SpineRep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Greer, SC
Posts: 64
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Tiger Woods doesn't have DD 5.1

Typically the back of the disc box will tell you if it is in DD or not. It will usually have the Dolby Digital logo on the back or it will have the THX logo on it.
SpineRep is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 01-16-2007, 08:53 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
ks_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 87
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
http://www.gamespot.com/ps3/sports/t...tech_info.html

Interesting. According to the above link it did have DD 5.1 but I guess that info came out earlier and they took it away. Do you know if Fight Night has DD?
ks_man is offline  
post #4 of 6 Old 01-17-2007, 01:28 AM
Member
 
synical's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 113
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Fight night has DD. Looking at it right now.
synical is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 01-17-2007, 07:17 AM
Member
 
chavo1213's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 116
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Madden dose not.
chavo1213 is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 01-17-2007, 08:10 AM
Senior Member
 
Cooknn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Fort Myers, FL
Posts: 226
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Going from memory here, but I think the option that did it for me was called Bitstream in the PS3 sound settings...

Dave Cook
Cooknn is offline  
Reply PlayStation Area

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off