Join the AVS Forum Folding@Home Team! - Page 31 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #901 of 1815 Old 01-17-2008, 06:01 PM
Senior Member
 
Rich Davenport's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Eastern MA
Posts: 367
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillKen View Post

Just a quick question or two about Folding@home.

I've joined the team (Oj467) and don't normally run my PS3 24/7. I do have it on both mine and my wifes PC's at home that run 24/7 though. I also have it on my work machine here at the office - however it's only on from 9am-5pm each day.

My questions are - does having my work machine running for only 8 hours offer any help at all? Also - I have 3 other machines here at work I could set up to run it on as well - but again - they're all only 9-5 deals. Any sense in it?


That should be a generous amount of time. They do have a deadline for finishing a WU (Work Unit), but it seems to be on the order of 30 times the benchmark. That would imply that you could run an hour a day.

They talk about deadlines here.

The deadlines for PS3's may be shorter since they run so much faster. The PS3 can usually do a WU in about 8 or 9 hours. My MacBook looked like it would take about 32 hours. I didn't let it finish. I shut it down when it started over heating.

By the way, they suggest you get permission to run on work machines (if not owned by you), but I won't tell.

Member of AVS FORUM folding@home team, (team #55280)
Rich Davenport is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #902 of 1815 Old 01-17-2008, 07:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
BillKen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 1,101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich Davenport View Post

By the way, they suggest you get permission to run on work machines (if not owned by you), but I won't tell.

Thanks for the info Rich!

It's ok - they're owned by me (and built by me - and maintained by me).

~Bill
BillKen is offline  
post #903 of 1815 Old 01-18-2008, 01:52 PM
Advanced Member
 
moepoker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Birch Run, MI
Posts: 909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by moepoker View Post

I'm up to #134.

My sig has my folding stats.

Up to #123 now.

Join the AVS Folding @ Home team!! Team #55280

PSN ID= moepoker
XBL ID= moepoker
moepoker is offline  
post #904 of 1815 Old 01-18-2008, 02:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
TheMoose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,861
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by moepoker View Post

Up to #123 now.

I'm sitting at #10!

"Racing is........Life.......Everything before & after is just waiting"
TheMoose is offline  
post #905 of 1815 Old 01-18-2008, 02:50 PM
Advanced Member
 
moepoker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Birch Run, MI
Posts: 909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 29
I just joined the team one month ago today though.

Nowhere to go but up!!

Join the AVS Folding @ Home team!! Team #55280

PSN ID= moepoker
XBL ID= moepoker
moepoker is offline  
post #906 of 1815 Old 01-18-2008, 05:04 PM
Advanced Member
 
moepoker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Birch Run, MI
Posts: 909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Shame that I see so many zeros from a lot of people on our team

Join the AVS Folding @ Home team!! Team #55280

PSN ID= moepoker
XBL ID= moepoker
moepoker is offline  
post #907 of 1815 Old 01-18-2008, 05:05 PM
Advanced Member
 
moepoker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Birch Run, MI
Posts: 909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 29
http://kakaostats.com/t.php?t=55280

Join the AVS Folding @ Home team!! Team #55280

PSN ID= moepoker
XBL ID= moepoker
moepoker is offline  
post #908 of 1815 Old 01-18-2008, 05:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tleavit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Vancouver, Wa
Posts: 1,476
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 34
I didnt know about the AVS forums Folding team until recently. Im on the clublexus team, just about to hit 1 million points and pass up the AVS team in team standings

"Any sufficiently advanced technology is indistinguishable from magic" -Arthur C. Clarke
tleavit is offline  
post #909 of 1815 Old 01-19-2008, 12:30 PM
Advanced Member
 
Jerz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Dixie
Posts: 597
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tim Winders View Post

Hey Jerz. I'm 31. You're #30. But lookout, I'm on your heels!

Not any more!

Jerz is offline  
post #910 of 1815 Old 01-20-2008, 04:16 PM
Advanced Member
 
moepoker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Birch Run, MI
Posts: 909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by moepoker View Post

Up to #123 now.

Just keep climbing.

Join the AVS Folding @ Home team!! Team #55280

PSN ID= moepoker
XBL ID= moepoker
moepoker is offline  
post #911 of 1815 Old 01-20-2008, 07:12 PM
Advanced Member
 
squidboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Aurora, CO
Posts: 833
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I finally ended up setting up my second cores on my two dual core computers (was running the graphical client before).

It should bump up my daily score by a few hundred PPD.

Now if I can only get my 3 year olds to stop just pausing movies (for hours and hours) on the PS3, I can run the FAH client there a little more consistently.

Only another month or so and I'll be in the top 3 on our team.
squidboy is offline  
post #912 of 1815 Old 01-20-2008, 07:22 PM
Advanced Member
 
moepoker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Birch Run, MI
Posts: 909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 29
I got a question...

The F@H program keeps overheating my laptop..is there a different way I could set it up?

I have a P4 3.0 HT setup for my laptop. If not I'm gonna have to uninstall it from the comp.

Join the AVS Folding @ Home team!! Team #55280

PSN ID= moepoker
XBL ID= moepoker
moepoker is offline  
post #913 of 1815 Old 01-20-2008, 08:00 PM
Advanced Member
 
squidboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Aurora, CO
Posts: 833
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by moepoker View Post

I got a question...

The F@H program keeps overheating my laptop..is there a different way I could set it up?

I have a P4 3.0 HT setup for my laptop. If not I'm gonna have to uninstall it from the comp.

You can set it up to use less of your CPU.

In the console version it is the option "CPU usage requested (5-100) [100]?"

I'm not running, the GUI version, so I'm not sure the exact field name there. It should be something similar.

Try turning it down to 75% or even 50% if necessary, then you'll at least be getting some points from the laptop.
squidboy is offline  
post #914 of 1815 Old 01-20-2008, 08:08 PM
Advanced Member
 
moepoker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Birch Run, MI
Posts: 909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by squidboy View Post

You can set it up to use less of your CPU.

In the console version it is the option "CPU usage requested (5-100) [100]?"

I'm not running, the GUI version, so I'm not sure the exact field name there. It should be something similar.

Try turning it down to 75% or even 50% if necessary, then you'll at least be getting some points from the laptop.

Thanks...I'll try it.

Join the AVS Folding @ Home team!! Team #55280

PSN ID= moepoker
XBL ID= moepoker
moepoker is offline  
post #915 of 1815 Old 01-20-2008, 08:18 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Tim Winders's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Levelland, TX
Posts: 674
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jerz View Post

Not any more!

You moved up to 29. Nice!
Tim Winders is offline  
post #916 of 1815 Old 01-20-2008, 08:21 PM
Advanced Member
 
moepoker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Birch Run, MI
Posts: 909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Got it set at 50% now...we'll see.

Join the AVS Folding @ Home team!! Team #55280

PSN ID= moepoker
XBL ID= moepoker
moepoker is offline  
post #917 of 1815 Old 01-20-2008, 09:47 PM
Member
 
Mini123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 157
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have the txt client set up for both cores, along with the PS3, but I'm not entirely sure they're working. It's been at 0% for about a half hour now. Both cores at 100% seem to suggest otherwise though.

"Although I am already in my pyjamas."
Mini123 is offline  
post #918 of 1815 Old 01-21-2008, 02:10 PM
Advanced Member
 
moepoker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Birch Run, MI
Posts: 909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 29
I'm up to 120....folding away.

Join the AVS Folding @ Home team!! Team #55280

PSN ID= moepoker
XBL ID= moepoker
moepoker is offline  
post #919 of 1815 Old 01-21-2008, 06:47 PM
Senior Member
 
pdp7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: boston, ma
Posts: 349
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
broke top 10 in a few months of folding on and off.
doubt i'll ever overtake 1st but here's to trying!

ps3- pdp7 ### avs folding team- 55280
pdp7 is offline  
post #920 of 1815 Old 01-21-2008, 10:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
GamerGuyX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Kentwood, Michigan
Posts: 1,473
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just wanted to let you guys know that I've joined the team. Have been Folding with the PS3 since the start for NvNews. Decided this place is more worth it.
GamerGuyX is offline  
post #921 of 1815 Old 01-21-2008, 10:27 PM
Member
 
loxllxol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Which version are you guys running to fold on multiple cores w/in the same computer?

I WAS using the graphical client, but wondered if the text-based client folded quicker?

C'mon guys, I need to catch up!

Please donate CPU Power!
AVS Forum Folding @ Home team (55280 )<~~Current Stats
loxllxol is offline  
post #922 of 1815 Old 01-22-2008, 07:29 AM
Advanced Member
 
squidboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Aurora, CO
Posts: 833
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by loxllxol View Post

Which version are you guys running to fold on multiple cores w/in the same computer?

I WAS using the graphical client, but wondered if the text-based client folded quicker?

C'mon guys, I need to catch up!

I'm using the console based client, and it seems to be a little faster. On my dual-core machines, I'm running two consoles, running as windows services. I use FAHMon to check out their status graphically.
squidboy is offline  
post #923 of 1815 Old 01-22-2008, 08:07 AM
AVS Special Member
 
edgary's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Sunny AZ
Posts: 1,415
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by GamerGuyX View Post

Just wanted to let you guys know that I've joined the team. Have been Folding with the PS3 since the start for NvNews. Decided this place is more worth it.

I'm glad you feel that way. Even though I am fairly new here, let me welcome you and thank you for helping out the team. We need to move up in the list. However, I want to point out that even tough moving up is motivating, it's good to keep in mind that this is part of something bigger than the standings; I am hopeful that this will help eventually cure diseases such as cancer, alzheimer, etc. and that's why I do this. That is also why my wife puts up with the noisy fan in the PS3 and the laptop (which she absolutely hates) and let me be a part of this.

Once we have that imprinted in our memory and understand the purpose of this, let's the competition continue. ClubLexus is on our tail!!!
edgary is offline  
post #924 of 1815 Old 01-22-2008, 11:33 AM
AVS Special Member
 
BillKen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 1,101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I have another question.

At this point I've had 3 machines at home running 24/7 (2 for about a week and 1 for about 24 hours now), plus 1 machine here at my office running 8 hours a day and my PS3 running off and on over night (when I remember).

It doesn't seem like any of my stats are updating - and my number of "active" processors remains at just 2.

Anyone have any ideas why or am I missing something? All machines are set up to use the same user name (Oj467) with the same team (55280).

Thanks.

~Bill
BillKen is offline  
post #925 of 1815 Old 01-22-2008, 12:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
edgary's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Sunny AZ
Posts: 1,415
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I don't see a problem here. Has the machine that's been on for only 24 hrs. completed a work unit already? If not, it hasn't been reported to Stanford yet, and it will be credited once it does. This happened to me.

And the same applies for the office computer.
edgary is offline  
post #926 of 1815 Old 01-22-2008, 12:47 PM
Member
 
loxllxol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by squidboy View Post

I'm using the console based client, and it seems to be a little faster. On my dual-core machines, I'm running two consoles, running as windows services. I use FAHMon to check out their status graphically.

How are you running two clients simulataneously? During installation of the text-only console, it says, "When this service is running, you should not try to manually run F@H from that directory at the same time."

Also, with the TEXT-ONLY console, how do I run this program in the background w/o having a taskbar icon? When I close the text window, it seems to shut off F@H completely.

Please donate CPU Power!
AVS Forum Folding @ Home team (55280 )<~~Current Stats
loxllxol is offline  
post #927 of 1815 Old 01-22-2008, 12:56 PM
Advanced Member
 
squidboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Aurora, CO
Posts: 833
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by loxllxol View Post

How are you running two clients simulataneously? During installation of the text-only console, it says, "When this service is running, you should not try to manually run F@H from that directory at the same time."

Steps:
  • Download console client
  • Create two folders (e.g. c:\\folding\\client1 & c:\\folding\\client2)
  • Copy client exe to both folders
  • Manually run program in folder 1 & configure settings (say "yes" to install as service)
  • Quit Program 1 after it starts folding
  • Manually run program in folder 2 & configure settings (again, say "yes" to service question)
  • Quit Program 2 after it starts folding
  • Open "Start->Control Panel->Administrative Tools->Services"
  • You should see two services of the form "FAH@C:+folding+client1+fah6-win-x86-console.exe"
  • You can either start both services manually here, or just reboot. Both instances of FAH will start automatically when you start your machine.
  • Done!
squidboy is offline  
post #928 of 1815 Old 01-22-2008, 12:58 PM
Advanced Member
 
squidboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Aurora, CO
Posts: 833
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by loxllxol View Post

Also, with the TEXT-ONLY console, how do I run this program in the background w/o having a taskbar icon? When I close the text window, it seems to shut off F@H completely.

The steps I just posted run everything in the background. The only way you'll see status is to use FAHMon (or something similar) or open the log files manually.

If you've already run the text only console, and you want to run it as a service instead, you'll need to run "fah6-win-x86-console.exe -config" to re-setup the configuration.
squidboy is offline  
post #929 of 1815 Old 01-22-2008, 05:21 PM
Advanced Member
 
moepoker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Birch Run, MI
Posts: 909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Still folding 24/7 here....keep it up team.

Join the AVS Folding @ Home team!! Team #55280

PSN ID= moepoker
XBL ID= moepoker
moepoker is offline  
post #930 of 1815 Old 01-23-2008, 07:01 AM
AVS Special Member
 
edgary's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Sunny AZ
Posts: 1,415
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Big increase in work units yesterday. Congratulations and thanks to all that are contributing!
edgary is offline  
Reply PlayStation Area

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off