Join the AVS Forum Folding@Home Team! - Page 37 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1081 of 1815 Old 02-26-2008, 12:20 PM
Member
 
Trebormesos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cytotech View Post

Plus, my son(7) loves to play with me. He almost beat my score last night when we got disconnected from the server. Whew! That was close!

Yea my boy (6) is the best co-op player I have had.
Trebormesos is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1082 of 1815 Old 02-26-2008, 06:06 PM
Senior Member
 
Cytotech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 226
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The funny thing is, until last night he couldn't grasp the concept at all. He was just running around, grabbing as many weapons as he could and learning to drive jeeps and tanks. He hates the Warhawk.
Once things clicked, he was racking up points pretty rapidly.
Cytotech is offline  
post #1083 of 1815 Old 02-27-2008, 06:15 AM
Member
 
Trebormesos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Now I'm to the point that I don't play Spiderman Friend or Foe with him, nothing being told by a 6 yr old that I can't keep up. Have you tried Star Wars lego with him?
Trebormesos is offline  
post #1084 of 1815 Old 02-27-2008, 06:47 AM
Senior Member
 
Cytotech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 226
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yeah, we have that for the 360. But the last time we played it(about 3 months ago) he still isn't quite as adept as me. Not that there's a lot of subtlety in that game, I mean, it's pretty straightforward. I haven't tried the Spiderman:Friend or Foe though.
Really, until we bought the 360 on launch day, neither of my kids have ever played video games. Then there was a huge learning curve for them to get over. Now my son(7) can whoop his 10 year old sister at pretty much anything(PGR3, SW LEGO, KAMEO, etc).
Cytotech is offline  
post #1085 of 1815 Old 02-27-2008, 07:44 AM
Member
 
Trebormesos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I think friend or foe is $20 now. We have it on the 360 as well. I like SW lego because it got my son playing with his real legos and got him thinking on how to build thing with them. PGR3 made me decide that his mom gets to teach him to drive, can't help a laugh (for now) at a 6yr old saying "The Road Is Mine, Get Out Of My Way"
Trebormesos is offline  
post #1086 of 1815 Old 02-27-2008, 08:48 PM
Advanced Member
 
wierdo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 936
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Why oh why does the current command line SMP beta client for Windows crash on me?
wierdo is offline  
post #1087 of 1815 Old 02-28-2008, 05:33 AM
Member
 
Trebormesos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
because it wants me to catch up to you......ummm wait that will never happen.
Trebormesos is offline  
post #1088 of 1815 Old 02-28-2008, 04:29 PM
Advanced Member
 
moepoker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Birch Run, MI
Posts: 892
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Front page this.

Join the AVS Folding @ Home team!! Team #55280

PSN ID= moepoker
XBL ID= moepoker
moepoker is offline  
post #1089 of 1815 Old 02-28-2008, 08:14 PM
Advanced Member
 
wierdo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 936
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by moepoker View Post

Front page this.

WEE NEEDZ MOAR FOLDURRRRS!!@!@

wierdo is offline  
post #1090 of 1815 Old 02-29-2008, 06:05 AM
Giz
Member
 
Giz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 160
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by wierdo View Post

WEE NEEDZ MOAR FOLDURRRRS!!@!@


I need to go "visit" my brother and get his machine folding again.....
Giz is offline  
post #1091 of 1815 Old 02-29-2008, 06:19 AM
Member
 
AarDee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: New England
Posts: 167
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Giz View Post

I need to go "visit" my brother and get his machine folding again.....

It's really tough to break that "top 100" barrier. (for the team standings)

Aimez-vous basketball?
AarDee is offline  
post #1092 of 1815 Old 03-02-2008, 06:06 PM
Advanced Member
 
moepoker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Birch Run, MI
Posts: 892
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 29
We've moved up 2 spots in the last week....but looking like bluray is gonna knock us back a notch soon.

Bump for more folding.

Join the AVS Folding @ Home team!! Team #55280

PSN ID= moepoker
XBL ID= moepoker
moepoker is offline  
post #1093 of 1815 Old 03-03-2008, 03:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
schaffer970's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Grand Junction CO
Posts: 1,154
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Our team ranking went to 120 this afternoon. Keep it up team!
schaffer970 is offline  
post #1094 of 1815 Old 03-03-2008, 09:11 PM
Member
 
shane1v's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Brooklyn NY
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm pretty new to Folding Home, but I wanna be a part of it as much as I can.

I thought it could be set to Fold whenever you turn off your PS3(red light on"... but it seems I have to go to the Folding section each time I'm done gaming, activate it, and leave the PS3 on to do it.
What am I doing wrong if anything?

Ideally, I'd like the PS3 to automatically Fold whenever I turn off the machine.

Also, can we Fold while gaming or watching a movie or does the PS3 have to be dedicated to one or the other?
Thanks!
shane1v is offline  
post #1095 of 1815 Old 03-04-2008, 06:21 AM
AVS Special Member
 
edgary's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Sunny AZ
Posts: 1,415
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You can set it up to start folding after a given number of minutes being idle. And you do that withing the Folding application (accessed by triangle, if I remember correctly).

And you can't fold while playing/watching movie or doing anything else.
edgary is offline  
post #1096 of 1815 Old 03-04-2008, 09:02 AM
Advanced Member
 
moepoker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Birch Run, MI
Posts: 892
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by schaffer970 View Post

Our team ranking went to 120 this afternoon. Keep it up team!

We are 118.

http://folding.extremeoverclocking.c...php?s=&t=55280

Join the AVS Folding @ Home team!! Team #55280

PSN ID= moepoker
XBL ID= moepoker
moepoker is offline  
post #1097 of 1815 Old 03-04-2008, 10:38 AM
Advanced Member
 
wierdo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 936
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Somehow I managed to end up with a single, solitary 15 point WU today.
wierdo is offline  
post #1098 of 1815 Old 03-04-2008, 10:41 AM
Member
 
AarDee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: New England
Posts: 167
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by wierdo View Post

Somehow I managed to end up with a single, solitary 15 point WU today.

That is wierd.

Aimez-vous basketball?
AarDee is offline  
post #1099 of 1815 Old 03-04-2008, 06:42 PM
Advanced Member
 
moepoker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Birch Run, MI
Posts: 892
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Hmmm...are we having problems with PS3 folding again? Seems production is way down today.

Join the AVS Folding @ Home team!! Team #55280

PSN ID= moepoker
XBL ID= moepoker
moepoker is offline  
post #1100 of 1815 Old 03-04-2008, 07:22 PM
Member
 
shane1v's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Brooklyn NY
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by edgary View Post

You can set it up to start folding after a given number of minutes being idle. And you do that withing the Folding application (accessed by triangle, if I remember correctly).

And you can't fold while playing/watching movie or doing anything else.


I can't find where to set this up. I know the Triangle button that opens up Mode, etc...
But I do not see how to set Folding Home to start folding after my machine goes idle for a few minutes.(does idle mean I turn it off, so that the Red light is on?)
shane1v is offline  
post #1101 of 1815 Old 03-04-2008, 07:27 PM
Advanced Member
 
moepoker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Birch Run, MI
Posts: 892
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by shane1v View Post

I can't find where to set this up. I know the Triangle button that opens up Mode, etc...
But I do not see how to set Folding Home to start folding after my machine goes idle for a few minutes.(does idle mean I turn it off, so that the Red light is on?)

Machine has to be on to fold. Idle means when it's not doing anything, but on.

Join the AVS Folding @ Home team!! Team #55280

PSN ID= moepoker
XBL ID= moepoker
moepoker is offline  
post #1102 of 1815 Old 03-04-2008, 07:45 PM
Member
 
shane1v's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Brooklyn NY
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by moepoker View Post

Machine has to be on to fold. Idle means when it's not doing anything, but on.


ok... How do set it to do start folding when it goes idle?
shane1v is offline  
post #1103 of 1815 Old 03-04-2008, 08:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
TheMoose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,861
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by shane1v View Post

ok... How do set it to do start folding when it goes idle?

The PS3 will not fold when "idle" if by idle you mean when it is in standby with the red light on.
Folding takes a lot of horsepower so you just fire up the folding when you are finished watching movies or playing a game or whatever.

My PS3 has been Folding 24/7 since Folding@Home was released a year ago & I have had zero problems because of it.

Just go to the Playstation store & download Folding@Home, it'll put an icon in the network area & you just click it to start it folding.
When you want to quit folding just hold down the PS button on the remote or controller & it will give you the option to quit folding so you can watch a movie or play a game.

"Racing is........Life.......Everything before & after is just waiting"
TheMoose is offline  
post #1104 of 1815 Old 03-04-2008, 10:28 PM
Advanced Member
 
moepoker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Birch Run, MI
Posts: 892
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 29
My production might fall a bit now. I got The Show today.

Join the AVS Folding @ Home team!! Team #55280

PSN ID= moepoker
XBL ID= moepoker
moepoker is offline  
post #1105 of 1815 Old 03-04-2008, 10:30 PM
Advanced Member
 
moepoker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Birch Run, MI
Posts: 892
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by moepoker View Post

Hmmm...are we having problems with PS3 folding again? Seems production is way down today.

Never mind this post...we got like 28k on the last update...must have had a little issue.

Join the AVS Folding @ Home team!! Team #55280

PSN ID= moepoker
XBL ID= moepoker
moepoker is offline  
post #1106 of 1815 Old 03-05-2008, 05:52 AM
Member
 
AarDee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: New England
Posts: 167
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by shane1v View Post

ok... How do set it to do start folding when it goes idle?

It is done from the main menu (XMB), where you start the Folding App, not the Menu when Folding is running.

From the Manual:

Setting Auto-Start

Folding@home is started automatically if the PS3 system has been idle for a certain amount of time. Select (Folding@home) under (Network), press the Triangle button, and then select [Auto-Start] from the options menu.
Off Set not to automatically start Folding@home.
After 10 minutes Start Folding@home after 10 minutes.
After 20 minutes Start Folding@home after 20 minutes.
After 30 minutes Start Folding@home after 30 minutes.
Hint
[Auto-Start] is disabled when the PS3 system is not connected to the Internet.

Aimez-vous basketball?
AarDee is offline  
post #1107 of 1815 Old 03-06-2008, 04:37 PM
Advanced Member
 
moepoker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Birch Run, MI
Posts: 892
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Bump this up. Lets get a couple of those idle computers lined up with F@H.

Join the AVS Folding @ Home team!! Team #55280

PSN ID= moepoker
XBL ID= moepoker
moepoker is offline  
post #1108 of 1815 Old 03-06-2008, 04:47 PM
Advanced Member
 
wierdo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 936
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
WTF went with my computers? I should have been down a few points as my PS3 wasn't folding the last few days, and one of my SMP machines wasn't, either, but why the hell were the other machines (6 cores in all) producing so poorly? grumble..
wierdo is offline  
post #1109 of 1815 Old 03-06-2008, 04:51 PM
Advanced Member
 
moepoker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Birch Run, MI
Posts: 892
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by wierdo View Post

WTF went with my computers? I should have been down a few points as my PS3 wasn't folding the last few days, and one of my SMP machines wasn't, either, but why the hell were the other machines (6 cores in all) producing so poorly? grumble..

My PS3 has been producing poorly as well. I blame it all on MLB: The Show.

Join the AVS Folding @ Home team!! Team #55280

PSN ID= moepoker
XBL ID= moepoker
moepoker is offline  
post #1110 of 1815 Old 03-06-2008, 06:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tingham's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bucks County, PA
Posts: 2,646
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 18
I am having problems with Wu's completed again. The the stats displaying on the ps3 has been stuck at 53 wu's and I have folded 4 or 5 times since. I will have to check the folding site, and see if they are uploading. My stats on the site say I have 83 or 84 wu's?

It's very frustrating that the stats showing on the ps3 have not changed. I want to make sure that the folding is working properly, and contributing to the effort.

Go Phillies! Go Eagles! Go Sixers! Go Flyers!
tingham is offline  
Reply PlayStation Area

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off