Join the AVS Forum Folding@Home Team! - Page 4 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #91 of 1815 Old 03-25-2007, 04:51 AM
Newbie
 
slammin clam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Rochester, Ny
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
sounds good! count me in!
slammin clam is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #92 of 1815 Old 03-25-2007, 06:24 AM
AVS Special Member
 
cadbury8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,242
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
p-3040 supervillian -03 is what i am working on right now. have no idea what it is. lol
what are you guys working on?
cadbury8 is offline  
post #93 of 1815 Old 03-25-2007, 09:52 AM
Member
 
KRaK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by cadbury8 View Post

p-3040 supervillian -03 is what i am working on right now. have no idea what it is. lol
what are you guys working on?

p3123_supervillin_e1. About 22% done.
KRaK is offline  
post #94 of 1815 Old 03-25-2007, 10:47 AM
AVS Special Member
 
tqlla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,452
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Almost 1000 teraflops! That is crazy.

3x more data in the last few days by 35K ps3s...
than almost 2 million CPUs have produced over the last 6 years!

Now we just have to wait for the cures!
tqlla is offline  
post #95 of 1815 Old 03-25-2007, 10:52 AM
Advanced Member
 
Tripjammer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 872
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I know dude, this is awesome...the PS3 is almost at 730 TFLOPS!!!!!

We will be at PFLOPS by tommorrow night...for just the PS3!!!! We will be at overall 1 PFLOPS by 6 PM today!!!

Everybody needs to download folding@home on their PS3 and set it to start in 10, 20 or 30 mins after inactivity...its so easy...I have 7 completed work units and my PS3 is not even running hot...the fans are running but it is not loud. We all need to stress test the PS3...and this is the best way to do it while helping out a good cause.

Playstation Network Name: Aiphanes
Warhawk Clan: Knights of HalfBros
Resistance Clan: Knights of HalfBros
Folding@home Team 56396

Knights of Halfbros Team STATS
Tripjammer is offline  
post #96 of 1815 Old 03-25-2007, 11:07 AM
AVS Special Member
 
GW-SMOkeY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Arizona
Posts: 1,942
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is it me or every time I launch this app, I have to change my donors name?

Oh and my work units seem to show 0 yet i know i completed at least 4.

Any suggestions?
GW-SMOkeY is offline  
post #97 of 1815 Old 03-25-2007, 11:09 AM
Senior Member
 
Egan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Bethlehem PA
Posts: 448
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tripjammer View Post

I know dude, this is awesome...the PS3 is almost at 730 TFLOPS!!!!!

We will be at PFLOPS by tommorrow night...for just the PS3!!!! We will be at overall 1 PFLOPS by 6 PM today!!!

Where do you get this data from?
Egan is offline  
post #98 of 1815 Old 03-25-2007, 11:22 AM
Senior Member
 
Mash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 370
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
For fun I put the folding client on my pc. To finish 1 unit would take it 104 days full out. (Its an older athlon Barton Core with a GF6800) My PS3 can do a unit in approx 8 hours LOL! I guess the PS3 really does have some very serious computing power. Needless to say I uninstalled the client on my desktop.

Correction, I let the program run a while and it went from 104 days to 2 days. Looks like it needed time to adjust right. Still the PS3 is so much faster.
Mash is offline  
post #99 of 1815 Old 03-25-2007, 12:02 PM
Newbie
 
opps12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Egan View Post

Where do you get this data from?

go to the folding at home website, click stats, then click client statistics by os
opps12 is offline  
post #100 of 1815 Old 03-25-2007, 12:28 PM
Senior Member
 
Egan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Bethlehem PA
Posts: 448
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by opps12 View Post

go to the folding at home website, click stats, then click client statistics by os

Thanks. Unbelievable the contribution being made by the PS3, it's like a supercomputer.
Egan is offline  
post #101 of 1815 Old 03-25-2007, 03:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
cadbury8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,242
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Egan View Post

Thanks. Unbelievable the contribution being made by the PS3, it's like a supercomputer.

thats the point right there. Its like an ant colony. everyone doing a little bit. I wish the ps3 was ten times as fast as it is.
cadbury8 is offline  
post #102 of 1815 Old 03-25-2007, 03:54 PM
Member
 
c_d_j's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by cadbury8 View Post

p-3040 supervillian -03 is what i am working on right now. have no idea what it is. lol
what are you guys working on?

This link will tell you what you are working on.

Find your project number (the numbers after the 'p' in the Work Unit Name) and then scroll to the right and click Description. Not all have info, but most do.
c_d_j is offline  
post #103 of 1815 Old 03-25-2007, 04:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
cadbury8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,242
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by c_d_j View Post

This link will tell you what you are working on.

Find your project number (the numbers after the 'p' in the Work Unit Name) and then scroll to the right and click Description. Not all have info, but most do.

thanks a bunch.
cadbury8 is offline  
post #104 of 1815 Old 03-25-2007, 04:22 PM
Member
 
zmanzman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: NJ
Posts: 160
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
got my second one done today i noticed that ps3 has 6 active proccesers does that mean he is running 6 ps3's or computers and if so how do i do it i also have a extra computer i could be using thanks

PSN NAME=zmanzman
XBL GAMERTAG=zmanzman
zmanzman is offline  
post #105 of 1815 Old 03-25-2007, 04:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DanLW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,332
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stangs55 View Post

I just added my quad core PC to the AVS mix

Check your Task Manager. Is your CPU running at 100% or 25%? If you're using 5.03 (November 2004 build), then you're probably running 25%. Unfortunately FAH doesn't tap multi-core processors.

I was trying to get the GPU version (beta) to work, but there's something wrong and I need to check their forums to fix it. But their forums are down at the moment. But I did see that it was still only using one of my two cores.

They really need to update their software to at least use both cores. Of course, you could get Boinc (Berkley Open Infrastructure for Network Computing) and set it to run on one core, while FAH runs on a second.

Actually, it seems Boinc runs two engines. So you could set Boinc to processor 1 and 2, FAH to processor 3, and have your 4th core free for general computing.

Here's the Boinc website:

http://boinc.berkeley.edu/

They have 20 projects available - everything from chess simulations to folding to the infamous SETI project. Plenty to keep your other cores busy!

As for me, I have my PC F@H and PS3 set to team # 55280. GO AVS!

And my other core is running Boinc - Project Tanpaku

Edit: I just noticed the SMP Beta client for F@H. Is that what you're running? If not, may want to try that one out. It's supposed to use all your cores.
DanLW is offline  
post #106 of 1815 Old 03-25-2007, 04:45 PM
Member
 
Mini123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 157
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
3315 of 53837 already. Wow, great job guys! RabidMouse keeps pulling away from me though.

"Although I am already in my pyjamas."
Mini123 is offline  
post #107 of 1815 Old 03-25-2007, 04:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
William Mapstone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 4,166
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 52
My PS3 is still running cool and quite!

PSN: UndeadREDD


My Racing Seat

William Mapstone is offline  
post #108 of 1815 Old 03-25-2007, 05:13 PM
Member
 
zmanzman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: NJ
Posts: 160
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
one more ? my computer is about 4 years old it is a dell 4400 pentium4 1.6ghz running windows xp but i see there are a couple options for xp which one should i go with

PSN NAME=zmanzman
XBL GAMERTAG=zmanzman
zmanzman is offline  
post #109 of 1815 Old 03-25-2007, 05:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
cadbury8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,242
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i went with 5.03. I dont know if there is a speed difference between 5.03 and 5.04 and i am not good enough to deal with a demo.
cadbury8 is offline  
post #110 of 1815 Old 03-25-2007, 05:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DanLW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,332
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by zmanzman View Post

one more ? my computer is about 4 years old it is a dell 4400 pentium4 1.6ghz running windows xp but i see there are a couple options for xp which one should i go with

5.03 is what you probably want. 5.04 is text-only version. The beta versions below that are for people using multi-core processors (SMP client) or an ATI X1800 or X1900 video card (GPU client).
DanLW is offline  
post #111 of 1815 Old 03-25-2007, 06:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
IeraseU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 1,441
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have been running the PC version in addition to the PS3 version. The only downside is that my PC is *much* louder now because the CPU fan needs to crank up to full speed. It is very noisy to the point where it really bothers me. The PS3 is very silent in comparison. I think I may have to either discontinue running the PC application, or buy a quieter CPU fan like the Zalman 9500.

PS Network: HZR
Xbox 360 Tag: HZR Nam 75
Wii Connect: 7793 3308 1436 9373

I support cycle commuting.
IeraseU is offline  
post #112 of 1815 Old 03-25-2007, 06:16 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
VisionOn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Carrboro, NC
Posts: 11,492
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 497
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mash View Post

For fun I put the folding client on my pc. To finish 1 unit would take it 104 days full out. (Its an older athlon Barton Core with a GF6800) My PS3 can do a unit in approx 8 hours LOL! I guess the PS3 really does have some very serious computing power. Needless to say I uninstalled the client on my desktop.

you should leave it on your PC as well. The ps3 is being sent different types of projects to PCs, that are intended to be completed in short bursts and overnight. The Folding team are sending the PS3 proteins which have completion times at around 8 hours.


VisionOn is offline  
post #113 of 1815 Old 03-25-2007, 06:45 PM
Member
 
zmanzman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: NJ
Posts: 160
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
thanks guys i will try downloading 5.03 in the morning

PSN NAME=zmanzman
XBL GAMERTAG=zmanzman
zmanzman is offline  
post #114 of 1815 Old 03-25-2007, 07:45 PM
Member
 
sjyokel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I signed up and finished my first one earlier today...

Incidentally, I went to a workshop this past week for high performance computing. There were some senior technical guys there from IBM, and the new supercomputer clusters they're developing are using the Cell chip (that they and Intel, I think, originally developed for the PS3). The Cell is really ahead of the curve as it has 9 processors compared to the dual core or quad core that are the latest you can get for a workstation.

Anyway, it looks like Stanford/Sony unleashed a monster by writing this applet for the PS3. I wonder if they'll be able to handle the mountains of data being sent their way now?
sjyokel is offline  
post #115 of 1815 Old 03-25-2007, 09:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
UxiSXRD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Southern California
Posts: 5,670
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Is there any benefit to doing this as a team? Or is it just for bragging rights in the stats?

-- "No matter where you go, there you are."

SXRD/Denon/Polk/PS3/360/WiiU
Blu-ray bliss
SXRD Owner's Thread
PSN: Uxi

UxiSXRD is offline  
post #116 of 1815 Old 03-25-2007, 11:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DanLW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,332
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by UxiSXRD View Post

Is there any benefit to doing this as a team? Or is it just for bragging rights in the stats?

Bragging rights. That's all. But I'd love to see AVS get into the top 100!
DanLW is offline  
post #117 of 1815 Old 03-26-2007, 06:36 AM
Advanced Member
 
riffjim4069's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Formerly Spotsylvania VA now Dallas TX Metroplex
Posts: 849
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I completed my first unit early this morning.
riffjim4069 is offline  
post #118 of 1815 Old 03-26-2007, 07:48 AM
AVS Special Member
 
_Avarice_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 4,666
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
From the Folding@Home PS3 information page
Quote:


VISUALIZATION
How does the PS3 client's visualization compare to other FAH clients?
The PS3 client will also support some advanced visualization features. While the Cell microprocessor does most of the calculation processing of the simulation, the graphic chip of the PLAYSTATION 3 system (the RSX) displays the actual folding process in real-time using new technologies such as HDR and ISO surface rendering. It is possible to navigate the 3D space of the molecule using the interactive controller of the PS3, allowing us to look at the protein from different angles in real-time.

I did not know this! How do you get a close up view of the real-time three dimensional rendering?

Avarice
_Avarice_ is offline  
post #119 of 1815 Old 03-26-2007, 07:56 AM
Member
 
c_d_j's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by _Avarice_ View Post

From the Folding@Home PS3 information page


I did not know this! How do you get a close up view of the real-time three dimensional rendering?

Hit Select and then you can zoom in and view it.

(Holding Square will also give more info on the controls available.)
c_d_j is offline  
post #120 of 1815 Old 03-26-2007, 08:01 AM
AVS Special Member
 
HorrorScope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: NoCal
Posts: 4,251
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Do you get a tax break or prescription discount by doing this? Is their any independant source that audits this? Thanks.
HorrorScope is offline  
Reply PlayStation Area

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off