Join the AVS Forum Folding@Home Team! - Page 40 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1171 of 1815 Old 03-20-2008, 08:39 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Tim Winders's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Levelland, TX
Posts: 672
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just when I thought I'd catch Jerz and my production falls off, we both gain a spot on the team list and he's still 2 spots ahead. Watch your back, man. I'm coming to get ya!
Tim Winders is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1172 of 1815 Old 03-21-2008, 08:07 AM
Member
 
Trebormesos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
wowzerz. adding two intel macs to my WU's, sure has made a difference.
Trebormesos is offline  
post #1173 of 1815 Old 03-21-2008, 09:51 AM
Advanced Member
 
moepoker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Birch Run, MI
Posts: 892
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trebormesos View Post

wowzerz. adding two intel macs to my WU's, sure has made a difference.

It sure has.

Join the AVS Folding @ Home team!! Team #55280

PSN ID= moepoker
XBL ID= moepoker
moepoker is online now  
post #1174 of 1815 Old 03-22-2008, 05:38 AM
Advanced Member
 
Jerz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Dixie
Posts: 595
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tim Winders View Post

Just when I thought I'd catch Jerz and my production falls off, we both gain a spot on the team list and he's still 2 spots ahead. Watch your back, man. I'm coming to get ya!


The kid keeps forgetting to turn folding@home on after he uses the ps3... my production hasn't been very consistent at all... I guess it's time to make sure all three are on again.

Jerz is offline  
post #1175 of 1815 Old 03-22-2008, 06:58 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Tim Winders's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Levelland, TX
Posts: 672
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jerz View Post


The kid keeps forgetting to turn folding@home on after he uses the ps3... my production hasn't been very consistent at all... I guess it's time to make sure all three are on again.

Oh damn. I guess I'll wave bye-bye to you again.

Hint... at the XMB, select folding and press the Triangle button. You have an option to start F@H automatically after a certain amount of idle time. This will not start folding if a movie or game is running (even if paused). It will only start folding if the PS3 is at the XMB and idle for a specific amount of time. If you set this, then when you quit a movie or game folding will start automatically.
Tim Winders is offline  
post #1176 of 1815 Old 03-22-2008, 03:15 PM
Advanced Member
 
Jerz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Dixie
Posts: 595
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tim Winders View Post

Oh damn. I guess I'll wave bye-bye to you again.

Hint... at the XMB, select folding and press the Triangle button. You have an option to start F@H automatically after a certain amount of idle time. This will not start folding if a movie or game is running (even if paused). It will only start folding if the PS3 is at the XMB and idle for a specific amount of time. If you set this, then when you quit a movie or game folding will start automatically.

HUH?...

<----(goes to PS3 to investigate)

Jerz is offline  
post #1177 of 1815 Old 03-22-2008, 03:20 PM
Advanced Member
 
Jerz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Dixie
Posts: 595
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
... well... how in the heck did I miss that option?

You'll never catch me now!

Jerz is offline  
post #1178 of 1815 Old 03-22-2008, 08:21 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
dc_pilgrim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: South Central... PA
Posts: 4,617
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Is there a way to get it to default shut off after an interval, the same way you can get it to set it to fold? I know you can set it to shut down after a while, when actively running the ap, but I'd like to set it and forget it (w/o leaving it on forever).
dc_pilgrim is offline  
post #1179 of 1815 Old 03-22-2008, 09:54 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Tim Winders's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Levelland, TX
Posts: 672
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jerz View Post

... well... how in the heck did I miss that option?

You'll never catch me now!

Yeah, I figured it was better for the team and give away this little jewel of information.

Now, I expect EVERYONE to do this!
Tim Winders is offline  
post #1180 of 1815 Old 03-22-2008, 09:56 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Tim Winders's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Levelland, TX
Posts: 672
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dc_pilgrim View Post

Is there a way to get it to default shut off after an interval, the same way you can get it to set it to fold? I know you can set it to shut down after a while, when actively running the ap, but I'd like to set it and forget it (w/o leaving it on forever).

I only know of the shutdown option. I don't think there is a way to do exactly what you want. So, I'd say, just set it to run folding automatically and forget it.
Tim Winders is offline  
post #1181 of 1815 Old 03-23-2008, 10:44 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
dc_pilgrim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: South Central... PA
Posts: 4,617
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tim Winders View Post

I only know of the shutdown option. I don't think there is a way to do exactly what you want. So, I'd say, just set it to run folding automatically and forget it.

I guess it was more of an issue while my house was being shown by realtors. My plan was to just let it fold 24/7, but figured it would be better if they didn't have to exit out of a program to demo the system. Thus shut off after an interval. Now that the house is under agreement, I might as well let if fold. I'll have to teach my wife how to exit if she wants to run it while I am not home...
dc_pilgrim is offline  
post #1182 of 1815 Old 03-23-2008, 10:55 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Tim Winders's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Levelland, TX
Posts: 672
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dc_pilgrim View Post

I guess it was more of an issue while my house was being shown by realtors. My plan was to just let it fold 24/7, but figured it would be better if they didn't have to exit out of a program to demo the system. Thus shut off after an interval. Now that the house is under agreement, I might as well let if fold. I'll have to teach my wife how to exit if she wants to run it while I am not home...

Yeah, exit == O. It's on the screen. My wife and kids have it figured out. Not much of a problem. Of course, I'm using a Harmony 880 remote and have the Exit button on the remote programmed to O so they just press Exit and then arrow over to yes and select OK on the remote (OK is programmed to X). So, it's pretty intuitive.

Congrats on being under contract. Sounds like the HT is going with the house. What equipment are you taking and what will you have to replace?
Tim Winders is offline  
post #1183 of 1815 Old 03-24-2008, 07:05 AM
Member
 
Trebormesos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tim Winders View Post

Oh damn. I guess I'll wave bye-bye to you again.

Hint... at the XMB, select folding and press the Triangle button. You have an option to start F@H automatically after a certain amount of idle time. This will not start folding if a movie or game is running (even if paused). It will only start folding if the PS3 is at the XMB and idle for a specific amount of time. If you set this, then when you quit a movie or game folding will start automatically.

AH HA... This will give me at least one more WU a day.
Trebormesos is offline  
post #1184 of 1815 Old 03-24-2008, 11:47 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Tim Winders's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Levelland, TX
Posts: 672
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trebormesos View Post

AH HA... This will give me at least one more WU a day.

Awesome! Every WU helps!
Tim Winders is offline  
post #1185 of 1815 Old 03-25-2008, 06:04 PM
Senior Member
 
Cytotech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 226
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Movin' on up guys! Great job lately. 116th place!
Cytotech is offline  
post #1186 of 1815 Old 03-25-2008, 07:19 PM
Advanced Member
 
moepoker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Birch Run, MI
Posts: 892
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Yes....we are picking up steam.

Join the AVS Folding @ Home team!! Team #55280

PSN ID= moepoker
XBL ID= moepoker
moepoker is online now  
post #1187 of 1815 Old 03-26-2008, 06:39 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
dc_pilgrim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: South Central... PA
Posts: 4,617
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tim Winders View Post

Congrats on being under contract. Sounds like the HT is going with the house. What equipment are you taking and what will you have to replace?

I am leaving everything but the PS3, my Sony DVR, and a spare parts CRT PJ. I also have a roll of SmX screen material that I decided to not install once I found out about the move and made a less expensive DIY screen that will be left. So, speakers, receiver, amp(s), pj will all need to be gotten.

There is a small but workable space in the new house. We can build it, again, eventually.

Looks like me being out of town with the machine on is chipping in for the team here.
dc_pilgrim is offline  
post #1188 of 1815 Old 03-26-2008, 08:06 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Tim Winders's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Levelland, TX
Posts: 672
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dc_pilgrim View Post

I am leaving everything but the PS3, my Sony DVR, and a spare parts CRT PJ. I also have a roll of SmX screen material that I decided to not install once I found out about the move and made a less expensive DIY screen that will be left. So, speakers, receiver, amp(s), pj will all need to be gotten.

There is a small but workable space in the new house. We can build it, again, eventually.

Looks like me being out of town with the machine on is chipping in for the team here.

Wow. I've never heard of an entire HT going with a home. That's really something! As long as you keep that PS3 connected to the internet and folding, that's all that really matters!
Tim Winders is offline  
post #1189 of 1815 Old 03-26-2008, 09:23 AM
AVS Special Member
 
TheMoose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,861
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tim Winders View Post

Wow. I've never heard of an entire HT going with a home. That's really something! As long as you keep that PS3 connected to the internet and folding, that's all that really matters!

It's actually getting more common.
I know 2 guys that sold their houses & the deal maker was leaving the HT in place,
the best part was the HT gear added more than what they cost to the purchase price!

"Racing is........Life.......Everything before & after is just waiting"
TheMoose is offline  
post #1190 of 1815 Old 03-26-2008, 09:51 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Tim Winders's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Levelland, TX
Posts: 672
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheMoose View Post

It's actually getting more common.
I know 2 guys that sold their houses & the deal maker was leaving the HT in place,
the best part was the HT gear added more than what they cost to the purchase price!

Wow! What a great way to get rid of old gear.
Tim Winders is offline  
post #1191 of 1815 Old 03-26-2008, 10:21 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
dc_pilgrim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: South Central... PA
Posts: 4,617
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Mine was more or less at my cost. For the stuff sold, I would either want to upgrade, or a piece wasn't well suited to the next house. But the room isn't meant to be anything but a HT, so best to sell. But the PS3 may take a break for the move, but we'll keep it folding till then.


dc_pilgrim is offline  
post #1192 of 1815 Old 03-26-2008, 10:42 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Tim Winders's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Levelland, TX
Posts: 672
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dc_pilgrim View Post

Mine was more or less at my cost. For the stuff sold, I would either want to upgrade, or a piece wasn't well suited to the next house. But the room isn't meant to be anything but a HT, so best to sell. But the PS3 may take a break for the move, but we'll keep it folding till then.

I see what you mean. I'm sure having the right buyer, wanting to have the HT, added to the value of the house and desire to purchase. To me, a Home Theater, and especially the EQUIPMENT is so personal, I would never want to purchase an existing setup. Of course, I can see the appeal to someone who wants to have a setup ready to go and not have to mess with everything.

Being able to sell everything, even at your cost, seems like a great situation. If you were to sell everything piecemeal, you'd only get a fraction of that. So, once again, congrats!
Tim Winders is offline  
post #1193 of 1815 Old 03-27-2008, 05:03 AM
Member
 
Trebormesos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cytotech View Post

Movin' on up guys! Great job lately. 116th place!

I can not help from singing the theme song to "The Jeffersons"
http://www.geocities.com/Hollywood/9176/jeffrsns.au

Trebormesos is offline  
post #1194 of 1815 Old 03-27-2008, 06:34 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Tim Winders's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Levelland, TX
Posts: 672
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trebormesos View Post

I can not help from singing the theme song to "The Jeffersons"
http://www.geocities.com/Hollywood/9176/jeffrsns.au


Oh yeah. Looking great!

Just looking at the stats, wow, it's amazing. The PS3 seems to do the same work as 15-18 PCs! I'm going to have to figure out a way to get a 3rd PS3 folding for me.
Tim Winders is offline  
post #1195 of 1815 Old 03-27-2008, 12:03 PM
Advanced Member
 
Jerz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Dixie
Posts: 595
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tim Winders View Post

Oh yeah. Looking great!

Just looking at the stats, wow, it's amazing. The PS3 seems to do the same work as 15-18 PCs! I'm going to have to figure out a way to get a 3rd PS3 folding for me.

You don't need a third PS3! You're in 17th and I'm in 15th and according to the EOC stats it will only take you 3 years to catch up .

Jerz is offline  
post #1196 of 1815 Old 03-27-2008, 12:10 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Tim Winders's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Levelland, TX
Posts: 672
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jerz View Post

You don't need a third PS3! You're in 17th and I'm in 15th and according to the EOC stats it will only take you 3 years to catch up .

Oh, well 3 years. Heck. No problem. Of course, before I told you about the auto run feature, I was going to catch up in 2 months!
Tim Winders is offline  
post #1197 of 1815 Old 03-28-2008, 10:31 AM
Senior Member
 
grand sport's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Erie, PA
Posts: 263
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
woo hoo! I made it on page two!
http://folding.extremeoverclocking.c...s=&t=55280&p=2
number 195!

grand sport is offline  
post #1198 of 1815 Old 03-28-2008, 06:39 PM
Advanced Member
 
pgatour's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 824
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Moepoker brings up my name and says he wants me back in the game so I put my Quad back in action and no one welcomes me back Oh well, I guess I'll just take it offline again.








J/K

______________________

Join AVS Forum's Folding@Home Team, #55280
pgatour is offline  
post #1199 of 1815 Old 03-28-2008, 08:25 PM
Advanced Member
 
moepoker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Birch Run, MI
Posts: 892
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by pgatour View Post

Moepoker brings up my name and says he wants me back in the game so I put my Quad back in action and no one welcomes me back Oh well, I guess I'll just take it offline again.








J/K

Welcome back.

Join the AVS Folding @ Home team!! Team #55280

PSN ID= moepoker
XBL ID= moepoker
moepoker is online now  
post #1200 of 1815 Old 03-28-2008, 08:34 PM
Member
 
Trebormesos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Trebormesos is offline  
Reply PlayStation Area

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off