Join the AVS Forum Folding@Home Team! - Page 7 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #181 of 1815 Old 03-29-2007, 01:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
UMD_Terp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: MD
Posts: 1,976
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
||
||
||
||
||
||
\\/
UMD_Terp is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #182 of 1815 Old 03-29-2007, 06:27 PM
 
TyrantII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Boston
Posts: 10,114
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 832
posted a copy of this crediting tindizzle in the bluray hardware section:

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=826909

Hope it doesn't get closed and that it will draw a few others to help this good cause!
TyrantII is offline  
post #183 of 1815 Old 03-29-2007, 06:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
cadbury8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,242
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
very nice indeed.
OT piece of info i found.

Cheap, safe drug kills most cancers

It sounds almost too good to be true: a cheap and simple drug that kills almost all cancers by switching off their immortality. The drug, dichloroacetate (DCA), has already been used for years to treat rare metabolic disorders and so is known to be relatively safe.

It also has no patent, meaning it could be manufactured for a fraction of the cost of newly developed drugs.

Evangelos Michelakis of the University of Alberta in Edmonton, Canada, and his colleagues tested DCA on human cells cultured outside the body and found that it killed lung, breast and brain cancer cells, but not healthy cells. Tumours in rats deliberately infected with human cancer also shrank drastically when they were fed DCA-laced water for several weeks.
cadbury8 is offline  
post #184 of 1815 Old 03-29-2007, 08:30 PM
Advanced Member
 
flyersfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Lehigh Valley
Posts: 816
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I was hoping I could find a team that was people of like interests, so I'm in.

Top 1k here we come!
flyersfan is offline  
post #185 of 1815 Old 03-30-2007, 02:41 AM
Member
 
exuser02's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Texas
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm new to AVS but i signed on with my PS3.
exuser02 is offline  
post #186 of 1815 Old 03-30-2007, 06:03 AM
AVS Special Member
 
DaverJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 6,783
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 97 Post(s)
Liked: 640
Quote:
Originally Posted by exuser02 View Post

I'm new to AVS but i signed on with my PS3.

Welcome to the club(s).
DaverJ is online now  
post #187 of 1815 Old 03-30-2007, 06:41 AM
Senior Member
 
thecodeman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: DFW, TX
Posts: 449
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Joined this morning
thecodeman is offline  
post #188 of 1815 Old 03-30-2007, 06:53 AM
AVS Special Member
 
TimHuey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: Fort Lauderdale, FL USA
Posts: 1,897
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Does anyone know if the workunits expire based on processor/system specs or just size of the work unit.

HTPC. Onkyo 636, Polk audio speakers and Klipsch sub. KHO-7 Outdoor speakers. Homeseer homecontrol over Z-wave.
TimHuey is offline  
post #189 of 1815 Old 03-30-2007, 10:35 AM
Senior Member
 
AmigaDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 243
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by TimHuey View Post

Does anyone know if the workunits expire based on processor/system specs or just size of the work unit.

Assuming you are talking about a generic PC, this is/was the logic:
How do you set the deadlines for the work units?
Each work unit is benchmarked on a dedicated 2.8 GHz Pentium 4 machine with SSE2 disabled. For most work units (although there may be exceptions, described in the next paragraph), we apply this equation

timeout = 20 * (daysPerWU) + 2
deadline = max(30* (daysPerWU) + 2,10)

where daysPerWU is the number of days it took to complete the unit. The "+2" days is there to give an additional buffer for fast WUs (to allow for servers down, etc). If 30*daysPerWU is less than 10 days, we set the deadline to 10 days, as a minimum time for all projects. The timeout is the time at which the WU is resent to another client and the deadline is the last time which we will give stats credit for the WU. For the PS3, the setting is specialized:
How long will it take to complete the work unit (WU)?
We have set PS3 WU's to take approximately 8 hours to complete. The logic behind this was to ensure that the PS3 could be run only over night and still yield a useful result. We will likely decrease this time in the future to try to make it easier for PS3 donors to only briefly run their machines, but still make useful contributions.
Occasionally, deadlines may be set shorter or longer than the above calculation indicates, but the reason for having deadlines at all is that the sooner we get back work units, the sooner we can put the results to good use. Also, different projects have different requirements server-side and may require shorter or allow longer deadlines (eg "pfold" calculations can often be run without any deadlines, whereas MREMD calculations work best with very tight deadlines). The assignment server does take machine performance into account in making assignments, thereby allowing slower machines to receive more appropriate work units.

AmigaDude
AmigaDude is offline  
post #190 of 1815 Old 03-30-2007, 10:36 AM
 
TyrantII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Boston
Posts: 10,114
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 832
Quote:
Originally Posted by TimHuey View Post

Does anyone know if the workunits expire based on processor/system specs or just size of the work unit.

They expire based on a calculation derived from how long it takes to fold a protein on a benchmark system, in this case a benchmark PS3

For the exact calculation, take a look at their FAQ and homepage. I remember seeing the PC calculation, but not sure if they've posted the PS3 one yet.
TyrantII is offline  
post #191 of 1815 Old 03-30-2007, 12:30 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
tindizzle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 255
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by TyrantII View Post

posted a copy of this crediting tindizzle in the bluray hardware section:

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=826909

Hope it doesn't get closed and that it will draw a few others to help this good cause!

Thanks.
tindizzle is offline  
post #192 of 1815 Old 03-30-2007, 12:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
TimHuey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: Fort Lauderdale, FL USA
Posts: 1,897
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Thanks guys for the explanation. i hijacked my home pc to do one work unit, its 50000k, a biggie. Wow its slow. three days and only 40% done.

HTPC. Onkyo 636, Polk audio speakers and Klipsch sub. KHO-7 Outdoor speakers. Homeseer homecontrol over Z-wave.
TimHuey is offline  
post #193 of 1815 Old 03-30-2007, 01:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
cadbury8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,242
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by TimHuey View Post

Thanks guys for the explanation. i hijacked my home pc to do one work unit, its 50000k, a biggie. Wow its slow. three days and only 40% done.

i just got done with a 20,000 and i didnt think it was ever going to complete. I was really starting to get antsy.

we are gaining on Official-ish PS3Fanboy Folding Team. we have cut their lead down to 90 positions. i can almost smell their dirty underwear.
cadbury8 is offline  
post #194 of 1815 Old 03-30-2007, 01:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
GW-SMOkeY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Arizona
Posts: 1,942
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can anyone help, or at least confirm this? Every time I start FOLDING@HOME - I have to accept the agreement, and then my DONOR NAME - gets defaulted to PS3.

Is this normal?

I will join the AVS team, hopefully I wont have to enter it all the time...
GW-SMOkeY is offline  
post #195 of 1815 Old 03-30-2007, 01:55 PM
Advanced Member
 
Jerz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Dixie
Posts: 602
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by GW-SMOkeY View Post

Can anyone help, or at least confirm this? Every time I start FOLDING@HOME - I have to accept the agreement, and then my DONOR NAME - gets defaulted to PS3.

Is this normal?

I will join the AVS team, hopefully I wont have to enter it all the time...

No it's not normal... did you set up your info after starting folding@home? I'm not in front of the ps3 but I *think* you have to hit triangle and then information to set that stuff up.

Jerz is offline  
post #196 of 1815 Old 03-30-2007, 02:58 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
tindizzle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 255
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by GW-SMOkeY View Post

Can anyone help, or at least confirm this? Every time I start FOLDING@HOME - I have to accept the agreement, and then my DONOR NAME - gets defaulted to PS3.

Is this normal?

I will join the AVS team, hopefully I wont have to enter it all the time...

Try reinstalling P@H on your PS3. You can delete it from the XMB.
tindizzle is offline  
post #197 of 1815 Old 03-30-2007, 05:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
cadbury8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,242
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
got my long island ice tea ready - lets play texas fold-em.
cadbury8 is offline  
post #198 of 1815 Old 03-30-2007, 06:21 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
tindizzle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 255
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
tindizzle is offline  
post #199 of 1815 Old 03-30-2007, 10:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
TheMoose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,861
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Mine goes thru the "Uploading work unit" many times after finishing a work unit, on the current one it's been doing uploading for almost 25 mins, that's 7 or 8 times so far (& it's still not through!).
It goes thru the status bar all the way to 93% then it seems to go to 100% & start over again.

Is this normal?

"Racing is........Life.......Everything before & after is just waiting"
TheMoose is offline  
post #200 of 1815 Old 03-31-2007, 06:56 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Rieper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: New York NY
Posts: 3,302
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Joined the team last night around 8pm, already have my first WU completed.

Go team!
Rieper is offline  
post #201 of 1815 Old 03-31-2007, 09:58 AM
Member
 
Taxcheat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Washington, D.C.
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The neat thing is that there is nothing to keep our team out of the top 100, other than rounding up some more support to build up points. Only about 70-80 teams are more productive right now on a daily basis.

It would be nice if there were a "Big Movers" statistics list, because AVS Forum would be on it.

Taxcheat is offline  
post #202 of 1815 Old 03-31-2007, 10:13 AM
Member
 
Lyshen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: CA
Posts: 121
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I put my desktop Core Duo computer running the beta SMP to fold for the team. However sadly the first WU somehow hit a bug and after reaching 99% it got some error, deleted the WU and started over.

Reset the system, and had it start on a different WU, so hopefully this time it doesn't do it again. Lost roughly 1500 points for about 38 hours worth of folding work.

PSN: Lyshen

Join AVS Forum's Folding@Home Team, #55280
Lyshen is offline  
post #203 of 1815 Old 03-31-2007, 10:30 AM
Member
 
iambroke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: West Virginia
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheMoose View Post

Mine goes thru the "Uploading work unit" many times after finishing a work unit, on the current one it's been doing uploading for almost 25 mins, that's 7 or 8 times so far (& it's still not through!).
It goes thru the status bar all the way to 93% then it seems to go to 100% & start over again.

Is this normal?

I don't know if its normal but mine does the same thing.

PSN ID = iambroke
iambroke is offline  
post #204 of 1815 Old 03-31-2007, 01:11 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
tindizzle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 255
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just added a dual Xeon 5355 (8 cores) system that I have until tuesday
tindizzle is offline  
post #205 of 1815 Old 03-31-2007, 03:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Felgar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Calgary, Canada
Posts: 2,502
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by iambroke View Post

I don't know if its normal but mine does the same thing.

Mine too...
Felgar is offline  
post #206 of 1815 Old 03-31-2007, 05:10 PM
Member
 
Lyshen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: CA
Posts: 121
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does it eventually finish "Uploading Work Unit"? And once it is done, do you guys get credit for the WU done on the PS3? (Or rather, does the Work Unit Completed go up by 1?)

PSN: Lyshen

Join AVS Forum's Folding@Home Team, #55280
Lyshen is offline  
post #207 of 1815 Old 03-31-2007, 07:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
TheMoose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,861
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lyshen View Post

Does it eventually finish "Uploading Work Unit"? And once it is done, do you guys get credit for the WU done on the PS3? (Or rather, does the Work Unit Completed go up by 1?)

Yes it finishes, mine took 30min the day I made the OP but it did finish & I did get credit for it.

I'm wondering if it's sending packets instead of everything at once?
That has to be a lot of info after 8 hours of work.

"Racing is........Life.......Everything before & after is just waiting"
TheMoose is offline  
post #208 of 1815 Old 03-31-2007, 08:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
TimHuey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: Fort Lauderdale, FL USA
Posts: 1,897
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lyshen View Post

I put my desktop Core Duo computer running the beta SMP to fold for the team. However sadly the first WU somehow hit a bug and after reaching 99% it got some error, deleted the WU and started over.

Reset the system, and had it start on a different WU, so hopefully this time it doesn't do it again. Lost roughly 1500 points for about 38 hours worth of folding work.

I had the Beta SMP program doing a fold on my pc and today after 4days it said the timelimit for the workunit had expired. (march 31st) UGHHHHH. It was a 50000 unit.

HTPC. Onkyo 636, Polk audio speakers and Klipsch sub. KHO-7 Outdoor speakers. Homeseer homecontrol over Z-wave.
TimHuey is offline  
post #209 of 1815 Old 03-31-2007, 08:54 PM
Member
 
Lyshen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: CA
Posts: 121
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by TimHuey View Post

I had the Beta SMP program doing a fold on my pc and today after 4days it said the timelimit for the workunit had expired. (march 31st) UGHHHHH. It was a 50000 unit.

I believe most SMP WU only have a 2-3 day limit, they give good points but have pretty short time limit windows.

Mine can make it in that window just I didn't expect it to abort for some unknown reason. Although after some tinkering I suspect the aborting might have to do with me undervolting the CPU to far. Was shooting for a silent PC that consumes very little power whether idle or full load... oddly enough system was stable with testing using dual prime95. Hopefully finishes the current WU fine, will find out in about 8 hours.

Oh and thinking of popping in C2D (Merom) chip instead, little faster and better number crunching for negligible increase in power consumption.

PSN: Lyshen

Join AVS Forum's Folding@Home Team, #55280
Lyshen is offline  
post #210 of 1815 Old 04-01-2007, 09:34 AM
AVS Special Member
 
TimHuey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: Fort Lauderdale, FL USA
Posts: 1,897
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I found an option to download non-expiring work units. I think I will have to do that.

HTPC. Onkyo 636, Polk audio speakers and Klipsch sub. KHO-7 Outdoor speakers. Homeseer homecontrol over Z-wave.
TimHuey is offline  
Reply PlayStation Area

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off