PS3 playing in fullscreen not widescreen - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 44 Old 03-25-2007, 06:38 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
whitemotel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
yo...

anybody having an issue with the PS3 always playing a movie in full screen no matter if its blueray/reg dvd?....

called Sony, the rep said go to the display settings, chose your cable type, resolution, and press right again and chose 16:9 widescreen or 4:3 fullscreen....i kept telling the rep i dont see that option in there...he kept saying it was there...so i gave up....
whitemotel is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 44 Old 03-25-2007, 06:58 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
joeblow's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 12,159
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 207
Your TV settings are wrong most likely. Whichever video port you've hooked the PS3 into, go to that mode's TV menu. Look for something that let's you select "Full Mode" or an equivalent.

Los Angeles Lakers - 16 NBA Championships!

joeblow is online now  
post #3 of 44 Old 03-25-2007, 09:48 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
whitemotel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
nah....tv is set correct....its the ps3...ive read a few people experiencing the same problem....
whitemotel is offline  
post #4 of 44 Old 03-25-2007, 09:49 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
whitemotel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
here is the link i found where other people are having the same issue:

http://boardsus.playstation.com/play...hread.id=28524
whitemotel is offline  
post #5 of 44 Old 03-25-2007, 01:03 PM
Advanced Member
 
Tripjammer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 872
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Its all about the firmway baby!!! Get your PS3 updated to 1.60....you will have no problems...

I saw on that other forum there were people with firmware 1.10!!!

Come on now...get to firmware 1.60...

Playstation Network Name: Aiphanes
Warhawk Clan: Knights of HalfBros
Resistance Clan: Knights of HalfBros
Folding@home Team 56396

Knights of Halfbros Team STATS
Tripjammer is offline  
post #6 of 44 Old 03-25-2007, 01:34 PM
Newbie
 
kildemoes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
sorry, but i have the same problem here. All 4:3 DVD's plays in 16:9. I have to set the Projektor manualy in 4:3 Mode. There is definetly no 4:3 - 16:9 option in the display settings menu on the PS3. FW ist 1.6. The Projektor is connected with a HDMI-DVI Cable.

Andy
kildemoes is offline  
post #7 of 44 Old 03-25-2007, 01:40 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
whitemotel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
yo tripjammer...

since you have the latest firmare, can you verify something for me?...

go to the display setting, chose your cable type, resolution, and press right...what do you see?...do you see an option for 16:9 widescreen vs full screen?...if you dont, the firmware isnt the issue...

thanks man
whitemotel is offline  
post #8 of 44 Old 03-25-2007, 01:43 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
whitemotel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
kildemoes....so your movies play in 16:9 ?...do you see bars?...usually if you see no bars its 4:3 full screen....

the problem i have is all movies blueray/dvd play in full screen...
whitemotel is offline  
post #9 of 44 Old 03-25-2007, 01:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tingham's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bucks County, PA
Posts: 2,671
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Did you check the dvd wide display under BD/DVD Settings.... Make sure that is not set to pan and scan...set to letterbox?

Go Phillies! Go Eagles! Go Sixers! Go Flyers!
tingham is online now  
post #10 of 44 Old 03-25-2007, 02:03 PM
Advanced Member
 
Tripjammer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 872
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by whitemotel View Post

yo tripjammer...

since you have the latest firmare, can you verify something for me?...

go to the display setting, chose your cable type, resolution, and press right...what do you see?...do you see an option for 16:9 widescreen vs full screen?...if you dont, the firmware isnt the issue...

thanks man


I will check it out for you my brotha!

Playstation Network Name: Aiphanes
Warhawk Clan: Knights of HalfBros
Resistance Clan: Knights of HalfBros
Folding@home Team 56396

Knights of Halfbros Team STATS
Tripjammer is offline  
post #11 of 44 Old 03-25-2007, 02:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tingham's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bucks County, PA
Posts: 2,671
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Also...How are you connecting the ps3 to your display...Hdmi or Component?

Go Phillies! Go Eagles! Go Sixers! Go Flyers!
tingham is online now  
post #12 of 44 Old 03-25-2007, 03:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
GamerGuyX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Kentwood, Michigan
Posts: 1,473
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I hate when people come to forums and ask for help but argue and/or try to tell you that your ideas are stupid.
GamerGuyX is offline  
post #13 of 44 Old 03-25-2007, 05:10 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
whitemotel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
thanks tripjammer...

tingham..
i have checked the blueray settings on the ps3..tested with both, but still the same....im connecting via componet...i also tried hdmi-hdmi cable...same issue...

GamerGuyX...
haha, who is arguing here...i never said someones ideas are stupid....it sounds like you are trying to start something....
whitemotel is offline  
post #14 of 44 Old 03-25-2007, 05:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
SirDrexl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 4,133
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What kind of TV do you have? You haven't told us if it's 16x9 or 4:3.

There IS a setting somewhere for 16x9 or 4:3, but I believe it's only accessible if you select 480i/p for output (with HD resolutions, 16x9 is automatically selected).
SirDrexl is offline  
post #15 of 44 Old 03-25-2007, 06:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tingham's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bucks County, PA
Posts: 2,671
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by whitemotel View Post

thanks tripjammer...

tingham..
i have checked the blueray settings on the ps3..tested with both, but still the same....im connecting via componet...i also tried hdmi-hdmi cable...same issue...

GamerGuyX...
haha, who is arguing here...i never said someones ideas are stupid....it sounds like you are trying to start something....

It has to be your display settings! Are you sure your display is not set to stretch the picture on the input(s) you have the ps3 connected to? Almost all people have the ps3 hooked up the way you have it hooked up.... and have no problems with automatic picture stretch. We need to know what make and model# display you have to try to narrow this issue down.... as SirDrexl states.

Go Phillies! Go Eagles! Go Sixers! Go Flyers!
tingham is online now  
post #16 of 44 Old 03-25-2007, 07:14 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
whitemotel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
ok, i have a samsung 61 inch dlp: HL-S6186W...there is a setting on my tv for 16:9 or 4:3...its set to 16:9....it also has 3 display settings 16:9, wide zoom, and 4:3 (bars on left and right)...

a little bit of more info to prove the PS3 is the problem and not the tv setting...my dvd player (hk dvd 101) is also hooked up using componet...the video setting i can chose are 16:9 or 4:3...when i chose 4:3, dvd shows fullscreen...i chose 16:9 the screen is widescreen...which is what i am looking for with the ps3...

SirDrexl...im going to go back to composite cable and see if 16:9/4:3 is there and see what setting is shown...im sure HD resolution is automatically selects 16:9 but on my ps3, it looks like its automactically selecting 4:3 full screen


here is my hookup

harmon kardon avr 520
jbl s38ii fronts and surrond
jbl s-center II
harmon kardon dvd101
ps3
whitemotel is offline  
post #17 of 44 Old 03-25-2007, 08:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
WriteSimple's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: KL, Malaysia.
Posts: 3,206
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Using either the component or HDMI connection, go to Display settings, Component/HDMI (choose one), then make sure you check all of the available resolutions except 1080i. Then press Left to go to the confirmation screen then press Circle to confirm.

I assume you know that some movies are in 16x9 and some are 2.40:1.


fuad

"DonÂt let them tell you who you are is not enough, that itÂs wrong and that you wonÂt find love. DonÂt let them use my life to put your future down, or tell you that happiness canÂt be found."
WriteSimple is offline  
post #18 of 44 Old 03-25-2007, 09:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Star56's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: In my armed redoubt deep in the mountains of northern Ohio
Posts: 3,491
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Full screen is not the same as widescreen.

4:3 is not the same as fullscreen.

1:85 is not 2:35 is not 4:3.

Now tell us what ratios you are seeing and perhaps we can help.

The p3 default screens will display in 1:85---it will fill the screen. This is not 4:3.

42" in the dining room.
50" in the bedroom
80" in the living room

65" in the family room
106" in the family room


"There is another system"

Video Modes: SDTV-EDTV-XGA-HDTV-3D
All HD Modes: Blu Ray, HD DVD, DVHS

Star56 is offline  
post #19 of 44 Old 03-25-2007, 09:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Star56's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: In my armed redoubt deep in the mountains of northern Ohio
Posts: 3,491
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by whitemotel View Post

kildemoes....so your movies play in 16:9 ?...do you see bars?...usually if you see no bars its 4:3 full screen....

the problem i have is all movies blueray/dvd play in full screen...


??? If it's 4:3 you will certainly see bars or pillars...on both sides.

42" in the dining room.
50" in the bedroom
80" in the living room

65" in the family room
106" in the family room


"There is another system"

Video Modes: SDTV-EDTV-XGA-HDTV-3D
All HD Modes: Blu Ray, HD DVD, DVHS

Star56 is offline  
post #20 of 44 Old 03-25-2007, 09:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Star56's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: In my armed redoubt deep in the mountains of northern Ohio
Posts: 3,491
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by WriteSimple View Post

I assume you know that some movies are in 16x9 and some are 2.40:1.

fuad


Don't assume anything

42" in the dining room.
50" in the bedroom
80" in the living room

65" in the family room
106" in the family room


"There is another system"

Video Modes: SDTV-EDTV-XGA-HDTV-3D
All HD Modes: Blu Ray, HD DVD, DVHS

Star56 is offline  
post #21 of 44 Old 03-26-2007, 05:31 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
whitemotel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
writesimple...i tried what u asked, but pressing left takes me back to the main display setting screen...circle takes you back to main setting.....


Star56...i know full screen is mainly used for 4:3 tvs, thus i associate 4:3 with fullscreen....the ratio i am seeing looks like "stretch", it could be stretch full screen or stretch widescreen...ive tested a few dvds, saw 1 and 2 and saw blueray...all seem stretch compared with my dvd player....

hope this helps...


thanks for all the responses...
whitemotel is offline  
post #22 of 44 Old 03-26-2007, 05:42 AM
Senior Member
 
Gradthrawn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 366
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by whitemotel View Post

writesimple...i tried what u asked, but pressing left takes me back to the main display setting screen...circle takes you back to main setting.....


Star56...i know full screen is mainly used for 4:3 tvs, thus i associate 4:3 with fullscreen....the ratio i am seeing looks like "stretch", it could be stretch full screen or stretch widescreen...ive tested a few dvds, saw 1 and 2 and saw blueray...all seem stretch compared with my dvd player....

hope this helps...


thanks for all the responses...

So you have not been able to select available resolution's on your PS3 yet? You're not seeing this screen at all (Step 6)?
Gradthrawn is offline  
post #23 of 44 Old 03-26-2007, 08:03 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
whitemotel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
grandthrawn...i do see all those settings...but when i called sony regarding he stated there is another setting stating to chose widescreen or fullscreen....which i dont see...
whitemotel is offline  
post #24 of 44 Old 03-26-2007, 08:11 AM
Senior Member
 
Gradthrawn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 366
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by whitemotel View Post

grandthrawn...i do see all those settings...but when i called sony regarding he stated there is another setting stating to chose widescreen or fullscreen....which i dont see...

What resolutions do you have selected? If you don't have 1080i (at least) selected BDs are going to default to 480p which your TV may interpret as fullscreen playback. When you watch a BD, what resolution is your TV showing that it's receiving. Widescreen/fullscreen option sounds familiar, but IIRC, was an old option, possibly removed after 1.3x (or only available when selecting composite cables). Then again, I may be thinking of the 360.
Gradthrawn is offline  
post #25 of 44 Old 03-26-2007, 08:11 AM
Member
 
A10Fan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 190
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What about this under Settings -> BD/DVD Settings?

http://manuals.playstation.net/docum...tings.html#852
A10Fan is offline  
post #26 of 44 Old 03-26-2007, 09:25 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
whitemotel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
yeah, i checked that too...
whitemotel is offline  
post #27 of 44 Old 03-26-2007, 09:28 AM
Advanced Member
 
dark1x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 869
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by whitemotel View Post

grandthrawn...i do see all those settings...but when i called sony regarding he stated there is another setting stating to chose widescreen or fullscreen....which i dont see...

The widescreen/fullscreen option exists...if you select 480i/480p. All HD resolutions are, by nature, 16:9. You will never find a 4:3 option for those resolutions. If you are in HD (720p/1080i/1080p), you are in 16:9. That's all there is to it.

Now, under BD/DVD settings, there are a few more options to adjust for movies, but general XMB viewing and gaming in HD resolutions = 16:9. You can't select 4:3.
dark1x is offline  
post #28 of 44 Old 03-26-2007, 10:25 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
whitemotel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
thanks dark1x...ill give that a try at home.....it def make sence, but what doesnt make sence, is why it looks stretch when watching bluray/dvd......ill test that out when i get home tonight....

thanks again...
whitemotel is offline  
post #29 of 44 Old 03-26-2007, 04:51 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
whitemotel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
dark1x.......you were right man....that 16:9 / 4:3 option was there when i changed resolution to 480i.....that solved the stretching issue i was experiencing....i went back to my dvd player to double check the aspect ratio also...it was set to 4:3 letterbox (with the bars on the top and bottom)....a 16:9 option was also on my dvd player...i went ahead and change to that option...guess what, it was the same as the ps3 (the movie fill the tv with no bars).....

so, it looks like the 16:9 option stretches the movie to "full screen", per say....4:3 letterbox shrinks the movie with bars on top and bottom...in my opinion, 4:3 letterbox has a better viewing resolution than 16:9.....

thanks again dark1x
whitemotel is offline  
post #30 of 44 Old 03-26-2007, 04:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tingham's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bucks County, PA
Posts: 2,671
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Good for you whitemotel!!! Then your issues are solved?

Go Phillies! Go Eagles! Go Sixers! Go Flyers!
tingham is online now  
Reply PlayStation Area



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off