DLNA Server for Windows/Linux - Page 4 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #91 of 207 Old 05-24-2007, 03:25 PM
Member
 
italysfinest327's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
everything works like music and images, but cant get movies to work, shows up as unsupported data
italysfinest327 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #92 of 207 Old 05-24-2007, 03:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
joe_six_pack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 2,334
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by italysfinest327 View Post

everything works like music and images, but cant get movies to work, shows up as unsupported data

Only certain file formats are supported.

Sony pay me 10 beeeelion dollars to plant blu-ray seeeeds.
joe_six_pack is offline  
post #93 of 207 Old 05-24-2007, 03:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Krieger119's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,262
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
ok ... I already noticed the unsupported data problems which is understandable since the 360 was doing the same thing ... I assume to safeguard against piracy etc. My problem right now is with maintaining a connection between the pc and ps3. For some reason when I go to search for files, a message will come up saying something to the form of The connection between the media server is gone and check your settings or whatever. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Gamertag: Dominikin
PS3 username: Dominikin
Krieger119 is offline  
post #94 of 207 Old 05-24-2007, 03:53 PM
Member
 
tdc01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Krieger119 View Post

ok ... I already noticed the unsupported data problems which is understandable since the 360 was doing the same thing ... I assume to safeguard against piracy etc. My problem right now is with maintaining a connection between the pc and ps3. For some reason when I go to search for files, a message will come up saying something to the form of The connection between the media server is gone and check your settings or whatever. Any help would be greatly appreciated.


I got the same message. What I did is back out and went right back to the folder and it work with no problem. Hope that help.
tdc01 is offline  
post #95 of 207 Old 05-24-2007, 03:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
SpeedyHTPC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Milpitas, CA
Posts: 3,263
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone tried MediaTomb? Its pretty much plug and play on Fedora 6. I have tons of pictures and the PS3 seems to need to scan all of them. I thought its a client?
SpeedyHTPC is offline  
post #96 of 207 Old 05-24-2007, 04:58 PM
awx
AVS Special Member
 
awx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 1,367
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bdizzle View Post

I don't think it's my tags. I spent a lot of time getting them right. Other apps that ive used like itunes and every ver of wmp works fine. ill try some more apps when i get home, but i doubt its the tags. when i check the files in diff id3 editors, they all come up fine as well.

Those are the tags in your files but the PS3 is not directly accessing those files. It's depending on the server to send it data that it can read. If mp3s are showing up as unsupported, the server may not be sending the data in the way the PS3 expects.

PSN: YstadYakuza
awx is offline  
post #97 of 207 Old 05-24-2007, 07:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Mattardo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,336
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The incorrect tagging is strange. I've tried Windows MEdia Player to rip my cds and it's awful: it can't find the right info for half the cds and it rips them in a half-assed fashion. Accessing media files from Media Player is a chore and nothing is ever in order. Real Player worked a little better because of their online databases (gracenote) but the program is buggy. I finally have been using Creative Media Source (but it makes funny little noises) and it puts the tracks in order and gets Gracenote info. So my music is tagged right. Here's what I've found: Twonky wil display the albums and play the tracks in the correct order. Windows Media Connect will display the albums and NEVER play them in the right order. Why is Windows Media so ******? Try Twonky if you want correct play order. On another note, I suppose the PS3 doesn't support ifo yet (and probably never)...

"The well-placed coin changes much - even itself." - Lao-Tse
Mattardo is offline  
post #98 of 207 Old 05-24-2007, 08:05 PM
Member
 
deckardb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 85
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mattardo View Post

The incorrect tagging is strange. I've tried Windows MEdia Player to rip my cds and it's awful: it can't find the right info for half the cds and it rips them in a half-assed fashion. Accessing media files from Media Player is a chore and nothing is ever in order. Real Player worked a little better because of their online databases (gracenote) but the program is buggy. I finally have been using Creative Media Source (but it makes funny little noises) and it puts the tracks in order and gets Gracenote info. So my music is tagged right. Here's what I've found: Twonky wil display the albums and play the tracks in the correct order. Windows Media Connect will display the albums and NEVER play them in the right order. Why is Windows Media so ******? Try Twonky if you want correct play order. On another note, I suppose the PS3 doesn't support ifo yet (and probably never)...

Two words: Media Monkey

I love this application for ripping and organizing. It's amazing. It's not a media server application, but for ripping and organizing, it's a godsend. (Figuratively of course. Don't want people to think I believe in made-up, supernatural beings.)
deckardb is offline  
post #99 of 207 Old 05-24-2007, 08:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
walk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Petaluma, CA
Posts: 3,115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok, if I connect the PC and PS3 directly it works.

If I try to go thru the Linksys router, it does not.

Anyone else using the Linksys BEFSR41 router?? Do you have to manually open ports or what?
walk is offline  
post #100 of 207 Old 05-24-2007, 08:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
TimHuey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: Fort Lauderdale, FL USA
Posts: 1,890
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I created a playlist called shoutcast and I put a URL link in it to a streaming radiostation in MP3. However on the PS3, it sees the playlist, I can select it, but when it opens it shows no files. Is there anyway to get the URL to stream to the PS3 using the wmp server?

Second, is there a way to make categories to put videos in. I see ratings, artist, etc but I want to make one called Porn with subdivisions and lock it so the visiting in-laws don't start watching all my porn. I know that's not very neighborly of me but I don't like used Porn.

HTPC. Onkyo 636, Polk audio speakers and Klipsch sub. KHO-7 Outdoor speakers. Homeseer homecontrol over Z-wave.
TimHuey is offline  
post #101 of 207 Old 05-24-2007, 08:50 PM
AVS Special Member
 
TimHuey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: Fort Lauderdale, FL USA
Posts: 1,890
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by walk View Post

Ok, if I connect the PC and PS3 directly it works.

If I try to go thru the Linksys router, it does not.

Anyone else using the Linksys BEFSR41 router?? Do you have to manually open ports or what?

I opened a bunch of ports UDP and TCP both on my netgear wireless router.

HTPC. Onkyo 636, Polk audio speakers and Klipsch sub. KHO-7 Outdoor speakers. Homeseer homecontrol over Z-wave.
TimHuey is offline  
post #102 of 207 Old 05-24-2007, 08:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
UMD_Terp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: MD
Posts: 1,976
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Nero MediaHome works fine for mp3s... tagging woks as it should...

ripped DVD playback is buggy at best. Some .VOBs play while others do not. Audio is also output as PCM only it seems even though it should be 5.1 audio.
UMD_Terp is offline  
post #103 of 207 Old 05-24-2007, 09:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
walk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Petaluma, CA
Posts: 3,115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by TimHuey View Post

I opened a bunch of ports UDP and TCP both on my netgear wireless router.

Ok... which ports? And you open them to the PS3 or to the PC?
walk is offline  
post #104 of 207 Old 05-24-2007, 09:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
UMD_Terp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: MD
Posts: 1,976
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
UPnP should automatically open up and use whatever port the server/client requests... that is the thing with UPnP... you do not have to explicitly open up ports via your router.
UMD_Terp is offline  
post #105 of 207 Old 05-24-2007, 09:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
walk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Petaluma, CA
Posts: 3,115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
There is one UDP port listed in the BEFSR41 "UPnP Forwarding" page; 3658 (UDP). That wasn't put there by me, and is new since I enabled UPnP... so yeah I guess that's what it's trying to do, but it doesn't work....
walk is offline  
post #106 of 207 Old 05-24-2007, 09:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
MaliciousBraham's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,041
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have updated my post on the earlier page about how simplecenter and jrmediacenter work...

Here is the post

simplecenter seems to be the easiest to use at the moment... www.simplecenter.com
MaliciousBraham is offline  
post #107 of 207 Old 05-24-2007, 10:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
SpeedyHTPC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Milpitas, CA
Posts: 3,263
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My MediaTomb (Linux based) just finished indexing and the PS3 was able to view the jpg photos just fine. However the PS3 will not play the mp3s. Does anyone know if the PS3 can play mp3s?
SpeedyHTPC is offline  
post #108 of 207 Old 05-24-2007, 11:10 PM
Newbie
 
kosotone's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by SpeedyHTPC View Post

My MediaTomb (Linux based) just finished indexing and the PS3 was able to view the jpg photos just fine. However the PS3 will not play the mp3s. Does anyone know if the PS3 can play mp3s?


I am having the same problem.. I tried gmediaserver , ushare , mediatomb. None of them play mp3's.

anyone have an idea?
kosotone is offline  
post #109 of 207 Old 05-24-2007, 11:30 PM
Senior Member
 
cR4p's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 250
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone can confirm what codecs are supported? Is it based on the mediaserver software I will be using or is it based on what files the PS3 firmware can handle.

Like are Xvid, Divx, h264 and x264 supported?
cR4p is offline  
post #110 of 207 Old 05-24-2007, 11:40 PM
awx
AVS Special Member
 
awx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 1,367
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well we know for sure that regular WMA and JPEG are supported.

Edit: It's also confirmed that .mpg files are playing, with MPEG2 and MPEG1 codecs. MP3s confirmed by Twin.

PSN: YstadYakuza
awx is offline  
post #111 of 207 Old 05-24-2007, 11:56 PM
Member
 
hellokitty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 135
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by cR4p View Post

Anyone can confirm what codecs are supported? Is it based on the mediaserver software I will be using or is it based on what files the PS3 firmware can handle.

Like are Xvid, Divx, h264 and x264 supported?

Depends on the Media Server you used. The Media Server dynamically transcode movies to the DLNA client format. e.g. Windows Media Player 11 only supports MS video format (wmv) which is useless for PS3, Nero Home supports MPEG 2, TwonkyMedia supports MPEG 2 and some of MPEG 4. Image and audio format-wise everyone pretty much support MP3 and AAC.

Mandatory image format is JPG, video is MPEG 2, audio is LPCM.
Other formats are also possible (e.g., PS3 can do PNG, GIF, AAC, MP3, MP4/AVC, WMA)
hellokitty is offline  
post #112 of 207 Old 05-25-2007, 12:00 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
bfdtv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 13,484
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by cR4p View Post

Anyone can confirm what codecs are supported? Is it based on the mediaserver software I will be using or is it based on what files the PS3 firmware can handle.

Like are Xvid, Divx, h264 and x264 supported?

The PS3 will handle some variants of h.264, but it is very picky about the audio and video streams. It won't directly handle wmv, xvid, divx, or x264.

Right now, the only effective solution I've found for streaming most video is Nero MediaHome, which re-encodes all streams on the fly. However, the PS3 doesn't appear to support Neros' MPEG-2 and MPEG-4 modes, so it's stuck streaming in "MPEG-1" mode. Quality stinks.

What we need is a multi-core accelerated network streaming app that can re-encode [on the fly] to high-bitrate H.264 at 720x480 and/or 1280x720 in a compatible carrier.

HDTV Recorder Comparison Chart | DTVPal DVR FAQ | New! TiVo Premiere (Series4) FAQ |
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
bfdtv is offline  
post #113 of 207 Old 05-25-2007, 12:09 AM
AVS Special Member
 
TwinTurboZX's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 1,020
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This is pretty cool, I was able to stream mp3's and 720P HD MPEG2 videos with Media Player 11 to my wired PS3. The strange thing is though that my other PS3 which is running wireless won't connect to WM11. Anyone able to connect and stream from WM11 with a wireless PS3?
TwinTurboZX is offline  
post #114 of 207 Old 05-25-2007, 12:09 AM
awx
AVS Special Member
 
awx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 1,367
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by hellokitty View Post

Mandatory image format is JPG, video is MPEG 2, audio is LPCM.
Other formats are also possible (e.g., PS3 can do PNG, GIF, AAC, MP3, MP4/AVC, WMA)

Do we have positive proof that any of those formats has been successfully streamed to a PS3 without transcoding at this point?

PSN: YstadYakuza
awx is offline  
post #115 of 207 Old 05-25-2007, 12:33 AM
Senior Member
 
cR4p's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 250
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bfdtv View Post

The PS3 will handle some variants of h.264, but it is very picky about the audio and video streams. It won't directly handle wmv, xvid, divx, or x264.

Right now, the only effective solution I've found for streaming most video is Nero MediaHome, which re-encodes all streams on the fly. However, the PS3 doesn't appear to support Neros' MPEG-2 and MPEG-4 modes, so it's stuck streaming in "MPEG-1" mode. Quality stinks.

What we need is a multi-core accelerated network streaming app that can re-encode [on the fly] to high-bitrate H.264 at 720x480 and/or 1280x720 in a compatible carrier.

well I don't see the point if none of xvid,divx and x264 is supported, wmv I can understand as its microsoft but the xvid and x264 are open source, is this some kind of piracy issue you think

I was looking for a mediacenter solution to stream my movies to my TV and was alla excited about the PS3 being a free alternative but apparently it isnt.

well i'll just go back to my idea of building an htpc
cR4p is offline  
post #116 of 207 Old 05-25-2007, 12:42 AM
Member
 
Ol!ver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 103
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So what's the best server to use if you want your MP3s to display correctly? Will it
move onto the next track, or just stop after playing whichever you selected?

Xbox Live GT: Oli Owl
PSN ID: OliOwlUK
Wii Friend Code: 8574 5696 2855 3192
HD-DVD/Blu-Ray - I'm now format neutral !
Ol!ver is offline  
post #117 of 207 Old 05-25-2007, 03:00 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Mattardo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,336
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Twonky! Plays the tracks in order and keeps going and going, like a certain Bunny.

"The well-placed coin changes much - even itself." - Lao-Tse
Mattardo is offline  
post #118 of 207 Old 05-25-2007, 03:03 AM
Senior Member
 
magnusr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 434
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 15
So what is the best for VIDEO_TS folders? Nero?

AMP: Hegel H100, DAC: Arcam rDAC, Speakers: Tannoy Revolution Signature DC6T, TV: LG Oled 55EC930V (US: 5EC9300), HTPC: ATI 280x, Windows 8.1 with blu-ray
magnusr is offline  
post #119 of 207 Old 05-25-2007, 03:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Mattardo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,336
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I haven't gotten that to work correctly. Instead ofplaying the IFO file, it goes intot he Video_ts folder and you can choose everything except the ifo file. Half the files don't play anyways. But Twonky will let you navigate to the individual tracks of the dvd : just don't expect miracles..or fast forward..or chapter skip...or menus.

"The well-placed coin changes much - even itself." - Lao-Tse
Mattardo is offline  
post #120 of 207 Old 05-25-2007, 03:31 AM
Senior Member
 
magnusr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 434
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Sony should imo make their own version for windows. It would deffenetly be the best match for the ps3.

AMP: Hegel H100, DAC: Arcam rDAC, Speakers: Tannoy Revolution Signature DC6T, TV: LG Oled 55EC930V (US: 5EC9300), HTPC: ATI 280x, Windows 8.1 with blu-ray
magnusr is offline  
Reply PlayStation Area

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off