HELP !!!!!!! Reset Ps3 Settings - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 Old 05-25-2007, 11:43 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
ajamils's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Richmond, Tx
Posts: 1,674
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What happened was that I was playing around with its display settings and I selected 1080p even though my LCD can only accept signal upto 1080i and now the TV keeps showing "In Valid Format". I tried connected it through component but I still don't get anything on screen.

Is there a way to reset Ps3 settings without seeing the menu on screen ? Or any other way to fix this problem.

[color=Blue]
psn id: hunter4life
Live Gamertag: huntre4life (notice "re" not "er" in hunter)
ajamils is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 Old 05-25-2007, 11:48 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ndskyz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Cincinnati Ohio
Posts: 2,278
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
With the PS3 in stand by mode Press and hold the power button for 5 secs.. (until you hear the second beep) this cause the PS3 to reset the display properties back to 480i..follow the onscreen instructions to set it back up to 1080i
ndskyz is offline  
post #3 of 9 Old 05-25-2007, 12:47 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
ajamils's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Richmond, Tx
Posts: 1,674
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ndskyz View Post

With the PS3 in stand by mode Press and hold the power button for 5 secs.. (until you hear the second beep) this cause the PS3 to reset the display properties back to 480i..follow the onscreen instructions to set it back up to 1080i

Thanks alot mate...that fixed the problem

[color=Blue]
psn id: hunter4life
Live Gamertag: huntre4life (notice "re" not "er" in hunter)
ajamils is offline  
post #4 of 9 Old 12-30-2008, 02:39 PM
Newbie
 
rottenmonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
the problem with my ps3 is a little bit different. it decided to power down on its own, and will not fully power back up. it will for 2 seconds then shuts itself back down. have tried the 5 second reset sequence, to no avail. Seems to me it might be a hardware not a sofware issue. could anyone offer any opinion?

thank you very much,
Best regards... Rotten Monkey
rottenmonkey is offline  
post #5 of 9 Old 02-25-2009, 11:06 AM
Newbie
 
ihavepenonmyface's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i read all these comments on holding the on/off button for 5 secs to reset settings and i was worryed incase it resets my saved files

sooo.... does it? plzz help
ihavepenonmyface is offline  
post #6 of 9 Old 02-25-2009, 11:24 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
ajamils's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Richmond, Tx
Posts: 1,674
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ihavepenonmyface View Post

i read all these comments on holding the on/off button for 5 secs to reset settings and i was worryed incase it resets my saved files

sooo.... does it? plzz help

it only resets your video output settings.

[color=Blue]
psn id: hunter4life
Live Gamertag: huntre4life (notice "re" not "er" in hunter)
ajamils is offline  
post #7 of 9 Old 02-25-2009, 02:02 PM
Newbie
 
ihavepenonmyface's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
thnx dude add me on ps3 mi username is ihavepenonmyface


ihavepenonmyface is offline  
post #8 of 9 Old 02-26-2009, 08:05 AM
Advanced Member
 
Vince2909's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Platte City, MO
Posts: 680
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ihavepenonmyface View Post

i read all these comments on holding the on/off button for 5 secs to reset settings and i was worryed incase it resets my saved files

sooo.... does it? plzz help

your name reads like you have penis on your face. Srsl'y.

PSN: VinnAY-DBC
Vince2909 is offline  
post #9 of 9 Old 01-14-2010, 11:43 PM
Newbie
 
mk9065's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rottenmonkey View Post

the problem with my ps3 is a little bit different. it decided to power down on its own, and will not fully power back up. it will for 2 seconds then shuts itself back down. have tried the 5 second reset sequence, to no avail. Seems to me it might be a hardware not a sofware issue. could anyone offer any opinion?

thank you very much,
Best regards... Rotten Monkey

HI is it the 60G. if so then it is a hardware problem i had the same fault phoned sony and they swapped it for recon. Hope this helps ( it was aslo out off warrent but may have just been lucky )
mk9065 is offline  
Reply PlayStation Area

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off