Has anyone tried a wireless N adapter on a PS3? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 32 Old 05-29-2007, 02:53 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Dgephri's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 247
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a Linksys PreN GB router.

I have a PS3 running off the G channel in my Theater room (about 40 feet away, 5 walls, low signal, etc.). Using a Linksys G signal booster.

Option 1- crawl around under my house for 5-6 hours, rig up a demarc board near my router, and run CAT6 back and forth.
Cost: Cat6 (not much for a couple hundred feet to feed other rooms at the same time
Me getting dirty under the house and really hating crawlspaces (attic access might be easier).

Option 2-has anybody tried an N-based USB adapter on a PS3 with/without WEP or WPA?
Cost: N-adapter ($100)
no dirt, no mess, little fuss.

Now I know wireless N is nowhere near GB wired. But the upscaled AVIs at 30-60Mbit looked really good on my 1080P screen, just stuttery on Wireless G.

Thoughts?
Dgephri is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 32 Old 05-29-2007, 02:59 PM
Advanced Member
 
Tripjammer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 872
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
USB 802.11n adapters do not work currently on the PS3, but 802.11 N routers and access points do. You will have to get a 802.11N router that can be configured as a accesspoint and plug that into the back of the PS3 using the gig Ethernet port and configure this router\\access point to talk to the other 802.11N router that your cable or dsl model is plugged into. This will get you the most wireless bandwidth.

Playstation Network Name: Aiphanes
Warhawk Clan: Knights of HalfBros
Resistance Clan: Knights of HalfBros
Folding@home Team 56396


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Tripjammer is offline  
post #3 of 32 Old 05-29-2007, 03:45 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Dgephri's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 247
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ugh, another $150+ for the N AP?
Dgephri is offline  
post #4 of 32 Old 05-29-2007, 04:56 PM
 
Emotep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 748
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Dont bother until Wireless N becomes more stable...

You don't really need all that bandwidth anyways,
Emotep is offline  
post #5 of 32 Old 05-29-2007, 05:24 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Dgephri's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 247
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am going to play with my Wireless G repeater and see if I get better streaming stability.

Cleary wiring CAT6 is the best solution, but also most work (attic, etc.).
Dgephri is offline  
post #6 of 32 Old 01-26-2008, 04:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
8IronBob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Suburbs of Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 2,735
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well, I just picked up a D-Link 802.11n Router from BB today for $70 (being a Reward Zone member, I was able to get 10% off on it, so it was closer to $60). Anyway, I'm hoping that the PS3 can take full advantage of that router, tho. I'm about to upgrade from my Belkin 54G router to the D-Link N router, hoping that will improve things.

AVS Forum...The Final Frontier. My continuing mission. To explore strange, new equipment, to seek out new movies and technology. Boldly going where no enthusiast had gone before.
8IronBob is offline  
post #7 of 32 Old 01-26-2008, 06:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
steven975's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,574
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
G is probably good for 25-30Mbps, N probably 100. That's throughput, not link speed.

USB is good for 200...except it doesn't work.

Are there any N gaming adapters (Wireless N with a Gigabit Ethernet port...no USB)? That may be the best wireless method...but wired is best.
steven975 is offline  
post #8 of 32 Old 01-27-2008, 07:16 AM
Member
 
Arabus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 79
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Linksys makes one. It is the WGA600N. But it is not clear if the wired port is gigabit.

See http://www.linksys.com/servlet/Satel...=4757740536B01
Arabus is offline  
post #9 of 32 Old 03-25-2008, 08:50 AM
Newbie
 
edlex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a linksys wrt600n that I just got and a belkin n1 that it replaced. Could I connect the the belkin to the ps3's ethernet port and have the linksys connect to it at n speed?

If so how? I really would appreciate any help. I am curious to try it but afraid of frying the ps3.
edlex is offline  
post #10 of 32 Old 03-25-2008, 08:59 AM
Senior Member
 
markc72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Plainfield, IL
Posts: 366
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Unless they come out with a wireless N adapter for the PS3, getting a Wireless N access point is worthless unless you have a laptop that is capable of doing it. Currently the N product has not been officially approved by the FCC yet. Looks like end of this year or early next.

Come join our adult gaming community at
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



XBL, PSN, and Steam: diehardcubfn
markc72 is offline  
post #11 of 32 Old 03-25-2008, 09:17 AM
Newbie
 
edlex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by markc72 View Post

Unless they come out with a wireless N adapter for the PS3, getting a Wireless N access point is worthless unless you have a laptop that is capable of doing it. Currently the N product has not been officially approved by the FCC yet. Looks like end of this year or early next.

Ok so would it be possible to connect the belkin router and increase the connection strength? On the g level if not n. I'm really desperate because the signal strength is so low now.
edlex is offline  
post #12 of 32 Old 03-26-2008, 01:55 PM
Senior Member
 
markc72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Plainfield, IL
Posts: 366
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Should work fine on G.

Come join our adult gaming community at
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



XBL, PSN, and Steam: diehardcubfn
markc72 is offline  
post #13 of 32 Old 03-26-2008, 03:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
splinters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,124
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The two chipsets you have is Broadcom for the Linksys and Atheros for the Belkin, mixing chipset vendors for WDS bridging (the technical name of what your asking for) is not well tested and typically doesn't work very well with links being dropped and lots of wireless troubleshooting work required.

That said, there are two ways to increase your speed/latency as I see it, and 11n is not a requirement in either one.

The first one is to get a 802.11a router or access point, and get a Wireless 11a adapter like this one. If you pair it with a gaming 11a router, you will get LIKELY (not guaranteed) get better performance since fewer people use the 11a's 5Ghz (vs. 2.4Ghz for 11b, 11g, 11n, bluetooth, and microwave ovens). This will net you 54-108Mbps of raw dataspeeds, which translates into 20-45Mbps of real data (wi-fi uses a lot of overhead to handle the wireless connections and error correction).

The second option is to use a powerline ethernet product like the Linksys PLK200. What that will net you is 100+ Mbps of raw throughput, and 60-80Mbps of real data. You will also get lower latency (read: lower ping times) for games and a better network for streaming audio/video from pcs to your ps3. And yes, you are sending data over your home's powerlines to transmit the data.

The 11a solution will cost you some money, but you may find bargains as 11a isn't as popular and you may find stuff on ebay and craigslist for cheap. The Powerline ethernet solution will run you ~150 for a set of new powerline ethernet adapters, but maybe cheaper since they have been out for a few months. There are some newer adapters from other manufacturers that say 200Mbps, but I think this is overkill since most routers have 100Mbps ethernet ports anyways.

In case anyone wants to point it out, yes your home internet connection is the bottleneck, at 500kbps to 6Mbps typically, but for those streaming video or gaming online, the extra bandwidth can offer lower ping times for that extra nano-second advantage.

-Splints
splinters is offline  
post #14 of 32 Old 03-26-2008, 04:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
NJ3118's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Northern New Jersey
Posts: 1,223
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
mackbook pro running alongside an airport extreme = blazing browsing and speed.

I have a fever and the only cure is more Blu-Ray....
NJ3118 is offline  
post #15 of 32 Old 01-04-2009, 09:53 PM
Member
 
com5984's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 135
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anyone tried this with the ps3

http://www.linksys.com/servlet/Satel...=4757740536B01
com5984 is offline  
post #16 of 32 Old 01-04-2009, 10:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
splinters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,124
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It should work fine with another 11n wireless router, it uses ethernet to connect to the ps3' gigabit network card.

-Splints
splinters is offline  
post #17 of 32 Old 01-04-2009, 10:32 PM
Member
 
com5984's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 135
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
thanks for that, do you think this would be a faster connection http://www.pcmag.com/article2/0,2817,2333005,00.asp
com5984 is offline  
post #18 of 32 Old 01-05-2009, 11:23 AM
Member
 
Mr. Abulia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 173
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anyone tried using one of the little Apple Aiport Wireless Access Points? Those are not too expensive, a very reasonable size, and you can connect an ethernet cable to them. I've been thinking about that as an upgraded wireless solution (running cable would be a huge hassle in my place).
Mr. Abulia is offline  
post #19 of 32 Old 01-05-2009, 09:23 PM
Member
 
bakerybum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
why not just use powerline?
bakerybum is offline  
post #20 of 32 Old 01-06-2009, 02:36 AM
Member
 
sli123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Kellyville (Sydney) Australia
Posts: 170
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My desktop died recently so decided to set the new one up next to the HT.
1.2TB HDD with all cd's ripped in WAV directly connected to the HT.
No more drop-outs, no more issues with TVersity not talking to the PS3 and vice versa.
Very friggin' happy!

"What are you waiting for, you're faster than this. Don't think you are, know you are"
sli123 is offline  
post #21 of 32 Old 01-06-2009, 03:49 AM
Advanced Member
 
john barlow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Lansing Michigan
Posts: 995
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Emotep View Post

Dont bother until Wireless N becomes more stable...

You don't really need all that bandwidth anyways,

I've been using a Belkin wireless N router for almost a year and not one dropout with it.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
john barlow is offline  
post #22 of 32 Old 01-06-2009, 02:20 PM
Member
 
com5984's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 135
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bakerybum View Post

why not just use powerline?

I'm gonna get the netgear powerline, from all reviews I've read there pretty good.
Cheers
Rob
com5984 is offline  
post #23 of 32 Old 05-21-2009, 09:52 AM
Member
 
swb.311's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I use an Apple Airport Express ($99) to pick up wireless N, run an ethernet to my PS3 (or XBOX 360). The Express also has a minijack input so i have connected my receiver with surround sound to the Express allowing me to stream music from itunes to my surround while i play online on the PS3 on Wireless N.
Very easy, very badass.
swb.311 is offline  
post #24 of 32 Old 05-22-2009, 11:24 AM
Advanced Member
 
Gandu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: San Diego
Posts: 869
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Where my PS3 is located I couldn't get a good, consistent signal with an N router. I got the Netgear XAVB101 Powerline Ethernet networking kit ($115 amazon) and it works great, 5 min to install, get a solid 90+Mbps consistently.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
- 100% Instrumental Surf Music. Commercial Free.
Gandu is offline  
post #25 of 32 Old 05-24-2009, 10:00 PM
Senior Member
 
BuckoNZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Wellington, New Zealand
Posts: 285
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
When in doubt and where you can, lay cable. It just works and you get decent speeds.
BuckoNZ is offline  
post #26 of 32 Old 07-01-2009, 05:43 PM
Newbie
 
d_logan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If you have 2 N routers that you can put DD-WRT on, you can use one as an AP, and one as a client, and connect the client's ethernet port to the PS3's ethernet port.

But even with N, you won't beat a 100Mbps ethernet link as far as reliability, and constant speeds, IMO. Gigabit ethernet, and there's absolutely no comparison.

You have to keep in mind that wireless, especially with good encryption, has a lot of overhead.
d_logan is offline  
post #27 of 32 Old 07-02-2009, 04:51 AM
AVS Special Member
 
coneyparleg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,504
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by com5984 View Post

Has anyone tried this with the ps3

http://www.linksys.com/servlet/Satel...=4757740536B01

i use this and it works great, doubled my speedtest.net results

SPS '98

I LOVE BEST BUY


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
coneyparleg is online now  
post #28 of 32 Old 12-02-2009, 08:55 AM
Senior Member
 
chrisfromalbany's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 352
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by swb.311 View Post

I use an Apple Airport Express ($99) to pick up wireless N, run an ethernet to my PS3 (or XBOX 360). The Express also has a minijack input so i have connected my receiver with surround sound to the Express allowing me to stream music from itunes to my surround while i play online on the PS3 on Wireless N.
Very easy, very badass.

Can PS3 Media player still see the PS3 if you are running through the Airport Express instead of the wireless card in the PS3?
chrisfromalbany is offline  
post #29 of 32 Old 12-02-2009, 09:39 AM
AVS Special Member
 
DarrellG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Nu JeRzY
Posts: 1,231
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Quote:
Originally Posted by coneyparleg View Post

i use this and it works great, doubled my speedtest.net results

Awesome, I just ordered that from Buy.com for $49.99. Should be here on Monday. I'm going to do some Speedtest.net tests also. My PS3 connection is usually only at 60% due to the location of the PS3 - Bottom shelf of my TV Stand and behind a wall. I plan on hanging this on my kitchen wall with a 10 foot CAT-5 cable so the wall isn't in the way.

My HD streaming is a little shaky, and Netflix stuff is always switching back and forth from HD to SD so it's really annoying.

Few questions:

1. does the unit have slots to mount onto a wall?
2. Are you running full N or mixed?

I have the Linksys WRT300N with DD-WRT installed running mixed. I plan on switching over to full N once I get this. I also ordered an ASUS WL-520gC to use as a secondary router for my stuff that needs G/B. The ASUS can also run DD-WRT.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
DarrellG is offline  
post #30 of 32 Old 12-30-2009, 12:11 PM
Senior Member
 
chrisfromalbany's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 352
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Can I use a Airport Express to PS3 and get the 802.11n instead of the 802.11g that comes from the PS3?
chrisfromalbany is offline  
Reply PlayStation Area

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off