PC - PS3 Connectivity Issues - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-22-2007, 11:22 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Krieger119's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,262
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok ... I just finished installing my Linksys WRT54G v.5 wireless router (previous router was BEFSR41 wired) and upgrading the firmware in hopes of resolving this problem when I try to listen to music on my PS3 from my PC. I was always and still am getting an error message on the top right corner of my screen saying "A connection to the media server could not be established. Check the settings for the media server and network devices." I installed TVersity and the PS3 patch and ffdshow as showed on that tutorial on youtube for installing TVersity, but nothing ... I keep getting the same message. Any way to fix that?
Also, I just went under the library tab of TVersity and I clicked Audio(4) and it says "Error retrieving data from server, make sure it is running."
I'm very confused as to what is going on and what to do ... plz help.

EDIT: ok I don't understand this, but I just clicked on All Audio and a list of songs came up (pretty sure its not all of them - I have about 10,000 songs on my hard drive) then when I try to play music, it will give me that damn error message again ... one time it played a song and throughout the song it kept flashing the error message continuously and then halfway through the song it cut off and went back to the list ... right now it is playing a song without the error messages but I think it was just luck or something.

PLZ HELP /cry

Gamertag: Dominikin
PS3 username: Dominikin
Krieger119 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-22-2007, 11:55 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Krieger119's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,262
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Update: For some reason, I'm able to navigate quite easily through the Artists, or Albums or any other folder and see a very large selection of music (still not sure if its all of it and I'm not going to count LOL) and I'm able to listen to the whole song without a problem. Could it be that TVersity was scanning the folder or something? Think it'll maintain this solid connection? ok its getting late going to bed and going to leave the PC on in case it is actually scanning the library.

Gamertag: Dominikin
PS3 username: Dominikin
Krieger119 is offline  
Old 07-23-2007, 10:08 AM
Newbie
 
ronenmiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes, during the initial scanning, library browsing is likely to fail or partially succeed. This is a known issue. Once the scanning is complete you will be able to browse properly.
ronenmiz is offline  
Old 07-23-2007, 11:22 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Krieger119's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,262
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
ok well I noticed that after a while my whole library finally loads up onto the PS3 ... just takes a little while which I guess I can live with. However some video files stutter a lot ... looks like its the bigger files such as movies ... is that b/c of my not so top of the line computer (1.8 P4 - 1gb ram)? I don't wanna have to run this off my gaming PC but if I have to I will. Also a couple times while opening a video I got a message saying something like "Access to the media server was denied" or something like that ... anyone know anything about that? So far, I'm liking it (especially since its working via wireless) ... hopefully it will get better with updates, etc.
One more question for the people using Remote Play ... why is it that when I'm in remote play and I open up a video or audio file, the audio is coming from both the PSP and the PS3? Whats that about? I thought it would only be coming from the PSP since I'm in Remote Play mode.

Gamertag: Dominikin
PS3 username: Dominikin
Krieger119 is offline  
Old 07-23-2007, 02:50 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Krieger119's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,262
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
bump (more like a nudge)

Gamertag: Dominikin
PS3 username: Dominikin
Krieger119 is offline  
Old 07-23-2007, 03:04 PM
Member
 
Noircogi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 173
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If the video files are not MPEG already, Tversity will transcode them in real-time. This takes significant CPU power on the computer and a reasonable amount of bandwidth to transfer. As usual, you're much better off using a wired rather than wireless connection to your switch if possible. Only use wireless if you require mobility or can't run a wire to the location for some reason.
Noircogi is offline  
Old 07-23-2007, 03:21 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Krieger119's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,262
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Most of my video files are avi or wmv so I assume its transcoding and thats the reason for the stutter. Still don't know if I'm going to run it off my gaming pc ... we'll see.
How about that other question I had regarding the PSP Remote Play audio coming from both the PSP and my home theater?

Gamertag: Dominikin
PS3 username: Dominikin
Krieger119 is offline  
Old 07-24-2007, 03:12 PM
Advanced Member
 
VegasFlyby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Fabulous Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 518
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Hey guys...I set up Tversity last night and was able to connect my PS3 and 360 without issue and everything was working great. I was quite impressed with what it could do. Anyways, I try to connect today and it's not working at all. I keep getting an "unable to connect to server" error message. I've tried uninstalling and reinstalling and I'm still getting the message. What gives? It was working flawlessly last night. Could the actual Tversity servers be down? Suggestions, advice would be appreciated. Thanks.
VegasFlyby is offline  
Old 07-24-2007, 06:07 PM
Newbie
 
ronenmiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sounds like a firewall issue. If the firewall on the machine running TVersity is blocking it, it won't be able to communicate with the PS3. Please check the settings of the Windows firewall.
ronenmiz is offline  
Old 07-24-2007, 06:13 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Krieger119's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,262
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well, just to let you know my TVersity is up and running being that my baby is watching Baby Einstein from it so its not the server. My problem right now is that every time I turn on my PS3, my PS3 can't sign on automatically to my PSN ID and it takes a while to build up the library on the PS3 ... probably b/c I have 10,000 MP3s and a bunch of videos. But sometimes I do get disconnected. I think I might have to go throw on the 30 ft. ethernet cable and go wired again b/c I'm thinking the WIFI isn't cutting it.

Gamertag: Dominikin
PS3 username: Dominikin
Krieger119 is offline  
Old 07-24-2007, 06:14 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Krieger119's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,262
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by VegasFlyby View Post

Hey guys...I set up Tversity last night and was able to connect my PS3 and 360 without issue and everything was working great. I was quite impressed with what it could do. Anyways, I try to connect today and it's not working at all. I keep getting an "unable to connect to server" error message. I've tried uninstalling and reinstalling and I'm still getting the message. What gives? It was working flawlessly last night. Could the actual Tversity servers be down? Suggestions, advice would be appreciated. Thanks.

Make sure the firewall is allowing MediaServer.exe to get through. Don't know what firewall you're using, but it sounds like thats the problem. Can't think of anything else unless you're on WIFI and its crapping out on you.

Gamertag: Dominikin
PS3 username: Dominikin
Krieger119 is offline  
Old 07-24-2007, 06:56 PM
Advanced Member
 
VegasFlyby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Fabulous Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 518
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 17
^^^ That was it. Thanks.
VegasFlyby is offline  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off