Rock Band: The Next Great Franchise - Page 205 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 3Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #6121 of 6147 Old 10-09-2015, 09:09 AM
AVS Special Member
 
TornadoTJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 6,016
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 883 Post(s)
Liked: 298
See post 6112 above. I mentioned it just a few posts up from here.

PS4 -> Pioneer VSX-1021 -> Panasonic 60ST50. All HDMI.
TornadoTJ is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #6122 of 6147 Old 10-09-2015, 09:17 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Abaddon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: St Louis
Posts: 2,472
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 390 Post(s)
Liked: 301
I still have yet to get satisfactory calibration numbers, so I'm not really sure what my lag is yet. Also, I have yet to try disabling 5.1 audio in the PS4 settings, which is supposed to help audio lag quite a bit.

TornadoTJ, everything I have read says sending audio over HDMI for a music game is a no-no. Rocksmith has some very detailed blog posts about that. I know that may not be an option for you, though...
Abaddon is online now  
post #6123 of 6147 Old 10-09-2015, 10:18 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
michaeltscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 21,673
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2206 Post(s)
Liked: 1180
Quote:
Originally Posted by Abaddon View Post
... everything I have read says sending audio over HDMI for a music game is a no-no. Rocksmith has some very detailed blog posts about that. I know that may not be an option for you, though...

It's not universally true. I have always used HDMI for audio with RS with no lag that I can perceive. In the RS forums one of the Ubisoft people stated that he had a problem using HDMI with the game with one system in his home but not with another.

Mike Scott (XBL: MikeHellion, PSN: MarcHellion)

"Think of the cable company as a group of terrorist (sic)." -- hookbill
michaeltscott is offline  
post #6124 of 6147 Old 10-09-2015, 10:30 AM
AVS Special Member
 
TornadoTJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 6,016
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 883 Post(s)
Liked: 298
Rocksmith does not lag for me, but I have the PS3 version, not PS4. Also, RB2 and RB3 don't lag on me as long as I don't use Dolby Digital (PS3).

To require me to go to the trouble to switch to Toslink every time I play just Rock Band, is kind of silly, don't you think?
TornadoTJ is online now  
post #6125 of 6147 Old 10-09-2015, 11:12 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Abaddon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: St Louis
Posts: 2,472
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 390 Post(s)
Liked: 301
Quote:
Originally Posted by michaeltscott View Post
It's not universally true. I have always used HDMI for audio with RS with no lag that I can perceive. In the RS forums one of the Ubisoft people stated that he had a problem using HDMI with the game with one system in his home but not with another.
Fair enough. I am certainly not an expert .

Quote:
Originally Posted by TornadoTJ View Post
To require me to go to the trouble to switch to Toslink every time I play just Rock Band, is kind of silly, don't you think?
Yes, but it might be your only option if you want no lag, depending on your hardware. It really is a confusing mess to sort through .

Personally, I think I might just forget about any audio lag concern. Since Beatles and then RB3 I've become used to Beatles style drum fills (so no drum audio lag) and am having fun trying out the new dynamic ones (also no audio lag). And with the mic, I've found that I prefer to just completely mute the mic audio anyway. (Unless I am using headphones; I do that with RB3 when I do drums+voice and I haven't tried that. Once I do, I might need to figure that out separately).
Abaddon is online now  
post #6126 of 6147 Old 10-09-2015, 11:13 AM
AVS Special Member
 
TornadoTJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 6,016
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 883 Post(s)
Liked: 298
I don't have any drum lag issues (I'm using the Ion Rocker drum kit), and have not tried guitar yet. The vocals are the only issue for us.
TornadoTJ is online now  
post #6127 of 6147 Old 10-09-2015, 11:15 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Abaddon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: St Louis
Posts: 2,472
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 390 Post(s)
Liked: 301
Quote:
Originally Posted by TornadoTJ View Post
I don't have any drum lag issues (I'm using the Ion Rocker drum kit), and have not tried guitar yet. The vocals are the only issue for us.
Are you using "classic" fills, where there are no notes charted and it plays what you play? I'd expect that to be delayed similarly to voice (although not as much, since there is no inbound path to worry about). If you're using either of the other mode, you won't get audio lag other than normal audio lag that you can calibrate away.
Abaddon is online now  
post #6128 of 6147 Old 10-09-2015, 11:24 AM
AVS Special Member
 
TornadoTJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 6,016
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 883 Post(s)
Liked: 298
I see what you are saying now, we are talking about 2 different things, sort of. I have the lag calibrated out of the system, so there is no lag from when the note on the screen is in position and I hit the pad. If there's lag in the sound of the drums, I don't know. I do know in RB3 in the free-form practice mode, there was a ton of lag.
TornadoTJ is online now  
post #6129 of 6147 Old 10-09-2015, 02:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Abaddon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: St Louis
Posts: 2,472
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 390 Post(s)
Liked: 301
Quote:
Originally Posted by TornadoTJ View Post
I see what you are saying now, we are talking about 2 different things, sort of. I have the lag calibrated out of the system, so there is no lag from when the note on the screen is in position and I hit the pad. If there's lag in the sound of the drums, I don't know. I do know in RB3 in the free-form practice mode, there was a ton of lag.
Right. If you use "classic" fills it'll be like the RB3 practice mode and you'll hear lag similar to vocals.

I have to admit, I spent some more time calibrating and discovered my audio lag was way undercompensated. I'm up to 110ms and it finally feels right on guitar. This is way higher than I had thought it was and is a testament to how hard it is to calibrate, because you will naturally adapt to play differently to compensate (and then when you stop paying close attention you drop notes).

That sucks for the lag, but I am finally feeling like I can actually play the game again, and I had an absolute blast. Now if they can just fix leaderboard entries not updating most of the time...
Abaddon is online now  
post #6130 of 6147 Old 10-09-2015, 03:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
TornadoTJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 6,016
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 883 Post(s)
Liked: 298
I'm in the 110 range also. Which, now that I think of it, explains why it sounds like it's a tenth of a second off.
TornadoTJ is online now  
post #6131 of 6147 Old 10-09-2015, 11:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
defdog99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,248
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 78 Post(s)
Liked: 47
RB3 was near 60ms. Now its 160ms. On a plasma no less.

I wish the pro-guitar calibration eye would work.
defdog99 is offline  
post #6132 of 6147 Old 10-10-2015, 06:36 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Abaddon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: St Louis
Posts: 2,472
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 390 Post(s)
Liked: 301
RB3 export was confirmed by HMX CEO on Twitter last night! No other details yet.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Abaddon is online now  
post #6133 of 6147 Old 10-10-2015, 08:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Tom Imp's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 2,406
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 217 Post(s)
Liked: 132
Quote:
Originally Posted by Abaddon View Post
RB3 export was confirmed by HMX CEO on Twitter last night! No other details yet.

Awesome!


I was so upset that I might lose Bohemian Rhapsody and Sister Christian unless I went back to playing that game.
Tom Imp is offline  
post #6134 of 6147 Old 10-10-2015, 12:19 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
michaeltscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 21,673
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2206 Post(s)
Liked: 1180
I'm still going to have to occasionally play RB3 for my favorite RBN songs. "Blow at High Dough", "Special Effects", nearly all of my Jonathan Coulton songs (they really ought to license the others for sale through the regular store). Of course that's not so much of a problem for you PS4 guys.

Mike Scott (XBL: MikeHellion, PSN: MarcHellion)

"Think of the cable company as a group of terrorist (sic)." -- hookbill
michaeltscott is offline  
post #6135 of 6147 Old 10-10-2015, 05:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Tom Imp's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 2,406
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 217 Post(s)
Liked: 132
Quote:
Originally Posted by michaeltscott View Post
I'm still going to have to occasionally play RB3 for my favorite RBN songs. "Blow at High Dough", "Special Effects", nearly all of my Jonathan Coulton songs (they really ought to license the others for sale through the regular store). Of course that's not so much of a problem for you PS4 guys.
Not sure what the PS4 comment meant. We can't download our RBN songs either.

Sure, we didn't have the same amount of access as the Xbox guys did, but there are quite a few I'm going to miss.
Tom Imp is offline  
post #6136 of 6147 Old 10-11-2015, 02:17 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
michaeltscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 21,673
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2206 Post(s)
Liked: 1180
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom Imp View Post
Not sure what the PS4 comment meant. We can't download our RBN songs either.

Sure, we didn't have the same amount of access as the Xbox guys did, but there are quite a few I'm going to miss.

That's what I meant, that since you got a fraction of the RBN songs it's not likely to be as big a problem for you, although you might miss the ones that you do have. Sorry.

I switched from playing on my PS3 to playing on my 360 because of the introduction of RBN. Thankfully I'd only been playing for five or six months so I didn't have much DLC.

Mike Scott (XBL: MikeHellion, PSN: MarcHellion)

"Think of the cable company as a group of terrorist (sic)." -- hookbill
michaeltscott is offline  
post #6137 of 6147 Old 10-11-2015, 08:12 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Tom Imp's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 2,406
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 217 Post(s)
Liked: 132
Quote:
Originally Posted by michaeltscott View Post
That's what I meant, that since you got a fraction of the RBN songs it's not likely to be as big a problem for you, although you might miss the ones that you do have. Sorry.

I switched from playing on my PS3 to playing on my 360 because of the introduction of RBN. Thankfully I'd only been playing for five or six months so I didn't have much DLC.

Yeah, I only have like 60 RBN songs myself, but still, they were obviously songs I liked enough to buy.


Right now I can't say I'm missing them because on Thursday and Friday I decided to play RB3 again and focused mainly on those songs. I haven't gotten into RB4 much yet because I want to wait until the mad rush of DLC downloading is over, so I'm going to start my downloading Wednesday after the PS Store is updated again. Hopefully those DLC glitches are worked out as well.
Tom Imp is offline  
post #6138 of 6147 Old 10-13-2015, 12:21 PM
Advanced Member
 
djb5f's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 853
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 106 Post(s)
Liked: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by Abaddon View Post
RB3 export was confirmed by HMX CEO on Twitter last night! No other details yet.
Great news, the quotes in the last week or two were very promising but good to hear it confirmed.
djb5f is offline  
post #6139 of 6147 Old 10-13-2015, 10:07 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
michaeltscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 21,673
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2206 Post(s)
Liked: 1180
First RB4 DLC is out ! Looks like one or more tracks (or all of them) were in one pre-order bonus DLC package or another. I thought that I might want the Alabama Shakespeare song but the snippet in the preview clip is unappealing. Otherwise, nothing for me.

Mike Scott (XBL: MikeHellion, PSN: MarcHellion)

"Think of the cable company as a group of terrorist (sic)." -- hookbill
michaeltscott is offline  
post #6140 of 6147 Old 01-15-2016, 02:15 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
michaeltscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 21,673
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2206 Post(s)
Liked: 1180
In case you hadn't heard, the Rock Band 1 export is available for RB4 on PS4s in the US. Coming soon to PS4s in Europe and to Xbone.

Mike Scott (XBL: MikeHellion, PSN: MarcHellion)

"Think of the cable company as a group of terrorist (sic)." -- hookbill
michaeltscott is offline  
post #6141 of 6147 Old 01-15-2016, 07:54 PM
Advanced Member
 
djb5f's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 853
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 106 Post(s)
Liked: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by michaeltscott View Post
In case you hadn't heard, the Rock Band 1 export is available for RB4 on PS4s in the US. Coming soon to PS4s in Europe and to Xbone.
I haven't been following too closely. So which exports are already available. Just Blitz and RB1? RB2 yet? Lego yet? RB3 in future?

Thanks!
djb5f is offline  
post #6142 of 6147 Old 01-15-2016, 10:55 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
michaeltscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 21,673
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2206 Post(s)
Liked: 1180
Quote:
Originally Posted by djb5f View Post
I haven't been following too closely. So which exports are already available. Just Blitz and RB1? RB2 yet? Lego yet? RB3 in future?

RB3 is available for $15 to people who can be verified as owning it or who have at least played it in their account. The tracks from Blitz are available; Green Day is available on Xbone but I think maybe not on PS4 yet. RB1 (now available on PS4), RB2 and Lego are coming soon for those people who've already exported them; it's not possible to export them anymore. Those are all available at no additional charge.
djb5f likes this.

Mike Scott (XBL: MikeHellion, PSN: MarcHellion)

"Think of the cable company as a group of terrorist (sic)." -- hookbill
michaeltscott is offline  
post #6143 of 6147 Old 01-17-2016, 05:34 PM
Senior Member
 
Mattdoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: New York City
Posts: 256
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Is it in the store? Can't find it.
Or do you get rb1 while in game only?
Mattdoc is offline  
post #6144 of 6147 Old 01-17-2016, 06:08 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
michaeltscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 21,673
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2206 Post(s)
Liked: 1180
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mattdoc View Post
Is it in the store? Can't find it.
Or do you get rb1 while in game only?

In-game go to "Get More Songs". On that menu there's a line "Exports". It should be available there.

Mike Scott (XBL: MikeHellion, PSN: MarcHellion)

"Think of the cable company as a group of terrorist (sic)." -- hookbill
michaeltscott is offline  
post #6145 of 6147 Old 01-18-2016, 07:37 AM
AVS Special Member
 
NoThru22's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 9,743
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 357 Post(s)
Liked: 158
Anyone here have a PS3 Ion Drum Rocker or just the brain that they're not using anymore?
NoThru22 is offline  
post #6146 of 6147 Old Today, 09:27 AM
AVS Special Member
 
taxman48's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 2,854
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 189 Post(s)
Liked: 201
I have the Beatles Rock band for PS3. What is the white button for on the hdmi splitter enclosed with the game? thanks in advance

taxman48 is offline  
post #6147 of 6147 Old Today, 02:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
TornadoTJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 6,016
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 883 Post(s)
Liked: 298
If it is what I think it is (I didn't get the full kit), it's the sync button to connect the guitar to the receiver.
TornadoTJ is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply PlayStation Area



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off