Ratchet & Clank won't install? Easy fix instructions - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 10-24-2007, 10:12 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
joeblow's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 12,052
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 185
A minor bug appears for some people trying to install the new Ratchet and Clank game. It will be taken care of in future productions of the game, but here's an easy fix for now from Wired.com:


Quote:


Easy Workaround Fixes Ratchet & Clank Future Bug
By Susan Arendt October 24, 2007 | 10:33:51 AMCategories: Console Games

You may have been lucky enough to get your hands on an early copy of PS3 title Ratchet & Clank Future: Tools of Detruction, only to get it home and find out that it doesn't actually work. A bizarre bug keeps the game from starting in some cases, but fear not, for there is a quick and simple workaround that seems to solve the problem.

Under certain circumstances, the bug reads your PS3's hard drive as full and refuses to install the files necessary to start the game. As Insomniac Community Manager James Stevenson explains:

Quote:


With specific amounts of free space on your drive, you may see a screen that tells you have insufficient space to create game data even though there is plenty of free space on your drive. When this occurs, either delete or add about 500MB of data to your hard drive and the problem will go away.

Weird, but certainly easy enough to do.


Los Angeles Lakers - 16 NBA Championships!

joeblow is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 10-24-2007, 10:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Goatse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Pineapple under the sea
Posts: 3,874
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 12
do you have to load games on the HD for PS3 games??
Goatse is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 10-24-2007, 10:23 AM
Advanced Member
 
eclipz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Posts: 677
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Some disc based games load (install) data to the harddrive, but never the whole game. Games purchased from the PSN store do install the full version of the game on the harddrive. Similar to downloaded demos.
eclipz is offline  
post #4 of 5 Old 10-24-2007, 10:28 AM
Advanced Member
 
Filipinoyakuza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 917
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Hmm...

I got the game yesterday and was able to load and play the game after I installed the required firmware 1.94 PS3 update that came with the game.I played Ratchet & Clank: FTOD for 4 hours last night.
Filipinoyakuza is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 10-24-2007, 01:31 PM
Advanced Member
 
Charlie97L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Montgomery Village, MD
Posts: 794
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
yes it requires 1.94 to play, that's probably the issue here.

loving my completed home theater. :)
Charlie97L is offline  
Reply PlayStation Area

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off