COD4 discussion & review thread - Page 22 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #631 of 703 Old 11-12-2007, 08:43 AM
Advanced Member
 
tneck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 950
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The splitscreen option under multiplayer, is that for playing the single player mission split screen with a friend on the same PS3? Is there a co-op option to play the singler player with a friend online? I didn't think there was and this was probably already asked....sorry.

PSN: T-Neck

I'm doin' it wrong
tneck is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #632 of 703 Old 11-12-2007, 09:19 AM
 
instantpop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 2,498
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by _Avarice_ View Post

This game is frustrating me to no end! I'm stuck at the very end of the "Ghillied Up" mission, trying to hold off the riff-raff until the choppers arrive and save the gimp. I'm playing at the highest difficulty, which I'm sure is adding to the problem, but the levels before this have been do-able, despite being tough. This last part seems impossible!! I've tried it a dozen times now.

Apparently every one of these Eastern bloc soldiers has a Manning-esque arm because they can just lob a grenade perfectly into your hiding spot. So very frustrating. Coupled with not being able to access multiplayer, I'm about ready to turn this disc into a drink coaster!! Arrrggghhhh

***POST CONTAINS SPOILERS....KIND OF***

I felt this way on Normal!!! LOL. I just didn't like the single player campaign. It felt artificially difficult most of the time, your squad AI is INFURIATING (the end was the most brutal part in the tunnels...GOD FORBID someone watch your flank) and I got tired of repeatedly dying from stuff I was never even able to see. Maybe I wasn't playing it the "right way" or something, but it wasn't fun.

The mission on the "Countdown" map where you're supposed plant the C4 on the tanks was brutal. Price is constantly screaming at you to get out there and plant the explosives yet no one on your squad seems to want to draw the fire of the tank so you can actually get to it and plant it. Had to do that mission like 6 times and just pray I could survive the hail of gunfire through a smoke grenade while planting the stuff.

The campaign had a cool story and there were definitely some WOW moments, but I found myself frustrated most of the time. I don't mind trial and error in games if there's some sort of logic to it but with COD4 I just felt like I was getting screwed every time I died.

NOW, if I could actually sign in and play multiplayer when I wanted to, that stuff RULES.
instantpop is offline  
post #633 of 703 Old 11-12-2007, 09:19 AM
 
instantpop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 2,498
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tneck View Post

The splitscreen option under multiplayer, is that for playing the single player mission split screen with a friend on the same PS3? Is there a co-op option to play the singler player with a friend online? I didn't think there was and this was probably already asked....sorry.

Nope, no co-op.
instantpop is offline  
post #634 of 703 Old 11-12-2007, 09:25 AM
Senior Member
 
adams828's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Silver Spring, MD
Posts: 288
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I thought the special luv was...

Warning: Spoiler! (Click to show)
Spoiler  
Warning: Spoiler! (Click to show)
the VIP hostage rescue abaord the 747 after you beat the game? no?
adams828 is offline  
post #635 of 703 Old 11-12-2007, 09:26 AM
 
instantpop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 2,498
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If that was it, I don't feel all that special.
instantpop is offline  
post #636 of 703 Old 11-12-2007, 09:38 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Mobius_570's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Bloomsburg, PA
Posts: 1,423
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
You are probably right, I forgot about that mission.

PSN: Mobius570
XBL: Mobius570
Wii: Some silly number I can't locate
TWW
My Gaming Rig
Mobius_570 is offline  
post #637 of 703 Old 11-12-2007, 09:41 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JD23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Dallas
Posts: 1,287
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by instantpop View Post

***POST CONTAINS SPOILERS....KIND OF***

I felt this way on Normal!!! LOL. I just didn't like the single player campaign. It felt artificially difficult most of the time, your squad AI is INFURIATING (the end was the most brutal part in the tunnels...GOD FORBID someone watch your flank) and I got tired of repeatedly dying from stuff I was never even able to see. Maybe I wasn't playing it the "right way" or something, but it wasn't fun.

The mission on the "Countdown" map where you're supposed plant the C4 on the tanks was brutal. Price is constantly screaming at you to get out there and plant the explosives yet no one on your squad seems to want to draw the fire of the tank so you can actually get to it and plant it. Had to do that mission like 6 times and just pray I could survive the hail of gunfire through a smoke grenade while planting the stuff.

The campaign had a cool story and there were definitely some WOW moments, but I found myself frustrated most of the time. I don't mind trial and error in games if there's some sort of logic to it but with COD4 I just felt like I was getting screwed every time I died.

NOW, if I could actually sign in and play multiplayer when I wanted to, that stuff RULES.

I pretty much agree with you. I've never died nearly this many times in a FPS before. I'm close to restarting the game on Normal because Hardened is becoming too aggravating. I can't count how many times I've died because I've been flanked and shot by some unseen enemy. The nearly endless waves of enemies in certain parts adds to the aggravation as well. The single player seems like it would be much better if it was toned down and made less "cheap."
JD23 is offline  
post #638 of 703 Old 11-12-2007, 09:45 AM
 
instantpop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 2,498
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by JD23 View Post

I pretty much agree with you. I've never died nearly this many times in a FPS before. I'm close to restarting the game on Normal because Hardened is becoming too aggravating. I can't count how many times I've died because I've been flanked and shot by some unseen enemy. The nearly endless waves of enemies in certain parts adds to the aggravation as well. The single player seems like it would be much better if it was toned down and made less "cheap."

Cheap is the perfect word, in my opinion. I played the crap out of the single player campaign on Resistance because the pacing was dead on, I felt like I was always aware of what was going on and never felt like I died for some arbitrary reason. In Resistance, I always had a chance. It got to the point in COD4 where I got so frustrated, I soothed my anger by knifing Capt. Price whenever I had the chance. His blood would fly, but everything was ok because the AI didn't seem to understand what I was doing...LOL.

I played the single player campaing of Resistance at least 4 times. COD4 will be once and only once.
instantpop is offline  
post #639 of 703 Old 11-12-2007, 09:49 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Conspiracy*'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Omaha, Ne
Posts: 2,219
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 35
The SP is fun but forgettable, except that maybe two of the coolest things I've ever done in a game are in SP. Limping through the playground with Jackson, and the Ghillie suit mission. The change in pace from a million bullets flying and you scrambling for your life, to creeping thru the grass is AMAZING.

A few things I dont like about the game...
How is it that in a game this realistic looking we get almost no blood and if you shoot a corpse the bullet doesnt "touch" it. One of the coolest things about RFOM was bullet interaction, this game has very very little. During the first few missions I tested different shots. bullets dont break glass, they dont pop tires, they dont even effect bodies laying on the ground. Minor but disappointing.

MP is very fun. Good mix of realism and arcade.

Overall I'd say this is the best looking game I've ever seen. There are parts when you're watching someone else play that you can forget that its a video game. Some of this **** looks like video.

"Damn, you can't get black levels like that on your projector!"
- My brother, just before he realized his LED display had died.

Link to my Basement build
http://www.avsforum.com/t/1529034/conspiracy-basement-build
Conspiracy* is offline  
post #640 of 703 Old 11-12-2007, 10:00 AM
 
instantpop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 2,498
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Conspiracy* View Post

How is it that in a game this realistic looking we get almost no blood and if you shoot a corpse the bullet doesnt "touch" it. One of the coolest things about RFOM was bullet interaction, this game has very very little. During the first few missions I tested different shots. bullets dont break glass, they dont pop tires, they dont even effect bodies laying on the ground. Minor but disappointing.

I'm pretty sure this is an ESRB thing. Resistance got away with it because you were shooting alien corpses. Shooting at human corpses is a totally different story. Strange because you could do it in all the GTA games and they still got away with M ratings.
instantpop is offline  
post #641 of 703 Old 11-12-2007, 10:08 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Conspiracy*'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Omaha, Ne
Posts: 2,219
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by instantpop View Post

I'm pretty sure this is an ESRB thing. Resistance got away with it because you were shooting alien corpses. Shooting at human corpses is a totally different story. Strange because you could do it in all the GTA games and they still got away with M ratings.

Its the same with Uncharted. In RFOM when you were in MP you could shoot humans. It wasnt even that bad in RFOM but atleast it would move their bodies and do a lil blood splatter.

Have you played Timeshift? Noting wrong with shooting an exploding arrow into someone and having their heads fly off. Bioshock is even better...try beating a corpse with the wrench. It creates a bloody mess of flesh and bits of bone. Maybe because this is more realistic they cant get away with stuff like that?

Atleast give me some window breaking or tire popping.

"Damn, you can't get black levels like that on your projector!"
- My brother, just before he realized his LED display had died.

Link to my Basement build
http://www.avsforum.com/t/1529034/conspiracy-basement-build
Conspiracy* is offline  
post #642 of 703 Old 11-12-2007, 10:38 AM
 
instantpop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 2,498
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Conspiracy* View Post

Its the same with Uncharted. In RFOM when you were in MP you could shoot humans. It wasnt even that bad in RFOM but atleast it would move their bodies and do a lil blood splatter.

Have you played Timeshift? Noting wrong with shooting an exploding arrow into someone and having their heads fly off. Bioshock is even better...try beating a corpse with the wrench. It creates a bloody mess of flesh and bits of bone. Maybe because this is more realistic they cant get away with stuff like that?

Atleast give me some window breaking or tire popping.

Yeah, I think it has to do with the realism factor. Resistance, Bioshock, Timeshift are based in a fantasy world so there's a bit more wiggle room there.
instantpop is offline  
post #643 of 703 Old 11-12-2007, 10:52 AM
Advanced Member
 
pernar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 528
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by JD23 View Post

I pretty much agree with you. I've never died nearly this many times in a FPS before. I'm close to restarting the game on Normal because Hardened is becoming too aggravating. I can't count how many times I've died because I've been flanked and shot by some unseen enemy. The nearly endless waves of enemies in certain parts adds to the aggravation as well. The single player seems like it would be much better if it was toned down and made less "cheap."

You should try the game on Veteran. I have a yearly holiday tradition going back to '05 that involves my 360, a CoD game, and Veteran.

I think I originally started it on CoD2 due to the achievements, but it was such a trial to beat the thing on Veteran, when CoD3 dropped I couldn't bring myself to dial the difficulty down.

So far, I think 3 was the hardest on Veteran, but only due to piss poor coding. That game was a buggy mess. CoD4 is a bear, but doable. I'm in the area towards the end that you only have a certain period of time to get through, and it is literally taking me about 2 hours of gameplay to get through each and every checkpoint. It is SADISTIC.
pernar is offline  
post #644 of 703 Old 11-12-2007, 10:55 AM
 
instantpop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 2,498
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by pernar View Post

You should try the game on Veteran. I have a yearly holiday tradition going back to '05 that involves my 360, a CoD game, and Veteran.

I think I originally started it on CoD2 due to the achievements, but it was such a trial to beat the thing on Veteran, when CoD3 dropped I couldn't bring myself to dial the difficulty down.

So far, I think 3 was the hardest on Veteran, but only due to piss poor coding. That game was a buggy mess. CoD4 is a bear, but doable. I'm in the area towards the end that you only have a certain period of time to get through, and it is literally taking me about 2 hours of gameplay to get through each and every checkpoint. It is SADISTIC.

That was my least favorite part of the game. Although, I found if you ignore where your squad goes and take a flank down the right or left at least you're only getting shot from one side - assuming you can get into one of those sides without dying...LOL!

Incidentally, I had a decent amount of fun until I got to that part in the game. Then I just got so angry that it ruined everything that was good up to that point.
instantpop is offline  
post #645 of 703 Old 11-12-2007, 02:29 PM
Member
 
superrober's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 130
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can anyone confirm if it works with dualshock 3?
superrober is offline  
post #646 of 703 Old 11-12-2007, 02:35 PM
Advanced Member
 
fuseman13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 622
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by superrober View Post

Can anyone confirm if it works with dualshock 3?

IW confirmed that it doesn't support the rumble feature at this time. I don't have time to get the link, but it's on the trouble shooting guide on the IW PS3 Forums.

PSN: fuseman13 and LAGZILLA
TWW

Home Automation Specialist.
Controlling your home with one touchpanel at a time.
fuseman13 is offline  
post #647 of 703 Old 11-12-2007, 02:37 PM
Member
 
superrober's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 130
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks bro
superrober is offline  
post #648 of 703 Old 11-12-2007, 04:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ferrisg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Suburbs of Minneapolis
Posts: 2,522
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by adams828 View Post

I thought the special luv was...

Warning: Spoiler! (Click to show)
Spoiler  
Warning: Spoiler! (Click to show)
the VIP hostage rescue abaord the 747 after you beat the game? no?

This isn't it. That mission is in the 360 version as well.
ferrisg is offline  
post #649 of 703 Old 11-12-2007, 05:36 PM
Senior Member
 
adams828's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Silver Spring, MD
Posts: 288
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ferrisg View Post

This isn't it. That mission is in the 360 version as well.

Hm well then I have no idea. Don't know anyone w/the 360 version so it's hard to compare.
adams828 is offline  
post #650 of 703 Old 11-12-2007, 10:52 PM
Senior Member
 
uqmoore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: I left Earth to come here...
Posts: 275
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
CoD4 is the best FPS single player campaign I've ever played. It's just way too short. I do like the ending though... just like a movie ending.

+ The AC-130 Gunship level is great. I agree looks like Iraq footage on youtube.
+ The sniper level was really good, athough, tough at the end.
+ The chase scene at the end was cool.

- The "C4 the tank" level sucked. It seemed to require more luck than skills.
- The "Stop the Nuke" Level was tough until I firgured out a decent strat in the tunnels.
- The game was just too short.

I'll have to get into multiplayer a bit. My first impression is that I didn't like it. I doubt it will ever replace counter strike or Warhawk for my mp fun.
uqmoore is offline  
post #651 of 703 Old 11-13-2007, 02:52 PM
Advanced Member
 
freestyle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Los Angeles, CA U.S.A.
Posts: 521
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rahzel View Post

its true, confirmed by Quaz51 at beyond3d (the one who discovered Halo 3 runs at 1138x640). there are many PS3 games that run at odd resolutions and my guess is they're either being scaled by software scaling or through RSX (the GPU). there are a small handful of games that use the horizontal scaling method (GT5, GT:HD, Transformers for example). the 360 doesn't actually have a scaler chip either (previously thought it had a chip called "Ana' that did the scaling) but the 360 actually scales with the GPU (Xenos).

Now I'm up to speed, but this still seems odd.

How is it that the PS3 is doing an upscale on a 1024x600 image. Didn't EVERYONE tell us that was impossible... forever?!?

I thought you had to use some specific Sony Dev Kit resolution (like 960x1080) to get the 1080 outputs...

PSN ID: free
Gamertag: X freestyle X
freestyle is offline  
post #652 of 703 Old 11-13-2007, 03:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
rahzel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,714
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 147
Quote:
Originally Posted by freestyle View Post

Now I'm up to speed, but this still seems odd.

How is it that the PS3 is doing an upscale on a 1024x600 image. Didn't EVERYONE tell us that was impossible... forever?!?

I thought you had to use some specific Sony Dev Kit resolution (like 960x1080) to get the 1080 outputs...

first of all, to correct myself, i think software scaling is done through RSX/Cell, so its pretty much the same thing.

everyone told us it was impossible because we were under the impression that the 360 had a dedicated scaler chip whereas the PS3 did not, but really, the 360 does its scaling through Xenos. the PS3 on the other hand, actually does have a dedicated scaler chip, but for whatever reason, Sony is limiting it to horizontal scaling only for developers. no one (except for Sony and developers of course) knows if its actually limited or Sony is preventing developers from using both vertical and horizontal scaling. it doesn't make sense for Sony to limit the scaler chip, so it seems like its limited to horizontal scaling only. the scaler chip can take 960, 1280 or 1600 and upscale it to 1920(x1080), but like i said before, only a small handful of games use this method.

it seems like most developers are doing something similar to what the 360 is doing and using RSX/Cell to upscale. doing so, i think they can take any resolutions and upscale it to 720p or 1080i/p. and like i said before, many ps3 games are slightly higher or lower than 720p and upscaled through RSX/Cell.
rahzel is offline  
post #653 of 703 Old 11-13-2007, 03:19 PM
Advanced Member
 
freestyle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Los Angeles, CA U.S.A.
Posts: 521
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rahzel View Post

first of all, to correct myself, i think software scaling is done through RSX/Cell, so its pretty much the same thing.

everyone told us it was impossible because we were under the impression that the 360 had a dedicated scaler chip whereas the PS3 did not, but really, the 360 does its scaling through Xenos. the PS3 on the other hand, actually does have a dedicated scaler chip, but for whatever reason, Sony is limiting it to horizontal scaling only for developers. no one (except for Sony and developers of course) knows if its actually limited or Sony is preventing developers from using both vertical and horizontal scaling. it doesn't make sense for Sony to limit the scaler chip, so it seems like its limited to horizontal scaling only. the scaler chip can take 960, 1280 or 1600 and upscale it to 1920(x1080), but like i said before, only a small handful of games use this method.

it seems like most developers are doing something similar to what the 360 is doing and using RSX/Cell to upscale. doing so, i think they can take any resolutions and upscale it to 720p or 1080i/p. and like i said before, many ps3 games are slightly higher or lower than 720p and upscaled through RSX/Cell.

Then why would *any* games lack 1080i output on the PS3?

Now if we're assuming it is all done in software, what was/is the hindrance in games like Resistance or other 720p only games?

PSN ID: free
Gamertag: X freestyle X
freestyle is offline  
post #654 of 703 Old 11-13-2007, 03:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
rahzel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,714
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 147
no one other than the developers or Sony knows... but my guess is, for the games that don't support 1080i, they made their games without the intention of supporting other resolutions. before, developers were probably unaware of how many PS3 owners have HDTV's that don't support 720p. if you noticed lately, most games support all resolutions. Uncharted was originally going to be 720p only, but they quickly confirmed 1080i support after complaints were issued, so it seems like it doesn't take much for them to scale games with the PS3 which is good news for 480p/1080i owners. i think most if not all games from now on will support all resolutions.
rahzel is offline  
post #655 of 703 Old 11-13-2007, 05:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
macd23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 1,615
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Conspiracy* View Post

A few things I dont like about the game...
How is it that in a game this realistic looking we get almost no blood and if you shoot a corpse the bullet doesnt "touch" it. One of the coolest things about RFOM was bullet interaction, this game has very very little. During the first few missions I tested different shots. bullets dont break glass, they dont pop tires, they dont even effect bodies laying on the ground. Minor but disappointing.

I agree...............BUT I do think the bullets breaking off chunks of wall and through wall is pretty damn realistic though......I also noticed in the chopper mission where you are firing the cannon from the gunner position to the targets below that as I was blowing up vehicles and shooting into rubble things like tires were rolling around and parts flying....I thought that was pretty damn cool.

Verizon FIOS (Norfolk County, MA)
Samsung 43" DLP display
Yamaha HTR-5730 surround system
Playstation 3
macd23 is offline  
post #656 of 703 Old 11-13-2007, 07:04 PM
Senior Member
 
Cyborg6971's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: TRF MN
Posts: 204
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Maybe we should have a sticky for schdueling and seeing when avs'ers are going to be online I will be online tomorrow night @ around 2300 central.
Cyborg6971 is offline  
post #657 of 703 Old 11-13-2007, 08:49 PM
awx
AVS Special Member
 
awx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 1,367
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by adams828 View Post

I thought the special luv was...

I think the special luv is just having a great PS3 version.

Sure it sucks that the servers were having problems for a few days but Infinity Ward seems to be addressing the problems as fast as they can. Maybe when the inevitable map packs start coming out we'll see a patch that improves the lobby too.

PSN: YstadYakuza
awx is offline  
post #658 of 703 Old 11-14-2007, 05:37 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Mobius_570's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Bloomsburg, PA
Posts: 1,423
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by awx View Post

I think the special luv is just having a great PS3 version.

Sure it sucks that the servers were having problems for a few days but Infinity Ward seems to be addressing the problems as fast as they can. Maybe when the inevitable map packs start coming out we'll see a patch that improves the lobby too.


One could only hope. That would make me a very happy COD4 owner. It would be nice to address the invite system to maybe default to no instead of yes when receiving an invite. Like last night, we had some great games going and I went to switch classes and I received an invite. Was trying to get back to the action, thought I hit no, and was swept away to another room.

PSN: Mobius570
XBL: Mobius570
Wii: Some silly number I can't locate
TWW
My Gaming Rig
Mobius_570 is offline  
post #659 of 703 Old 11-14-2007, 08:57 AM
Advanced Member
 
JackBau3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 925
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
HOLY **** was the level before Sins of Punishment was HARD, and I'm talking about the mission where you have to push forward to the LZ and keep calling in air strikes. I could push past the first offensive wave and make it to the house to the west, but then when I try to make it downhill, I'd get raped. I'm playing on veteran too, btw.

So here's the kicker...Everytime I'd make my way down the hill and die, I'd have to start all over again, but when I made it to a certain area (the two story house that's to the west), the game saved. No checkpoint screen came up. When that happened, I swore to myself that I wouldn't stop playing until I beat mission.

So what I did was take cover behind wall near the antenna, called in a gazillion air strikes and ran like hell down the hill.

All I can say is that was one of the most frustrating missions in the game.

"Forgiveness is between them and god. I arrange the meeting."-John W. Creasy, R.I.P.
JackBau3r is offline  
post #660 of 703 Old 11-14-2007, 09:28 AM
Senior Member
 
bdshort's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 323
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Jack: That level was by far the most frustrating level for me too, and I was playing on Normal, so I'd probably be dead right now if I had tried it on anything higher!

PSN: bdshort
bdshort is offline  
Reply PlayStation Area

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off