Extend bluetooth PS3 range - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 26 Old 12-05-2007, 01:04 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
eulaersi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Antwerp, Belgium
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I would like to place my PS3 in the media closet so it will serve the TV (living) and the projector (home theater). However, testing shows that the living is too far from the media closet. The controller is not responding.

Do you know of any out-of-the-box solution that might help? E.g. bluetooth repeater, bluetooth range extender, ...

Thanks for your help

Ivan
eulaersi is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 26 Old 12-05-2007, 04:27 PM
Senior Member
 
anonymouscuban's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Northridge California
Posts: 400
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Not sure if this is what you need but found it on google:

http://www.engadget.com/2006/11/22/a...ange-extender/

anonymouscuban is offline  
post #3 of 26 Old 12-06-2007, 02:42 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Cynn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Atlanta GA.
Posts: 1,572
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Do you have a 60 or 20 gig PS3? They have weak single band bluetooth. If so, try the 80 or 40 gig with the more powerful dual band BT.

twitter.com/Cynnthetic
I own X360 - Wii - PS3
I see @ 1080p
I'm BROKE!
Cynn is offline  
post #4 of 26 Old 12-06-2007, 05:47 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ndskyz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Cincinnati Ohio
Posts: 2,278
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cynn View Post

Do you have a 60 or 20 gig PS3? They have weak single band bluetooth. If so, try the 80 or 40 gig with the more powerful dual band BT.

Where are you getting this info from?? "more powerful dual band BT"?? Unless sony went from a CLass 2 to a Class 1 BT radio, Class 2 by BT spec is limited 2.5mW ( 10 to 30meters) Class 1 radio is 100 mW about 100meters. The only official change i've read about from the 60 to 80 and new 40 is that they added another antenna to help with reception.

To get more range you'll need a repeater, and they are available, BUT with repeaters you start to run into lag problems. Might not be a good thing when it comes to gaming. But for A/V not too big of a deal.
ndskyz is offline  
post #5 of 26 Old 12-06-2007, 05:53 AM
AVS Special Member
 
PJ_Rage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 4,388
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I don't know anything about the classes, but the rumor, as I remember it, was that the newer ps3s had two antennas in the console for BT, whereas the older ones have one. A dual antenna vs a single. I don't know if this increased range, supposedly it did eliminate dropped controller connections, though. If I had to guess, assuming this info is true, I would say it would slightly increase range, but definitely not a huge increase like a jump in output power would achieve. IMO, if you already own a 20/60gb don't go out and buy a 40/80gb just to 'hopefully' have slightly longer range.

SXRD/Oppo/Yamaha/Klipsch
PS3/PSN: pj_rage
360/Live: pjrage82

Quote:
Originally Posted by Daekwan
Dude please, your list of toys is so long its like Santa is your dad lol.
PJ_Rage is offline  
post #6 of 26 Old 12-06-2007, 06:01 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ndskyz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Cincinnati Ohio
Posts: 2,278
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Im not 100% sure that the PS3 has a Class 2 in it. I think it would have a class one in the PS3 and Class 2 in the controllers. This should be enough for the 30M range of the Class two controllers. To increase the controllers range they would need to have class 1 radios in them, and that just doesnt make sense to have a controller with a range of 30 plus meters. you wouldnt be able to see the TV. LOL I think the Class 1 PS3 with Class 2 Controllers is what they use, and they added another antenna to the PS3 to help with reception of the lower powered class 2 controllers.
ndskyz is offline  
post #7 of 26 Old 12-06-2007, 12:12 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
eulaersi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Antwerp, Belgium
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a 40 GB.

Today, I've tried to connect the controller to a USB extender, but without any luck. So what I've tried: controller <> USB extender <> UTP <> USB extender <> console. I have the feeling that the controller is not using the USB connection, but is still searching for a bluetooth connection.

I'm thinking of using the same setup with the following wireless USB controller: http://www.amazon.co.uk/Wireless-USB.../dp/B000OS3NXY. Will this setup work?
eulaersi is offline  
post #8 of 26 Old 12-06-2007, 12:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ndskyz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Cincinnati Ohio
Posts: 2,278
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
USB Im almost positive that the Sixaxis Controllers only use USB to Sync and charge. Even if you have it plugged in to the PS3 via USB it still uses BT to control the PS3 remotely. So you could have a 40 foot long USB cable and still not be able to control the PS3 because you would be out of BT range.
ndskyz is offline  
post #9 of 26 Old 12-06-2007, 12:52 PM
 
TyrantII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Boston
Posts: 10,114
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 832
Quote:
Originally Posted by ndskyz View Post

USB Im almost positive that the Sixaxis Controllers only use USB to Sync and charge. Even if you have it plugged in to the PS3 via USB it still uses BT to control the PS3 remotely.

Not too sure this is correct, as you can after all plug in the controler and use it w/o BT on a PC. PS3 might handle it differently, but it does have the ability to be hard wired through USB.
TyrantII is offline  
post #10 of 26 Old 12-06-2007, 12:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ndskyz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Cincinnati Ohio
Posts: 2,278
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
^ You might be right. I vaguely remember reading some specs on the controller long time ago. (Im gettin old)

Edit:

found this on Wiki
Quote:


The controller can be seamlessly swapped from wireless to wired operation, and is charged automatically upon connection. The controller, much like the Xbox 360's, still communicates wirelessly with the console when plugged in and some data is still transferred wirelessly, such as pairing information.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/PlaySta...design_changes
ndskyz is offline  
post #11 of 26 Old 12-06-2007, 01:17 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
eulaersi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Antwerp, Belgium
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So the Sixaxis controller will not work through a wired connection (that's also what I've seen :-)

But do you think that another wireless controller will work as long as there is a USB dongle (transmitter)? e.g. http://www.amazon.co.uk/T-Wireless-R...975588&sr=1-64

In that case, my setup would be:

Wireless controller <> USB dongle <> USB extender <> UTP cable <> USB extender <> PS3 console
eulaersi is offline  
post #12 of 26 Old 12-06-2007, 01:32 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
eulaersi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Antwerp, Belgium
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If you believe that the setup would work, do you think there might be a time lag?
eulaersi is offline  
post #13 of 26 Old 01-01-2008, 06:29 AM
Member
 
jmlogan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
eulaersi -

Did you ever solve this problem? I am also trying to use a media-closet installed PS3 from one floor away (about 40-50 feet, through ceilings, etc.), and the standard controllers don't work well from this distance.

Has anyone tried to connect an AirCable Host XR device to a PS3(http://www.aircable.net/host-xr.html)? Would it work to extend the range?

BTW, Happy New Year to all...

Jim L.
1/1/2008

Jim Logan

Win2K/XP, TT2,
HS20, Mits WS-73411,
Samsung HLP-6163W
jmlogan is offline  
post #14 of 26 Old 09-14-2008, 04:46 PM
Newbie
 
zbargain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anybody ever work out a solution? I have a client that wants to do the same thing. I have 1 cat5 cable to work with going from the rack to the tv in the other room...
zbargain is offline  
post #15 of 26 Old 09-16-2008, 11:52 AM
Member
 
mwardncsu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 83
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thinking about the same thing here - about to put together a system and wanted to locate a PS3 in a rack that would be about 10' from my viewing area, so I don't *thnk* range will be an issue, but I am curious if I need to consider running any cables from the PS3 to nearby the tv - perhaps a USB run so that I could plug in a 4-port USB hub or something for charging controllers.... (or if I don't get the wireless controllers).
mwardncsu is offline  
post #16 of 26 Old 02-28-2009, 09:26 AM
Newbie
 
ldominick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I talked to the tech at Aircable and they do not have a driver for the PS3. In theory it should work with Linux on the PS3 but only for Linux applications. They do have a Linux driver.
ldominick is offline  
post #17 of 26 Old 03-20-2009, 01:23 PM
Newbie
 
mattyh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I think I may have found a way using the AirCable Industrial XR unit.

If I understand this correctly, it is a standalone unit that can be programmed to be setup as a relay or repeater device.

check out -> http://code.google.com/p/aircable/wiki/Relay

Please correct me if I'm wrong....
mattyh is offline  
post #18 of 26 Old 09-08-2010, 11:42 AM
Member
 
LuxHomeTech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It's been a while, has anyone discovered a solution for extending bluetooth of game consoles?

Please share!
LuxHomeTech is offline  
post #19 of 26 Old 07-21-2011, 03:35 PM
Member
 
eje0100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Back from the dead.

Anyone figure out a solution.
eje0100 is offline  
post #20 of 26 Old 07-21-2011, 08:09 PM
Senior Member
 
mgr_stl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Valley Park, MO
Posts: 393
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Kind of off topic, but can I stream music from my phone to my PS3 via bluetooth? I'd never thought of that possibility before.
mgr_stl is offline  
post #21 of 26 Old 03-10-2012, 10:08 PM
Senior Member
 
sullender's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Vienna, VA
Posts: 204
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Have exact same problem I think. How to extend range? I have a big old boxy ps3.
sullender is offline  
post #22 of 26 Old 03-11-2012, 08:28 AM
Advanced Member
 
jayoldschool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 871
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Take apart the PS3 using gilsky's guide. Remove the BT module. Build an extension harness. Place the BT module somewhere close to where you are going to use your controllers, and put the PS3 wherever you want.
jayoldschool is offline  
post #23 of 26 Old 03-12-2012, 03:30 PM
Senior Member
 
sullender's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Vienna, VA
Posts: 204
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
That sounds a little scary.....
sullender is offline  
post #24 of 26 Old 03-12-2012, 09:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
defdog99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,118
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Hmm...

I'll take a controller to a friends house...
and I have to be careful when driving out of my driveway.

I've had it turn on the PS3 during bumps in the street.

That's like 3 walls.

Maybe some controllers are stronger than others ?
defdog99 is offline  
post #25 of 26 Old 03-28-2012, 10:35 PM
Newbie
 
bent banana's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone had any success with this at all yet ?
bent banana is offline  
post #26 of 26 Old 10-22-2012, 09:54 AM
Newbie
 
DrCobey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anyone tried using a USB over cat5e/6 extension to a Bluetooth Radio in the room needing reception?
In theory it should give PS3 extended Bluetooth range to wherever the end radio is plugged in.

Archaic Flowchart: [ PS3 ]|---USB---|[ USB over CAT5 Module]|---CAT5e/6---|[USB over CAT5 Module]|---|[USB BT Radio] ))) BT Sixaxxis Remote
DrCobey is offline  
Reply PlayStation Area

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off