PS3 Streaming with no Tversity or Twonky - REAL DEAL - Page 28 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #811 of 827 Old 01-10-2010, 03:56 PM
Newbie
 
PS3Novice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Zoro, do you have any suggestion for me? Is there another Media Player and/or software (either ripping software, transcode software, or streaming software) I should get? I'm open to any suggestion.
PS3Novice is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #812 of 827 Old 01-10-2010, 04:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
imdjenk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Pompano Beach, Florida
Posts: 1,582
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sorry but I don't think there's a way to keep menus and stream them outside of actually putting the disk in your PS3. If you can live with giving up menus then there's a pretty good sticky up top for some good streaming options. PS3 Media Server and Tversity are probably the most popular streaming apps and some prefer ripping to h.264 encoded mp4 and some prefer ripping to VOB and converting to MPG. All the guides are in that thread I believe.

"You went full ******, man. Never go full ******."
om [NOM] nom
imdjenk is offline  
post #813 of 827 Old 01-10-2010, 09:40 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
zoro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 10,073
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by imdjenk View Post

Sorry but I don't think there's a way to keep menus and stream them outside of actually putting the disk in your PS3. If you can live with giving up menus then there's a pretty good sticky up top for some good streaming options. PS3 Media Server and Tversity are probably the most popular streaming apps and some prefer ripping to h.264 encoded mp4 and some prefer ripping to VOB and converting to MPG. All the guides are in that thread I believe.

add ps3 media server to that
zoro is offline  
post #814 of 827 Old 01-10-2010, 11:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
imdjenk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Pompano Beach, Florida
Posts: 1,582
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by zoro View Post

add ps3 media server to that

LOL, that was the first one I listed.

"You went full ******, man. Never go full ******."
om [NOM] nom
imdjenk is offline  
post #815 of 827 Old 01-11-2010, 10:56 AM
Newbie
 
PS3Novice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by imdjenk View Post

Sorry but I don't think there's a way to keep menus and stream them outside of actually putting the disk in your PS3. If you can live with giving up menus then there's a pretty good sticky up top for some good streaming options. PS3 Media Server and Tversity are probably the most popular streaming apps and some prefer ripping to h.264 encoded mp4 and some prefer ripping to VOB and converting to MPG. All the guides are in that thread I believe.

Is there anyway to keep menus with a different Media Player (not PS3)? I tried several setting of transcoding to h.264 with Handbrake and they were garbage (either bad video quality, or too big, or took too long - 25hrs, or lost audio track), their chapter feature just would not work.

I tried to play VOB files (1G each) consecutively with PS3, I got a little hitch in transition between each VOB (which can be very annoying during a song), but ff and reverse worked. I tried big VOB (7G) file, everthing played great but can't do effective ff/rev more than 1.5x, 10x-120x just froze the screen for minutes and then jump to an unpredictable scene. So yes, menus are extremely important to keep, and I don't want to give this up.

WMP11 can play the ripped DVD with menu, it's hard to believe that there isn't anything availalbe on the market that can do this. Do anyone know anything about the new LG BD player?
PS3Novice is offline  
post #816 of 827 Old 01-24-2010, 06:54 PM
Newbie
 
samper13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have read the posts and am confused as to what to do for what I want to accomplish. I want to take a DVD and rip it to a external hd. I then want to pop that drive on my ps3. What is the best program/format to accomplish this? I'm not concerned with the size of the file since I don't want to stream with media server, just play off the external drive.
samper13 is offline  
post #817 of 827 Old 02-09-2010, 05:51 PM
Senior Member
 
HawaiianHDaddict's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 344
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by samper13 View Post

I have read the posts and am confused as to what to do for what I want to accomplish. I want to take a DVD and rip it to a external hd. I then want to pop that drive on my ps3. What is the best program/format to accomplish this? I'm not concerned with the size of the file since I don't want to stream with media server, just play off the external drive.

I personally use DVDFab to rip the DVD and then use DVDShrink to combine the separate vob files into one large vob file. Then all I do is change the extension from vob to mpg.

One issue with using an external HD is that the fat32 format limits you to a 4gb file size. So if the movie is larger than 4gb you either have to compress the movie or split it into two files.

The only other issue I've encountered with this method is that when you fast forward 10x or 120x the movie will sometimes freeze. But all you have to do is hit stop/play and the movie will resume at the same spot.

Although there are other methods for putting movies on your HD I've found this method to be the fastest. It only takes 20-30 minutes to rip/shrink a movie, compared to 3+ hours with other methods.
HawaiianHDaddict is offline  
post #818 of 827 Old 02-09-2010, 06:18 PM
Senior Member
 
rexb610's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 376
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by zoro View Post

add ps3 media server to that

I just tried PS3 media server last weekend..just to check it out..i guess i'm a little late on jumping on the bandwagon..but this thing works! no more tedious codec installs..just install the software and off you go. it was able to stream bluray rips 1080p videos from my external hard drive from my computer on the 2nd floor of our house. also 1080p videos taken from my HD camcorder saved on my external hard drive. Streaming was smooth as if the files were saved on my PS3 itself..i was very surprised! I have my PS3 on wireless connection using at&t dsl.
rexb610 is offline  
post #819 of 827 Old 02-09-2010, 08:07 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
zoro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 10,073
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by rexb610 View Post

I just tried PS3 media server last weekend..just to check it out..i guess i'm a little late on jumping on the bandwagon..but this thing works! no more tedious codec installs..just install the software and off you go. it was able to stream bluray rips 1080p videos from my external hard drive from my computer on the 2nd floor of our house. also 1080p videos taken from my HD camcorder saved on my external hard drive. Streaming was smooth as if the files were saved on my PS3 itself..i was very surprised! I have my PS3 on wireless connection using at&t dsl.

Tversity gave
me umpteen sleepless nights! But ps3 media server not only windows but on my mac OS snow leopard works like a charm too.
zoro is offline  
post #820 of 827 Old 10-24-2010, 02:36 AM
 
gort23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am new to this forum and I joined specifically to solve a problem I am having with backing up my DVD library for the PS3. I am sorry to just jump into your thread, but I have been reading it and it seems as though you may be able to tell me if it is possible to accomplish this.

I have all of my DVDs backed up on an external hard drive as iso files. Basically, I would like to be able to connect one or two hard drives to the PS3 and choose from the different discs and they, once selected, would play like DVDs, with menus and all. Can you do this? If so, how exactly would I go about it? I don't know that much about PS3s and I don't yet own one, though I am fairly capable with the computer.
gort23 is offline  
post #821 of 827 Old 10-25-2010, 10:47 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bdwright77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Houston
Posts: 1,891
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
To my knowledge, there is no means by which you could mount ISO images located on an external HDD on a PS3 for full menu functionality and playback.

Your best option is to either a) hookup a computer to your TV and run a virtual drive software program to mount the isos for playback or b) stream the disc via PS3 media server. Now, I DO believe you can stream a full disc via PS3 media server, but I have not tried and can not confirm if it works with full menus.
bdwright77 is offline  
post #822 of 827 Old 10-25-2010, 04:21 PM
Senior Member
 
rexb610's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 376
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by gort23 View Post

I have all of my DVDs backed up on an external hard drive as iso files. Basically, I would like to be able to connect one or two hard drives to the PS3 and choose from the different discs and they, once selected, would play like DVDs, with menus and all. Can you do this?

No. First of all your ext HDD needs to be in FAT32 inorder for the PS3 to recognize it, second as bdwright77 said, PS3 can't load ISO from HDD. At least not yet. Your best bet is to go HTPC route. I use 7MC with Media Browser and Daemon tools to mount my ISOs. It works not just for DVD but for Blu-rays as well. good luck!
rexb610 is offline  
post #823 of 827 Old 10-27-2010, 11:27 PM
 
gort23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What is I converted the iso files and reformatted the hard drive? Is there any way to make something akin to this possible with the ps3?
gort23 is offline  
post #824 of 827 Old 10-28-2010, 02:08 AM
Senior Member
 
rexb610's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 376
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by gort23 View Post

What is I converted the iso files and reformatted the hard drive? Is there any way to make something akin to this possible with the ps3?

yes. make sure the format you convert your ISO movie files are compatible to PS3.

I have 1 TB portable formatted to FAT32 and have movies on m2ts file (1080p 5.1 surround blu-ray encodes). It plays perfectly on PS3. I believe MP4 and AVI also are compatible. You lose your nice menus though.
rexb610 is offline  
post #825 of 827 Old 10-29-2010, 05:47 AM
 
gort23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yeah, so there is no way to play files off of a hard drive on the ps3 with menus? That stinks.
gort23 is offline  
post #826 of 827 Old 10-29-2010, 11:14 PM
Member
 
shiznit93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If you use multiAVCHD you can re-author to blu ray folder format and if you play the parent folder on your ps3 from an external hd connected to the ps3 via usb it will play exactly like an actual blu ray disc with correct 24hz and HD audio including all the menus and special features (unless you remove them while re-authoring). No other way will you get correct 24hz playback for your 120hz TV (or 72hz Kuro like in my case). My gf just bought me a ps3 and I am in the process of re-authoring all my blu ray isos and putting them on the external hd. Was going to build an HTPC but this is much easier. I use PMS for everything else and it works great with core i5 750 and intel nic on the source pc, gigabit switch wired to the ps3 of course.
shiznit93 is offline  
post #827 of 827 Old 11-01-2010, 01:22 AM
Senior Member
 
rexb610's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 376
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by shiznit93 View Post

If you use multiAVCHD you can re-author to blu ray folder format and if you play the parent folder on your ps3 from an external hd connected to the ps3 via usb it will play exactly like an actual blu ray disc with correct 24hz and HD audio including all the menus and special features (unless you remove them while re-authoring). No other way will you get correct 24hz playback for your 120hz TV (or 72hz Kuro like in my case). My gf just bought me a ps3 and I am in the process of re-authoring all my blu ray isos and putting them on the external hd. Was going to build an HTPC but this is much easier. I use PMS for everything else and it works great with core i5 750 and intel nic on the source pc, gigabit switch wired to the ps3 of course.

Interesting. how big are the re-authored blu-ray isos by MultiAVHCD? i believe PS3 can only read FAT32 HD drives (4GB limit). if you can get 1080p with HD audio blu-ray in 4GB size let me know! Based on your post, looks like you can unless i misunderstood it.

I have an HTPC and have blu-ray ripped to blu-ray folder structure (20-25GB size). I don't care about menus or special features, just 1080p, HD audio, chapters and subs i'm good. I use 7MC and Media browser to play it 1080p with HD audio bitstreamed to my receiver. HTPC took over my PS3 and just use the PS3 only for games now.
rexb610 is offline  
Reply PlayStation Area

Tags
Playstation 3 160gb System
Gear in this thread - 160gb by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off