External Hard Drive to PS3 via USB - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 137 Old 01-17-2008, 11:01 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
iwanrs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 965
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I am new to PS3, I have 2 questions:

1. Can a 500GB external Hard Drive to be connected to PS3 via USB?
I try this but the PS3 can not recognize it, need some setting ?

2. Can PS3 play video files (standard or HD) stored in external HD? If yes, what format of video files?

THANKS
iwanrs is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 137 Old 01-17-2008, 11:02 PM
Senior Member
 
Drewbert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Houston
Posts: 393
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The HD needs to be formated to fat32 to be able to be seen by the PS3

And yes, lots of threads talking about playing videos

Drew
Drewbert is offline  
post #3 of 137 Old 01-17-2008, 11:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
splinters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,124
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
1. there can be issues with certain enclosures, but I haven't seen any real concrete evidence of how it can occur or how to fix it.

2. As for type of video codecs supported, check the ps3 online manual for details. Or search on the forums.

-Splints
splinters is offline  
post #4 of 137 Old 01-18-2008, 12:11 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
iwanrs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 965
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
fat32 format can only transfer one file (at a time) of size less 4GB, correct? Hence only few standard DVD movie can fit in.
iwanrs is offline  
post #5 of 137 Old 01-18-2008, 06:57 AM
AVS Special Member
 
QuadESL63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Ontario
Posts: 1,069
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by iwanrs View Post

fat32 format can only transfer one file (at a time) of size less 4GB, correct? Hence only few standard DVD movie can fit in.

Just re-encode the DVDs in DIVX CODEC

They should have a firmware update that makes the PS3 recognize NTFS...
QuadESL63 is offline  
post #6 of 137 Old 01-18-2008, 08:15 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
iwanrs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 965
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by QuadESL63 View Post

Just re-encode the DVDs in DIVX CODEC

With what software best? Thanks
iwanrs is offline  
post #7 of 137 Old 01-30-2008, 01:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Gruson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: DALLAS, TX
Posts: 1,698
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This fat32 thing REALLY sucks.

I have so many HD .TS files on NTFS hard drives that I would love to hook up to the PS3.

Gruson is offline  
post #8 of 137 Old 01-30-2008, 01:11 PM
Advanced Member
 
serversurfer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 566
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by QuadESL63 View Post

They should have a firmware update that makes the PS3 recognize NTFS...

Even if they did that, it would be read-only.

Personally, I'd rather see support for NFS/SMB/AFP.

PSN: serversurfer
serversurfer is offline  
post #9 of 137 Old 02-07-2008, 03:16 PM
Advanced Member
 
Flavius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: USA
Posts: 823
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 46
Wrong, the Linux kernel can now write to NTFS!
Flavius is offline  
post #10 of 137 Old 02-07-2008, 03:55 PM
Senior Member
 
JSLM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 360
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Flavius View Post

Wrong, the Linux kernel can now write to NTFS!

Are you talking about YDL 6.0?
JSLM is offline  
post #11 of 137 Old 02-11-2008, 08:55 AM
Senior Member
 
dgburns's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 216
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gruson View Post

This fat32 thing REALLY sucks.

I have so many HD .TS files on NTFS hard drives that I would love to hook up to the PS3.


Just having a firmware update supporting reading from NTFS hard drives wouldn't make those HD .TS files playable. Seems in THEORY since most are likely MPEG-2 video and AC-3 audio (in a OTA type 19.8Mbps stream) there should be no problem playing them, but there is. There's thread after thread here about this, as well as dozens of web sites and forums discussing how to get OTA HD transport streams to play natively (as a .ts file) on PS3. Nowhere that I've seen has ever been able to get it working without some sort of transcode, either transcoding into a new container (.vob, .mpg, etc.) or transcoding to different video/audio codecs (avc, etc.).
dgburns is offline  
post #12 of 137 Old 02-11-2008, 10:03 AM
Advanced Member
 
serversurfer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 566
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Flavius View Post

Wrong, the Linux kernel can now write to NTFS!

It also supports NFS/SMB/AFP, but we're talking about the PS3's software.

PSN: serversurfer
serversurfer is offline  
post #13 of 137 Old 02-11-2008, 11:38 AM
Advanced Member
 
Flavius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: USA
Posts: 823
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 46
1) It needs to be FAT32 PLUS it needs to be externally powered. I found out the hard way that the PS3's USB ports do NOT provide enough power for a standalone USB hard drive, so you need to add your own power supply.

2) The Toshiba Portable External drives (I have the 160GB one) work perfectly out of the box with the PS3 provided you use an AC adapter with them. Luckily, I had a matching one lying around the house.
Flavius is offline  
post #14 of 137 Old 02-11-2008, 11:41 AM
Member
 
jeffyjaixx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
1. reformat in FAT32 using Swissknife.

2. DivX, Xvid, MPEG-4, MPEG-2 I believe.
jeffyjaixx is offline  
post #15 of 137 Old 02-11-2008, 11:41 AM
Advanced Member
 
Flavius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: USA
Posts: 823
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by JSLM View Post

Are you talking about YDL 6.0?

No idea what that is, but I know my IT shop that I work in routinely writes to NTFS partitions from Linux. The tech has caught up.
Flavius is offline  
post #16 of 137 Old 02-11-2008, 01:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
CDLehner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Dark Side of the Moon-Right Side of the Bay, MD
Posts: 8,998
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 78 Post(s)
Liked: 295
Quote:
Originally Posted by Flavius View Post

I found out the hard way that the PS3's USB ports do NOT provide enough power for a standalone USB hard drive, so you need to add your own power supply.

Is this really true!? Anyone have an external drive that the PS3 can power on its own??

CD

Music is a moral law. It gives soul to the universe, wings to the mind, flight to the imagination, and charm and gaiety to life and to everything. -Plato
CDLehner is offline  
post #17 of 137 Old 02-11-2008, 01:56 PM
Advanced Member
 
Flavius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: USA
Posts: 823
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by CDLehner View Post

Is this really true!? Anyone have an external drive that the PS3 can power on its own??

CD

Of course its true, I just said it, didn't I? Without adding the power cable to my Toshiba drive, the drive just kept spinning and failing, and PS3 would not see it. As soon as I added the +5V AC power, it worked great. This same drive worked fine when attached to a desktop AND to a laptop running on BATTERY, without needing the AC adapter. Doubt any drive will work, honestly, as this was a tiny drive meant to be USB powered only, it didn't even come with an AC adapter. This tells me the power output of the PS3 USB is not 500ma, but a lot less. I tried more than one port too.

If it matters, this was a 60GB PS3 with latest firmware. Maybe the new 40GB models add more juice, who knows.
Flavius is offline  
post #18 of 137 Old 02-11-2008, 02:27 PM
Member
 
Chuck12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 79
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by CDLehner View Post

Is this really true!? Anyone have an external drive that the PS3 can power on its own??

CD

I will also confirm it is true. My external "portable" 80GB drive comes with a dual USB cable (1 for data/power and the other for just power). I have to plug it into 2 front usb ports (on my 60GB ps3) to power it.

I only need to plug it into 1 of the xbox 360 usb ports.
Chuck12 is offline  
post #19 of 137 Old 02-11-2008, 03:53 PM
Member
 
Mrrsteelers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 106
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a WD and 3 Seagate 750 Gb external HDDs that all work on my PS3 with only the USB for power. Also a 250, 320 and 2 500s that all work with USB only power. I do have one other Seagate 750 that my PS3 won't read, and it's the exact same model as one of the others that do work, it works fine on a PC so I just use it as a back-up.
Mrrsteelers is offline  
post #20 of 137 Old 02-11-2008, 04:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
CDLehner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Dark Side of the Moon-Right Side of the Bay, MD
Posts: 8,998
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 78 Post(s)
Liked: 295
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mrrsteelers View Post

I have a WD and 3 Seagate 750 Gb external HDDs that all work on my PS3 with only the USB for power. Also a 250, 320 and 2 500s that all work with USB only power. I do have one other Seagate 750 that my PS3 won't read, and it's the exact same model as one of the others that do work, it works fine on a PC so I just use it as a back-up.

Guys, the first rule of science: one example don't make it so. I knew this had to work; who in the world would use a usb that you had to find an outlet for.

CD

Music is a moral law. It gives soul to the universe, wings to the mind, flight to the imagination, and charm and gaiety to life and to everything. -Plato
CDLehner is offline  
post #21 of 137 Old 02-12-2008, 09:15 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Crash44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Oregon
Posts: 1,173
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 85
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chuck12 View Post

I will also confirm it is true. My external "portable" 80GB drive comes with a dual USB cable (1 for data/power and the other for just power). I have to plug it into 2 front usb ports (on my 60GB ps3) to power it.

I only need to plug it into 1 of the xbox 360 usb ports.

So... the external drive came with a USB y-cable because they knew you needed one for PS3? Or could the problem be that the drive needs more power than a USB plug supplies, or that USB ports don't all supply the same amount of power?

PSN: CrashLanding (please ID requests as AVS)
Crash44 is offline  
post #22 of 137 Old 02-12-2008, 09:23 AM
Advanced Member
 
andydumi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 970
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crash44 View Post

So... the external drive came with a USB y-cable because they knew you needed one for PS3? Or could the problem be that the drive needs more power than a USB plug supplies, or that USB ports don't all supply the same amount of power?

Ding Ding Ding.... my 2 different computers provide different amounts of power. And they are both different from my laptop.
andydumi is offline  
post #23 of 137 Old 02-12-2008, 01:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
steven975's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,574
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My WD Passport 2.5" works fine off only USB. I think it depends on the power draw of the enclosure.

USB calls for 500mA of current...not sure if the PS3 provides that or not though.
steven975 is offline  
post #24 of 137 Old 02-12-2008, 02:08 PM
Senior Member
 
saunupe1911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 266
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a pocket size external 100GB toshiba hard drive that I bought of ebay a while back. I formated to fat32 and transfer any files less than 4GB to it. Then I plug it up to the PS3 or 360 via USB and play my videos and music from it. I usually copy my h.264 videos over to the PS3 for a slight performance boost. Man I wish the PS3 would except NTFS.
saunupe1911 is offline  
post #25 of 137 Old 02-13-2008, 08:12 PM
Member
 
trx250r87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 68
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Not all USB ports pass enough current to power external drives, that is why the "y" USB cables are available. All they do is take power from both USB ports. Some laptops need both plugs when on battery power, but only 1 plug when on AC power. I don't think the dual USB plugs make the data transfer any faster.

I think you can view AVCHD files off the external drive and I know I can watch all the HD trailers downloaded from the PS store that are stored on my external drive.
ERIC
trx250r87 is offline  
post #26 of 137 Old 03-14-2008, 11:23 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
zoro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 10,020
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Could people pitch in names/details of various external portable hard drives being used successfuly with PS3 via USB? I am in market for one
zoro is offline  
post #27 of 137 Old 03-14-2008, 12:43 PM
Member
 
buzz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 91
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm using a WD Passport 250.....so far no issues.


buzz
buzz is offline  
post #28 of 137 Old 03-14-2008, 02:07 PM
Senior Member
 
Ray**W's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Upstate NY
Posts: 374
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Since I have the 40GB, I only have 2 USB ports.
1) Would using a powered USB hub help/hinder things in general or just give me more flexibility?

2) Would it help to power your external drive?
Ray**W is offline  
post #29 of 137 Old 03-17-2008, 07:24 AM
Advanced Member
 
andydumi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 970
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ray**W View Post

Since I have the 40GB, I only have 2 USB ports.
1) Would using a powered USB hub help/hinder things in general or just give me more flexibility?

2) Would it help to power your external drive?

Perfect solution. But make sure its a powered USB hub. The PS3 may not provide enough power to power a hub and a number of devices you may plug in there.
andydumi is offline  
post #30 of 137 Old 04-01-2008, 06:02 AM
Newbie
 
mtp1db's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi Guys,
I also have a 500GB external hard drive connected to my PS3. I have formatted it to Fat32 and have converted my DVD collection to MP4 using handbrake on my mac. However, I have a few problems playing the files. Most of the time when I play them the movie will just cut out and the hard drive icon disappears and then reappears on the XWB. I did stop this once by copying the film over on to the PS3 and playing it from the internal HD but even that can be difficult as it sometimes fails to copy the file to the PS3. Do you think this is something to do with the hard drive? and one last final question. On some movies I only get sound and no image even though I have converted them in the same manner as all the others. Very strange any help would be most welcome as I have posted these question on several other forums with no luck so far.

Thanks

Bookem
mtp1db is offline  
Reply PlayStation Area

Tags
Playstation 3 160gb System
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off